Independent Home Insurance Reviews

Square One Insurance Home Insurance Reviews

(58 reviews)
This page has been viewed by:
47,989
consumers
(3.7 out of 5 stars)
Customer Service:
Value for Money:
Claim Experience:
 

DO NOT GO TO THEM!!!

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by LTODD Apr 19, 2018
After being insured with them for years, they called me out of the blue and said they cannot cover me any longer because of the type of property I have. I have always at every renewal been upfront about exactly what type of property I have. They then act like they're being SO nice (I call this arrogance) that they're giving me 60 days to find coverage elsewhere. Do they not understand this is their error? Don't bother if you prefer to have insurance that is reliable and won't throw you to the curb if they make a mistake.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Looking to save on home insurance? Get our cheap home insurance quote and start saving on home insurance! You will be surprised by how much you can save while getting more extensive coverage.
 

Expensive

 
(2.5 out of 5 stars)
by aross Jan 10, 2018
I started shopping around for home insurance, my current company is charging me $79.56/month for my small bungalow. I saw an ad from onesquareinsurance that said most rental homes are around $70.00 per month, so I did an online quote and was blown away by their $245/month quote. I called in and they confirmed that was their correct amount. I thanked the gentleman on the phone and hung up. This is by far the most expensive quote I have had yet.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Premium go up even claim free

 
(3.0 out of 5 stars)
by a user Dec 17, 2017
I have been insured with the company for a few years now. Their premium may be competitive at first. But that is more of a bait. Unlike other companies that lower the premium for claim-free clients as a reward, they jack up prices at a rate of about 10% annually. I have decided to switch at some point.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Households in Alberta pay, on average, approximately $60/month in homeowners’ insurance costs. We can help to push these costs even further down. Get a house insurance quote today to start saving today. Rates start at $20/month.
 

AVOID. FINE PRINT SCAM

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Angela7283 Dec 09, 2017
Zero information of what your policy actually is and no customer service. Watch out for what your policy ACTUALLY covers. Found out nothing was covered. IT'S A SCAM. You pay for what you get people!!!!
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Shady business practise

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Candice Nov 01, 2017
I had one year of insurance with this company. They automatically renewed my insurance without my permission and somehow charged my credit card when it had expired. Spoke to Igor who was extremely unhelpful and the customer service is awful.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Did you know that Ontarians pay, on average, $47/month in homeowners insurance? Looking to change your home insurance or simply want ensure that you do not overpay? Our home insurance quotes are among the most competitive.
 

excellent experience overall

 
(5.0 out of 5 stars)
by HeidiR Sep 15, 2017
I just signed up with Square one. Dealt with Sandra. She is extremely helpful, professional, excellent at her job; a real pleasure to deal with. Each time I left a message, she actually returned my calls within minutes. A real pleasure.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Have a bad experience

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Tony Sep 06, 2017
Be aware, that they will charge for a policy right away, but if you changed your mind and asked to cancel before the policy is even in effect they will try to keep the payment. I would not trust them with claim handling.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Are you a condo unit tenant? Remember that neither your condominium corporations' policy nor your landlord's insurance policy protects you as a tenant (3rd part liability, contents, etc.). If you do not have your own insurance policy, get your condominium insurance quote today.
 

Great service!!!

 
(5.0 out of 5 stars)
by Carl K Jul 22, 2017
I am extremely satisfied with the excellent service,this company has offered. Shannon, my contact at Square One, assisted me in a quick and orderly fashion, completing the whole process in a matter of minutes. I will continue to use this company and advise my friends and family of the same.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Excellent customer service

 
(5.0 out of 5 stars)
by cevaliente Jul 07, 2017
Shannon W. was professional, fast, knowledgeable and overall nice and willing to help me. Keep up the great service!
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Canadians pay, on average, approximately $20 per month in tenants insurance. Do you rent or plan to rent a property and want to reduce insurance costs? We will help you get a cheap tenant insurance quote today.
 

Cheap unless you make a claim

 
(2.0 out of 5 stars)
by Jprisidian Jun 29, 2017
They will try to mislead you with a $5000 deductible which makes hardly any difference to a $1000 deductible in your monthly payment. Lots of things that are included at other insurance places are "extras" here. It's easy to get in contact with someone but making a claim is ridiculous and they will completely screw you over. No good neighbour policy as the damage that happened to or property is from a neighbour. I used to recommend square for being affordable but now I'm cancelling and will never recommend again. Buyer beware.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Poor Customer Service

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Still no response Jun 01, 2017
I had my first claim with them in January, and today (June 1st) it is still not completed. My adjuster Scott T provided a response time between 1 - 4 weeks after an email or voicemail was sent, finally provided a formal estimate 4 months after the initial request, 4 phone calls and 10 emails later (I'm fairly patient). But the quote changed 15% from his verbal estimate to formal written estimate. There is still no end in sight, and no process discussed about the payment.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Did you know that Ontarians pay, on average, $47/month in homeowners insurance? Looking to change your home insurance or simply want ensure that you do not overpay? Our home insurance quotes are among the most competitive.
 

don't disclose requirements

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by kdlund78 May 26, 2017
I went through and entered all of my information to acquire a tenant insurance policy. It was only after I entered all of my personal and property information that they disclosed they won't write policies if the owner lives more than 300 kilometers from the property. They even had a question during the quote process asking this. Even though I answered that question, they still proceeded to collect my information.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

insurance adjuster came

 
(3.5 out of 5 stars)
by Surreal May 15, 2017
I had an insurance adjuster came to my home to see if I was eliable for a claim. (I had not made a claim yet). An hour late found my policy has been cancelled by the underwritter without any explanation. Unfortunate -S
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Are you a condo unit tenant? Remember that neither your condominium corporations' policy nor your landlord's insurance policy protects you as a tenant (3rd part liability, contents, etc.). If you do not have your own insurance policy, get your condominium insurance quote today.
 

My experience with square one

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Fortmacfire May 11, 2017
They did not answer my calls and they didn't get back to me for weeks and months when they promised to call the next day. I was never given allowances and payments for money I was told I would received and money I had rights to. I had to call every single day. In order for them to pay any attention to me as a costumer. I was the client and it seemed like they were hoping that I'd just give up on the money I was owed. But I was persistent for months and close to a year. During my time of need they did not come through with what they had promised.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Extremely disappointed

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Kennedy L. Apr 17, 2017
I was in with my husband last month and we were assisted by Farran A. She was very unprofessional. She kept giggling every time my husband would say something. I thought at any moment she would jump over her desk and sit on his lap. I am very disappointed by the lack of professionalism at Square One Insurance. I do hope in the future they qualify their staff a little better.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Households in Alberta pay, on average, approximately $60/month in homeowners’ insurance costs. We can help to push these costs even further down. Get a house insurance quote today to start saving today. Rates start at $20/month.
 

Stay Away

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Stay Away from Square One Mar 03, 2017
I was with Square One for several years. One reason I went with them was their competitive rates. When I signed with them you were able to choose ( within a window) the insured value of your home. They said that was what made them different. Slowly this insured value began to increase until it was 25- 30 more than other Brokers. My renewal last year had an increase of over 100 %. Also, the staff do not have the knowledge to answer simple questions. It is like they are reading from a prgrammed set of answers. For example, I installed a sump pump. I got numerous email questions on what was powering the pump, etc. After they finally made the change to my policy my rate INCREASED! I could not get a reasonable answer as to why so I deleted the pump and my rate when back DOWN. I had too many problems to mention. I just cancelled my policies and went with another Broker. Stay away from Squqre One!
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Jas S.

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Chris Mar 02, 2017
I purchased house insurance when I started renovating my home. After one year, they decided to cancel my insurance because they said the renovation was taking too long. When I purchased the insurance they never told me or stipulated in the agreement that I could only insure for up to one year while renovating. I explained to them that we were waiting for 6 months just to get the permits and regardless they should have told me before selling me their insurance product. Now they want to dump me with no insurance. Jas S. was rude from the start. As soon as I spoke to her for the first time she was talking to me as though I was dirt under her shoe. To speak to someone in that tone is bad enough, but to speak to a customer like that is beyond unprofessional. I am now getting my lawyers involved and will refuse to sign the consent of cancellation. Avoid this company at all costs, especially Jas S.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Looking to save on home insurance? Get our cheap home insurance quote and start saving on home insurance! You will be surprised by how much you can save while getting more extensive coverage.
 

Customer Service - Sucks!!!!!

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Service Sucks Feb 15, 2017
I read some reviews, and it would seem that I have had the very same experience with reviews. I originally purchased insurance from Jas S. now a Manager. I was speaking to a gentleman named Igor, and I found out that I no longer have insurance. I sent all my information only being a customer of 4 years & no claims to find out that after 1 day, I am no longer insured. There are many insurance companies out there, and Square One Insurance is out for money, however, in return are under no circumstance willing to work with you. Thank God, I never had a claim, since I cannot imagine what sort of crap would be involved with Square One Insurance. I would rather spend double and have insurance elsewhere.......
1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Saved $120

 
(5.0 out of 5 stars)
by Mark R. Sep 28, 2016
Very easy and clear policy creation process. It's my first experience with Squareone. Their step-by-step policy wizard saved me aprox $120 a year over my existing TD Insurance policy
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Are you a condo unit tenant? Remember that neither your condominium corporations' policy nor your landlord's insurance policy protects you as a tenant (3rd part liability, contents, etc.). If you do not have your own insurance policy, get your condominium insurance quote today.
 

Buyers Beware

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Anonymous7 Sep 26, 2016
It may be easy to get a policy with Square One, however, do not expect to get good customer service. They only believe in taking your money and not giving you anything in return. God help you if you actually have to make a claim. I know people who had to battle, for excessively long periods of time, with them to get covered what was rightfully outlined in their policy. As fast as they will take your money and give you a policy they will take it away even if it is due to their error. They will argue with you on the phone, talk over you and will not even try to listen to you. This includes managers as well as customer service reps. This was my experience - they cancelled my policy due to their systems inability to process payment from my visa. They cancelled my policy immediately without any grace period. I even offered to provide proof from my bank that it was their error and they would not even listen. When I asked to speak to the manager and the manager kept talking over me, would not even listen and kept blaming me. When I asked how it is my fault if their system couldn't process my payment (one of their own employees admitted that their system has difficulties processing certain credit cards) they said it was my responsibility to ensure payment was made. If I gave the correct payment info and the funds were available, how am I responsible for their systems error??? If I could give them a negative rating I would. Stay away from this company!
1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Seemless online policy wizard

 
(5.0 out of 5 stars)
by Mark R Aug 08, 2016
Very easy and clear policy creation process. It's my first experience with Squareone. Their step-by-step policy wizard saved me aprox $120 a year over my existing TD Insurance policy.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Households in Alberta pay, on average, approximately $60/month in homeowners’ insurance costs. We can help to push these costs even further down. Get a house insurance quote today to start saving today. Rates start at $20/month.
 

Poor Sales Support

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by irate Jul 15, 2016
I was pleasantly surprised by the online experience when requesting a quote from Square One, the questions were comprehensive and clear. The resulting quote was reasonable, but I was directed to speak with a representative to finalize the purchase. After answering (again) most of the questions I had filled-out online the resulting quote came-in nearly 50% higher than the online quote, what a waste of time. From that point forward my experience with sales/support team was infuriating. I received nothing but short unhelpful email replies. I honestly felt as if they did not want my business. I certainly went elsewhere, and I'm very very pleased to have saved $600 annually by insuring with someone else. Thanks for wasting my time Square One.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

No one else would cover me!

 
(4.0 out of 5 stars)
by Ari C. Jul 12, 2016
I'm a Vancouver renter in the Millennial age bracket with a good job and when I moved in with three roommates to save money, my insurance company of seven years refused to cover me any longer. SquareOne was the only company that would write me a policy! Nicole Neufeld was enormously helpful and the whole process was super-easy.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Canadians pay, on average, approximately $20 per month in tenants insurance. Do you rent or plan to rent a property and want to reduce insurance costs? We will help you get a cheap tenant insurance quote today.
 

Great service

 
(4.5 out of 5 stars)
by cautiontowind May 21, 2016
I've been without any home insurance for 2 years because the prices were too high. Now that I'm renewing my mortgage I need insurance. Square one offered me a competitive quote and allowed me to maximize all deductibles to minimize cost. Living in Vancouver where 90% of my net worth is in the land rather than any structures, it makes sense to minimize coverage and and annual insurance costs.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Awesome Madison Lynch!

 
(5.0 out of 5 stars)
by Mainur R. Apr 29, 2016
I had been with a major company for property insurance for 17 years. However, in the last couple of years their customer services had gone down the drain whereas the premiums went skyrocketing. It seemed that they have taken me for granted. So after 17 years I went for insurance shopping online and came into contact with Square one. What a pleasant shock and experience it was! The Agent, Madison Lynch, handled my case with extreme patience, care, empathy and professional expertise. I was tremendously impressed with the way she calmly explained everything that the policy should cover and the choices I had. At the end, I bought the policy with much lower premium and through a tremendous customer experience. Keep it up Madison!
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Did you know that Ontarians pay, on average, $47/month in homeowners insurance? Looking to change your home insurance or simply want ensure that you do not overpay? Our home insurance quotes are among the most competitive.
 

Good guidance

 
(5.0 out of 5 stars)
by Heera S. Dec 08, 2015
Very friendly and patient over the phone. Devone McGuire was the phone operator and she was warm and welcoming. Price is affordable, with extensive coverage. Website is intuitive and easy to navigate
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Farran Assistance

 
(5.0 out of 5 stars)
by Paul L. Nov 03, 2015
Farran promptly replied my email inquiry the following business day and I was able to work get instructions on calculating for some information that I needed. I have decided to purchase an insurance policy with your company for my new apartment starting Oct 22, 2015
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Looking to save on home insurance? Get our cheap home insurance quote and start saving on home insurance! You will be surprised by how much you can save while getting more extensive coverage.
 

unreliable quote via Kanetix

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by dycl Oct 28, 2015
Not sure if this is common experience. I got a home insurance quote from Square One via Kanetix. Then I contacted Square One via Kanetix. My final quote became much more, as much as 50% more. Liability and deductible are the same. I did not choose any optional offer.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Almost Perfect

 
(4.0 out of 5 stars)
by Stephen G. Oct 07, 2015
Very user friendly, easy, straightforward application process. I came for a quote and since it was good I bought (which was equally easy). The only suggestion I have is the question about alarm systems. When you say "activated regularly" does that mean turned on (alarm is set?) or does that mean triggered (smoke detector goes off due to smoke or burglar alarm due to break-in). I assume the former but it was a little unclear and since my quote didn't change I just said No.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Are you a condo unit tenant? Remember that neither your condominium corporations' policy nor your landlord's insurance policy protects you as a tenant (3rd part liability, contents, etc.). If you do not have your own insurance policy, get your condominium insurance quote today.
 

Applying & purchasing was easy

 
(5.0 out of 5 stars)
by Hugh W. Sep 28, 2015
My insurance renewal was mailed to me and it seemed like it was too expensive. I found Square One by searching on the internet and when it said you could get a quote online I thought I'll give it a try. Often these free quote things are really just a way to mine your contact information so someone can phone you, but with Square One it was a detailed, but understandable questionnaire resulting in an actual quote! The quote saved me 25% over the price of my renewal and furthermore I was able to convert the quote into a policy with just a few keystrokes. The true measure of an insurance company is always how they handle a claim, but unless you have prior claims you never know that until something happens, but from the point of view of obtaining a quote and purchasing a policy from the comfort of your own computer Square One is a winner!
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Want to save on home insurance?
Customize your policy
Save up to $200 per year
Can be purchased online
Square One Insurance Home Insurance
58 reviews
5 Darkstar
(36)
4 Darkstar
(3)
3 Darkstar
(2)
2 Darkstar
(1)
1 Darkstar
(16)
Most helpfull reviews