Independent Home Insurance Reviews

Desjardins Insurance Home Insurance Reviews

(22 reviews)
This page has been viewed by:
14,156
consumers
(1.5 out of 5 stars)
Customer Service:
Value for Money:
Claim Experience:
 

Shady and Irresponsible

 
(1.5 out of 5 stars)
by A.L. Jun 12, 2019
Have been charged twice within 1 month after my 1 year Insurance expired. I moved out of the city, so had no need to renew it. First time got charged 34$, the bank declined for no funds, and of course I got charged overdraft. I called immediately to clarify the issue, and the assistant told me I will be called back during the week from agent office. No one ever called. Then Desjardins charged me again 69$ a week later. I called again to the office asking why am I being charged. The assistant X (she never managed to pronounce her name clearly) on the phone tells me it is the law them to charge after the contract expires. No one ever took care from Desjardins to explain me of such law where they can still charge me even though on the contract is stated that I agreed for 1 year of preauthorized withdrawals. After being told several more times that I'll be called back on the issue, and never have the call returned, I kept calling myself until they presented me with their explanation, and that they will only refund me 26$ and agreed to cancel my contract. Customer Service experience : They keep talking, never give me a chance to speak, and when I speak they interrupt me. I have a very bad after taste. Will never book any insurance with Desjardins again. Strongly recommend everyone to stay away from them and find another company that has better communication with their customers.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Looking to save on home insurance? Get our cheap home insurance quote and start saving on home insurance! You will be surprised by how much you can save while getting more extensive coverage.
 

Horrible customer service...

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Nothanks Mar 06, 2019
Had little water damage in one section of my basement caused by a "recalled" toilet that came with my new house. It took Desjardins well over a month before anyone came to inspect and 3 months before repairs...and this was a small insurance claim. The adjuster was rude over the phone, she tried to be humorous but was more sarcastic than helpful. Tried to nickel and dime repairs that were imminent caused by this faulty manufactured toilet. Had never filed a house claim in 34 years. Had to contact her Director for fairness. Filed one car insurance claim "for my brand new car" that a neighbour's daughter backed into when she neglected to look when backing out of her laneway - new driver. Desjardins tried to nickel and dime that claim as well. An insurance adjuster was rude, sarcastic, and had a laissez-faire attitude. Some of their bank tellers are unwelcoming at times. Time to drop Desjardins! Stay away.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Switching company fast

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Prouddaddave Feb 22, 2019
My home insurance went up $350 a year. I never had a claim. I have been with them for 7 years now. I will not renew and I brought them a huge customer base through me recommending them. Now you increasing my rates more than $30 a month. I called them and they said it's the best rate they can give me. I said I'll take my business somewhere else. They didn't care. I will not recommend them anymore and I will recommend to everyone I have in the past who went with them to go elsewhere as well as they will not care if you leave when they raise your rates that high for no reason. It's a shame because I'm a 10-star driver with them as well and when the policy comes up for renewal. I'll be switching auto insurance as well before they raise those rates through the roof. Never had a claim or even a driving offence either. I'm a model customer who now gets the shaft from Desjardins Insurance. Bravo! Do not get insurance with this company. They offer low rates to hook you in and then try to get their moneys worth out of ya at the end and since they got years of money out of ya, they won't care if you leave. Thank you for nothing!
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Households in Alberta pay, on average, approximately $60/month in homeowners’ insurance costs. We can help to push these costs even further down. Get a house insurance quote today to start saving today. Rates start at $20/month.
 

I wish a Zero was possible!!!

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by NA Jan 25, 2019
The worst customer service ever. Response time: N/A. The advisor didn't care to respond back to tell me when to expect an answer. Very unprofessional and unthoughtful. Constantly ignoring messages and emails!!! I wish I was dealing with a robot instead!
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Worthless coverage

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Briefly homeless Jan 14, 2019
On a rare occasion, your phone call manages to get through, the agent will refuse to tell you anything of value. We were homeless for a month and they didn't tell us what was going on until 3 weeks in - then they refused to cover any of the damage the plumbers caused.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Canadians pay, on average, approximately $20 per month in tenants insurance. Do you rent or plan to rent a property and want to reduce insurance costs? We will help you get a cheap tenant insurance quote today.
 

Desjardins "BAD FAITH"

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by chris Sep 15, 2018
Had a home fire in April 2018. We are now in Sept 2018. Desjardins asked for 2 quotes, they got them. They asked for the content list, they got that too. They will only allow $55.00 a day for my husband, myself and our pet for an additional living cost. We cannot live in our home. That's a joke by itself. We pay for this coverage, but they sure do take the monthly payment every month. They have been giving us the runaround from day one. They say they are going to pay, but they will only pay what their "preferred contractor" says the job will cost. Their better known preferred contractor are known as FRIENDLY CONTRACTORS, they measure your home room by room, go back to the office and put all measurements in a computer software and voila - there is their lowball quote and remember, not everything is included in the lowball quote. Why? Because they work very closely with Desjardins Insurance and what they don't put on the quote so we can't see is the actual cost of replacement. It's a SCAM to make people hire the preferred contractor, then the contractor adds all the repairs that were not shown on the quote and the Insurance happily pays the FRIENDLY Contractor. Yet they will not pay your preferred contractor who knows everything there is to know about repairing your home, a computer can't repair your home. DO NOT believe a word these people tell you its all a lie. They don't want to pay. Stay clear of Desjardins Insurance, they are your worst nightmare
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Go somewhere else

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by andrew Sep 07, 2018
I have been satisfied with my auto insurance but recently I had to place home insurance on two homes. I had to cancel my policy after two months of payments. I basically was forced into selling them. The insurance was 2100 for the year, which I was fine with. State Farm/Desjardins is now charging me 900 to get out of the policy after the two payments of 170. This is wrong. I would recommend you go elsewhere to get home insurance.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Did you know that Ontarians pay, on average, $47/month in homeowners insurance? Looking to change your home insurance or simply want ensure that you do not overpay? Our home insurance quotes are among the most competitive.
 

Pretty good service

 
(5.0 out of 5 stars)
by Sebastien May 31, 2018
I had water damage at home. I called them the same day and they immediately sent a company specialized in that field (literally 1 hour after calling). They evaluated the damages in the house and sent a report to the insurance. They told us one week later how everything will be done to repair the damages. It didn't take long for them to repair everything (maybe 1 or two months). They also sent pretty skilled companies to do the repair and everything is as good as new. They even gave us the same amount of money as the value of any destroyed objects. I strongly recommend Desjardins Insurance.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

SCAM Company

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Caledon Land Inc. Feb 26, 2018
Do not purchase insurance from this company, they doubled my yearly insurance premiums despite I never had any previous claims, then yet when we encountered a fire and lost 50,000$ worth of merchandise they refused to pay out. Amandip M was our so-called "fire investigator", very prejudiced and uneducated, she would have paid out the claim perhaps if I were from India. I wouldn't insure my doggy poop scoop with these guys.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Are you a condo unit tenant? Remember that neither your condominium corporations' policy nor your landlord's insurance policy protects you as a tenant (3rd part liability, contents, etc.). If you do not have your own insurance policy, get your condominium insurance quote today.
 

Very bad experience

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Wong Aug 06, 2017
Desjardins Insurance is the worst I have ever met. They do not have their own adjuster, they use a third party company, which does not care about Desjardins customer... I have a property claim. First, they asked an evaluator to estimate the damage. They told me it took a few days to get a report. I asked about it many times and they always said if they got it, they would email to me. Finally, I complained to Desjardins claim department and got the report. The date on the fax and email was 3 weeks ago. I do not know why they kept lying... That was just the beginning. What happened later is worse... And Desjardins claim department stuff was not better at all... My experience is that I always keep email as a proof... I should use an insurance company that has its own adjuster
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Theft in my home

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by jakerocks44 Nov 09, 2016
I recently had my high end washer/dryer stolen. 6 months to come to the conclusion that I did not take a picture of the damaged door for entry. Claim was rejected. Christine handled this and was a true joke to deal with. As said, she took 6 months. Each time I tried to contact her, she was on vacation. Just a low grade company and individual to work with......
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Did you know that Ontarians pay, on average, $47/month in homeowners insurance? Looking to change your home insurance or simply want ensure that you do not overpay? Our home insurance quotes are among the most competitive.
 

House Fire

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by unhappycamper Jun 22, 2016
We had a house fire in January. It is now June. Desjardins pushed us to get a contractor and permit from our city for the rebuild. Both done. They've had the claim 5 months - and still not assessment value, no payment, no rebuilding happening. Excuses have ranged from system crashes (really?) to vacations, to nothing. You can be sure they would not accept premiums being 5 months late. Caveat emptor. They are worse than horrible.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Bullied

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Bullied Apr 29, 2016
Bullied and treated poorly by some staff as I tried to get our claim remedied vs their threat to deny our renewal with no basis in fact. Awfully stressful experience.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Looking to save on home insurance? Get our cheap home insurance quote and start saving on home insurance! You will be surprised by how much you can save while getting more extensive coverage.
 

Roof damage due to Hail

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by jrsiever Jan 08, 2016
I am having the same issue with hail damage on my roof from Aug 2014. The claim adjuster has refused to replace the entire roof and is stating that only the portion of the roof that was damaged from the hail will be covered. I have had 5 different roofing companies tell me that the shingles are not made any more and are impossible to match. And the funny thing is, is that the part they want to replace has less damage then the portion of roof that is in worse condition. Same with my eaves trough. The lines will not match and the colour will be different. Just ridiculous. All 5 roofing companies have never heard of only replacing 1/2 a roof if the product is discontinued. I'm at the point now where I am going to have to talk to a manager and after that my lawyer. Desjardin Insurance definitely does not care about the customer.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

I didn't research them first

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Caterpillar Jun 19, 2015
Thought being a large company, they'd be professional. I'm completely embarassed to have fallen for the salespersons' lies. Desjardins are really REALLY nice to you when you call for quotes. Then they know how to get the pre-authorization signed. Then that's it folks. They don't know how to do anything else. I couldn't even get a policy for a year. They kept saying "well if you want to know something, we can tell you". Refusing to give a policy then when we had an issue to discuss, even got yelled at by John A., who refused to let me speak to anyone. I even tried writing the customer care section and no response. You pay, they take, and that's it. No other relationship will ever occur with Desjardins.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Households in Alberta pay, on average, approximately $60/month in homeowners’ insurance costs. We can help to push these costs even further down. Get a house insurance quote today to start saving today. Rates start at $20/month.
 

Desjardins Roofs Unacceptable!

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Jay M. Jun 04, 2015
Unacceptable. You have a replacement cost policy. Unless it is a newer roof and can be matched, most companies replace the entire roof. On older roofs that are still good there are matching, color and toning issues. No one does this anymore. It is the cheap way out. You should have received a new roof. I recommend you call your lawyer if it cannot be matched. You should have been given a replacement roof under your replacement cost policy. Once again, Desjardins cutting corners. I wouldn't buy their product..
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Roof damage due to hailstorm

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Frustrating..... May 19, 2015
The roof of my residence was damaged partially due to a hailstorm in August 2014. When I sent in a claim, at first, the claim was rejected saying that the damage was not due to hail. I requested for a second inspection when the claim was approved, although not for a full replacement of the roof. How can someone replace only a portion of the roof? Isn't this ridiculous? I tried following up only with cold responses. I wouldn't recommend anyone to go with this insurance company
1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Canadians pay, on average, approximately $20 per month in tenants insurance. Do you rent or plan to rent a property and want to reduce insurance costs? We will help you get a cheap tenant insurance quote today.
 

Desjardins Nightmare

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Dissatisfied Customer Oct 05, 2014
I live in Gatineau, Quebec. I have insurance for my condo and when I discovered water coming up through the floor one evening, I was alarmed and took steps to deal with the situation. That included calling Desjardins the next day. The agent on the phone did not start a file so when I made a subsequent phone call the next agent was asking me why I didn't call sooner. After much hassle and delay (It has now been one week since my emergency) they have just e-mailed me and said they will not provide any coverage whatsoever to my damaged floors and furniture. Now I have to hire a lawyer to sue for damages. Is this what Desjardins stands for? Not being there when you need them? I suggest anybody considering this insurance company think twice. Also, put money aside for lawyers because you will have to sue for Desjardins to do what they say they do.
2 of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

My parents have no roof

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by larlarlar Aug 28, 2013
A huge tree fell and broke the roof of my parents’ house. This happened 6 weeks ago, and still no repair work has been done, other than putting plastic over the holes to stop rain from causing any more damage inside. My parents have not even received an appraisal of what the damage is! Meanwhile, the neighbour’s house, which was also damaged, has already been repaired: they are with a different insurance company, obviously a more reputable one.
2 of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Households in Alberta pay, on average, approximately $60/month in homeowners’ insurance costs. We can help to push these costs even further down. Get a house insurance quote today to start saving today. Rates start at $20/month.
 

N/A

 
(3.0 out of 5 stars)
by Ralf Jun 19, 2012
Responded quickly once the urgency of the issue was brought forward.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

N/A

 
(3.2 out of 5 stars)
by Nguen May 10, 2012
Good customer service, high rates that do not reflect the changes in the market.
0 of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Are you a condo unit tenant? Remember that neither your condominium corporations' policy nor your landlord's insurance policy protects you as a tenant (3rd part liability, contents, etc.). If you do not have your own insurance policy, get your condominium insurance quote today.
 

N/A

 
(4.0 out of 5 stars)
by Kelly Apr 11, 2012
Easy to understand my current policy. Great customer service people
0 of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?