Independent Auto Insurance Reviews

CAA Insurance Auto Insurance Reviews

(65 reviews)
This page has been viewed by:
58,741
consumers
(1.8 out of 5 stars)
Customer Service:
Value for Money:
Claim Experience:
 

Timely, fair, efficient

 
(5.0 out of 5 stars)
by Lindsay Jul 02, 2020
Our van was a total loss after a collision caused by a careless driver. We are CAA members and the tow arrived on time. The claim started after hours and processed in a timely manner. The first adjuster assessed the car within 2 days, second ‘total loss’ adjuster handled the settlement. They negotiated a fair price and cheque issued quickly. We have no complaints about the staff or process and would recommend CAA membership and auto insurance. They were helpful during a difficult time.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
If you have a good driving record in AB, you should pay around $110/month (women - $105/month and men - $113/month). Do you overpay? Get an Alberta car insurance quote to start saving.
 

Unsafe Services

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by PD Apr 22, 2020
I paid premier rates for thirty years rarely ever had to use them. Have one local garage here run by a town type bully. Harassed me at my home and work and if it were not for COVID I would have seen a judge and gotten a peace bond. The nonsense stopped because I am an essential worker and lasted the police to remind him I do not need more work right now. I tried several times to get CAA to allow me to call a tow from the neighbouring village but they rudely refused. Explained my situation and that this bully character doctors his books, townspeople from anywhere and doctors it to get paid by CAA. I told them I do not like paying high rates because of these characters but still, they do not care. I am welcome to pay for their insurance and call a different tow for my home area if I wish, but would have to pay for any different tow driver than their shyster.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Terrible service

 
(2.0 out of 5 stars)
by Bigdaddy Apr 15, 2020
If you have a classic car as a secondary vehicle, don’t even consider CAA. Their process to start a policy is ridiculous, requiring a safety inspection, pictures, then an underwriter review, while communication is nonexistent.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Did you know that on average Ontario drivers with good driving records pay $1,805/year in auto insurance? Is your insurance rate higher? Get a free car insurance quote and start saving today.
 

re-cancelation of policy

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Robert G Apr 09, 2020
I spoke to an agent and requested a quote for car insurance and accepted the same quote before looking at all the bad reviews about the CAA company. I left a number of phone messages with no reply. I sent many emails - no reply. This was just to cancel after less than 24 hours. Finally spoke to someone and was told it would cost $25.00 to cancel. They will charge my Visa. Do not deal with these people. Poor attitude and completely indifferent to my concerns. Said they take the reviews as a grain of sand Quote un Quote. Pay more and get a broker who cares and you can speak with. I can't even imagine what the service would be if I had to claim with CAA. ZERO RATING
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Terrible sales service

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Paul Feb 21, 2020
Rates may be ok but the sales service is terrible. Call multiple times like new customers for a quote and buy auto insurance. Talk to multiple people and they promised to call back. Nobody called back in two weeks. Looks like they don't need new customers with 28 year's clean record. Don't waste your time and go somewhere else who wants your business. They talk nice but nothing else. Is this company real or is it just another internet scam. If I can my rating is big zero.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Bad driving record? Your insurance rates can be double the standard insurance rate. Let us help you get the better auto insurance rate without breaking the bank.
 

CAA roadside assistance

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Paul Dec 14, 2019
I just got refused service because I have decals on my Dodge Ram 1500, they left me in the middle of the road at tight with a flat tire. Do not waste your time and money.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Zero stars

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Jim Nov 24, 2019
I have never in my life experienced such a nonchalant type of attitude. It’s freezing cold and we had been rejected by the first tow after the driver did not want to rig the vehicle. Prior to the dispatch we had already requested a flatbed but the agent said it was not able to be done; mind you we already knew it was able to have it requested as we have a different type of vehicle. After we were then reassured that the second tow truck was gonna be on its way and it would be here by 15 mins, just to be told by the driver it will be another 26 mins. I don’t know how an emergency dispatch service can be this unorganized and it’s utterly disgusting how unreliable these employees are. You are supposed to make the customers feel safe when using the service and not unsure if you “feel” like coming to do your job. Disappointed will not recommend to anyone. Go with someone else.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Not happy with car insurance reviews for your insurance company? Get a quote across up to 20 Canadian car insurers and make sure that you do not pay too much.
 

No Customer Service

 
(2.0 out of 5 stars)
by Bill E Nov 20, 2019
Started a claim on October 31st it is now November 20th and I have not received a single phone call from the adjuster. I have to call to get any kind of update. Finally, ask to speak to a supervisor on the last call and told they will call within 24 hours. Here I sit over 24 hours still no phone call. How do you get a company to contact you?
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

lazy customer service

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Andy Nov 06, 2019
I tried for weeks to remove my son who no longer lived at home and drove his car off my policy. My son sent in letters of experience from his current insurer, as well as copies of his pink slip indicating a different address and being the principal operator of his new car. CAA Insurance said the documents did not prove he was the primary insured and wanted declaration papers or whatever. Eventually, my son requested they just conference call his insurer to confirm the details. They advised him that this was not standard procedure as per management and it's faster to get a declaration form mailed to them which takes two weeks. How is a 15-minute phone call slower than snail mail? Incompetence at its finest. What's the point of customer service if it makes things more difficult and makes the customer do all the work? You might as well pay us instead of your agent at the call center.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
If you have a good driving record in AB, you should pay around $110/month (women - $105/month and men - $113/month). Do you overpay? Get an Alberta car insurance quote to start saving.
 

CAA agreement

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by pp Oct 30, 2019
MA voiture a ete heurte jai parle avec CAA il m'ont demander d,aller voir la compagnie Procolor Aylmer pour une inspection et voiture de courtoisie mais rien que des mensonges depuis 3 jours jappelle mais rien nest fait ne faite jamais confiance a CAA ne faite jamais vos assurance avec CAA. Cest la pire compagnie d assurance
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Incompetent in thier ability

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Brian N Oct 29, 2019
Mother and I were loyal customers. After many years, we had our first accident. Small one. Barely worth claiming. Call up to discuss the issue as I've never had to deal with this scenario. Turns out they cancelled our account due to non-payment. A fun little game they played over the last year. Come time for the automatic withdrawal and 'magically' something would go wrong. Speaking with my bank and they inform me it was the actions of CAA that was placing the stop on my account. The result, my ability to get new insurance is now significantly damaged due to the non-payment issue. Honestly, if they had just told me to leave I would have happily gone somewhere else. Let alone, if a payment is missed, the only option is to physically go into the one location. Meaning I have to leave work to do so and hope he didn't leave early because apparently, that's a thing when you only have one representative. This company only shows complete incompetence in their ability to manage their clients efficiently. Let alone such negligence. Currently building a case against them as they couldn't even remember to send me a letter of cancellation. Go with anyone else. At least you'll either know they care or know they are trying to screw you. With this company, they simply lack common sense and ability. A complete lack of professionalism.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Bad driving record? Your insurance rates can be double the standard insurance rate. Let us help you get the better auto insurance rate without breaking the bank.
 

Low customer respect

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by ali Oct 09, 2019
I have a bad experience with CAA insurance. Unfortunately, my credit cards have been declined twice because of technical issues. In fact, I had money for premium. For those reasons, they charged me 20$ and 50$ extra to remove policy cancellation. I called insurance and described the situation, sent an email with credit card statements which showed the money was available on the exact date of insurance payment. It may happen, when you may want to purchase something, but it may get declined by some bad internet connection or technical problems, and if you try second time, it will work. As my statements, I had money, and the CAA customer service did not try again. You know why? Because insurance companies think their customers are their slaves. They want to charge customers whatever they like. I think this is a breach of service that they have. The funniest section is, they do not inform you that your card is declined, it means you may not know your policy is cancelled until you see yourself in a trap. Anyway, I do not like their services.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

CAA MyPace scam

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by CAA Ripoff Oct 07, 2019
I was burned by CAA Canada's MyPace Pay-as-you-go auto insurance (Short story): 1. Broker CAA insurance in Thornhill, Ontario sent me a registered letter (10/2/2019) stating my device was unplugged or not working. 2. Stated that over the last 30 days they tried several attempts to contact me about any action I've done to maintain eligibility (not true). 3. Stated I had 15 business days to properly install the device (OBD dongle). The CAA device has always been attached to OBD socket from day one. 4. I went to mechanical (10/7/2019). He inserted a Snap-on OBD2 Diagnostic Scanner into OBD port and everything in the car was functioning perfectly. I have a 2016 Mazda CX-5. This vehicle's CAAA device never showed a dashboard in all browser and an Android App. In fact, clicking the "View CAA MyPace Dashboard" on their caamypace.com did nothing. NO error messages, no help, nothing but reload the same Welcome page! I believe this program to be a bait and hook scheme. As CAA Thornhill broker is now not going to renew my MyPace, but offered 3 times amount for regular CAA insurance renewal. I'm retiring, I only drive to the stores within 2km from my home. I have a dealership invoice showing 50,198km The odometer when purchased and as of 10/7/2019, it reads under 52,000km (about 1,800km over the entire year). I offered to drive to my local CAA branch to have someone verify this (CAA Thornhill girl thought I was scamming them). I was sent 2 devises any neither worked in a Canadian Mazda. My advice to everyone. DO NOT get car insurance from this company.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Did you know that on average Ontario drivers with good driving records pay $1,805/year in auto insurance? Is your insurance rate higher? Get a free car insurance quote and start saving today.
 

Saved me thousands!

 
(5.0 out of 5 stars)
by Thankful Oct 01, 2019
The agent at the CAA Schmon parkway location went above and beyond squeezing me in on very short notice. She explained everything to me in plain English and was a delight to deal with. She managed to help me cut my premium in more than half. If it wasn’t for her help I not only would not have been able to afford my premium but I would have had to leave my current employment opportunity as I wouldn’t have had insurance. Thank you so much! I cannot express my gratitude enough!
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Clueless and lazy personnel.

 
(1.5 out of 5 stars)
by Bugs Bunny Sep 11, 2019
Multiple calls and return calls, every time they claim there is no record of statements even though spent vast amounts of time with a different person asking the same questions. Lack of communication between employees who are clueless and lazy to find what is going on with their system of communication. Not impressed.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Not happy with car insurance reviews for your insurance company? Get a quote across up to 20 Canadian car insurers and make sure that you do not pay too much.
 

Device faulty

 
(2.0 out of 5 stars)
by Ken Sep 04, 2019
They sent me a faulty device. After the trip, I checked the driving score. Two days later I check again and the score was 30 points below. I didn't drive but score gone down.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

$2500 Deductable

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Duece Sep 04, 2019
I did an auto quote with CAA and was told my deductible would be $2500, because if the vehicle I drove. No tickets, accidents, claims to be quoted $2500. I did a quote on the lowest rates and the deductible was $500. I think I will stay with current auto insurance which is a $0 deductible because I have "NO" driving convictions for CAA to even mention $2500 for a deductible. Also, the agent/sales guy was rude and could not give me any good reason for that ridiculous quote for $2500. There are much better and cheaper insurance providers. Stay away from CAA, or go right now and get a quote elsewhere and tell us all how much you saved and how much better off you are.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
If you have a good driving record in AB, you should pay around $110/month (women - $105/month and men - $113/month). Do you overpay? Get an Alberta car insurance quote to start saving.
 

Brutal Customer service

 
(2.0 out of 5 stars)
by KC Jul 10, 2019
I have been a CAA customer for over 15 years, never had a claim until January this year. It was complicated in that I had two claims in process at once. At every turn, I had to make multiple calls to CAA to get/keep things moving. Never got the same person twice, never received a callback when promised. It took 3 months to get the work completed, for cosmetic damage (front and rear bumpers). CAA repeatedly lost track of the body shop estimates. They had to be sent 3 times. I am moving auto and home policies to another carrier, even if more expensive.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Amazing service!

 
(5.0 out of 5 stars)
by armas Jul 06, 2019
My family and I had great service with CAA. Our assistant was so friendly and nice. We had a rough day and he made it much better! Our car was towed perfectly and he had lots of knowledge! Thank you! 100% recommend!
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Bad driving record? Your insurance rates can be double the standard insurance rate. Let us help you get the better auto insurance rate without breaking the bank.
 

Agents lack knowledge.

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by se12 Jun 20, 2019
My wife works as a residential care worker for a group home operator for people with cognitive and physical disabilities. When asked how many km she drove to work she said that it varied a little bit as the employer has 4 separate homes she may have to do her shifts at. The agent tried to say that she was then using the vehicle for commercial purposes. We explained that she only worked for 1 employer and she drove to her shift before her shift started and then home after her shift ended and only once per week and that the vehicle was never used as part of her job. The agent then got quite abrupt and insisted that she was using her vehicle for commercial purposes and we would have to pay commercial rates. Talk about lack of training and knowledge. I figured that after this experience that I would not want to have to deal with them for a claim if this is how they treat people in sales.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

TOTALLY DISSATISFIED

 
(2.0 out of 5 stars)
by frustrated to no end May 18, 2019
My wife and l own a 2000 Safari van in VERY good shape, we were hit in OUR OWN driveway by 2 men and truck movers. It was all caught on video. The "manager" told me he would settle this with me, no problem, it was only between 2800 & 3000$ damage. After a lengthy dispute with him, he told the police he did not hit my van... REALLY, how are you going to get past the security video l have! SO, this is where CAA is supposed to take over...or so l thought! After many many emails back and forth, l was told by one agent it had already been repaired, then another agent told me "sorry it's a total loss". Seriously, it went from zero to indescribable in a few short weeks. l was tossed around from one person to another. l have had nothing short of an indescribable nasty experience with CAA, they take your money and then they leave you hanging, then they give you a run-around. l didn't realize that l had to have a million dollar vehicle to get some attention to what has happened to us. Mind you, being with CAA as long as l have been, l have dealt with some "humans" that care, they are the exception, then there are those that think they are God! All this over a small incident that could have been easily resolved without all this red tape and raw feelings. Really, CAA, l hope that no one out there has to go through what my wife and l are going through jusn because you have an older vehicle...
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Did you know that on average Ontario drivers with good driving records pay $1,805/year in auto insurance? Is your insurance rate higher? Get a free car insurance quote and start saving today.
 

Applying for Insurance

 
(1.5 out of 5 stars)
by Thomas May 09, 2019
We decided to get a quote for new insurance rates and were told that even though my wife and I are excellent drivers my daughter who was in an accident many years ago on our Insurance and who now no longer lives with us that we would be penalized for her at fault accident until she gets new Insurance from another Insurance company. Once she gets new Insurance our rates at CAA would go down. This agent says this is a standard practice from other Insurance companies. It was a good thing we shopped around because the other 4 Insurance companies said my wife and I would not be penalized for my daughter's mistake just as long as my daughter no longer lives at our place and is not on our Insurance. One agent from a well-known Insurance company that we talked to said that we were given a line and what was told to us from CAA does not make any sense at all. As he said if she was on your Insurance policy absolutely you would be penalized but she no longer resides at your place and because she does not have Insurance you will still be penalized? He just laughed and said that does not make any sense what so ever and that is not how his Insurance company works and that my wife and I would not be penalized for her mistake. Hence we moved all our Insurance to them at a great rate! Watch out for CAA Auto Insurance as we have found out and definitely shop around as you will be amazed at what better deals you can find. I could imagine if you tried to ever make a claim with CAA and what kind of hassles they would give you. Were glad we did not go with them.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

painful experience

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by pissed off May 06, 2019
Wish there was a negative status like 0 to - 10 or something. Had the worst experience ever while trying to switch vehicles. First of all, they need to put an English speaking option on the menu, then get actual people capable of speaking the language. This would probably help with their dismal ratings. as for my experience with their people, I would rate them at - 10, totally useless.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Not happy with car insurance reviews for your insurance company? Get a quote across up to 20 Canadian car insurers and make sure that you do not pay too much.
 

Service awful

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Anon Apr 26, 2019
Called at 8:22 pm April 25 9°C for a boost, due to a dead battery. Was told it would take approximately 45 minutes. After 45 minutes had passed, I received an electronic message stating it would be approximately 15 minutes before the employee would arrive. I grabbed my purse jacket and shoes, to meet them in the parking lot of my apartment building. This couldn't have taken even 5 minutes. When I got downstairs I sat in my cold car and waited until 9:35 pm. Then I called, inquiring where the employee was, only to be told they got here at 9:06 pm and left at 9:12. They never tried to call me, despite possessing my number, to let me know they were here. Not once did I see them enter the parking lot while downstairs. I am still, at 10:01 pm, sitting here with my son. With no boost. This is a disgusting service, and after 30 years of loyal subscription, I am outraged.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Worst experience with CAA

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Diana Mar 27, 2019
Two weeks ago, to be more precise, on March 13, 2019, I called CAA department to submit a new claim regarding the fact that someone in the morning of March 13, 2018, rear-ended me while I was stopped at a Red light. It has been two weeks now and apparently, the Claim still has not been submitted/ processed. Called the claim department. To say the least, this is extremely disappointing and shows the lack of care and service towards the customers. I have called twice now to get an update, and today as I noted above, I was advised that you have done NOTHING. I sent an email and NO REPLY. I pay the required monthly payment on time each and every month, but once a claim is put, it seems that CAA reluctantly chooses not to respond to it on a timely basis. Again, this is unfortunate and unprofessional of CAA. I have been a client with CAA for several years and currently have my Car and two houses with them. The worst experience and the most unprofessional insurance company
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
If you have a good driving record in AB, you should pay around $110/month (women - $105/month and men - $113/month). Do you overpay? Get an Alberta car insurance quote to start saving.
 

Bad car insurance advice.

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by CAA is bad insurance Mar 10, 2019
I called them after a minor fender bender in a shopping parking lot to ask for advice. If I make a claim, will my insurance go up since I wasn't at fault? The agent wouldn't answer and would just repeatedly say: Do you want to make a claim? The only way to get advice was only if I made a claim first!!! So I ended up making a claim, I took photos of the parking lot and drew sketches of how the accident happened. A year later, when I got the renewal letter, the insurance was sky high! When I called to complain about this, they blamed me for not talking to the right person. How was I supposed to know who is answering the phone at CAA insurance wasn't qualified to answer car accident questions? I changed insurance companies. They still send me letters to join them.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Waiting for check...

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Linda P Feb 19, 2019
One month so far, was told they were purolating it as soon as my paperwork came back, I even went to an office so I could expedite the process! I am so frustrated...they sent a check on the 30th of Jan...never received it. It wasn't Purolator. They won't take my old car, which I haven't driven since Dec 30, off my policy till I get my check!!! I don't have 200.00 to pay on the 25?? Also when you call and choose "talk about your existing policy", they make you sit on hold...but if you want a quote, they give you the callback option!! Nice... if they have your money already, sit on hold for 40mins!!!
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Did you know that on average Ontario drivers with good driving records pay $1,805/year in auto insurance? Is your insurance rate higher? Get a free car insurance quote and start saving today.
 

very bad

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by amool Feb 07, 2019
I have been waiting 3 days for my car to be towed. Then finally I had to hire another tow company to take care of my car.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

CAA Insurance 0 stars

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by BSPYYZ777 Jan 05, 2019
CAA insurance: one of the biggest (and most expensive) mistakes I've made. Customer service so bad, they lie to you, misquote, and it's easier to meet the queen of England at Starbucks than to cancel your policy with CAA. Companies like this should be banned or bankrupt. My bad: I read reviews when I buy a $10 item from Amazon, should've read the reviews for CAA on this website...
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Not happy with car insurance reviews for your insurance company? Get a quote across up to 20 Canadian car insurers and make sure that you do not pay too much.
 

Tow Truck Trouble

 
(1.5 out of 5 stars)
by Cav Nov 14, 2018
My tire blew out on the highway in Toronto and after calling CAA I was told there were no calls available until the plan renewed the next day. Opting to renew the plan and pay an additional $30 I agreed so that I could get the tow truck but instead of calling the tow truck, they made me speak to another representative who took my credit card details BEFORE calling a tow. At the time, I was parked on the side of a ramp barely avoiding cars driving past me swerving into the side lane. I asked them to just call the tow truck before I wasted time giving them my credit card information but they refused to place the call until I first upgraded to the premium account. The priority here was not my safety but CAA's profit margin.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?