Independent Motorcycle Insurance Reviews

TD Insurance Motorcycle Insurance Reviews

(9 reviews)
This page has been viewed by:
5,119
consumers
(1.2 out of 5 stars)
Customer Service:
Value for Money:
Claim Experience:
 

This company is a disaster

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Past TD Client Jul 02, 2019
I have been on hold for over 3 hours out of the last 8.5 and haven't talked to a person yet. I would give them 2 stars if I could talk to someone. Customer service is non-existent with TD General Insurance. Keep looking, you don't want to even consider this company. I will be moving all investments out of the TD group.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Waste of my time.

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Dissatisfied May 06, 2019
Well, let’s just say I’m writing this review while still waiting for someone to answer my call. I’ve been waiting for someone to even just say - hello, TD insurance, how may I help you. The wait time is now 1 hour and 48 minutes and counting. Wow!!! If this is how long a New customer waits for service than I would hate to see how long an existing customer will wait. Sorry TD Insurance you just lost a future customer. Cheers
1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Very disastified client

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by jackass Aug 03, 2017
After paying over $1400 for coverage for 2016, 2017s quote was same. We shopped around and found another insurance company for $800.00. Trying to contact TD is impossible by phone or email. Sent our quote back with please cancel policy on quote. NOT GOOD ENOUGH for TD- they sent us a cancellation letter that needed to be signed. After sending that- we were informed we owed them $200.00 for not sending cancellation in timely order! Calling them about this a waste of time- will not negotiate at all- PLEASE DO NOT USE TD INSURANCE. We have dealt with a lot of companies, this one is the worst!
1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Poor Service and Policies

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Jared Jan 05, 2017
Auto-insurance was 100$ a year or so cheaper with another company even though they offer a 'student discount'. The customer service is terrible as well and they will gouge you in any way possible. I had motorcycle insurance with TD insurance for a couple years but cancelled due to problems cancelling a renters insurance policy. Namely a $69 dollar cancellation fee which I have not encountered with any other insurance company. Would not recommend TD insurance to anyone. Many other companies out there who understand how to treat people to maintain their loyalty. Only tried these fellows due to the 'student discount' which doesn't help much at all.
2 of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Scam

 
(2.0 out of 5 stars)
by HowardM Jan 04, 2017
So, I had an insurance renewal sent me for my motorcycle. $1451 for the year which is down from $1527 from last year - a 5% discount. But the coverage went down from $2 million to $1 million. Can you imagine buying anything else that is half the size but only discounted by 5%? Imagine that Quarter Pounder suddenly becoming an Eighth Pounder but still costing 95% of the old price. TD's letter says that the "Ontario government introduced these (reduced coverage requirements) changes to make insurance more affordable" Really? So I pay almost the same premium for half the coverage and that's supposed to be more affordable? It's actually the same as doubling the premium through the back door as far as I can see. This is a complete and utter scam that only benefits TD (although I'm sure all the other insurers are jumping on this bandwagon) Clearly an unfair business practice. TD have told me that I can buy additional coverage but I can bet I won't be able to buy a million dollars worth for the paltry $76 they discounted me!. When TD take away your coverage it's worth nothing - when they sell it it's suddenly worth more than gold, BIG FAT RIPOFF!
1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Another unhappy customer

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Awful Customer service May 31, 2016
I just received my 2 Auto renewals and 1 motorcycle for 2016-2017. I didn't get any policy renewal sent to me for one auto and this one went up $471 this year with no claims. The other 2 went up $120 each. When I called customer service I waited over 1 hr for an agent. He informed me rates went up due to the general # of claims paid out last year. I asked for an explanation of how this can be translated to a $471 increase on 1 vehicle. There was no explanation. Basically the message was "so sad, too bad". I informed the CSR I was a long time customer of over 20 years with no claims since 2011. I would be looking for quotes on this business and probably move my account to another company. It seemed not to matter.
4 of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Rates went up by 50%

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Insurance Truths Mar 22, 2016
Yes....that's right....50% for motorcycle insurance. Was $1,200 last year for a 2000 stock electraglide....then when my renewal came in....it was $1,800 for the same bike. Riding for over 37 years.... no tickets....and one accident in 2008. ...and I know from a home fire claim....that they will nickel and dime you...ignore you...deny you....and put you on the back burner. For me...no more TD.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Motorcycle Insurance

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Dissatified Jan 14, 2016
Well here we are , new year and a new insurance policy. Apparently TD has taken over Primmum Insurance who I had my insurance with last year, and guess what, they jacked it up $330.00 which is a 34% increase from last year. I am 56 years old, I have had my motorcycle licence since I was 16, that's 40years, no accidents, no claims, my bike is 12 years old. So looks like I'm switching to Intact Ins. this year, they have the best rate for me
2 of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Good rates first year not next

 
(2.0 out of 5 stars)
by May 20, 2013
We had 2 homes,3 autos and 2 motorcycle with TD. We switched because I am a member of an organization and we're supposed to get better rates with TD. And we did get good rates - first year. Second year....Every single thing we insured was up 30% higher or more. The only way we could get even a bit of reduction was to reduce our coverage. We are looking elsewhere.
2 of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?