Independent Auto Insurance Reviews

La Capitale Auto Insurance Reviews

(16 reviews)
This page has been viewed by:
11,316
consumers
(2.1 out of 5 stars)
Customer Service:
Value for Money:
Claim Experience:
 

Unreachable claims department

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Eric0073 May 09, 2018
I had wind/hail damage on my SUV last week, so I was hoping to get some nasty looking dents and scratches fixed. Filling a claim is easy, but despite calling several times every day to get my claims processed, I have yet to reach anyone! It always goes straight to voice mail. I also emailed, asked to speak to the claims' person's supervisor, you name it, and nothing. I found out that they only have a couple staff to handle claims like mine, so them picking up or returning your call is like winning the lottery. Needless to say, I'm shopping for a new insurer.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Not happy with car insurance reviews for your insurance company? Get a quote across up to 20 Canadian car insurers and make sure that you do not pay too much.
 

Stay Away from La Capitale

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by La Capitale S*ucks Mar 02, 2018
Worst insurance company ever! Worst experience ever with an automobile insurance company after a claim, they don’t like to pay out, only good to take your money. Even their complaint department is useless! Stay away from this company.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Be aware

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by pablo Jan 26, 2017
I had my insurance with La Capitale when someone did a hit and run with my car. I called them explaining it wasn't a big damage, so I was told they will fill only the information not as a claim and send me someone to review and estimate the damage before claim it. As per the price to repair that it wasn't that big, about 300$, I repaired myself. I called them to let them know I won't claim that hit and run and they said OK it won't be as a claim on your file. After 2 years I moved to another company because they offered me better price and I found La Capitale put in my file the hit and run as a claim and even saying they paid for the repair...1500$. More over they had the garage invoice where supposedly repaired my car. After called them for months I had to do all the paper work to get this fix, which was too much to do. I had to wait couple of year more to have a clean file. Thanks La Capitale !!!
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Did you know that on average Ontario drivers with good driving records pay $1,805/year in auto insurance? Is your insurance rate higher? Get a free car insurance quote and start saving today.
 

La Capitale is Fraud

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Ryan Jan 20, 2017
I got into an accident in 2016. I gave them everything and filled out all the forms. Doctors letter, employers letter, police report and accident report. 4 weeks later I got a call from Theresa W; she said everything that was provided, was fake. Really police report, Dr's letter and accident report were fake. I asked her how can you fake everything. I argued with her. She said "Sir, you talk too much", When I signed up for the private claim insurance, the Broker told me, La Capitale will not ask you for anything "no question asked" as long as you provide all the documents... They lie about everything and it is a fake company. I got all my friends to cancel the policy with them. You should do that as well. As soon as possible.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

good service

 
(4.5 out of 5 stars)
by fralep Dec 01, 2016
Everything goes fast and well. No problem with the replacement car, no problem to get an appointment.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Bad driving record? Your insurance rates can be double the standard insurance rate. Let us help you get the better auto insurance rate without breaking the bank.
 

I'd give them a zero mark ...

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by insurancerating Jun 08, 2016
Increased us every single year even if we NEVER had any claims, at our fifth year had an accident, voided half of the repairs our garage said should be done on the car just because we didn't agree for the work to be done at their garage. Our allowance for a rental was 45$ although the cheapest decent choice of car rental with all peril insurance is 59.95$. Paid us for comparable car that has 40k more km on the dash than us. The adjuster told us that we could have qualified for low km clients and they never told us this was an option.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Worst customer service

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by MRider Mar 04, 2016
Worst customer service I've ever met! I've called them to insure my motorcycle but because it was not insured for 3 month (my brand new bike was on storage) they refused even to listen to me. Stay away from them! I've got insurance from another great company with no issues at all.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
If you have a good driving record in AB, you should pay around $110/month (women - $105/month and men - $113/month). Do you overpay? Get an Alberta car insurance quote to start saving.
 

WORST INSURANCE EVER!

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by M. Z Mar 01, 2016
I called for a quote and I felt I got treated as a second-class citizen because I newly obtained my driver license. The woman who answered the phone had a cold attitude, you can tell she wants to hang up the phone if she is not obliged to finish the quote. They mock your credit rating and force you to make a one time payment of $1700/ year, while no other insurance company does so, La Personnelle, Wawanesa and many more are at least $400 cheaper than La Capitale. After firmly said I'm not interested and do not call back ever again, they have the cheek to call me back on Saturday to harass me. You get a garbage service for a quote, imagine how you will be treated when you ask for a claim.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

New policy

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Eugenius Mar 19, 2015
Hello, called to get a quote but was refused because have 3 claims in 5 years. Agent did not want even listen that they were non-fault with 0 liability from my side. Worst customer service.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Did you know that on average Ontario drivers with good driving records pay $1,805/year in auto insurance? Is your insurance rate higher? Get a free car insurance quote and start saving today.
 

Worst Experience I've had...

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by CAtoMTL Sep 09, 2014
I would advise anyone looking for insurance to avoid La Capitale at all costs. The primary reason is they conduct business in an extremely dishonest way, and, when you seek answers for this dishonesty, the result is letters from their lawyers and internal collections. The center of my disagreement with them revolves around their ability to put certain vital documents that validate a contract in the mail (and grew to their ability to mail what they said they have mailed in their records). I had La Capitale insurance, and decided to change for a provider that had a better rate and coverage. They learned of my cancellation, and tried to charge me a cancellation fee that was nowhere to be found in any portion of my contract with them (contract being the documents we received from La Capitale outlining the complete policy). I was told a variety of reasons why the fee was indisputable, (ranging from “this is just how it is in Quebec” to the their final reason – “it’s what we normally do with everyone, and could not have possibly made a mistake”). I asked for a couple things after the first two highly frustrating phone calls. The first was that a paper invoice be sent at the conclusion of this matter, if that is in fact what they find in their internal investigation. The second is that my case be elevated to a supervisor to review the previous calls to show the obvious discrepancy with their customer service practices, and the wide variety of conflicting information that I was given over multiple calls. The supervisor did no such review, and claimed to not be able to find records of the phone calls. On my conversations with him, he simply acted the part of the other agents I had dealt with, essentially reenacting the previous calls. I reminded him that the individual under his supervision told me was the purpose of the elevation was not to review my case, but to review the customer service records to look for the discrepancies in information that was provided to me that were in conflict with one another. He did no such thing, and was completely unwilling to make any effort. After more than a month of zero communication (no invoice, no result of the La Capitale internal review into my case), I received a letter from the attorney’s of La Capitale (or the legal group hired to ensure that all closed accounts are at zero balance). Upon my call to the collections department at La Capitale, I was told exactly when my phone calls were (information previously “unavailable” to the supervisor that was supposed to conduct the case review). I was also told the account was considered closed, and that documents were sent asking for payment. Again, documents were supposingly sent, but I had never received them. There is obviously a pattern emerging here about La Capitale falsely claiming to send vital mail communications and information. Moving on, when I questioned them about the availability of the information, I was told that the individual I talked to was not a supervisor, but only an insurance agent that was not in the same department, that may not have access to the information on the computer screen. Apparently, rather than being transferred to a supervisor to look into the matter, I was transferred to someone completely in another department. Sort of. Then the said “supervisor” suddenly became part of the department, but not the immediate supervisor of the agent I was speaking with. When I questioned her “facts,” she said again that he was in a different department. Obviously, this did nothing to quell my frustration. This is really the tip of the iceberg about my dealings with this company. Speculatively, I was run around in circle after circle of irrelevant information without my true concern and purpose ever being of true importance. They were trying to confuse me, hoping I wouldn’t be able to keep everything straight. When this failed, they had their lawyers send a bill to bully me into payment, while giving no effort to look into the complaint in an adequate manner (adequate being conducting business with honesty and integrity). I would have been much happier if the phone calls I conducted provided the same information, and every individual did what they told me they would do. Unfortunately, my experience with La Capitale leaves me of the opinion that the pillars of their business and customer service are lie, confuse, manipulate and, ultimately, steal from customers who choose to cancel their service.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Poor Customer Service

 
(1.5 out of 5 stars)
by vidvid Jan 21, 2014
Whenever I call them, they are on answering machine. Then I have to call them at least 5 times that someone gets back to me! Some of the agents are so mean.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Bad driving record? Your insurance rates can be double the standard insurance rate. Let us help you get the better auto insurance rate without breaking the bank.
 

car theft claim

 
(1.5 out of 5 stars)
by xanu9911 Jun 16, 2013
going on 7 mths and still no compensation for my wifes car thats value is 10000$. had a interview with a privite company for 4 hrs and i had to get my personal information ,like cell phone records, credit car , bank acounts, my self .got trieded like i had stollen the car .not very satisfied.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

N/A

 
(5.0 out of 5 stars)
by Robert Jul 23, 2012
They never keep me waiting on hold for more than a minute. Their personnel are patient, well informed and courteous. They are happy to answer any question, no matter how trivial it may seem to them. I like them a lot and they keep my rates low by recognising my experience.
0 of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Not happy with car insurance reviews for your insurance company? Get a quote across up to 20 Canadian car insurers and make sure that you do not pay too much.
 

N/A

 
(2.5 out of 5 stars)
by Evan Jun 22, 2012
terribly slow. had to stay after them all the time
1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

N/A

 
(5.0 out of 5 stars)
by Ruby May 11, 2012
Claim satisfied very fairly and quickly...nice people.
0 of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Bad driving record? Your insurance rates can be double the standard insurance rate. Let us help you get the better auto insurance rate without breaking the bank.
 

N/A

 
(4.2 out of 5 stars)
by Gabriel Apr 14, 2012
Service quality is available 24 hours a day and always have an answer to questions we have asked. The price is relatively high with the public transit rebate. Our experience with claims has been exceptional and fixed within 2 weeks of claim.
0 of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Want to save on auto insurance?
10+ Insurers compared
Get a free, instant quote
Customize your policy
La Capitale Auto Insurance
16 reviews
5 Darkstar
(3)
4 Darkstar
(1)
3 Darkstar
(1)
2 Darkstar
(2)
1 Darkstar
(9)
Most helpfull reviews