Independent Life Insurance Reviews

Sun Life Life Insurance Reviews

(236 reviews)
This page has been viewed by:
264,401
consumers
(1.5 out of 5 stars)
Customer Service:
Value for Money:
 

Honest Review

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by AM Sep 23, 2020
I've been with Sun Life for over 8 years ONLY because it is the only option my organization offers. If you have literally any other choice take it. They make it very difficult and confusing to make claims. I'm guessing they just hope people give up so they don't need to payout. The website requires 2 different access ID/certificates to get into and for some reason, my password is constantly reset (without my approval) or the account is locked and you need to call the phone line. The phone line connects you to the UK which can't access your info if you live elsewhere. They then transfer you to an automated line that has a ton of very vague options for you to choose from. You are then on hold for a long time (every time I've called) before you get to talk to a person. You are asked to confirm your identity and I think I have given every single bit of information I have... Only to be denied access because the email that the claims are sent to us different than the one I registered with. More to follow on this... I am covered by my company under a different medical plan. The "benefits" are for my family. Other than being the name on the plan I have literally nothing to do with it. I am away in remote locations multiple times a year and unable to access my Sun Life. All my claims are for my spouse or dependants. The only person who is able to access and approve the claims is me. I have asked and they will not let her access, change, make claims, or do anything on the account. Again, I could be gone up to 8mo a year. Without getting to personal, my spouse has had major life-changing surgery. The claims we make are very straight forward with lots of information (from doctors) to back it up. Sun Life fights tooth and nail with us on every claim. There is always a loophole or a fine print on why they can't pay it. Most of the claims can be submitted online... But if they decide it is questionable (all of them) then you need to physically mail in receipts etc. It's 2020, which is completely unnecessary and again just a deterrent. To summarize: - They deter members from making claims - will fight over every claim - customer service is atrocious - benefits are expensive and provide less than competitors - beneficiaries have no access whatsoever I would never recommend Sun Life to anyone and would switch in a heartbeat if I was able. Look elsewhere.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Did you know that if you are a 30-year old male, a term life insurance policy for 20 years with coverage of $200,000 will cost you around $19/month? Getting your term life insurance quote today will allow you to benefit from a great rate.
 

They avoid covering everything

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Insurance is bad Sep 15, 2020
I have about 9 submissions that Sun Life is avoiding paying (3 for massage) which is stated in my work benefits I have access to. When I submit they say doctor's notes are needed. My doctor's notes cost $15.00 because my doctor is tired of writing a doctor's notes for everything. He even said that he is going to start letting nurses write them at his clinic for $15.00 for anyone who comes in for anything because it should be the patient's responsibility. He said it isn't even medically important to get a referral from a doctor it should be as simple as "is your back sore?" (Yes/No) if yes go to a massage.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Terrible buyer be aware!

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Johan Aug 31, 2020
It took me 6 months of back and forth to finally be approved on disability mortgage... A week after I was told I was approved they had told me more information required! They don’t have the public as their best interest but they are very good at collecting your money!
1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Did you know that if you are a 35-year old female, a term life insurance policy for 10 years with coverage of $500,000 will cost you around $15-$20/month? Getting your life insurance quote today will allow you to lock-in a great rate.
 

SCAM!

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Kristina Aug 05, 2020
Their website is low maintenance. You need to call over and over and waste time talking to customer people about the account activation! Always issues with login. Member ID doesn't work; username doesn't work, the password doesn't work... It's always something that "doesn't work''. It's a trick as they don't want you to claim medical expenses. I am cancelling their service! Bye scammers! The worst insurance company ever!
1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

You will regret

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Anthony Jul 10, 2020
Sun Life is great at collecting your money and stating how they will protect and assist you and blah blah blah. But the moment you need to use their insurance you will just be given the run-around. In regards to long term disability, they make you wait a standard 3 to 4 months then you send them everything they ask for, then starts the ghosting game on their end. Like oh, we never received these forms, oh we are waiting for your employer to send us this and that. They will do this for an additional 3 months as you are obviously not working and have no income. They do this for as long as they can. Then, if you are miraculously approved, then you will get your first payment on the 30th of the month. Then the calls start coming in from their adjuster every few days asking you when will you return to work, how long will you be off. Please send all the corresponding medical documents to us as we need to review them. If you don't we will suspend payment immediately. There need to be strict government regulations on these companies, they drag people on for months abruptly stopped paying their claims! They will take your money and never payout!
1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Did you know that mortgage insurance is the same as life insurance but more expensive and offers less protection? By cancelling it and getting life insurance , you would typically save around 30%-40% for the same coverage.
 

Scam!! Stay away

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by JJ Jul 09, 2020
Stay away from Sunlife. I paid thousands of dollars of premiums over several years, only to find out that mysteriously my plan was 'cancelled' without my knowledge (while payments still being withdrawn) and that the representative who set my account up was fired for misconduct. However, no compensation was offered to me. The value is a joke too- I have an insurance plan now for more than double the benefit amount for literally 10% of the cost of Sunlife. Complete scam.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Poor Customer Service

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by N/A May 19, 2020
I have been paying my children's life insurance since 1993. Now I cannot afford to pay it any further, I've been calling Sun Life for about a month now and no one seems to be able to help me with the cancellation. I've spoken to three different employees at Sun Life and they have repeatedly said they will email me the cancellation form. After a week of waiting, they said my email doesn't work but I've had the same email for several years and had no issue like this before. I even gave them an alternate email and still no help. After receiving the form and emailing it back to Sun Life one of the employees called and said she didn't receive it and there was something wrong with both emails apparently and giving me attitude over the phone as well as hung up on me. I think they don't want me to cancel my insurance so they are making it very complicated for me to cancel it and won't allow me to go further with the cancellation. I do NOT recommend Sun Life to anyone! Please help me and not make things so complicated for me! I have been a Sun Life customer for 27 years!
1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Planning to get life insurance to protect your family, including children? Make sure that you get enough coverage. According to studies, it takes about $250,000 in total to raise a child to the age of 18 (and that doesn’t include any post-secondary education costs).
 

Disability is a scam

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by sunscam May 14, 2020
After having a disability with my company the Sun Life agent told me I could carry it on after employment but never explained to me that the coverage changed to something different. I was expected to know their insurance naming scheme and I ended up with critical illness insurance at triple the cost it should have been. Once I was ill and could not work I found out that my 9 years of insurance premiums amounted to nothing and it was just a scam. Do not do business with them.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Medical coverage from work

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Chris V May 12, 2020
Sun Life does not care about people with disabilities. I was diagnosed with Multiple Sclerosis after having been registered with their extended medical coverage and every time I need medication coverage all they do is harass me with forms to fill out and government programs they mandate I be on while threatening to take away the medication that I need to function. All the while collecting my money from premiums. They don't even read the filled out forms correctly and will cut off necessary medications that prolong my quality of life because of their lack of reading comprehension abilities. Sun Life gets a 0/10 for me and I recommend everyone avoid them at all costs.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Did you know there is a 35% chance of developing a critical illness before you are 65 and 65%-70% chance before you turn 81? That means getting a critical illness insurance quote is no less important than getting life insurance. Your choice.
 

Getting SCREWED by SUN LIFE

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by terminally angry May 08, 2020
Getting screwed by Sun Life! I have diagnosed with stage 2-3 Cirrhosis of the liver, I decided to use my coverage through my bank which is 100% coverage for illness and death. Now I am being told (after I renewed my mortgage a month ago) that I now have 63% coverage for death and 80% for my monthly mortgage. How the hell is that legal?! When I went in and got the insurance I was never told - "So, would you like full 63% coverage?" No, it for 100%! Now they are trying to reduce my coverage, I might as well be on EI! Do they do this during the Quarantine? I am being forced back to work when it is extremely bad for me and a weakened immune system to be anywhere especially to have to go back to work. Has anyone had ANY success fighting these crooks???
1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Always have issues

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Disapointed Mar 17, 2020
Since I got a new employer, I had to switch to Sun Life. I have had nothing but huge problems with them. After months of paying for a family plan, my fiancé had dental work done only to find out we had to pay all money out of pocket because Sun Life was saying that we were not covered. After many many calls with them, they finally saw that we were in fact covered and had been this whole time. Fast forward 5 months later and we still have not been refunded the money. They are now trying to claim that they paid us out. Incredibly rude cutting me off when I tried to explain what had happened. They do not listen, do not refund or properly cover you for multiple claims. I will be cancelling my coverage and will never deal with them again. I will go back to my previous insurance company which is wonderful, respectful and I never have issues with. Sun Life, maybe you should treat you clients with respect as we pay for the seats you sit in.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thinking of getting a life insurance quote from an insurance agent? They work for one insurance company and can only sell the products of that company. That may not result in the best rate for you. Our insurance brokers compare life insurance quotes across 20+ Canadian insurers for you.
 

Hotel California Experience

 
(2.0 out of 5 stars)
by Retired Feb 27, 2020
My wife & I are retired and had our health private health coverage with Sun Life. As of Feb 1, we switched to another company (very similar coverage and $96/month cheaper). I found a Sun Life cancellation form on a Sun Life site online, completed it and faxed it to the number given, I also put a stop on their automatic withdrawal at my bank effective Feb 1. They tried taking money out & were rejected. Meanwhile, my pharmacy screwed up & continued billing Sun Life in Feb until I found out about it & straightened it out with them. I emailed Sun Life's customer service department that looks after private health, explained what had happened and asked again that they cancel my policy. Today I got a letter saying they would take 2 payments out on March 1 to make up for the missed one. I called the number provided in the letter (as I don't want my credit to take a hit) to straighten it out. The young lady on the other end may as well be a robot. She asked if I got the welcome package when I signed up. I said I had. She said there is a toll-free number to call to cancel. I told her that I have a speech impediment (which should have been obvious to her anyways) and I sometimes find it hard to communicate over the phone. I told her how I found their cancellation form on their site and used that. She asked what phone number I faxed it to. I read it off to her and she says "that's not our number". I told her I can't be held responsible for bad information on their site! She kept going back to the phone number in the welcome package. We did this dance for 10 minutes until I asked to speak to a manager. She took my info and said they would get back in 24-48 hours. She said if they had covered any medicines during this time (which they did because of my pharmacy's screw up) then I would be libel for that month of coverage. I told her that was insane. I would happily pay back any amounts they had paid. My premiums are $323/month and they paid out a little over $100 for my medicines. I am not expecting anything from the manager other than what the robot told me. If I had the money to fight this I would on principal but since I don't and want to keep my credit score good I will probably pay the extortion demand.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Scam rip off

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Dissatisfied Client Feb 17, 2020
Biggest scam! They got 25 years of my payments and denied my policy at the age of 56.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Not sure if you can qualify for life insurance with existing health pre-conditions? Let us to help you with a no medical life insurance quote , meaning that you do not need to pass a medical exam to qualify for a life insurance policy.
 

Customer service line

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by alex Jan 23, 2020
The customer service line is not working!
1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Why people hate insurance

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Firsthand experience Jan 08, 2020
I've been with Sun Life for 5 years never having to put through a claim. Once I had to put in a claim they made it the hardest thing I have ever had to do. Because I was submitting my claim documents after my policy had ended (allow for 90 days) they refused to take the documents by fax or email. The requested that I mail it in. This happened 3 times, each time they advised me that they never received my documents. After the 90 day period was over they told me that they declined my claim. Honestly, this is why people hate insurance. The lack of compassion and understanding by the representatives was pathetic. Many people consider insurance fraud as a victimless crime and I agree. For people to take money from you every month and refuse to pay a simple claim for eyeglasses is beyond pathetic.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Did you know that one in three Canadians, on average, will be disabled for more than three months before they turn 65? Get a disability insurance quote today to make sure your income is secure, even when you are temporary disabled.
 

NOT IMPRESSED

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by BB Dec 31, 2019
I have had this life insurance for 14 years and did not realize that once I turn 65 it is now called "My life choice renewable term insurance". My payments were $20.50 and now since I turned 65 they will be $50.50. What a scam. They will not refund what you paid into it if you refuse to pay the new price. All I can say is what a waste of money I put into this. So what do they do with my Money? Where does it go, if not back to me? I asked if I could case it in as some insurance policies do, but the person I was talking to (who hardly spoke English) said no. Pretty sad.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Cheats!

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Angel S Dec 30, 2019
I see so many complaints here and on other forums but clearly, they don't care. They do not want to pay their customers. Deny claims at any cost. Claimed for a pair of prescription glasses and they denied saying the seller we bought glasses from is barred and they expect us to know this. No notifications from their side considering I have an app and I received numerous notifications from them. After I complained they said it's not their fault it's the seller who is a fraud. Worst customer service. How can they blame the seller who is cheating us by not telling when they are doing the same thing.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Planning to get life insurance to protect your family, including children? Make sure that you get enough coverage. According to studies, it takes about $250,000 in total to raise a child to the age of 18 (and that doesn’t include any post-secondary education costs).
 

Avoid Sun Life

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by psi Dec 09, 2019
I am dealing with insurance companies daily. Some insurance are better, some are worse. However, most are reasonable. Sun Life is not. Everything about Sun Life screams that they want to avoid paying claims at all costs. There is zero (0) customer service. Extremely poor quality in claim processing (Many mistakes) and 0 willingness to rectify anything. They seem to be reasonable on the sales end of things. But once you have a policy they basically do not exist.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Worst Website & Service

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Jerry Nov 24, 2019
Created my Sun Life profile. Security flags it and suspends my account. To unsuspend it, I need a new password. I reset my password on Sun Life, they send an email and I click the link which is somehow expired, try again. 5 tries later, still locked out of my insurance and can't file any claims on my benefits yet. My employers are paying these scam artists to pretend to provide coverage that is mediocre at best. Their customer service line also doesn't work half the time (multiple redirects into hang up).
1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thinking of getting a life insurance quote from an insurance agent? They work for one insurance company and can only sell the products of that company. That may not result in the best rate for you. Our insurance brokers compare life insurance quotes across 20+ Canadian insurers for you.
 

Poor customer service

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Anjali Nov 19, 2019
I have a very bad experience with this Sun Life. I am 7 months pregnant and had an accident. Due to this, I have severe pain on my lower back and upper back. Since I am pregnant, physio can't do much on my back. So my doctor said I should not go to work since. This pain can go really bad and has a risk to a baby's life too. Sun Life said: no, you can go to work and they won't pay me. It looks like they more than a doctor. Terrible company to deal with. Worst customer service.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Worst insurance ever

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by sandra Nov 19, 2019
My husband and I bought insurance with our kids as riders. Months pass, everything was ok. Years went by only to find out that we no longer had insurance. They changed our broker, we change our address still no updates. Checked our bank account only to find out they stop taking money out for about 3 months with no warnings. Not even a letter or a phone call. I am so disappointed!
1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Did you know there is a 35% chance of developing a critical illness before you are 65 and 65%-70% chance before you turn 81? That means getting a critical illness insurance quote is no less important than getting life insurance. Your choice.
 

Scam Insurance Company

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by ClassAction Nov 05, 2019
This company is sneaky and does all sorts of avoidance games to not pay costs for health care, DO NOT invest with this company! Stress leave: When my short term stress leave ran out from employer's contribution, Sun Life kept putting off approving my long term stress leave for months, knowing full well I had no paycheques. They basically 'starve' you out for months, until you are forced to go back to work, even though you are not medically ready yet. Circumcision for my child: Sun Life told me they would cover the costs of circumcision for my child, so I got the procedure done for $1300.00. Then they denied the claim after I submitted the receipt. They will play the game of - "who told you that and on what date?"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Sorry excuse of a Company

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Erin123 Oct 11, 2019
Where does one begin? Their customer service is completely unorganized and unprofessional. Oh, and they are total crooks. I was informed by an agent something (big) was covered and when I tried to submit it was denied and three months later they have not addressed my questions. And their technology is seriously lacking and behind other providers. I’ve used other providers and while they are all the same to an extent, none are as grimy as these guys.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Not sure if you can qualify for life insurance with existing health pre-conditions? Let us to help you with a no medical life insurance quote , meaning that you do not need to pass a medical exam to qualify for a life insurance policy.
 

My Sun Life experience

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Terrible Sun Life Oct 09, 2019
So, I decided to apply for Sun Life since my employer had it before with us and since we got laid off I thought it would be a nice thing to continue... But I was wrong I wish I could give them negative stars! Not only did it take 2 months and they promised me several times I could continue it with my plan. Once all the paperwork was signed they took back almost everything they previous said over about 15-hours of phone time in 2 months just so that after I sign the last page they can tell me - "oh, no, you can't continue your previous plan and now you have to wait 4 months before we give you benefits... So, yes, you can say Sun Life doesn't care about anything besides their income!
1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Sun Life; Pas facile!

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Eric L Sep 26, 2019
Encore difficile de faire quelque chose qui devrait être super facile. La lois pour les médicaments est facile; tu est assure avec le prive ( et c est complique pour toi ) ou avec le gouvernement et la pharmacie fait tout pour toi. En ce moment je dois passer des longues heures a gérer une simple réclamation qui avant de payer 2, 200$ par année d assurance me prenait 5 minutes en pharmacie.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Did you know that if you are a 30-year old male, a term life insurance policy for 20 years with coverage of $200,000 will cost you around $19/month? Getting your term life insurance quote today will allow you to benefit from a great rate.
 

Access my Account

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by daash Sep 24, 2019
Sunlife access my account without my authorization. This account is only for bills and I don't have an active account with Sunlife. After literally faxing 100 times without the fax going through, I was told best to send the proof through email. Had to call and be adamant that my complaint be look into. Received this email as a response. Hello, Thank you for your email. I was sorry to learn the payment was taken from your bank account in error and returned. This should not have happened. I have refunded the bank charge you incurred for $48.00. You should see this in your account within 2-5 business days. You will not see this payment taken from your account again. Please let me know if you have any questions. I ask for an explanation of how they got access to my account and how this happens, no response.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Never Meets Service Standards

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Liz Sep 18, 2019
Sun Life never meets their service standards. If they agree to respond within 10 days, you still have to call and ask for them to put a rush on your file on the 10th day or else it could take much longer. Also, their customer service is very rude and slow. They consistently tell me that I have not submitted items that I have submitted only to realize that I have submitted it and they don’t even apologize after. Sun Life also created two profiles for me when I started my policy with them and have not been able to consolidate it months later resulting in an IT nightmare when I call every single time. AVOID THIS COMPANY. It’s not worth your time.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Did you know that if you are a 35-year old female, a term life insurance policy for 10 years with coverage of $500,000 will cost you around $15-$20/month? Getting your life insurance quote today will allow you to lock-in a great rate.
 

SUNLIFE

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by MMF Aug 07, 2019
I agree with the person who submitted an existing review on SUNLIFE. Everyone, be warned! Do not purchase insurance from this company, especially Critical Illness and Long-term care insurance. They will take your money and then not pay out to you when you do become sick or disabled. They will give you the run-a-round from customer service, feed you lies for an extended period of time and then deny your claim.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Avoid Like Plague

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Tony Jul 20, 2019
They refused flat out to reimburse my claim without any reason. So I contacted their service department, who claimed that they needed "extra supporting documents", which was never mentioned during the claim process. Then when I pressed further she said that, oh we've had issues with this therapist in the past. For the record, I've had friends who went to the same therapist a few days prior and they never had issue with their insurance providers (one was using Blue Cross, another was with Great-West Life). And even after I submitted the documents they asked for, they still refused to reimburse me.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Did you know that mortgage insurance is the same as life insurance but more expensive and offers less protection? By cancelling it and getting life insurance , you would typically save around 30%-40% for the same coverage.
 

Very sneaky

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Shawn Jul 15, 2019
Got stuck with 300 dollar bills because of a hidden and vague disclaimer which apparently did not cover the procedure. Very sneaky.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?