Independent Life Insurance Reviews

Sunlife Life Insurance Reviews

(167 reviews)
This page has been viewed by:
130,965
consumers
(1.8 out of 5 stars)
Customer Service:
Value for Money:
 

Terrible provider

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Shane Jul 09, 2018
Customer service is terrible. Perhaps it was just who handled my claim, Renee P. I wouldn't recommend this company to anyone
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Did you know that one in three Canadians, on average, will be disabled for more than three months before they turn 65? Get a disability insurance quote today to make sure your income is secure, even when you are temporary disabled.
 

Zero peace of mind

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Sbright Jul 07, 2018
Almost three weeks waititing on a claim that is pending. No one has any answers, case manager working on my file happens to be out of office today and her manager didn't even have the decency to return my phone call. I have already waited the 60 days waiting period, I've been told no missing information or additional info needed, so what's the hold up? It's disheartening that the people you trust in purchasing a product to give you peace of mind don't care enough to give it. I'm very disappointed. Cause more stress to someone who is healing, shameful
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Great service

 
(5.0 out of 5 stars)
by Chuch Jun 01, 2018
Sun Life has always been very easy to work with. I love my advisor. I have been dealing with them for over 15 years now and my investments are making money and I feel secure that my loved ones will be taken care of if anything happens to me.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Did you know that if you are a 30-year old male, a term life insurance policy for 20 years with coverage of $200,000 will cost you around $19/month? Getting your term life insurance quote today will allow you to benefit from a great rate.
 

The Worst insurance company

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by overit May 24, 2018
I am only with Sunlife as it is my husband who has their benefits through work. But I would never choose them if I had a choice. I had a claim I submitted with them, checked that it was indeed something covered by our benefits before going to the service. I submit the claim with my backup and get told it was denied - so I call in and first I get this extremely rude employee screaming at me on the phone and telling me over and over that it was denied because they are my husdand's insurance and not mine to use (though I am on the policy and know that I am under him on the insurance), he wouldn’t even listen to me, so I hung up and called back - spoke to another lady who put me through to her manager, who told me she couldn’t see why my claim was denied but that I needed to get the person who completed my service to call in with their information (though they had their registration number and all nesscary information.) I did so and had the person call in - waited forever to hear anything back about this and in an email, they say that they will reimburse me for this claim - great! But of course not, the reimbursement still hasn’t come yet and that was over a month ago, I called in to see what was going on and was told they won’t speak to me about anything. My husband needs to call and though my service came to $245 (and we were covered up until $300 per service), they are only reimbursing $100. So I’m just fed up at this point and say save your money. If you don’t have to go with Sunlife, don’t.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Avoid at all costs

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Trevor S May 23, 2018
Sunlife has the absolute worst group insurance service ever. If you have a choice, pay any other company other than Sunlife for medical and dental insurance. They will do whatever they can to deny claims that they will eventually have to pay. They do what they can to make life difficult on their CUSTOMERS. The people that pay them! That is crazy to think. These guys are on a sinking ship because they don't have common sense and they like redundancy! Do yourself a favour and pay someone else. I guarantee they will be better than what Sunlife provides.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Did you know that mortgage insurance is the same as life insurance but more expensive and offers less protection? By cancelling it and getting life insurance , you would typically save around 30%-40% for the same coverage.
 

keep away from this company

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by gouda s May 09, 2018
I am paying for the highest health insurance plan they have since year one and for the first time I sent my drugs invoices to claim department, which is a basic medication for regular hypertension, but they say that my drugs list is not covered, why? No answer, only told me to contact my area agent, I called him and briefly, he told me that it's not his responsibility!!
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

AWFUL Claim experience

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by PA Apr 23, 2018
I only have Sunlife because of the company I work for. I submitted a few claims since November last year and EVERY SINGLE ONE OF THEM had a problem with the processing. I had all the backup documentation, everything properly done and still, there were errors with the processing. I'd NEVER recommend Sunlife to anyone. Stay away from them, if you want to keep your sanity!
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Did you know that if you are a 35-year old female, a term life insurance policy for 10 years with coverage of $500,000 will cost you around $15-$20/month? Getting your life insurance quote today will allow you to lock-in a great rate.
 

LTD Coverage DENIED

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by ToyotaKid Apr 21, 2018
After dealing with a serious cardiac issue, and returning to work before the end of my Short-term benefits, I have since been hospitalized TWICE for the same condition. Now that I will be looking to use LTD for a short time until I'm able to return to work, Sunlife delayed and stalled for a month after being sent all the information from my Dr as requested. After a month of delays and no income, my "rep" decided to pass my file to their "Health Partner" (AKA: A Doctor they pay to deny claims) for review. This so-called "partner" OVERRULED my Doctor and Cardiologists findings and have denied my coverage. I am not well enough to return to work yet, as my Dr indicated, and now over 2 months later, I am still in the "appeals" process. No income, for 3 months, maxed out CC's, used all my savings to survive...And still no resolution. This is a very common game they play... Stall and delay and bully you until you're unable to remain off work any longer due to financial pressures, regardless of your health. I have 8 co-workers who have had to retain a lawyer in order to receive BENEFITS THAT YOU PAY FOR. How this company hasn't been sued out of existence is beyond me. They are immoral and unsympathetic, and their "customer service" is absolutely appalling. ZERO STARS
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Disgusted and Confused

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by DisappointedCustomer Apr 10, 2018
I only have Sunlife because of the company I work for. I had surgery and I submitted ALL necessary COMPLETED paperwork back in Feb. I had surgery in March and it is now April and I STILL have not received my disability. Sunlife claim to have needed info from me that they already had in file. They told me it would take 5 days to have my claim assigned. I called 4 days later and my claim still had not been assigned! They're saying they dropped the ball and it will take another 5 days to be assigned and additional time to have my claim approved so I can finally receive my benefits. By the time I receive my benefits, I will be back at work. I can not begin to explain how disappointed and disgusted I am with this company. My disability is my only form of income while I'm out of work and they're basically telling me there is nothing I can do about it even though they dropped the ball! This is absurd and Sunlife should be investigated! I'm committed to exploring every outside option I can to have them take responsibility for their actions. If an individual pay monthly for your insurance, you should at least have the decency to pay out in a timely efficient manner! Shame on you Sunlife!
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Did you know there is a 35% chance of developing a critical illness before you are 65 and 65%-70% chance before you turn 81? That means getting a critical illness insurance quote is no less important than getting life insurance. Your choice.
 

This is why rates are high

 
(2.0 out of 5 stars)
by azaeal Apr 05, 2018
Been trying to get a claim estimate completed but Sunlife is being stubborn about fulfilling it because they put a stipulation in policy saying only 1 claim per 2 years. I did not use the full portion of the benefits and they are refusing to let me use the remaining portion. No wonder providers charge full amount of your benefits and drive rates up because they know places like this have this stupid rule.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

CROOKED FRAUD COMPANY

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by cassey16 Mar 21, 2018
I have a life insurance policy with this company for over 25 years. Four years ago I took out a loan against the policy. I made monthly payments to pay off the loan. It was paid off a year ago. One year later they sent me a statement saying that I was still owing over $800 in loan on the policy. Disgusting, lying, stealing company. Don't trust this company. I am fearful that this company will steal money from my insurance when I die and my family will not know.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Not sure if you can qualify for life insurance with existing health pre-conditions? Let us to help you with a no medical life insurance quote , meaning that you do not need to pass a medical exam to qualify for a life insurance policy.
 

DO NOT USE SUNLIFE.

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Steve Mar 20, 2018
#1 SUNLIFE FINANCIAL INVESTMENTS; Pay attention to your investments! I learned the hard way. Sunlife has illegally been charging me a FRONT END FEE and a BACK end fee on my investments for over three years. They pull money in and out of investments just to increase their own fees they can collect. Then, when you attempt to move your funds to a different investment firm to conduct your own investments, they use DELAY TACTICS. All while your investment dwindles away to nothing. Highly frustrating and unprofessional. I requested my funds be moved over to my own financial institution that I deal with. It has been FOUR MONTHS. My bank has been fighting to get my money out of the greedy claws of Sunlife. I have been on the phone with them daily. It's supposed to take up to three weeks. Not four months. What a joke! #2 SUNLIFE INSURANCE; We asked Sunlife a simple question about their life insurance policies available at a local trade show. The lady at the trade show seemed nice enough... So we gave her our phone number. She said she would call us to answer our question later. She called us EVERY DAY for SIX MONTHS straight. Not exaggerating! We were ready to charge Sunlife with harassment as we asked them OVER and OVER again to stop calling. We even went into the office and told them we were not interested in their life insurance. There are better options out there for life insurance. They continued to harass us, attempting to use scare tactics to talk us into buying their insurance. #3 WORK-BASED BENEFITS PACKAGE; What an over-priced pile of garbage. Every company seems to make the switch over to Sunlife because they APPEAR to have lower rates. Then later find out that Sunlife actually doesn't have good coverage at all. Most of the claims that employees submit get declined or audited. Sunlife is extremely difficult to get ahold of and, if you do manage to get through to sometime, good luck understanding what they are mumbling over the phone... Other benefits packages (EG Great-West Life) offer much better packages and a painless online claim process that pays you within 72 hours. Even care suppliers will refuse to use "Direct Pay" if you have Sunlife because they are so terrible to deal with.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Worst Insurance

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Mar 14, 2018
The worst insurance I have ever encountered myself with, the only reason why I am with them is because my company is with them and between my spouse and myself I am the only one who can get benefits. Usually when you hand in a statement of your expenses, you expect them to pay without any hesitation, but no I had been given the round around of having to provide documents of proof that I have a doctor's approval then having to wait a week after in order to get my money, then having to hand in another statement of the same treatment and being told I need to provide proof when clearly they don't bother checking their system that I already handed that in, like what in the world now waiting another week to get my money back, and all I get is "sorry, sorry" over the phone. THIS IS THE WORST INSURANCE I HAVE EVER DEALT WITH!!! HEADS UP DON'T CHOOSE SUNLIFE!!!
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thinking of getting a life insurance quote from an insurance agent? They work for one insurance company and can only sell the products of that company. That may not result in the best rate for you. Our insurance brokers compare life insurance quotes across 20+ Canadian insurers for you.
 

poor service

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Donna g Feb 26, 2018
This company treated us terrible when my mom died. The person on phone was rude and not helpful, even put phone down on my brother because she didn't know how to do her job. Took them months to sort out money and we had to keep ringing them up, not the other way round, and still not sorted after 12mths. I will never recommend them and wish we never went with them either. The whole process was upsetting and made our grieving more painful.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Dental reinburse-

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Feb 24, 2018
The staff is the worst. I do not even know how they are working there. When I called them, they only said, wait.. They let you waiting on the phone for long, then they are back and I was told I will pass to the case manager. I have been waiting for a dental disbursement for more than 3 months and so far nothing. I got a call from the "supervisor" - such poor communication. It was hard to understand what he was saying. I called one of the customer service and play the message for him..the customer service just jump to ask..what can I do for you...Don't give the money to this company...for me because I have no choice my workplace is the one paying for the benefit...Don't give money to these people who doesn't care.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Planning to get life insurance to protect your family, including children? Make sure that you get enough coverage. According to studies, it takes about $250,000 in total to raise a child to the age of 18 (and that doesn’t include any post-secondary education costs).
 

Pick the right advisor

 
(5.0 out of 5 stars)
by mwong Feb 21, 2018
I've had the same advisor for approximately 6 years now and I cannot begin to tell you how quickly he has handled everything. Sam Pakbaz was there for me when my wife passed away in 2016 and when I called him, he went from his usual cheeriness to immediate shock and worry. He came over 2 hours later and was really sympathetic and let me vent how I felt. From the time that Sam came over that day to him returning with my cheque from Sun Life, it took 8 days. I had put in a couple of claims from other companies and I was shocked when he called and said he would be by later that day with the cheque. My wife passing away was one of the hardest things for me to handle. I'm happy I did not need to handle the paperwork. Thank you Sam and keep up your hard work.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

No good for grieving..

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by lmwalters Feb 17, 2018
My daughter's father passed away in May of 2017. We have been going through the run around since then. She still hasn't received her money he has left for her. I am also on there and because I am the "EX-WIFE" they won't give me my part either. I have to get my divorce paperwork and prove that the divorce decree doesn't say that it doesn't go to me for life insurance. I have sent my divorce paperwork and still nothing. I have emailed them and called them and I am getting absolutely NO RESPONSE! It is so frustrating! I think this place is a dang JOKE!
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Did you know that if you are a 35-year old female, a term life insurance policy for 10 years with coverage of $500,000 will cost you around $15-$20/month? Getting your life insurance quote today will allow you to lock-in a great rate.
 

These reviews suck

 
(4.0 out of 5 stars)
by ThankfulT Feb 16, 2018
I had such low hopes when reading these reviews. I've been too sick to work and bedridden for weeks due to nausea. It took 2 days for them to call me after I handed in all my forms. The woman who called sounded very concerned for me and sympathetic she was lovely. She told me she would try and call before the end of the day and she called me an hour later with my case approved. Thank the Lord
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Disgusted

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Molly Feb 16, 2018
This company is absolutely appalling. We were told it would take 2-3 weeks for us to receive our money after cancelling a life insurance policy my father had, on my brother and myself, as he was gravely ill and we needed the money to care for him. After 3 weeks I called, and the money hadn’t been sent. They said it would be one more week. After that, I called. Again it hadn’t been sent. Repeat for 5 more weeks. Every day I told my father not to worry, we would have the money soon. I get a phone call, as we are sitting by my father in the hospital, and they asked for the address for where it should be sent. Over 2 months later they still didn’t even write the cheque. The money came 1 day before my father died, he was in a coma and didn’t know we received it. I’m disgusted by how many times I was lied to and disgusted he spent 25 years paying a company like this.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Did you know that if you are a 30-year old male, a term life insurance policy for 20 years with coverage of $200,000 will cost you around $19/month? Getting your term life insurance quote today will allow you to benefit from a great rate.
 

We Regret Our SL Investments

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Jonathan S Feb 09, 2018
We bought insurance and financial products from Sun Life in 2010. Their subsequent communications are an ongoing Gong Show. Thousands of words, very few numbers, no transparency at all. Another example just came in: a letter informing us that “the monthly cost of insurance of $140.62 exceeded the fund value in your policy on Nov. 18, 2017, and a minimum payment of $75.27 is required.” We called our very experienced agent (again) to ask about it and got back 2 long emails full of details about our various accounts without clarifying anything at all. Some of the details were flat wrong. We called him again this morning and had to rein his complicated, jargon-loaded, often erroneous explanations in several times before he finally realized what the “fund value in your policy” meant and that the $75 payment was going to disappear anyway when we make our regular annual payment. Our agent pointed out that people commonly lose track of the complexities of their SunLife policies and other accounts. Well, duh. I asked why, since the company is obviously aware of that fact, their communications are ALL so obtuse as to make their customers feel too stupid to follow what is happening with their investments? No answer. He also had no answer for why his calculations about this matter do not match those of the letter. SunLife is a Gong Show as far as customer communications and transparency are concerned. The only reason we have not closed our accounts with SunLife is because none of the 3 tiers of customer service we have contacted can tell us what it will cost us to do so. As far as they have been able to show us, our investments with them have paid less than 5% returns during one of the most profitable markets in the history of the world. We would not trust SunLife to carry our lunch around the corner, and are chipping away at an escape hatch.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Disgusting company.

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by 123fedup. Feb 02, 2018
My dad died 2 months ago, claim for funeral cover was made 2 days after. We are still waiting for the funeral money to be paid. This company uses delay tactics to avoid paying out - asking for death certificate to be sent twice, then stating executor of will needs to be changed 8 weeks after original claim. We now have to re apply for money. Disgusting service to grieving family. Luckily our funeral director is understanding otherwise we would have problems. AVOID - I could scream when I see those cringey adverts. Not a good company.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Did you know there is a 35% chance of developing a critical illness before you are 65 and 65%-70% chance before you turn 81? That means getting a critical illness insurance quote is no less important than getting life insurance. Your choice.
 

Awful, terms very misleading

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by leiwale Jan 30, 2018
Avoid this company!! The wordings in their insurance terms is the worst I've ever seen, most misleading and doesn't make sense.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Missing benefits

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by HeavensColors Jan 28, 2018
So dissatisfied with the way your company made the contract with mine. Why would you allow everyone, but a spouse to be able to use certain benefits? Why wouldn't you allow the benefits I get, to be used for both myself and my spouse? Instead, we have to use money we cannot afford to use to pay for what is important in everyday life. Not everyone is rich and many people, especially the poor, count on these benefits for everyday use. I'm so upset that this is allow this to happen to those with disorders when they need help the most. Rich get richer and the poor get poorer. So disappointed with you guys!
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Did you know that mortgage insurance is the same as life insurance but more expensive and offers less protection? By cancelling it and getting life insurance , you would typically save around 30%-40% for the same coverage.
 

Worst insurance company

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Jan 26, 2018
For extended benefits, sun life's policy seems to be to drag out your claims until their claim limits are reached or they found any reason to exclude coverage. Three times I sent in information with different reasons for denial. I terminated my policy with them and submitted a claim. After not being paid I found out they were requesting a referral for medical claims (which BTW we had sent in before, but their policy is you need to send in every 12 months. Most other companies I have dealt with do not require this even once). They sent this information in and I was told that the claim period had ended. I don't understand how this company can deny money entitled to you because you have exceeded their policy periods. They have no problem taking in your monthly payments but do anything to exclude paying out. I agree with other posts as to how anyone can work for this company. They must be paid commisions on how little they pay out for claims.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Really bad customer service!

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by osjfknki Jan 24, 2018
This is not the first time I've ever encountered such rude, impatient, and highly sarcastic customer service representative at Sunlife. I call them most of the time because it's part of my job working at a practitioner's office, and I'm in so much shock to find out how awful their customer representatives are. Such a disgrace to the company. Maybe the HR department should have a better standard of hiring customer service reps. 'Cause these guys they hired aren't helpful at all and in fact, frustrate people more because of their unacceptable attitude.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thinking of getting a life insurance quote from an insurance agent? They work for one insurance company and can only sell the products of that company. That may not result in the best rate for you. Our insurance brokers compare life insurance quotes across 20+ Canadian insurers for you.
 

Covered or Not?

 
(1.5 out of 5 stars)
by 989jamie Jan 10, 2018
When you call you're asked for a bunch of numbers you probably don't have. Employees act frustrated to have to look you up by name etc. Finding your info online is impossible and when you call they have difficulty telling you what kind of coverage you even have. I was transferred 3 times to be told they didn't know if I had any disability coverage on the group insurance option I selected. You might say I should know this but employers often ask you to complete your selections within a week of starting your new job. A brochure or at least clear coverage information should be available to you to review at any time. I'm disappointed in this company and think they should be more user-friendly.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

LTD claim denied

 
(1.5 out of 5 stars)
by Jenny M, CPA, CA Jan 04, 2018
Sunlife will raise any excuse to deny valid LTD claims. I am currently being treated for depression, anxiety and job burnout by my GP and therapist. Both have given the medical diagnosis to Sunlife and extensive information and forms. Doesn't matter, drag out the claim process, say not enough information, then deny the claim. I am a hardworking professional (accountant) who has a strong work ethic (see burnout above). The fact that my employer has paid into this company for 10+ years on my behalf, only to then be denied upon valid medical leave and financial need is unconscionable. This industry needs to examine its' reasons for doing business. These guys are a bunch of crooks and the press should really get a hold of this story.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Not sure if you can qualify for life insurance with existing health pre-conditions? Let us to help you with a no medical life insurance quote , meaning that you do not need to pass a medical exam to qualify for a life insurance policy.
 

SunLife won't accept Bill 179

 
(1.5 out of 5 stars)
by Vee Alphabet Jan 03, 2018
I have read a comment or two about denials for referrals made by Nurse Practitioners by Sun Life. I have called Sun Life about this as well. They do not recognize Bill 179 which gives Nurse Practitioners the power to prescribe and communicate a diagnosis. Under Bill 179 a nurse can prescribe medication but Sun Life will not pay for it. How does that make sense?
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Delay Delay

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by ASEur Jan 03, 2018
They lie regularly and wait until the last minute. You call back and you're told something different each time. It doesn't matter if it's a rep supervisor or manager. Their goal is to wear you down. They claim they make calls for records but don't leave a message or claim line is busy. They give teenager level excuses
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Did you know that one in three Canadians, on average, will be disabled for more than three months before they turn 65? Get a disability insurance quote today to make sure your income is secure, even when you are temporary disabled.
 

Customer Service is appalling

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by CMS Dec 30, 2017
I had 2 life insurance policies (one company provided and an additional supplemental policy). I decided I no longer needed the supplemental policy and called mid-November to cancel it. I'd already had numerous problems with this company with billing issues on the company provided policy and had experienced months of run-around. I found the same problems in trying to cancel a policy. First of all, you have to wait forever to get thru to them on the phone. Then you are told you need to email your request, complaint, question, etc. to a generic email address. The emails go unanswered. Follow up phone calls get you nowhere. After 3 emails and a threat to complain to my state insurance board, I got a response that my request to cancel my policy was "under review!" I had prepaid for the quarter and called to cancel about 6 weeks into the quarter so expected a pro-rated refund but since they have to "review" my request, they have now dragged this out thru the quarter. Ridiculous! If I want to stop doing business with your company, what is there to "review"...it's not even a claim! And now I am getting the runaround again on the remaining policy I hold with them because I want to go from quarterly payments to monthly so that when I find another policy thru another company and cancel with Sun Life I dont' lose 2 months worth of payments! There is no way to change your policy payment schedule on their website, and a call, when I finally reached a representative resulted in being told to email my request. I flat-out told the rep I refuse to go thru the email run-around again and mailed them 1 months payment with a 7 page complaint letter, including all of my unanswered email threads from previous problems. Avoid this company. I realize from the poor way they treat customers that if my family had to file a claim on my life insurance, they would be treated the same way and face months of stone-walling and being ignored!
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?