Independent Life Insurance Reviews

Sun Life Life Insurance Reviews

(205 reviews)
This page has been viewed by:
212,841
consumers
(1.6 out of 5 stars)
Customer Service:
Value for Money:
 

SUNLIFE

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by MMF Aug 07, 2019
I agree with the person who submitted an existing review on SUNLIFE. Everyone, be warned! Do not purchase insurance from this company, especially Critical Illness and Long-term care insurance. They will take your money and then not pay out to you when you do become sick or disabled. They will give you the run-a-round from customer service, feed you lies for an extended period of time and then deny your claim.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Did you know there is a 35% chance of developing a critical illness before you are 65 and 65%-70% chance before you turn 81? That means getting a critical illness insurance quote is no less important than getting life insurance. Your choice.
 

Avoid Like Plague

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Tony Jul 20, 2019
They refused flat out to reimburse my claim without any reason. So I contacted their service department, who claimed that they needed "extra supporting documents", which was never mentioned during the claim process. Then when I pressed further she said that, oh we've had issues with this therapist in the past. For the record, I've had friends who went to the same therapist a few days prior and they never had issue with their insurance providers (one was using Blue Cross, another was with Great-West Life). And even after I submitted the documents they asked for, they still refused to reimburse me.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Very sneaky

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Shawn Jul 15, 2019
Got stuck with 300 dollar bills because of a hidden and vague disclaimer which apparently did not cover the procedure. Very sneaky.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Did you know that if you are a 35-year old female, a term life insurance policy for 10 years with coverage of $500,000 will cost you around $15-$20/month? Getting your life insurance quote today will allow you to lock-in a great rate.
 

Poor Service!

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by SUN LIFE Jul 03, 2019
They don't even read emails. Very poor disorganized company! They have no problem taking the money out every month but when you fall on hard times you get "we will look at it next week"! SUN Life is late with the mortgage payments when they were given all the information they asked for. Don't depend on Sun Life because they will let you down when you need them most!
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Screw up

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by YouWillPayUP Jun 28, 2019
In 2016, I applied and was approved for Disability Insurance through my Scotia Bank Mortgage account. In 2018, the doctor put me on Disability Leave. When I went to access my Disability Insurance for my mortgage, I was notified that they made an error and ticked off Chronic Insurance instead of Disability Insurance. They assured me that the correction would be made. Months later, instead of correcting the error, they paid me out what I had paid towards the Chronic Insurance and basically refused to help me! I contacted the Office of the President of Nova-Scotia Bank to complain. They investigated the matter but it took months. Finally, I told the Office of the President that I would go see a lawyer and within a week, SunLife acknowledged their mistake and paid me out a portion. Now my Mortgage is in foreclosure due to receiving their payment too little too late, and they didn't even pay the hardship or the financial burden that they caused. Two thumbs down to them!
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Not sure if you can qualify for life insurance with existing health pre-conditions? Let us to help you with a no medical life insurance quote , meaning that you do not need to pass a medical exam to qualify for a life insurance policy.
 

Awful communication

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by mr Jun 14, 2019
Email or by phone they really don't help. On the phone, they're in a rush to get rid of you and email they don't respond to any of the questions you ask. Ended up having to ultimately take my own time off, I hope I never have to deal with them again.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

TERRIBLE CUSTOMER SERVICE

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by steven May 28, 2019
Had an agent who came online and she started speaking to me as if to say I did not speak English. I asked to speak to her supervisor to which she said sure and then put me on hold for 15 minutes, and then hung up on me.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Did you know that if you are a 30-year old male, a term life insurance policy for 20 years with coverage of $200,000 will cost you around $19/month? Getting your term life insurance quote today will allow you to benefit from a great rate.
 

Worst insurance company ever

 
(1.5 out of 5 stars)
by Francesca May 23, 2019
It is the worst insurance company ever. I had to send them twice the copy of the receipt because they lost it. And still, I did not get the money I claimed back. Stay away from them.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Worst Benefits Coverage Ever!

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Rlnelson May 08, 2019
They don't cover ANYTHING that is actually REQUIRED to survive (literally!) The worst benefits coverage ever! I am unfortunately on LTD, and pay my OWN premium every month, and still they deny most of everything that I require to LIVE. I have to pay it out of pocket. My income has already been cut in half, then I pay out of pocket for my premium, then I pay for SO MUCH of what is needed to survive, out of pocket, while trying to raise a young family! Their benefits are absolute garbage, and would never recommend them to ANYONE needing insurance. Their customer service is terrible too.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Did you know that mortgage insurance is the same as life insurance but more expensive and offers less protection? By cancelling it and getting life insurance , you would typically save around 30%-40% for the same coverage.
 

registration frustration

 
(2.0 out of 5 stars)
by JG Apr 19, 2019
Why does it have to be complicated just to complete your registration?I have provided all my information and still have to wait a week for that registration code, what is the point? Sunlife should find a way to make things easier and faster.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

stressful (Disability)

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by jordan.b Mar 13, 2019
Okay. Let's get things straight here, I would give a 0/5 for Sun Life in the disability sector. 3/5 to the group benefits. I have been off work due to what I have found out is bad ADHD and a myriad of anxiety disorders that I have been dealing with my whole life, and things have started to go extremely bad aka, almost suicide... I have been doing my due diligence with going to my appointments etc. waiting. Going to more appointments. Until I have finally gotten to see my psychiatrist today. When I first applied and got accepted for my disability claim. It took 3 weeks to get anything done. It took two weeks for my case manager to get a hold of me and confirm. Then after that. It took a week for my claim amount and dates to process. Then somehow a whole week to mail me a check... second time I applied for an extension. It took another 3 weeks to get any money. It is extremely difficult to get a hold of any case manager. As for some reason they aren't actually ever in their office. Why? I do not know. This is a benefits company. You are supposed to be helping people who are disabled or in need of help. These people need quick service. Not a lot of people have a whole months worth of savings to back themselves on to these days. May I mention, we also pay into this. So it is basically our money, to begin with, okay? So I have been diagnosed with bad ADHD and three other anxiety disorders along with a stress disorder. So my fiance and I were not able to pay rent due to 3-week delays, which happened twice now. I have been evaluated and strictly told to take 3 months off work for new medication and a strict plan ordered by the psychiatrist. I have left 4 messages in the last 3 days trying to get a hold of a case manager, to avoid the previous almost month-long delays. It is absolutely ridiculous, unprofessional and stressful. Sun Life financial should be stripped of their licenses and removed from the insurance business. People need money when they are not working. Unbelievably horrible service from this company and I am appalled my company uses them for their insurance and benefits. I could go on all day about the bad experiences I've had with Sun Life. But this will have to do. If someone high up in Sun Life reads this on some off chance. There needs to be some changes
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Did you know that one in three Canadians, on average, will be disabled for more than three months before they turn 65? Get a disability insurance quote today to make sure your income is secure, even when you are temporary disabled.
 

Send code by email???

 
(2.0 out of 5 stars)
by Rgcool Mar 10, 2019
It's nice that the online registration gives you the option to send a code for signing up by email or snail-mail (postal) but then doesn't ACTUALLY give you the option to have the code sent to your email! You can only have the code sent by regular post, which takes 7-10 business days! Why have the option when you click "what is this" then not give you the actual option to send via email!?!?
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Medical insurance

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by cloudbase Feb 27, 2019
The company I was working for closed the business and all employees made redundant. This was in August 2018. Despite the claim being made in July 2018, the first contact to advise that no payment would be made was the end of February 2019! Denial of claim, then numerous calls and it took three calls to the call centre (offshore of course), and 10 days to get a call to advise no payment. Awful service! I was advised that as of mid-July 2018, due to administrative issues, all claims had been suspended. Why so long and so many calls/faxes/online claims to get the answer? 7 months is astoundingly poor service!
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Planning to get life insurance to protect your family, including children? Make sure that you get enough coverage. According to studies, it takes about $250,000 in total to raise a child to the age of 18 (and that doesn’t include any post-secondary education costs).
 

Provide False Information.

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by N.A Feb 16, 2019
Each time I made a claim, I called before to ensure I was aware of how much I would be covered for vision, dental etc. I was told that 100% of my personal benefits would be covered in some cases, while others would be 80%, in accordance with my plan. I also made sure to check my mobile app and review the same information provided by the customer service line. Each time they reviewed my plan there was always less coverage and when I followed up with the claims, there was always an excuse as to why I wasn't given the full amount. Horrible service. Please do not invest your money.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Waste of time

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by cpedroza Feb 01, 2019
I have had a few issues come up in the past month. My son has had issues that we had to get resolved, I was not informed that a specialist fee was not covered. I had a claim that was told they cover 100%, but now I'm paying almost 400 out of pocket. Fine, I agree if I didn't hear correctly I will admit my wrong, but they kept passing me by saying 3-5 business days, then another 2 business days etc.... I wanted to speak to a supervisor, supposedly they don't have those?! Okay, wasted my time. 5 minutes later Ty (the individual I was talking to) states, "ohh it says here they have reviewed it on the 25th and the correct information was provided to you." Okay, so if that is the case, why have I been talking to you for 18 minutes and you kept wanting to pass me off, why couldn't this be told to me on the 25th of January, or the second time I called on the 30th, or even at the beginning of this conversation? She then states she was just told she could disclose it now. Okay, by who?! A supervisor, I want to speak with one! Okay fine that is a lost cause, now I have another issue and again I have to wait another 2-5 business days.. like what is happening?! I'm losing money left, right and centre, I might as well just cancel the insurance and pay out of pocket.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thinking of getting a life insurance quote from an insurance agent? They work for one insurance company and can only sell the products of that company. That may not result in the best rate for you. Our insurance brokers compare life insurance quotes across 20+ Canadian insurers for you.
 

Simply Terrible

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Insurance Victim Jan 29, 2019
These are your typical insurance crooks. They take a huge amount of money to 'cover your needs' but when you need to be covered, they treat you like a criminal. My child went unconscious and someone called an ambulance to have her rushed to the hospital. Long story short, my claim (which is 100% covered by my policy) was rejected 3 times because they didn't read the receipt properly and said there wasn't adequate information on my GOVERNMENT ISSUED receipt. Their story changes every time and now they tell me I have to handwrite the address of the hospital where she was rushed to and resubmit it for the fourth time. RIDICULOUS!!!
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Worse insurance ever

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Unimpressed Jan 25, 2019
I haven’t even had my benefits for 3 days and I have had to contact Sun Life every day. They got my bday wrong, which prevented me from getting my prescription. I phoned and they fixed it but said: "I don’t know how quickly it will kick in." I phone my pharmacy the next day and they say I still have no benefits, so my pharmacy phones Sun Life and it wasn’t fixed, so now I phone Sun Life to get the benefits I submitted for. I have never been so screwed around by an insurance company. So bad I wouldn’t recommend Sun Life insurance if you were dying.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Did you know that one in three Canadians, on average, will be disabled for more than three months before they turn 65? Get a disability insurance quote today to make sure your income is secure, even when you are temporary disabled.
 

Poor Customer Service

 
(1.5 out of 5 stars)
by Je Jan 21, 2019
This last call I made to Sun Life just had me fuming with the way I was being spoken to after being polite and asking for information. The person on the other line did not listen to what I was saying, which was a very simple question about my coverage. When she finally answered my simple question, I was obviously disappointed with the way she handled my call and said thank you only to be hung up on. Very discouraging to call in for information.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Miss lead

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Disappointed Jan 07, 2019
Purchased policy when I was 25, not well-formed of high increases during coverage would be the older I got. I’m 55 now, monthly payments have increased so high can no longer afford. Really feel I wasted a lot of money over the years for a service that I feel has taken advantage of me. I would really recommend to not choose this insurance company. Also, the staff was not very accommodating or looking out for me as a client.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Did you know that if you are a 35-year old female, a term life insurance policy for 10 years with coverage of $500,000 will cost you around $15-$20/month? Getting your life insurance quote today will allow you to lock-in a great rate.
 

WORST. EVER!!!

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Kevin Dec 28, 2018
I had Sun Life insurance provided through my employer. I was off work due to an ongoing and debilitating degenerative back. After being on long-term disability for a term, I was still deemed disabled by my doctors. Sun Life disagreed and said I was capable of doing SOMETHING. I had only ever been an equipment operator, so I had no other marketable skills. Sun Life in their infinite wisdom put me through a Microsoft office crash course and said I now had skills to be employed elsewhere. Despite my arguments that I was typing at 15wpm and had the most basic of understanding of computers, they stuck to their guns and discontinued my benefits. I hope they all have to go through bankruptcy like I did because of this.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

So frustrating over 8 years...

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by tersed Dec 19, 2018
Sun Life has unfortunately been the benefits and insurance provider for both my current and past employer. I have not had worse consistent customer service from any organization in my life, than Sun Life. Congrats - this is quite an honour. In summary... - Their website was designed in 1995 with hidden areas, cross-links, broken links. - Their phone system was developed shortly thereafter...disconnects, connects to the wrong dept., need to enter in your login and password multiple times, only to have to provide it to an agent, when they eventually answer - Escalating calls to a "manager" is a painful experience...don't expect someone to hear you or listen - Their benefits and financial services depts. don't talk to each other, can't help each other, which is a problem given they have a one-window access into both. - Sending a message on their system is like sending snail mail to Santa - expect no response, and if one comes, it's by next holiday season. - Benefits routinely incorrectly assessed. At least once per year for the last several years, I need to bring a manager in to fix the problem. I'm assuming that they are the lowest cost provider, which is why employers select them, however, the dismal experiences over so many years should scream to employers who care about their employers and their associated benefits to look somewhere else. Sun Life feels like a dinosaur who will eventually, at some point, go extinct.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Did you know there is a 35% chance of developing a critical illness before you are 65 and 65%-70% chance before you turn 81? That means getting a critical illness insurance quote is no less important than getting life insurance. Your choice.
 

They try and make it hard...

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by drralbert Nov 19, 2018
They make things up to try and get you drop your claims and customer service people are rude from the first call...
1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

LTD

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Bewildered Nov 01, 2018
I would not even give them 1 star, but I had to submit this. I applied to LTD and it was a nightmare from the start. I have paid into this for 12 years and I was warned when applying that they review to deny. My claim was for acute anxiety, stress and physical/health issues and in the end, I was told it was "due to reasons of a personal nature rather than an illness or injury" even though I had a 3-page letter from a psychologist stating otherwise and a 5-page signed note from my doctor. I had to do a personal interview on the phone, which was a joke. I should have declined the interview. It made me feel like a victim and only caused me more undue stress. They are not there for our health. How is a claim denied with signed documents from doctors? I looked into suing them and had a lawyer set up, who wanted to pursue it but I have opted to step away for now. You can google search this to find lawyers who specifically deal with denied claims. I cannot put who I found, but they are there if you require additional help to pursue your claim.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Did you know that mortgage insurance is the same as life insurance but more expensive and offers less protection? By cancelling it and getting life insurance , you would typically save around 30%-40% for the same coverage.
 

Sun Life Financial Advisor

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Customer Oct 24, 2018
I dealt with a very unprofessional and rude service provider on behalf of Sun Life. It's my personal belief their lack of knowledge and inability to address issues makes them unqualified to provide the services they attempt to provide to customers. Their advice for me to remove my investments and life insurance from Sun Life was not taken. I am looking forward to Sun Life appointing a qualified and professional representative who will provide professional and respectful service.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

ZERO STARS!! JUST TERRIBLE :(

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by NotImpressed321 Oct 18, 2018
I have group benefits with this company and it's been a nightmare since day one. I mailed my claim forms to them that consisted of four documents. They separated them and entered my ONE claim as two. So I was told all my information is missing but it wasn't...they made the error. I spoke with someone who told me they fixed it and they would resubmit it for me. I hear nothing from them for two weeks, so I followed up to find out that it was rejected due to a date missing (had the month but not the day) on my receipt even though all the other forms submitted with it had the date electronically printed on them. I was asked to get a new copy and then use their stupid mobile app to resubmit the receipt. I did that. Hear nothing again. Follow up again and was told my information is missing...the SAME first problem was never actually fixed on their end. So I'm told to resubmit the same form again with a new reference number. I ask why it's needed because they have it, and they were incredibly rude and were just sending me their list of auto responses. I disconnected, and spoke with someone else who told me I could go on their website and just enter the claim amount - easy peasy...WHY DIDN'T THE OTHER ELEVENTY BILLION REPS I SPOKE WITH TELL ME THIS?!?! I'm incredibly reluctant that this suggestion of entering it online will work...but it's another waiting game, I guess. Save your time...save your employees' time and do not use these guys. They are just awful. You have to follow up all the time, otherwise, you won't know what's going on. They do not communicate anything to you. Of course not, right? Why would they want to reimburse you money? Apparently, to them, that's not what benefits are for...
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Did you know that if you are a 30-year old male, a term life insurance policy for 20 years with coverage of $200,000 will cost you around $19/month? Getting your term life insurance quote today will allow you to benefit from a great rate.
 

Sun Life bad customer service

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Michele Oct 17, 2018
This is not the first time I am calling Sun Life customer service and each time the representative isn’t helpful at all, they are short, almost rude and not willing to explain anything. My claim got denied and I called to find out why. I was told my claim online was missing information. When I asked if I missed any fields, I was told that I should mail out the claim instead!!! The rep didn’t want to tell me if I had missed any fields. Then I had to wait a few minutes to get a mailing address and the rep then went quiet!!! The worst experience ever!
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

IMPOSSIBLE TO CLAIM

 
(1.5 out of 5 stars)
by SUNLIFECRITIC Oct 15, 2018
If you try to make a large claim (say for a few months of medical claims), it is impossible because you will be logged out automatically after 8 minutes and an error message will say "logged out due to inactivity" as you are entering the data. That is not inactivity. Then you will get on the chat line for customer service and see you are number 75 in the queue and after 40 minutes, the chat will start and after 1 minute you will (guess what?) be logged out for inactivity as you are typing.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Not sure if you can qualify for life insurance with existing health pre-conditions? Let us to help you with a no medical life insurance quote , meaning that you do not need to pass a medical exam to qualify for a life insurance policy.
 

DI hurry up and wait

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by iluminati Oct 03, 2018
Thomas Jefferson was wrong... all men are not created equal. Montreal Sun Life Disability office is evidence that some are less equal between the ears at least. Terrible service and BAD attitude towards people that pay them.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Awful to deal with

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by jlbrcic Sep 25, 2018
I have a public health plan with them and I dread every time I have a claim. Use Blue Cross, much better service. Very onerous process and forms. Seem to do everything to dissuade from claiming benefits. Rude staff.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Planning to get life insurance to protect your family, including children? Make sure that you get enough coverage. According to studies, it takes about $250,000 in total to raise a child to the age of 18 (and that doesn’t include any post-secondary education costs).
 

Health benefits

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Andrew Sep 20, 2018
Awful service and not a user-friendly website. Easier to deal with Revenue Canada than Sun Life Insurance bureaucrats. Terrible website and poor instructions. Avoid this company at all costs. Departments don't communicate information with each other. Do not send any documents at the Montreal address indicated on the claim form or they will lose your receipts or even destroy them. Pay more and get a better company. Anything but Sun Life. This company does not even deserve one star.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?