Independent Auto Insurance Reviews

ICBC Auto Insurance Reviews

(125 reviews)
This page has been viewed by:
29,104
consumers
(2.0 out of 5 stars)
Customer Service:
Value for Money:
Claim Experience:
 

System Failure

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Frustrated and Angry Sep 08, 2019
I was looking for a motorcycle quote and can't get one online, so I went to the ICBC broker location who also tried to use the site and was unable to provide me with the quote as well. This system is not user-friendly and this is extremely frustrating. People should be able to receive quotes for different classes of vehicle/motorcycle so that they can prepare the living expense.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Did you know that on average Ontario drivers with good driving records pay $1,805/year in auto insurance? Is your insurance rate higher? Get a free car insurance quote and start saving today.
 

poor customer service

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by kriel25 Sep 07, 2019
I've been with ICBC since last year only when I moved here in BC. The first couple of calls I kept quiet until now. I've never experienced good at least a good conversation with CSRs. Most of them are rude and easily get pissed if you asked a lot of question and not very much accommodating and helpful. Aside from a very expensive and monopolized insurance here in BC talking to a friendly and helpful voice would make a difference somehow.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Zeros work here

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Yudhvir P Aug 24, 2019
Most incompetent people work here. Never helpful. My insurance went up by 25% with 40 years of safe driving. Robbing public.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Bad driving record? Your insurance rates can be double the standard insurance rate. Let us help you get the better auto insurance rate without breaking the bank.
 

Awful system

 
(2.5 out of 5 stars)
by Kevan Aug 23, 2019
The terrible antiquated company with too many storefronts and an awful system. There is no way to get an insurance quote anymore. I was told by an ICBC employee that you must buy a vehicle before finding out what it will cost to insure. Also when renewing you must pay for 3 months minimum and if you cancel before the 3 months is up its costs $30!
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

ICBC rates support budget

 
(1.5 out of 5 stars)
by Disgusted in Kelowna Jul 25, 2019
The prices for automobile and motorcycle insurance in BC are at LEAST double Alberta (which has private auto insurance). An example is a Kawasaki motorcycle that cost $8000 (very fuel-efficient) costs $294 for 3 months for the most basic insurance you can purchase from ICBC. In Alberta, it would cost $120. It takes about 1 hour to renew a license at ICBC and at least 35 minutes to renew an insurance policy. Their computer system is redundant and not user-friendly so the amazing ICBC representatives are doing so much work for nothing but angry clients who have no say.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?
If you have a good driving record in AB, you should pay around $110/month (women - $105/month and men - $113/month). Do you overpay? Get an Alberta car insurance quote to start saving.
 

Garbage company and bad people

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Mark Jul 23, 2019
They act nice talking to you, then when finally get into details they change into a money-hungry monster saying wrong accusations of what had happened even though a video was sent for them to see. Claim adjuster last words to me were talk to my manager because they can't make up enough stuff to say that I was wrong. After defending myself, the claim adjuster doesn't even email me back and just keep me in the cold. Horrible company.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Worst insurance company ever

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Kylie Jul 21, 2019
One year my insurance is 251$ a month then it’s 785$ a month for one minor at-fault claim that there was no physical damage to either car, minor as they get. No one asked for photos of my car or anything. I’ve talked to at least 4 different brokers now and no one knows what is going on. ICBC are thieves and will do anything to screw you over. They are making it impossible for people to afford insurance in BC!
1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Not happy with car insurance reviews for your insurance company? Get a quote across up to 20 Canadian car insurers and make sure that you do not pay too much.
 

We need competitors

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by CK Jul 13, 2019
Inefficient, ineffective, arrogant, rude, and that's just the employees. Don't get me started on the company. They want your thousands every year but treat you like a criminal when you make a claim even when it's not even your fault! Why don't we have more competitors?
1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

low ball offer

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Karrma Jul 11, 2019
It has been 2 weeks since my dad is without a vehicle and the estimator for ICBC came with a below-average (very low ball offer). After emailing him yesterday about what I am expecting for the vehicle, he still didn't respond.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?
If you have a good driving record in AB, you should pay around $110/month (women - $105/month and men - $113/month). Do you overpay? Get an Alberta car insurance quote to start saving.
 

Worst company ever

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Hbc Jul 04, 2019
ICBC is the worst company ever I’ve seen. Poor customer service, no accurate procedure to identify fraud claims, and very expensive. Why we should have the ICBC monopoly in BC and no other insurance company is allowed to compete with them? That’s why they charge people whatever they want! They don’t have any competitor!
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Horrible and disgusting

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by kim Jun 10, 2019
Changed bank accounts and ICBC didn't upset system, when called in, changed my address in the system, though. So, when I realized issue called into account services were was told to $645 to resolve the issue. I paid in cash but put the receipt in insurance paperwork. This was a month a half ago, Friday, I went down to the car only to discover my plates were removed, insurance paperwork was removed and note from ICBC that I had to pay $1900. Called ICBC, where I had to wait on hold for half hour only to be told it was my fault and even if I did go pay the $1900 plus bailiff fees I wouldn't be able to renew my insurance. I was only behind a month in payments, again, because they didn't update the banking info I submitted. Have now spoken to two supervisors who have blamed Canada post for me not receiving any notices, the bailiff they hired for stealing things from my car, the insurance broker for ICBC system not showing my payment and my fault. The agents were rude and mean to me.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Did you know that on average Ontario drivers with good driving records pay $1,805/year in auto insurance? Is your insurance rate higher? Get a free car insurance quote and start saving today.
 

Monopolized scam

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by ICBC hater Jun 06, 2019
Every time I receive ICBC renewal notice I am reminded that this is one big monopolized scam in BC. The rates are so damn high and there are absolutely no options to go anywhere else.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

We decided NOT to move to BC

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Try to move there May 11, 2019
We did our research about moving to BC and finally called the Insurance Company for a quote, the ICBC. They told us we have to use only the ICBC insurance if we want to settle in BC. They gave us a quote: few dollars shy $2000 after 28 years driving in Canada plus the home insurance at a different company. We have decided not to move BC. NO THANKS, we don’t need your services...
1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Bad driving record? Your insurance rates can be double the standard insurance rate. Let us help you get the better auto insurance rate without breaking the bank.
 

Need other options

 
(1.5 out of 5 stars)
by Frank Apr 04, 2019
There's the money hungry ICBC. Don't give me any garbage about getting optional insurance elsewhere. I have no options but pay ICBC for my basic insurance. I dislike the idea of giving a single penny to ICBC. Then I have to hear about bonuses and their pay rates. They absolutely do not deserve any pay rate increase and certainly no bonus. I haven't had a ticket in 40 years and no claim for about the same. I'm fed up with ICBC. I want other options!
1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Thieves

 
(2.0 out of 5 stars)
by michelle Apr 01, 2019
ICBC is the biggest scam in BC history. Pay your money to them for YEARS without any tickets or any issues at all, then BAM - get a ticket. Not only do you pay for the ticket itself...but then you pay a DPP penalty depending on how many points your tickets for the year incurred THEN, on top of that, you also get an increase to your insurance. So for the two tickets I received in the last 12 months ($365 and $165), I had to pay the tick amounts, $360 DPP penalty fine, and an extra $100 on my insurance for the year...so we're talking $1000 paid total so far, and the tickets themselves were only $530 of that. Unbelievable...especially considering before these last 12 months, I hadn't received a single ticket in several years. Not one single ticket. Not one single accident I was at fault for. Nothing. Such a joke of a company.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Not happy with car insurance reviews for your insurance company? Get a quote across up to 20 Canadian car insurers and make sure that you do not pay too much.
 

Outrages Rates

 
(2.0 out of 5 stars)
by Mark W Mar 07, 2019
I have a conservative 2010 Honda Civic. My ICBC insurance renewal arrived and I am being charged $1532 for a year's worth of insurance, with "congratulations - you've earned a total estimated savings of $1490...". I am 72 and have a clean driving record. $1532 is ridiculous. Can you imagine if the $1490 "discount" had not been applied? ICBC is a rip-off, a money grab. Why should they be the only game in town? Open up BC to other insurance companies for competition.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Oh man :(

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by That sucked Mar 06, 2019
I'm having to pay for insurance for a year and I drove for 3 weeks. Was in a car accident, didn't know better about cancelling my policy. My fault, but I still can't believe I have to pay 3000.00 for literally no reason. Also, customer service rep I talked to was so mean.
2 of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Did you know that on average Ontario drivers with good driving records pay $1,805/year in auto insurance? Is your insurance rate higher? Get a free car insurance quote and start saving today.
 

Inexperienced, and exhausting

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by shawnd Mar 05, 2019
Everything dealing with ICBC is a complete nightmare, every broker works on a different system, so if you go to 2 different brokers, they have no idea what is going on with a claim, if you're making a claim, if insurance on a vehicle has been cancelled or anything! It's like dealing with toddlers trying to put the square brick in the circular hole... I was in a collision and I immediately pulled over and called ICBC. My vehicle at the time, to my knowledge, was driveable and I told the agent that. 2 min later as I'm driving home, the power steering goes and I take the car to a mechanic, an ICBC certified mechanic and they take apart the front end and give me an assessment. I decide I can fix it cheaper than it would be to make a claim and tow it home, I try to cancel my insurance that same day (at broker 1) and I'm told I CAN'T and to wait a couple of weeks. Time goes by with my vehicle sitting in my backyard not driveable and I'm charged another month of insurance... same day I go to a different broker that's closer and ask them to cancel the insurance, no problem, it's done, I ask to get a refund for the month that was just charged, can't do it, I have to call ICBC, Ok... sure... quick phone call and I'm told I have to email them, I email them and I'm told to call them (see a pattern yet?). I finally get a hold of someone on the phone and they tell me because my vehicle was listed as driveable and I decided not to make a claim that they won't refund me... on top of that they tell me my insurance hasn't even been cancelled yet! Broker #2 hasn't submitted the paperwork yet (all good it's only been a week...) Useless insurance, ICBC is a monopoly on insurance that not only doesn't work but it's FORCED! You have to have ICBC to drive in BC, I would rather move back and forth from AB to BC to keep my 6 months of AB insurance. Moving back to Alberta ASAP where efficiency isn't just a theory...
2 of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Poor customer service

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by JJ Feb 24, 2019
ICBC make doing the simplest tasks difficult and prolong any kind of progression to resolve mundane requests such as cancelling automotive insurance out of province
2 of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?
If you have a good driving record in AB, you should pay around $110/month (women - $105/month and men - $113/month). Do you overpay? Get an Alberta car insurance quote to start saving.
 

Wait time on phone

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Aj1010 Feb 11, 2019
ICBC really needs to upgrade their phone holds. I was trying to speak with a representative, and I was left on hold for one hour and forty-five minutes. That is just ridiculous. One advice ICBC, maybe think of setting up a hold in line and a callback. You just cost me all my minutes. Thank you
2 of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Absolutely worst

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by MUJI Feb 10, 2019
I had two claims in the past 3 years, unfortunately. One is 100% my fault and another is 0% ( I was rear-ended and I was a passenger only). Both experiences are absolutely horrible. 1. The accident that I was 100% at fault was very minor. The damage in total is less than 1000$. But ICBC increased my insurance by $5000 in 3 years!! 2. I was injured in another accident as a passenger. ICBC just tried their best to avoid paying for my medical bills. Almost 2 years past, they owe me $4000 in medical bills. When they charge someone, they are so efficient; when it is time for them to perform their duties, they become useless. Hate them !!
2 of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Not happy with car insurance reviews for your insurance company? Get a quote across up to 20 Canadian car insurers and make sure that you do not pay too much.
 

Drained my wallet

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by david Feb 08, 2019
I got into a car crash (my fault over a year ago). I lost my N licence and was prohibited from driving for 6 months but it took ICBC 6 months to process this so as a result, I could drive for a full. Year. I have to pay 450$ a month insurance and a yearly fine of 750$ on my birthday and had to redo my N.
2 of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Literally a dumpster fire

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Devin Feb 07, 2019
Rates: ridiculous. Fees: horrible. Customer service: what? And god forbid if you make a single mistake on the road because if you do, ICBC will drain your wallet DRY!
2 of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Did you know that on average Ontario drivers with good driving records pay $1,805/year in auto insurance? Is your insurance rate higher? Get a free car insurance quote and start saving today.
 

ICBC IS AWFUL!

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by JohnnyTest Feb 06, 2019
I was on customer service and the lady told me I can only pay today for my insurance (I moved to Edmonton for the time being and things messed up). I told them to please extend it to tomorrow and they said that is in no way possible and that if I didn’t pay by 12 pm tonight, I was going to be charged 3K and no explanation whatsoever on that. Awful awful company that has completely monopolized BC, people should start protesting because these scum are ripping people off and can choose to price their insurance to whatever they want and charge you whatever and you can’t do a single thing about it! As well the customer service is complete garbage and the manager even gave me attitude while I was panicking and asking questions. I told them to hold for a moment and they hung up the phone, horrible company and even worse service!
2 of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Unbelievably Unhelpful

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Coquilam Wife Feb 04, 2019
I called to get help about a service card that was issued for my husband at the same time as a drivers license, which never ended up arriving in the mail. After speaking with Service BC, they asked me to contact the issuing centre. I called on behalf of my husband, who doesn’t speak English very well. The first representative dismissed him after a couple of pitiful attempts at verifying him over the phone and said he would get a Portuguese translator. He came back with a Portuguese speaker from Portugal, not Brazil (where hubby’s from). She spoke different Portuguese, so again hubby was struggling and asked her to repeat her question 3 times. After the third try, she turned around and told the first rep, that my husband was being UNCOOPERATIVE! I couldn’t believe my ears. I was listening on speaker phone and I knew my husband was doing his best and not being difficult; the two of them were, however, being very difficult and showing no interest in helping. This is customer service at ICBC? I remember a few years back the CEOs of the company gave themselves bonuses of a few hundred thousand dollars at the end of the year. Now despite the highest premiums in the country, they’re going bankrupt and raising premiums again! What are we paying for?! Years of mismanagement and awful service? I’m so sick of it.
3 of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Bad driving record? Your insurance rates can be double the standard insurance rate. Let us help you get the better auto insurance rate without breaking the bank.
 

Money hungry scammers

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Suis4u Feb 01, 2019
I believe ICBC should be OUT OF BC no questions asked. They expect us to pay and pay but still can barely afford anything. Shame on them for ruining lives for years. Degenerates. You all should be locked up and homeless
3 of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

ICBC is the Legal thief of BC

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Zan Jan 28, 2019
ICBC CEOs should be in prison, no questions asked, so many nightmare stories with them, I’ll just share my most recent one. I watched this old lady bang her door into my car, caused dent and scratch on my car, so I filmed the whole thing with her door lines up with my dent. Videos, pictures everything. I submit to ICBC, waited 3 months because adjuster never called me, I finally called and asked: have you reviewed the videos and pictures? She said: what videos and pictures? I said: the ones I’ve sent you 3 months ago. She couldn't find them, so I sent again, she said she doesn't know what she's looking at, so I went back to the body shop, redid the measurements and resent new photos. Then another 3 weeks went by, nothing from her. I called again, she said please, stop calling, she will call me. I finally had enough, I called every day asking for her manager because she can't do her job. Finally, one day the manager calls me and said the case is closed, I have to pay the deductible because dent doesn't match up. I said: have you reviewed the videos and photos? He said: what video and photos... Seriously, I have not seen a more incompetent and useless human being. They do nothing at ICBC but raise insurance every year. Finally, the manager said the videos make sense, my deductible is waived, in total, I emailed them my video 5 times to 3 different people, had to call every other day for 3 months. This is the kind of joke this garbage place is, BC is run by the thief NDP or liberals who take money from ICBC in return letting them do whatever they want, raise insurance every year and does no work at all.
3 of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Did you know that on average Ontario drivers with good driving records pay $1,805/year in auto insurance? Is your insurance rate higher? Get a free car insurance quote and start saving today.
 

THEY ROB INNOCENT PEOPLE

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Peach Jan 08, 2019
Customer service is horrible. ICBC is terrible. Why are they still able to be in business when they don't follow through with their policies and when it comes to paying out, they do everything they can to stop you from getting what's yours. They are shady hustlers. Everyone has problems with them.
3 of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

THIEVES - BUYER BEWARE

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Pissed Off Nov 28, 2018
If I could have given 0 stars I would have!!! These guys are an absolute joke! One, they charge an arm and a leg for insurance, but when you don't have much competition, I guess you can do whatever you want. I moved back to ON (where my insurance is 1/2 the price, I might add) but these idiots will not cancel my insurance because the plates have not arrived yet - prob because of the postal strike atm … so instead of just charging me the cost of the plates (not even sure why I need to send them back since, um, I paid for them!!), no, they are telling me that my policy cannot be cancelled until the plates are surrendered, so I now have to pay an additional month of insurance - insurance, by the way, I do not need and they will not cover if I do have an accident since I now have ON insurance … so I do not know legally how they are allowed to charge another month of insurance (and deny a request for cancellation) when they are providing me with NO service! They are thieves and frauds!
3 of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Not happy with car insurance reviews for your insurance company? Get a quote across up to 20 Canadian car insurers and make sure that you do not pay too much.
 

money grab

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Very angry person Nov 28, 2018
I was driving a drunk friend home 2 years ago and he briefly put his upper half out of the window when I got pulled over and ticketed for 800$. After I paid that fine, I was told I still have to pay 650$ every year on my birthday for the next 3 years. So because of my drunk friend's silly little mistake, I have to pay almost 3000$ to ICBC over multiple years. Complete scam. Highway robbery, cash grab so they can pay their CEO’s more money than they can spend. ICBC needs to go. I’d move away in a heartbeat if I didn't have this bill looming over me.
3 of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?