Independent Home Insurance Reviews

TD Insurance Home Insurance Reviews

(105 reviews)
This page has been viewed by:
60,575
consumers
(1.6 out of 5 stars)
Customer Service:
Value for Money:
Claim Experience:
 

Underquoting

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by ConnedbyTD Jun 28, 2020
TD Insurance is definitely an unethical company. On my first call for a quotation, I got a fairly low price for home insurance pending home inspection. After a home inspection, they did not call or write. Close to my start date, I called and found out that they have more than doubled the quoted price and the only reason is that the cost of rebuilding if needed is higher than they had quoted. I believe that they should have known all this during the initial quote as they had my house address, house size, roof material, etc. The home inspection did not turn out any discrepancies to our initial conversation. I believe they purposefully underquoted. These are bait tactics that prevented me from shopping and checking quotes from other companies. TD Insurance is definitely unethical. I will not start my policies with them as I can't trust them to keep their promises if an unfortunate event is to happen. PS. Also, they promised to call back within 24 hours with more explanation about the reasons for the policy change but never did. That was more than 7 days ago.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Did you know that Ontarians pay, on average, $47/month in homeowners insurance? Looking to change your home insurance or simply want ensure that you do not overpay? Our home insurance quotes are among the most competitive.
 

No help during CoVID-19!

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by MJP Jun 04, 2020
TD Insurance has decided not to insure properties under construction due to COVID-19. I asked, but nobody was able to give me an answer as to how a virus can cause damage to a residence. I've been with TD Insurance for my home and vehicles for 9 years. My property went under construction during COVID-19. I tried to change my policy due to the construction that is underway (and stalled). They told me they cannot provide insurance due to the virus. DO NOT CHOOSE TD insurance.... they will take your money, but when you need them, they say "we can't help you"...
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Poor customer service

 
(2.0 out of 5 stars)
by Hanna M May 28, 2020
I was out of the country for two years and set up an auto-renewal plan for my home insurance. When I returned, I found out there was a problem with the auto-payment, and so my house was not insured for one year. In addition, when I talked to an insurance representative, I was charged an extra $104 and told I would not be able to renew my plan. TD Insurance had my contact information, but I received no email to let me know about this problem. Very disappointed. I would have been devastated if I came home to a house that had damage, or was burnt down, and no insurance.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Looking to save on home insurance? Get our cheap home insurance quote and start saving on home insurance! You will be surprised by how much you can save while getting more extensive coverage.
 

Don't get trapped by TD

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by EW May 15, 2020
This insurance company sets up anyway and every way to charge their clients. If you work on computer at home, they add an amount $. At the end of the year of your payment, if you want to cancel your policy, they charge you as well, almost $100, even in a very bad situation like coronavirus pandemic when my own bank reduced interest on all their products. If you are looking for home insurance, make more phone calls and find someone else.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Paying out

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by ArsonCase Feb 05, 2020
They miscommunicated that we wanted the restoration companies to clean everything, ended up paying over $12,000 out of pocket for the accidental restoration of broken/non-fitting items. Wouldn’t get callbacks for WEEKS, dealt with over 30 people trying to get things fixed or done. Went through three main adjusters, one let go for incompetence, another had a job change in the middle and the last wrote off all usable clothing instead of provided list I made myself of actual losses. I lost all of my sentimental things that were fine due to this with an unreasonable (CRDN) company. DO NOT DEAL WITH THEM. Sold us a policy when I asked for $50,000 EXTRA coverage for jewellery ok top of the $79,000 content, they charged me $200 more (on top of $400, 50% more) and made $50,000 out of $79,000 for jewellery. Lost so much due to this clerical error but they would not take responsibility. After a review of the call, they admitted it was a miscommunication on their end but did not fix it. I called for another quote and they told me the same thing! Tried to sell me the same package with incorrect info! I have recordings of all of the misinformation from CRDN and TD and intend on getting some money back from CRDN. Two companies mistakes I had to pay for. Please do not deal with these guys!
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Canadians pay, on average, approximately $20 per month in tenants insurance. Do you rent or plan to rent a property and want to reduce insurance costs? We will help you get a cheap tenant insurance quote today.
 

Worst Company Ever

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by xocanadiano Jan 07, 2020
Back in October, I tried to sign up with TD home insurance for my condo. Originally I got a quote for $333 per year at a discounted price because I was an alumnus at a university. But the agent I spoke with messed up and forgot to apply my discount when he sent the policy to me by mail. I called in and another agent was like - yeah, the person forgot to apply your discount and we can’t add it in anymore, we will have to forward your case to another department so they can add it. After months of chasing down, still no update. Then the next thing they send me is a letter saying if I don’t pay the price they sent on the policy, then they will cancel it on Dec 27th. I called them to check the update and they were like if I were you, I’d pay the full amount and then eventually they will credit you back anything they owe you and they’re not going to send the updated policy after. That’s so ridiculous...I said I’m not paying until I get my updated policy with my discount by mail since I’ve had bad experiences in the past where I pay in full and I spent months chasing down to get my credit back which was a hassle. I said it’s either I get my policy with the discount by mail so I can pay or I take my business elsewhere. Then I called them yesterday and they’re like it’s been cancelled because you didn’t pay and - oh there’s an additional $85 you have to pay on top of that because of late penalty fee/ cancellation fee after the deadline. I told them I’m not paying you a penny for something you guys screwed up on. This was the worst experience ever.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Avoid at all costs!

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by James Jan 07, 2020
Dealing with TD insurance has been incredibly frustrating, and I'm only talking about making a payment and getting a ring insured. I'm sure making a claim would be a complete nightmare. I sent in an appraisal to have a ring insured, they promised it would be processed in 1 to 2 days. After 8 days with no response I called again and they said they were busy and refused to give an ETA. After 2 or 3 weeks with no response, I called back and changed my insurance policy to include jewelry and told them to not add the ring as a separate policy. A week later they sent me a bill for the rings policy and charged it without my consent. One of the most poorly run operations out there!
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Are you a condo unit tenant? Remember that neither your condominium corporations' policy nor your landlord's insurance policy protects you as a tenant (3rd part liability, contents, etc.). If you do not have your own insurance policy, get your condominium insurance quote today.
 

Basement leak

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by JM Nov 13, 2019
Would not cover due to outside water coming in through a crack in foundation. After 10 years with TD, it still was refused. Not worth hiring a lawyer or fighting in small claims court. They need to be sued on a class action basis and maybe straighten up.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Cancelled w/o Communication

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by g1oomy Oct 07, 2019
We've had a vacant property insured for a year and at the one year mark, they cancelled our policy, leaving our property uninsured. They have no problem mailing our policy with private information on it, why couldn't they have the courtesy to communicate with us that this would happen? Also, they have never said that they won't insure properties that are vacant for a year and lead us on. I DO NOT recommend them. Stay away from this company.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Households in Alberta pay, on average, approximately $60/month in homeowners’ insurance costs. We can help to push these costs even further down. Get a house insurance quote today to start saving today. Rates start at $20/month.
 

Under customer service

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Button Sep 18, 2019
We had a claim and we were not being treated fairly thus gave up. Every point raised they said the policy did not cover. It took 10 days to get a copy of the policy to show we were covered for roof water damage. Then we were told to submit a second claim for an additional deductible, we requested a second adjuster and were told there was not an acceptable adjuster in our area. This was for hail damage and they would only consider patches rather than replacement. Our neighbours, who have a different insurance company, are having repairs completed. Found the staff to be junior in status and not willing to provide a service for which we thought we were paying for. This was the first and only claim with TD Insurance over some ten years.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Bad service, shady billing

 
(1.5 out of 5 stars)
by angryTDcustomer Sep 16, 2019
Getting through to their phone agents is a pain. Takes very long and then usually end up transferring you which takes even longer. I cancelled my policy and they told me I would be deposited a refund after deducting from my last payment some amount. 3 months later, I get a letter threatening with collection actions for 19 dollars owed in the account! Called them and got nowhere. Terrible experience. I had no claims, but based on other reviews, I imagine that would have been a pain as well. Stay away from TD. Have never had as much trouble or shadier billing practices with other insurance companies, only TD. Garbage.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Canadians pay, on average, approximately $20 per month in tenants insurance. Do you rent or plan to rent a property and want to reduce insurance costs? We will help you get a cheap tenant insurance quote today.
 

Good price. Terrible Service

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Jeffy Aug 20, 2019
Prices are amongst the best in the industry but the phone service is terrible, utterly terrible. I am on hold as I type this and have been waiting for 1 hour and 32 minutes. Who knows how much longer.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Terrible service

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by shovon Aug 17, 2019
I kept calling over a week, every call was over 1 hour, even I could not talk to any representative. So terrible service
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Looking to save on home insurance? Get our cheap home insurance quote and start saving on home insurance! You will be surprised by how much you can save while getting more extensive coverage.
 

Looong wait for service

 
(2.5 out of 5 stars)
by Mike Aug 14, 2019
The overall price is reasonable if you can obtain a group rate. But the service is TERRIBLE. Wait times on their phone system is commonly an hour. TD Bank made 3.2 Billion dollars in profit during one quarter in 2019 and they cannot afford to hire more service personnel?!
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Terrible service

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by jonny Aug 13, 2019
I had a flood in my duplex because the main drain got blocked halfway down and my claim has been refused. It can take hours to get a hold of customer service.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Did you know that Ontarians pay, on average, $47/month in homeowners insurance? Looking to change your home insurance or simply want ensure that you do not overpay? Our home insurance quotes are among the most competitive.
 

ON hold

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by gooeyu Aug 09, 2019
Like many of the other reviews here I have been on hold for over an hour and still have not talked to a representative. I switched to TD because a friend recommended them but I am now regretting that choice. While I was signing up for the service I was on hold for 5-10 min max. This is ridiculous. Time to change to another company.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Horrible Claim service

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Wilson Jul 31, 2019
Could have give 0 stars if I can, I am not sure is it the adjuster assigned to me or just general service. Doesn't pick up the phone, leave voicemail no callback, doesn't reply email. Has been calling and emailing for a month no reply. Trying to call the general line and for sure only that adjuster can deal with it.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Are you a condo unit tenant? Remember that neither your condominium corporations' policy nor your landlord's insurance policy protects you as a tenant (3rd part liability, contents, etc.). If you do not have your own insurance policy, get your condominium insurance quote today.
 

Long waiting time....

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Dan Jul 23, 2019
I have tried to call TD bank insurance to cancel my home insurance for the next few days. After 30mins, I have to hang up due to different reasons. Then, I use TD bank insurance app to cancel my policy by sending a message, there is no response. Now, I do not know what to do... I am paying money with NO service.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Very poor custmer service

 
(1.5 out of 5 stars)
by BeDe May 17, 2019
I am on hold over 1 hour just to make some changes on my policy Just a Canadian company can do such a thing. It is so frustrating
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Households in Alberta pay, on average, approximately $60/month in homeowners’ insurance costs. We can help to push these costs even further down. Get a house insurance quote today to start saving today. Rates start at $20/month.
 

Total scam quoting!

 
(1.5 out of 5 stars)
by Elle Apr 30, 2019
They quote you one price.. then you have to call them to confirm the price. Lo and behold, the price goes up to $700 yearly! ($1300 to $2000) what a total scam! No thanks TD! I am totally disgusted.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

45 mins and waiting

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Lea Apr 17, 2019
I'm still on hold after 45 minutes. I was just calling to inquire but now I'm considering just to cancel my policy with them. RBC is better when you call them, they offer you an option to stay on the line or they will put you on queue and call you back after a few mins. Not a recommended company. look elsewhere with better service.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Canadians pay, on average, approximately $20 per month in tenants insurance. Do you rent or plan to rent a property and want to reduce insurance costs? We will help you get a cheap tenant insurance quote today.
 

Incompetent Crooks!

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Tyler A Mar 26, 2019
For 5 months I was charged for someone else's vehicle insurance. 2 other policies that were not mine in fact! Tried resolving with them directly for months and was given the runaround. They could not even tell me what insurance policies I currently held with them or they just refused to. I do not have a driver's license and do not drive, I have not for 16 years. I am a single late 30s white male and should have only been getting charged for my home insurance as that is the only policy I held with them. I had to involve my TD bank branch and one of the financial advisors was able to shake the tree and get this somewhat resolved. I say somewhat because TD insurance only agreed to repay the exact amount they removed from my chequing account over the course of 5 months and many withdrawals. They refused to pay me 5 months interest on the amount owing and also refused to reimburse me for overdraft fees I received over this time period. I highly suggest nobody go with TD insurance. This is unacceptable! And I am absolutely shocked this was allowed to happen and has taken so long to partially resolve. I'm currently considering legal action towards them. Just unreal
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Deceptive quote process

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by JasonW Feb 22, 2019
I signed up for a tenant policy. You can start obtaining a quote online but at a certain point, you are required to phone in and deal with an agent. The agent I dealt with, while very polite, did not voluntarily disclose some fairly major exclusions. These were only included in the policy details after signing up for it. Among the major exclusions, I assumed were covered were an earthquake, flooding, and water backup. I phoned back as soon as I received the policy details by mail and canceled (1 week after the policy was initiated). I was told there would be a charge almost equivalent to 1 month premium to cancel despite the fact I was only seeing the details of the policy for the first time and had had it for less than a week. When I asked for an email confirmation that the cancellation had gone through I was told they did not have the ability to do this despite the fact that they had sent me confirmation when I signed up for the policy. It is clearly a deliberate effort to be non-transparent to not disclose the details of the policy until after you've signed up already. I later found a quote that was a fraction of the price that covered the major exclusions in this policy. I should have done more research. Just glad I did not have to try to make a claim.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Did you know that Ontarians pay, on average, $47/month in homeowners insurance? Looking to change your home insurance or simply want ensure that you do not overpay? Our home insurance quotes are among the most competitive.
 

0 stars

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by verymad Feb 22, 2019
My partner and I were victims of a tornado in the NCR region. This happened in September, and it is now almost March and we still haven't gotten a proper offer for our claim. The guy dealing with us ignored us until December, we called and emailed so many times and he never replied. We then escalated the matter to two of his managers who both ignored us as well. We lost so much stuff in the tornado since our apartment was on the top floor, to the point that I wanted to move away to avoid reliving the experience. We lost in total over 10K worth of things (my partner's hearing aids were lost, my laptop was broken, etc) so when they finally answered us, they told us they could only offer $1500.....My laptop ALONE was worth 2300 (MacBook), and we lost A LOT of stuff, let me tell you. So, we finally got offered someone else to deal with our stuff, who spoke to us ONCE over the phone, and then has been ignoring us for a month. It's been 8 months! We haven't been able to properly afford anything due to this situation. Please avoid TD at all costs, they will dodge you and low ball you.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Home Insurance Policy

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Unhappy Customer Feb 20, 2019
Total disregard for ice buildup inside the interior roof. Waited on the phone 2 hrs, the adjuster came said it's not covered but we have the best policy
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Looking to save on home insurance? Get our cheap home insurance quote and start saving on home insurance! You will be surprised by how much you can save while getting more extensive coverage.
 

Nutcase

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Roxci Feb 11, 2019
My neighbour's house burned down and nearly burned my house down. Dealt with an adjuster who told me I should feel bad for my neighbour as they lost their house. She was not at all concerned for me and my family, who had to sleep in a car for a week because they would not find us anywhere to go. I then called her manager to let her know the terrible treatment we received and she didn’t care and she actually YELLED at me. They’re NUTS. I’m still homeless and they’re useless. Don’t buy this insurance.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Worst company ever

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Authentic Nov 26, 2018
My parents have a basement water leak that was assessed by the insurance. The adjuster, who came to their home, stated that they would take care of it and approve it. Not sure if he is talking about fixing it 5 years down the road. He has got to be the worst adjuster ever. Not only have my parents left numerous voice messages, they have also left emails for him to follow up to see what is happening with the timeline. He doesn't even reply back to any messages. He is missing in action. I work in health care and have to deal with adjusters. They are the worst professionals ever. They have no professionalism and no common sense. They lack morals and etiquette. I am a few days away from speaking to the manager at TD insurance and making a big issue about their lack of professionalism. We all live busy lives. Being busy is just an excuse for them. The adjuster just lacks credibility. I believe what goes around comes around. Stay away from these crooks.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Households in Alberta pay, on average, approximately $60/month in homeowners’ insurance costs. We can help to push these costs even further down. Get a house insurance quote today to start saving today. Rates start at $20/month.
 

2 houses, no care from TD

 
(1.5 out of 5 stars)
by Unlucky5 Nov 20, 2018
I have been banking with TD since the 90's and I have two houses with a mortgage through TD. Being centralized from their bank, I decided to insure both homes with TD Home Insurance. I had an easy claim with a construction company that damaged my house accidentally and said they take full responsibility through our insurance companies. It took over 2 hours to actually get ahold of someone at TD who would talk about the claim (the first person refused to answer any questions and just took my "claim" even though I wasn't sure if I wanted to make one). Finally, I made the claim and my adjuster said they would call me back in a couple days to let me know if the company insurance was going to pay or not. I waited weeks and left a voicemail about everything. Finally, a different follow-up person checked in with me after I have been out of pocket for the whole damage emergency repair bill for nearly a month. She said they would call back in another 10 business days for sure. It's been 10 business days and now two months since the accident, which I had to pay in full and no one has ever called. I'm cancelling both houses this week and going with a company who actually cares about their customers. It is very stressful to not know what is happening and have to spend hours on the phone during a house crisis. Go with someone else if you are reading this.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

2 Hour Wait Times

 
(1.5 out of 5 stars)
by tyler Nov 13, 2018
My condo was recently flooded (neighbour's fault) and I had tried calling TD Insurance various times throughout the week, each time was a minimum wait of at least an hour. By the third time I called TD, it took just over 2 hours to speak with a representative. This is unacceptable customer service from TD Insurance. Will be changing providers once this is all settled
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Are you a condo unit tenant? Remember that neither your condominium corporations' policy nor your landlord's insurance policy protects you as a tenant (3rd part liability, contents, etc.). If you do not have your own insurance policy, get your condominium insurance quote today.
 

WORST TD Insurance EVER!!

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by ljmayer Nov 01, 2018
We have been a loyal customer with TD Insurance for approx. 14 years, house, vehicles etc. They have the nerve after 14 years to "DEMAND" that we install a new eavestrough on our house and they only give us 2 months to do it and it's smack dab in the middle of winter when there is 4ft of snow, ice and it's -20 temperatures. Not to mention it was over the Dec/Jan months when they demanded it be done and show the proof of a reputable company. We have NEVER made any house claims and we have NEVER missed payments on anything. I cannot tell you how ANGRY I am with them. And their letters always say "we're here to help" "you are important to us". What a load of CRAP! If this is how they treat a long time loyal customer... STAY AWAY !! And if the Rating was negative, I'd give them a minus 1000.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?