Independent Life Insurance Reviews

Sunlife Life Insurance Reviews

(176 reviews)
This page has been viewed by:
145,536
consumers
(1.7 out of 5 stars)
Customer Service:
Value for Money:
 

AVOID SUN LIFE

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Giselle2018 Sep 05, 2018
AVOID THIS COMPANY. I’ve been paying into my benefits, you’d think the least they can do is take a phone call from me and give me some information on my claim. I’ve been in the process of filing a disability claim for almost a month now and all I’m trying to do is check the status (when I should be receiving money as I’ve been off of work now for over a month due to high-risk pregnancy) and every time I call, someone tells me they can’t access my information because my file is handled in another office and I’m tired of being transferred over there to a voicemail. The same number that I’ve called twice before and was able to speak to someone who was able to access my file is the same number I’m calling again and it’s taking me all over Ontario and no one can access my information. Does Vancouver not have a customer service centre with people who actually pick up the phone like Waterloo or Toronto or Halifax or Montreal does?? Every time I’m transferred to Vancouver, I’m forwarded to a voicemail. This is so ridiculous I’ve never experienced this before, this is the WORST customer service and everyone I speak to is telling me something different. I don’t even know why my file is being handled in Vancouver when I live in Toronto. They even have an online option where you can “track your claim” and every time I go to look, it shows me that I supposedly haven’t filed a claim in the last 90 days. When I finish sorting this out, I'm CANCELLING and switching somewhere better, this is a disgusting service. Been off of work for so long and I’m due in 3 weeks and I can’t even enjoy a peace of mind like these insurance companies claim to give you whenever you need your.... behind.... covered. 0 STARS. I’m leaving this review anywhere I can so people can avoid this stress.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Did you know that mortgage insurance is the same as life insurance but more expensive and offers less protection? By cancelling it and getting life insurance , you would typically save around 30%-40% for the same coverage.
 

Not there when you need them!

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Brokebeaver22 Sep 05, 2018
I've been paying premiums for myself and my wife for years, when I actually need their assistance ...they take 3 weeks to answer your claim (online) and refuse to pay because my wife's provincial health insurance was not valid at the time! I mean that sucked but we thought we were all right until it got sorted because I freaking pay for insurance as well... What's the point of paying for insurance if they refuse to insure you? **Garbage company, looking to leech off of your bank accounts!
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Charging me and not covering

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by LaneyB Aug 31, 2018
This is by far the worst company I have ever interacted with (in any industry, for anything). They are currently charging me for vision insurance but do not have me in the system. Because they do not have me in the system, they say they can't be charging me. My paychecks say otherwise. The customer service is slow, rude, and completely unknowledgeable. They are inexpensive because in this case, you really do get what you pay for. The hours of time you spend trying to fix their mistakes is worth so much more than the money you "save". If you care about yourself, choose ANY other company.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Did you know that one in three Canadians, on average, will be disabled for more than three months before they turn 65? Get a disability insurance quote today to make sure your income is secure, even when you are temporary disabled.
 

medical or non medical

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by medical claim Aug 07, 2018
The worst insurance provider that we have chosen for our company; it was a terrible decision and the staff is completely incompetent
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Don't touch this company

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Unhappy customer Aug 05, 2018
Trying to claim a life insurance policy taken out by the bereaved, the family continues to struggle to get the payout. With numerous calls to the company telling us to get all signatures completed when only one executive dealing with all the finances. Also asked to provide bank details on two occasions only to be told 4 weeks later that they don't pay into your bank account but direct to the funeral directors. The way we've been treated is absolutely disgusting. None of their call operators read from the same script obviously making it up as they go along. Furthermore, what you actually contribute in payments you only get about a third back.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thinking of getting a life insurance quote from an insurance agent? They work for one insurance company and can only sell the products of that company. That may not result in the best rate for you. Our insurance brokers compare life insurance quotes across 20+ Canadian insurers for you.
 

No Compassion

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by RLS Aug 01, 2018
I applied for accelerated benefits for my husband. They said there was an Assignment on policy. There was not and never had been. The employer told them. No assignment and proof no assignment. Sunlife said unless the assignment is presented, my husband paid ADB. They investigated and my husband passed away 32 days into their “legal process”. I had to start a new claim in death benefits. They are investigating again now they say there is an assignment although I have a letter from SunLife from other claim saying there isn’t one. He told me other rep didn’t know what she was doing. So my 16-year-old daughter and I will probably lose our home and car. I lost my husband 5 weeks ago. Isn’t that enough? Not for SunLife trust me when I say they don’t care if you are suffering and begging for them to pay you so you can pay cobra premium or if you are distraught from losing your husband. No compassion for anything or anyone and say ask all of the questions you need to and the only answer they give is under review.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Out of sun, out of life...

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Andre E. Jul 27, 2018
Forget about the policies and rules that are agreed on upon contracting with SunLife. They will do whatever they can to rip you off based on their own judgement, based on what's more convenient to them. They will say 'You are covered for this drug up to the reasonable and customary amount of the lowest priced equivalent drug', but THEY are not reasonable, so they will apply customary amount as they see fit. Time to process your payments is another joke. 3 to 4 weeks minimum after they receive the claim, which you still have to send via regular mail by the way. Well, I guess that's because it still is 2018 and we do not have many alternatives to paper, right?
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Not sure if you can qualify for life insurance with existing health pre-conditions? Let us to help you with a no medical life insurance quote , meaning that you do not need to pass a medical exam to qualify for a life insurance policy.
 

Terrible provider

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Shane Jul 09, 2018
Customer service is terrible. Perhaps it was just who handled my claim, Renee P. I wouldn't recommend this company to anyone
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Zero peace of mind

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Sbright Jul 07, 2018
Almost three weeks waititing on a claim that is pending. No one has any answers, case manager working on my file happens to be out of office today and her manager didn't even have the decency to return my phone call. I have already waited the 60 days waiting period, I've been told no missing information or additional info needed, so what's the hold up? It's disheartening that the people you trust in purchasing a product to give you peace of mind don't care enough to give it. I'm very disappointed. Cause more stress to someone who is healing, shameful
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Planning to get life insurance to protect your family, including children? Make sure that you get enough coverage. According to studies, it takes about $250,000 in total to raise a child to the age of 18 (and that doesn’t include any post-secondary education costs).
 

Worst Insurance company

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Vannie Jul 04, 2018
Absolutely the worst insurance company. I have group benefits with Sunlife through work. They always find excuses to not reimburse the payment. I submitted several prescription drugs for my son and they returned and said the drug is not covered. My son had severe eczema and the hydrocortisone was prescribed by a medical doctor. But they said it's alternative herbal medication and not covered. Really? Hydrocortisone cream is not a herbal cream. I paid extra every paycheck to cover my son but at the end, all claims were denied. Useless policies and it's a company that needs to change. I urge all employers to not insure your employees with Sunlife. $ not well spent.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Personal Health and Dental

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by xtxpr Jun 29, 2018
Looked into SunLife for Health and Dental as a small business. The worst customer service and the absolute worst coverage offered. They never get back to you, pass your calls around until your disconnected and will only deal with you via snail mail. THEY DON'T COVER WHAT YOU ACTUALLY NEED COVERAGE FOR. They could have told us this from the beginning. Instead, they picked apart the paperwork for two months (this box not checked, this wasn't initiated) before sending via mail once again nothing was cover. They will not cover any medication that you are already taking!!! THEY COULD HAVE TOLD US THIS TWO MONTHS AGO INSTEAD OF DRAGGING IT ALONG!!! No humanity, just lengthy bureaucratic process without no actual help.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Did you know there is a 35% chance of developing a critical illness before you are 65 and 65%-70% chance before you turn 81? That means getting a critical illness insurance quote is no less important than getting life insurance. Your choice.
 

Great service

 
(5.0 out of 5 stars)
by Chuch Jun 01, 2018
Sun Life has always been very easy to work with. I love my advisor. I have been dealing with them for over 15 years now and my investments are making money and I feel secure that my loved ones will be taken care of if anything happens to me.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

The Worst insurance company

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by overit May 24, 2018
I am only with Sunlife as it is my husband who has their benefits through work. But I would never choose them if I had a choice. I had a claim I submitted with them, checked that it was indeed something covered by our benefits before going to the service. I submit the claim with my backup and get told it was denied - so I call in and first I get this extremely rude employee screaming at me on the phone and telling me over and over that it was denied because they are my husdand's insurance and not mine to use (though I am on the policy and know that I am under him on the insurance), he wouldn’t even listen to me, so I hung up and called back - spoke to another lady who put me through to her manager, who told me she couldn’t see why my claim was denied but that I needed to get the person who completed my service to call in with their information (though they had their registration number and all nesscary information.) I did so and had the person call in - waited forever to hear anything back about this and in an email, they say that they will reimburse me for this claim - great! But of course not, the reimbursement still hasn’t come yet and that was over a month ago, I called in to see what was going on and was told they won’t speak to me about anything. My husband needs to call and though my service came to $245 (and we were covered up until $300 per service), they are only reimbursing $100. So I’m just fed up at this point and say save your money. If you don’t have to go with Sunlife, don’t.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Did you know that if you are a 35-year old female, a term life insurance policy for 10 years with coverage of $500,000 will cost you around $15-$20/month? Getting your life insurance quote today will allow you to lock-in a great rate.
 

Avoid at all costs

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Trevor S May 23, 2018
Sunlife has the absolute worst group insurance service ever. If you have a choice, pay any other company other than Sunlife for medical and dental insurance. They will do whatever they can to deny claims that they will eventually have to pay. They do what they can to make life difficult on their CUSTOMERS. The people that pay them! That is crazy to think. These guys are on a sinking ship because they don't have common sense and they like redundancy! Do yourself a favour and pay someone else. I guarantee they will be better than what Sunlife provides.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

keep away from this company

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by gouda s May 09, 2018
I am paying for the highest health insurance plan they have since year one and for the first time I sent my drugs invoices to claim department, which is a basic medication for regular hypertension, but they say that my drugs list is not covered, why? No answer, only told me to contact my area agent, I called him and briefly, he told me that it's not his responsibility!!
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Did you know that if you are a 30-year old male, a term life insurance policy for 20 years with coverage of $200,000 will cost you around $19/month? Getting your term life insurance quote today will allow you to benefit from a great rate.
 

AWFUL Claim experience

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by PA Apr 23, 2018
I only have Sunlife because of the company I work for. I submitted a few claims since November last year and EVERY SINGLE ONE OF THEM had a problem with the processing. I had all the backup documentation, everything properly done and still, there were errors with the processing. I'd NEVER recommend Sunlife to anyone. Stay away from them, if you want to keep your sanity!
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

LTD Coverage DENIED

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by ToyotaKid Apr 21, 2018
After dealing with a serious cardiac issue, and returning to work before the end of my Short-term benefits, I have since been hospitalized TWICE for the same condition. Now that I will be looking to use LTD for a short time until I'm able to return to work, Sunlife delayed and stalled for a month after being sent all the information from my Dr as requested. After a month of delays and no income, my "rep" decided to pass my file to their "Health Partner" (AKA: A Doctor they pay to deny claims) for review. This so-called "partner" OVERRULED my Doctor and Cardiologists findings and have denied my coverage. I am not well enough to return to work yet, as my Dr indicated, and now over 2 months later, I am still in the "appeals" process. No income, for 3 months, maxed out CC's, used all my savings to survive...And still no resolution. This is a very common game they play... Stall and delay and bully you until you're unable to remain off work any longer due to financial pressures, regardless of your health. I have 8 co-workers who have had to retain a lawyer in order to receive BENEFITS THAT YOU PAY FOR. How this company hasn't been sued out of existence is beyond me. They are immoral and unsympathetic, and their "customer service" is absolutely appalling. ZERO STARS
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Did you know that if you are a 35-year old female, a term life insurance policy for 10 years with coverage of $500,000 will cost you around $15-$20/month? Getting your life insurance quote today will allow you to lock-in a great rate.
 

Disgusted and Confused

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by DisappointedCustomer Apr 10, 2018
I only have Sunlife because of the company I work for. I had surgery and I submitted ALL necessary COMPLETED paperwork back in Feb. I had surgery in March and it is now April and I STILL have not received my disability. Sunlife claim to have needed info from me that they already had in file. They told me it would take 5 days to have my claim assigned. I called 4 days later and my claim still had not been assigned! They're saying they dropped the ball and it will take another 5 days to be assigned and additional time to have my claim approved so I can finally receive my benefits. By the time I receive my benefits, I will be back at work. I can not begin to explain how disappointed and disgusted I am with this company. My disability is my only form of income while I'm out of work and they're basically telling me there is nothing I can do about it even though they dropped the ball! This is absurd and Sunlife should be investigated! I'm committed to exploring every outside option I can to have them take responsibility for their actions. If an individual pay monthly for your insurance, you should at least have the decency to pay out in a timely efficient manner! Shame on you Sunlife!
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

This is why rates are high

 
(2.0 out of 5 stars)
by azaeal Apr 05, 2018
Been trying to get a claim estimate completed but Sunlife is being stubborn about fulfilling it because they put a stipulation in policy saying only 1 claim per 2 years. I did not use the full portion of the benefits and they are refusing to let me use the remaining portion. No wonder providers charge full amount of your benefits and drive rates up because they know places like this have this stupid rule.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Planning to get life insurance to protect your family, including children? Make sure that you get enough coverage. According to studies, it takes about $250,000 in total to raise a child to the age of 18 (and that doesn’t include any post-secondary education costs).
 

CROOKED FRAUD COMPANY

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by cassey16 Mar 21, 2018
I have a life insurance policy with this company for over 25 years. Four years ago I took out a loan against the policy. I made monthly payments to pay off the loan. It was paid off a year ago. One year later they sent me a statement saying that I was still owing over $800 in loan on the policy. Disgusting, lying, stealing company. Don't trust this company. I am fearful that this company will steal money from my insurance when I die and my family will not know.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

DO NOT USE SUNLIFE.

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Steve Mar 20, 2018
#1 SUNLIFE FINANCIAL INVESTMENTS; Pay attention to your investments! I learned the hard way. Sunlife has illegally been charging me a FRONT END FEE and a BACK end fee on my investments for over three years. They pull money in and out of investments just to increase their own fees they can collect. Then, when you attempt to move your funds to a different investment firm to conduct your own investments, they use DELAY TACTICS. All while your investment dwindles away to nothing. Highly frustrating and unprofessional. I requested my funds be moved over to my own financial institution that I deal with. It has been FOUR MONTHS. My bank has been fighting to get my money out of the greedy claws of Sunlife. I have been on the phone with them daily. It's supposed to take up to three weeks. Not four months. What a joke! #2 SUNLIFE INSURANCE; We asked Sunlife a simple question about their life insurance policies available at a local trade show. The lady at the trade show seemed nice enough... So we gave her our phone number. She said she would call us to answer our question later. She called us EVERY DAY for SIX MONTHS straight. Not exaggerating! We were ready to charge Sunlife with harassment as we asked them OVER and OVER again to stop calling. We even went into the office and told them we were not interested in their life insurance. There are better options out there for life insurance. They continued to harass us, attempting to use scare tactics to talk us into buying their insurance. #3 WORK-BASED BENEFITS PACKAGE; What an over-priced pile of garbage. Every company seems to make the switch over to Sunlife because they APPEAR to have lower rates. Then later find out that Sunlife actually doesn't have good coverage at all. Most of the claims that employees submit get declined or audited. Sunlife is extremely difficult to get ahold of and, if you do manage to get through to sometime, good luck understanding what they are mumbling over the phone... Other benefits packages (EG Great-West Life) offer much better packages and a painless online claim process that pays you within 72 hours. Even care suppliers will refuse to use "Direct Pay" if you have Sunlife because they are so terrible to deal with.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Did you know that one in three Canadians, on average, will be disabled for more than three months before they turn 65? Get a disability insurance quote today to make sure your income is secure, even when you are temporary disabled.
 

Worst Insurance

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Mar 14, 2018
The worst insurance I have ever encountered myself with, the only reason why I am with them is because my company is with them and between my spouse and myself I am the only one who can get benefits. Usually when you hand in a statement of your expenses, you expect them to pay without any hesitation, but no I had been given the round around of having to provide documents of proof that I have a doctor's approval then having to wait a week after in order to get my money, then having to hand in another statement of the same treatment and being told I need to provide proof when clearly they don't bother checking their system that I already handed that in, like what in the world now waiting another week to get my money back, and all I get is "sorry, sorry" over the phone. THIS IS THE WORST INSURANCE I HAVE EVER DEALT WITH!!! HEADS UP DON'T CHOOSE SUNLIFE!!!
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

poor service

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Donna g Feb 26, 2018
This company treated us terrible when my mom died. The person on phone was rude and not helpful, even put phone down on my brother because she didn't know how to do her job. Took them months to sort out money and we had to keep ringing them up, not the other way round, and still not sorted after 12mths. I will never recommend them and wish we never went with them either. The whole process was upsetting and made our grieving more painful.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Did you know that mortgage insurance is the same as life insurance but more expensive and offers less protection? By cancelling it and getting life insurance , you would typically save around 30%-40% for the same coverage.
 

Dental reinburse-

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Feb 24, 2018
The staff is the worst. I do not even know how they are working there. When I called them, they only said, wait.. They let you waiting on the phone for long, then they are back and I was told I will pass to the case manager. I have been waiting for a dental disbursement for more than 3 months and so far nothing. I got a call from the "supervisor" - such poor communication. It was hard to understand what he was saying. I called one of the customer service and play the message for him..the customer service just jump to ask..what can I do for you...Don't give the money to this company...for me because I have no choice my workplace is the one paying for the benefit...Don't give money to these people who doesn't care.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Pick the right advisor

 
(5.0 out of 5 stars)
by mwong Feb 21, 2018
I've had the same advisor for approximately 6 years now and I cannot begin to tell you how quickly he has handled everything. Sam Pakbaz was there for me when my wife passed away in 2016 and when I called him, he went from his usual cheeriness to immediate shock and worry. He came over 2 hours later and was really sympathetic and let me vent how I felt. From the time that Sam came over that day to him returning with my cheque from Sun Life, it took 8 days. I had put in a couple of claims from other companies and I was shocked when he called and said he would be by later that day with the cheque. My wife passing away was one of the hardest things for me to handle. I'm happy I did not need to handle the paperwork. Thank you Sam and keep up your hard work.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thinking of getting a life insurance quote from an insurance agent? They work for one insurance company and can only sell the products of that company. That may not result in the best rate for you. Our insurance brokers compare life insurance quotes across 20+ Canadian insurers for you.
 

No good for grieving..

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by lmwalters Feb 17, 2018
My daughter's father passed away in May of 2017. We have been going through the run around since then. She still hasn't received her money he has left for her. I am also on there and because I am the "EX-WIFE" they won't give me my part either. I have to get my divorce paperwork and prove that the divorce decree doesn't say that it doesn't go to me for life insurance. I have sent my divorce paperwork and still nothing. I have emailed them and called them and I am getting absolutely NO RESPONSE! It is so frustrating! I think this place is a dang JOKE!
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

These reviews suck

 
(4.0 out of 5 stars)
by ThankfulT Feb 16, 2018
I had such low hopes when reading these reviews. I've been too sick to work and bedridden for weeks due to nausea. It took 2 days for them to call me after I handed in all my forms. The woman who called sounded very concerned for me and sympathetic she was lovely. She told me she would try and call before the end of the day and she called me an hour later with my case approved. Thank the Lord
0 of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Not sure if you can qualify for life insurance with existing health pre-conditions? Let us to help you with a no medical life insurance quote , meaning that you do not need to pass a medical exam to qualify for a life insurance policy.
 

Disgusted

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Molly Feb 16, 2018
This company is absolutely appalling. We were told it would take 2-3 weeks for us to receive our money after cancelling a life insurance policy my father had, on my brother and myself, as he was gravely ill and we needed the money to care for him. After 3 weeks I called, and the money hadn’t been sent. They said it would be one more week. After that, I called. Again it hadn’t been sent. Repeat for 5 more weeks. Every day I told my father not to worry, we would have the money soon. I get a phone call, as we are sitting by my father in the hospital, and they asked for the address for where it should be sent. Over 2 months later they still didn’t even write the cheque. The money came 1 day before my father died, he was in a coma and didn’t know we received it. I’m disgusted by how many times I was lied to and disgusted he spent 25 years paying a company like this.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

We Regret Our SL Investments

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Jonathan S Feb 09, 2018
We bought insurance and financial products from Sun Life in 2010. Their subsequent communications are an ongoing Gong Show. Thousands of words, very few numbers, no transparency at all. Another example just came in: a letter informing us that “the monthly cost of insurance of $140.62 exceeded the fund value in your policy on Nov. 18, 2017, and a minimum payment of $75.27 is required.” We called our very experienced agent (again) to ask about it and got back 2 long emails full of details about our various accounts without clarifying anything at all. Some of the details were flat wrong. We called him again this morning and had to rein his complicated, jargon-loaded, often erroneous explanations in several times before he finally realized what the “fund value in your policy” meant and that the $75 payment was going to disappear anyway when we make our regular annual payment. Our agent pointed out that people commonly lose track of the complexities of their SunLife policies and other accounts. Well, duh. I asked why, since the company is obviously aware of that fact, their communications are ALL so obtuse as to make their customers feel too stupid to follow what is happening with their investments? No answer. He also had no answer for why his calculations about this matter do not match those of the letter. SunLife is a Gong Show as far as customer communications and transparency are concerned. The only reason we have not closed our accounts with SunLife is because none of the 3 tiers of customer service we have contacted can tell us what it will cost us to do so. As far as they have been able to show us, our investments with them have paid less than 5% returns during one of the most profitable markets in the history of the world. We would not trust SunLife to carry our lunch around the corner, and are chipping away at an escape hatch.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Did you know there is a 35% chance of developing a critical illness before you are 65 and 65%-70% chance before you turn 81? That means getting a critical illness insurance quote is no less important than getting life insurance. Your choice.
 

Disgusting company.

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by 123fedup. Feb 02, 2018
My dad died 2 months ago, claim for funeral cover was made 2 days after. We are still waiting for the funeral money to be paid. This company uses delay tactics to avoid paying out - asking for death certificate to be sent twice, then stating executor of will needs to be changed 8 weeks after original claim. We now have to re apply for money. Disgusting service to grieving family. Luckily our funeral director is understanding otherwise we would have problems. AVOID - I could scream when I see those cringey adverts. Not a good company.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?