Independent Home Insurance Reviews

TD Insurance Home Insurance Reviews

(92 reviews)
This page has been viewed by:
48,631
consumers
(1.6 out of 5 stars)
Customer Service:
Value for Money:
Claim Experience:
 

Good price. Terrible Service

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Jeffy Aug 20, 2019
Prices are amongst the best in the industry but the phone service is terrible, utterly terrible. I am on hold as I type this and have been waiting for 1 hour and 32 minutes. Who knows how much longer.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Are you a condo unit tenant? Remember that neither your condominium corporations' policy nor your landlord's insurance policy protects you as a tenant (3rd part liability, contents, etc.). If you do not have your own insurance policy, get your condominium insurance quote today.
 

Terrible service

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by shovon Aug 17, 2019
I kept calling over a week, every call was over 1 hour, even I could not talk to any representative. So terrible service
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Looong wait for service

 
(2.5 out of 5 stars)
by Mike Aug 14, 2019
The overall price is reasonable if you can obtain a group rate. But the service is TERRIBLE. Wait times on their phone system is commonly an hour. TD Bank made 3.2 Billion dollars in profit during one quarter in 2019 and they cannot afford to hire more service personnel?!
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Did you know that Ontarians pay, on average, $47/month in homeowners insurance? Looking to change your home insurance or simply want ensure that you do not overpay? Our home insurance quotes are among the most competitive.
 

Terrible service

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by jonny Aug 13, 2019
I had a flood in my duplex because the main drain got blocked halfway down and my claim has been refused. It can take hours to get a hold of customer service.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

ON hold

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by gooeyu Aug 09, 2019
Like many of the other reviews here I have been on hold for over an hour and still have not talked to a representative. I switched to TD because a friend recommended them but I am now regretting that choice. While I was signing up for the service I was on hold for 5-10 min max. This is ridiculous. Time to change to another company.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Looking to save on home insurance? Get our cheap home insurance quote and start saving on home insurance! You will be surprised by how much you can save while getting more extensive coverage.
 

Horrible Claim service

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Wilson Jul 31, 2019
Could have give 0 stars if I can, I am not sure is it the adjuster assigned to me or just general service. Doesn't pick up the phone, leave voicemail no callback, doesn't reply email. Has been calling and emailing for a month no reply. Trying to call the general line and for sure only that adjuster can deal with it.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Long waiting time....

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Dan Jul 23, 2019
I have tried to call TD bank insurance to cancel my home insurance for the next few days. After 30mins, I have to hang up due to different reasons. Then, I use TD bank insurance app to cancel my policy by sending a message, there is no response. Now, I do not know what to do... I am paying money with NO service.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Canadians pay, on average, approximately $20 per month in tenants insurance. Do you rent or plan to rent a property and want to reduce insurance costs? We will help you get a cheap tenant insurance quote today.
 

Very poor custmer service

 
(1.5 out of 5 stars)
by BeDe May 17, 2019
I am on hold over 1 hour just to make some changes on my policy Just a Canadian company can do such a thing. It is so frustrating
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Total scam quoting!

 
(1.5 out of 5 stars)
by Elle Apr 30, 2019
They quote you one price.. then you have to call them to confirm the price. Lo and behold, the price goes up to $700 yearly! ($1300 to $2000) what a total scam! No thanks TD! I am totally disgusted.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Households in Alberta pay, on average, approximately $60/month in homeowners’ insurance costs. We can help to push these costs even further down. Get a house insurance quote today to start saving today. Rates start at $20/month.
 

45 mins and waiting

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Lea Apr 17, 2019
I'm still on hold after 45 minutes. I was just calling to inquire but now I'm considering just to cancel my policy with them. RBC is better when you call them, they offer you an option to stay on the line or they will put you on queue and call you back after a few mins. Not a recommended company. look elsewhere with better service.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Incompetent Crooks!

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Tyler A Mar 26, 2019
For 5 months I was charged for someone else's vehicle insurance. 2 other policies that were not mine in fact! Tried resolving with them directly for months and was given the runaround. They could not even tell me what insurance policies I currently held with them or they just refused to. I do not have a driver's license and do not drive, I have not for 16 years. I am a single late 30s white male and should have only been getting charged for my home insurance as that is the only policy I held with them. I had to involve my TD bank branch and one of the financial advisors was able to shake the tree and get this somewhat resolved. I say somewhat because TD insurance only agreed to repay the exact amount they removed from my chequing account over the course of 5 months and many withdrawals. They refused to pay me 5 months interest on the amount owing and also refused to reimburse me for overdraft fees I received over this time period. I highly suggest nobody go with TD insurance. This is unacceptable! And I am absolutely shocked this was allowed to happen and has taken so long to partially resolve. I'm currently considering legal action towards them. Just unreal
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Are you a condo unit tenant? Remember that neither your condominium corporations' policy nor your landlord's insurance policy protects you as a tenant (3rd part liability, contents, etc.). If you do not have your own insurance policy, get your condominium insurance quote today.
 

Deceptive quote process

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by JasonW Feb 22, 2019
I signed up for a tenant policy. You can start obtaining a quote online but at a certain point, you are required to phone in and deal with an agent. The agent I dealt with, while very polite, did not voluntarily disclose some fairly major exclusions. These were only included in the policy details after signing up for it. Among the major exclusions, I assumed were covered were an earthquake, flooding, and water backup. I phoned back as soon as I received the policy details by mail and canceled (1 week after the policy was initiated). I was told there would be a charge almost equivalent to 1 month premium to cancel despite the fact I was only seeing the details of the policy for the first time and had had it for less than a week. When I asked for an email confirmation that the cancellation had gone through I was told they did not have the ability to do this despite the fact that they had sent me confirmation when I signed up for the policy. It is clearly a deliberate effort to be non-transparent to not disclose the details of the policy until after you've signed up already. I later found a quote that was a fraction of the price that covered the major exclusions in this policy. I should have done more research. Just glad I did not have to try to make a claim.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

0 stars

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by verymad Feb 22, 2019
My partner and I were victims of a tornado in the NCR region. This happened in September, and it is now almost March and we still haven't gotten a proper offer for our claim. The guy dealing with us ignored us until December, we called and emailed so many times and he never replied. We then escalated the matter to two of his managers who both ignored us as well. We lost so much stuff in the tornado since our apartment was on the top floor, to the point that I wanted to move away to avoid reliving the experience. We lost in total over 10K worth of things (my partner's hearing aids were lost, my laptop was broken, etc) so when they finally answered us, they told us they could only offer $1500.....My laptop ALONE was worth 2300 (MacBook), and we lost A LOT of stuff, let me tell you. So, we finally got offered someone else to deal with our stuff, who spoke to us ONCE over the phone, and then has been ignoring us for a month. It's been 8 months! We haven't been able to properly afford anything due to this situation. Please avoid TD at all costs, they will dodge you and low ball you.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Canadians pay, on average, approximately $20 per month in tenants insurance. Do you rent or plan to rent a property and want to reduce insurance costs? We will help you get a cheap tenant insurance quote today.
 

Home Insurance Policy

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Unhappy Customer Feb 20, 2019
Total disregard for ice buildup inside the interior roof. Waited on the phone 2 hrs, the adjuster came said it's not covered but we have the best policy
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Nutcase

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Roxci Feb 11, 2019
My neighbour's house burned down and nearly burned my house down. Dealt with an adjuster who told me I should feel bad for my neighbour as they lost their house. She was not at all concerned for me and my family, who had to sleep in a car for a week because they would not find us anywhere to go. I then called her manager to let her know the terrible treatment we received and she didn’t care and she actually YELLED at me. They’re NUTS. I’m still homeless and they’re useless. Don’t buy this insurance.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Did you know that Ontarians pay, on average, $47/month in homeowners insurance? Looking to change your home insurance or simply want ensure that you do not overpay? Our home insurance quotes are among the most competitive.
 

Worst company ever

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Authentic Nov 26, 2018
My parents have a basement water leak that was assessed by the insurance. The adjuster, who came to their home, stated that they would take care of it and approve it. Not sure if he is talking about fixing it 5 years down the road. He has got to be the worst adjuster ever. Not only have my parents left numerous voice messages, they have also left emails for him to follow up to see what is happening with the timeline. He doesn't even reply back to any messages. He is missing in action. I work in health care and have to deal with adjusters. They are the worst professionals ever. They have no professionalism and no common sense. They lack morals and etiquette. I am a few days away from speaking to the manager at TD insurance and making a big issue about their lack of professionalism. We all live busy lives. Being busy is just an excuse for them. The adjuster just lacks credibility. I believe what goes around comes around. Stay away from these crooks.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

2 houses, no care from TD

 
(1.5 out of 5 stars)
by Unlucky5 Nov 20, 2018
I have been banking with TD since the 90's and I have two houses with a mortgage through TD. Being centralized from their bank, I decided to insure both homes with TD Home Insurance. I had an easy claim with a construction company that damaged my house accidentally and said they take full responsibility through our insurance companies. It took over 2 hours to actually get ahold of someone at TD who would talk about the claim (the first person refused to answer any questions and just took my "claim" even though I wasn't sure if I wanted to make one). Finally, I made the claim and my adjuster said they would call me back in a couple days to let me know if the company insurance was going to pay or not. I waited weeks and left a voicemail about everything. Finally, a different follow-up person checked in with me after I have been out of pocket for the whole damage emergency repair bill for nearly a month. She said they would call back in another 10 business days for sure. It's been 10 business days and now two months since the accident, which I had to pay in full and no one has ever called. I'm cancelling both houses this week and going with a company who actually cares about their customers. It is very stressful to not know what is happening and have to spend hours on the phone during a house crisis. Go with someone else if you are reading this.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Looking to save on home insurance? Get our cheap home insurance quote and start saving on home insurance! You will be surprised by how much you can save while getting more extensive coverage.
 

2 Hour Wait Times

 
(1.5 out of 5 stars)
by tyler Nov 13, 2018
My condo was recently flooded (neighbour's fault) and I had tried calling TD Insurance various times throughout the week, each time was a minimum wait of at least an hour. By the third time I called TD, it took just over 2 hours to speak with a representative. This is unacceptable customer service from TD Insurance. Will be changing providers once this is all settled
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

WORST TD Insurance EVER!!

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by ljmayer Nov 01, 2018
We have been a loyal customer with TD Insurance for approx. 14 years, house, vehicles etc. They have the nerve after 14 years to "DEMAND" that we install a new eavestrough on our house and they only give us 2 months to do it and it's smack dab in the middle of winter when there is 4ft of snow, ice and it's -20 temperatures. Not to mention it was over the Dec/Jan months when they demanded it be done and show the proof of a reputable company. We have NEVER made any house claims and we have NEVER missed payments on anything. I cannot tell you how ANGRY I am with them. And their letters always say "we're here to help" "you are important to us". What a load of CRAP! If this is how they treat a long time loyal customer... STAY AWAY !! And if the Rating was negative, I'd give them a minus 1000.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Canadians pay, on average, approximately $20 per month in tenants insurance. Do you rent or plan to rent a property and want to reduce insurance costs? We will help you get a cheap tenant insurance quote today.
 

Try to cancel insurance

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Richards Oct 29, 2018
DON'T USE THEM !!! After the passing of our mother, we tried to cancel her home insurance after it had been sold. We had her home insured at the end of March to the tune of over $1100.00. She passed away in May and that is the month that her home changed ownership. After several calls, numerous emails and all legal papers for the ownership change and death certificates they still asked for more. It took several customer service people, all wanting different papers, to finally get to the point of getting a refund. The refund was $385.00. When asked how come so low a payout, we were told more paperwork was needed. WOW !!! It is the end of October and just got off the phone after asking where is the money. Perhaps in a couple of days, I will see it, so I have been told. I am mad beyond words !!!
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Terrible Insurance

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Sam Oct 11, 2018
They will try everything to decline your claims. Poor customer service. You have to wait on the phone for over an hour if you are an existing client while it only takes 5 minutes for the new insurance sales line!!! They just want to sell you insurance with any lies. They are just a big SCAM, avoid them if you can
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Did you know that Ontarians pay, on average, $47/month in homeowners insurance? Looking to change your home insurance or simply want ensure that you do not overpay? Our home insurance quotes are among the most competitive.
 

Pure ignorance

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Jeff Aug 31, 2018
So I highly recommend if you use TD insurance, to cancel and go with another company as soon as possible. After 6 months of phone calls and emails, they finally cancelled my insurance policy admitting to me how sorry they were that they dropped the ball on this. They sent me a bill for 20% of this year's policy (they auto renewed) because I was 2 weeks late informing them I’d switched companies. The letter also informed me I had 14 days to pay up or they would send me to collections! I called and was on hold for an hour and 38 minutes and was promptly told by a Steve that they were entitled by law to charge this ridiculous amount and if I didn’t like it, I could contact the government Regulators and take it up with them. Worst customer service I’ve ever had in my life and I intend to let everyone I can know just how completely terrible they are!
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Disappointed

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Disappointed for sure Aug 18, 2018
I was feeling disappointed after being told that their loyalty discount disappears after 3 years (after the current year 12% rate increase). Claims-free for 40 years. However, after reading some of the horrible experiences from other customers, I am extremely thankful that I have never had to deal with them on a claim. Not sure if the telephone support people are insurance agents but seem to have limited insurance knowledge regarding what is covered in the policy.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Are you a condo unit tenant? Remember that neither your condominium corporations' policy nor your landlord's insurance policy protects you as a tenant (3rd part liability, contents, etc.). If you do not have your own insurance policy, get your condominium insurance quote today.
 

6mths for new roof

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by CLD May 18, 2018
In a completely surreal moment, I was told that it would take 6 months to have a TD contractor out to replace the severe wind damage to my roof caused by the May 4th wind storm. The wait for an adjustor is 8 weeks since the time of the claim. I have been paying premiums for 30 years without a claim. I was told that waiting until November for a new roof would be no problem because TD insurance would cover any additional damage caused by not having a roof.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

TD Insurancer

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by TD Sucks Mar 28, 2018
They are useless and deliver bad service. Constantly raising rates even between terms. Not happy at all.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Households in Alberta pay, on average, approximately $60/month in homeowners’ insurance costs. We can help to push these costs even further down. Get a house insurance quote today to start saving today. Rates start at $20/month.
 

horrible stressful

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by NovaScotia Feb 14, 2018
We had a wind and water claim started. We had this open for about a month after calling in and took forever to get someone to come to our home.Adjuster was rude,unorganized never answered phone judged everything as though she was paying out of her own pocket, very cheap outfit! Dropped us at the end said if we didn't come up with money to pay for sheathing and to add over inflated price x2 the price the contractor wanted to put in they would not proceed. We are talking over 6,000 plus 1,000 deductible or pay us out so they could wipe their hands of any liability as they weren't paying .We didn't have that money in the budget and at first were told everything was covered. No we had to take the payout and they automatically deduct the 1,000 deductible and even though they have a quote are going through with a fine comb to trim costs. At the end the million dollar roofer who works for them is making a killing even tried to make private deals and get us to approve work just so he could move on. I offered to purchase the wood to afford the repairs and flat out no was the answer..If you are here looking at reviews take the money and find a small time carpenter or company if not in an emergency like us. What a disaster never again! Run stay far away from this outfit cheap rates but you will pay for it in the end.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Terrible Company!! Crooks!!

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Tdripoff Nov 20, 2017
Shop around and don't believe a word these crooks tell you. Had our geosystem malfunction due to utility power surge and provided manufacturer and technician reports claiming the facts with pictures. Been insured 20 years with them and never had a claim till now. They denied it and ignored all the facts!!. On top of this, we paid premium rates for the best coverage possible. 2 weeks later they told us "denied". Glad my house didn't burn down! They don't care about you! I will be moving all my business elsewhere! Marveree Y is an unprofessional representative, to say the least!!
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Are you a condo unit tenant? Remember that neither your condominium corporations' policy nor your landlord's insurance policy protects you as a tenant (3rd part liability, contents, etc.). If you do not have your own insurance policy, get your condominium insurance quote today.
 

Do not use TD Insurance

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Leaving TD Insurance Nov 19, 2017
Had a basement leak. They were fantastic to send somebody out that night to help get cleaned. Now the horrific truth!! The restoration company does nothing after the first night, leaves their equipment until convenient for them to pick it up, but charges you a daily rate. Meanwhile, TD mentioned nothing about any charge, which for us was almost $2,000. Three weeks later after doing nothing past the first night but charging you, we get a letter from TD Insurance that the damage is not covered and their file is closed. Don't understand how they came to this conclusion because they did nothing. We hired contractors on our own that are working on identifying the leak. TD Insurance nor their restoration company do anything to help figure out the problem - bad enough they are useless after the first night, worse that they kick you onto the streets on your own after they have happily taken our premium payments for 18 years, and never had any other claim. Best advice - don't use TD Insurance and find a company that is reliable and is not in the business of just money collecting, but rather provides a service for what you pay for!!
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Horrible customer experience

 
(1.5 out of 5 stars)
by Nazar Oct 16, 2017
1 hour 6 minutes holding on the line listening to their commercials. Due to their poor customer experience management, they created a problem for me from nothing and made me solve their puzzle by wasting my time and money.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Did you know that Ontarians pay, on average, $47/month in homeowners insurance? Looking to change your home insurance or simply want ensure that you do not overpay? Our home insurance quotes are among the most competitive.
 

Worse company-- false promises

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Muhammad Sep 19, 2017
Our house was damaged due to fort Murray wild fire, and due to TD’s miscommunication, and unprofessional handling, we are still not in our house. Also they have not settled our additional living expenses yest. We are under a lot of mental and financial stress right now. Their adjusters have no clue how to fairly assess the customer claims.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?