Credit Card Reviews

HBC MASTER CARD Consumer Reviews

This page has been viewed by: Please wait... consumers
(33 reviews)
HBC MASTER CARD
1.6 out of 5 stars:
Customer service:
Value for Money:
Product Features experience:
Share your own experience
Write a review

Looking for the best Credit Card?

Scotia Momentum VISA Infinite card

Earn 10% cash back on all purchases for the first 3 months (up to $2,000 in total purchases). Plus, no annual fee in the first year, including on supplementary cards. A welcome offer value of $350.

Get this credit card

 

Filter

Most helpfull reviews
Review author

I got a $2000 charge from China and Neo refused to protect me!

by Igotrobbed on Apr 5, 2022
1 out of 5 stars

I got a $2000 charge from China and Neo refused to protect me! I had to pay it back! Outrageous! Canadian from GVA. Why is there no theft protection?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo

No one to answer any of the numbers listed

by Laura on Mar 2, 2022
1 out of 5 stars

I switched to a new credit card (closing my old account) but I forgot to update my online bill payment and made one large payment for my new Mastercard to the old Mastercard account run by Capital One. Even though I recognize my mistake, they took the payment without any notification, to a card and account that are closed without saying anything. When I discovered my mistake I have taken action with my bank but they cannot do anything other than request a refund and launching an investigation. I have been on hold with for 6.5 hours yesterday with no results and am currently already on hold for 4.5 hours again. No communication is possible via Twitter or email. I still do not have my money back.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo
Review topics

Appalling, haven't refunded my mistaken payment

by Humbaba on Feb 7, 2022
1 out of 5 stars

HBC switched to a new credit card provider but I forgot to update my online bill payment and made two payments for my new HBC to the old account run by Capital One. They were happy to take payment against my old invalid account without saying anything. When I called them up it took ages to get in touch with someone and they said sorry they would not do anything I would have to go back to my bank (TD) and get them to ask for a payment reversal. I just heard TD will get my money back, though it took over two months.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo
Review topics

Scotia Momentum VISA Infinite Card

Scotia Momentum VISA Infinite Card

Earn 10% cash back on all purchases for the first 3 months (up to $2,000 in total purchases). Plus, no annual fee in the first year, including on supplementary cards. A welcome offer value of $350. What else will you get:

 

  • 4% on eligible recurring bill payments and grocery store purchases
  • 2% on eligible gas station and daily transit purchases
  • 1% cash back on all other eligible everyday purchases
  • Complimentary Concierge Services 24/7 Visa Infinite Dining Series Visa Infinite Music Series Wine Country Wonders Luxury Hotel Privileges
  • Comprehensive Travel Insurance & New Mobile Device Insurance coverage

Get this card / Apply online

Misleading Promos

by Faraz Ahmed on Dec 26, 2021
1.5 out of 5 stars

Their promos said, apply for a credit card and get 20% off on First Day Purchases. This means First Purchase, not first day purchases according to an Agent.
I conveniently keep getting disconnected in the chat. 3 times already!

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo
Review topics

DO NOT APPLY FOR THIS CARD

by NOTNEO on Dec 5, 2021
1 out of 5 stars

The horrible transition of the HBC MASTERCARD TO NEO. I too had a credit balance due to returning shoes to the Bay as my size was not available. I had an approximate $226.00 credit and requested it to be refunded back to me as a mailed cheque or an e transfer. The callback time is over 2 hours to only learn from the manager Tiffany that it cannot be done and I must purchase goods of at least $226.00 in order to zero out the balance??? Absurd! Clearly based on that I requested to close the card to only be told I could not re-apply for who knows how long??
Was it not my money???
It was escalated to Corporate and they verified it was a gross error on the communication of the associates and manager and that the refund could have been processed without an account closure. No anticipated time frame as to when I can re-apply and every credit application affects a person's credit score.
In addition, I was granted an 8k limit which I wanted to reduce and could not as they said they could neither increase nor decrease credit limits. As one knows, having open credit is a security risk these days, affects the ability to get and negotiate mortgage rates, leaves an opportunity for fraud.
Ask for a request to see if the NEO HBC card shows on Equifax or Trans Union Credit Bureaus and it appears not to.
In addition issues with linking your rewards card to the credit card and several Point of Sale issues when transacting.
To top it all off, the card is backed by Alberta Treasury Bank ATB financial and created by the owners of Skip the Dishes.
I was an HBC credit card owner for over 30 years. Now I cannot take advantage of the rewards associated with the Master Card
Be vary very mindful of all of this please before applying or accepting the transition as there is no other credit card or non-credit card affiliated with HBC

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo

No refund of overpayment

by Frustrated on Jul 29, 2021
1 out of 5 stars

I have the Neo Bay MasterCard. Due to a problem, I had to overpay my account despite knowing this refund was coming. I did this to avoid interest in their error. I now have credit and contacted them for a refund as I do not plan to use this card any time soon. I was told they do not offer refund cheques or money transfers to bank accounts. So once they have your money, it’s theirs! Won’t be using this card ever!

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo
Review topics

Scotia Momentum Visa Infinite Card

Scotia Momentum Visa Infinite Card

Earn 10% cash back on all purchases for the first 3 months (up to $2,000 in total purchases). Plus, no annual fee in the first year, including on supplementary cards. A welcome offer value of $350. 

Get this card / Apply online

Beware!!

by Michelle on Jul 4, 2021
1 out of 5 stars

Paid using The Bay Credit Card as supplier instead of NEO and now I am getting the run around between the two entities saying they didn’t receive my payment. I lost 551.31$. Now I understand why they make billions off poor people like us! Do not trust! It’s a scam!!

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo
Review topics

30 Year Customer Rejected

by Wendy on Jun 28, 2021
1 out of 5 stars

I've had the Bay HBC credit card for 30 plus years. With the cancellation of the Bay card, I applied at the store for the new NEO credit card. I got a declined email stating I didn't qualify. Okay since I've never had a problem with my credit before. Shame on the Bay. I just won't be shopping there any longer.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo
Review topics

Purchases blocked

by Shoegirl on May 6, 2021
1 out of 5 stars

This is the worst card I’ve ever owned. Every time I try to use it and if it’s a new place you haven’t used the card at before it will automatically decline and block your card. I’ve had this happen for online purchases, parking meters, ordering food, everywhere when my card has no balance. Then when you call you’re on hold for an hour just to get through well good luck if you’re trying to use your card at a store. The customer service reps say it’s a bot that automatically blocks your card if you are using it somewhere you haven’t used it before and just to call them. Another visa card actually texts you to ask if you’re making a purchase if it looks suspicious and you text back and it will go through. This company doesn’t even notify you that they’ve blocked your card so you can’t even use it until you call them to unblock it. Don’t get this card. It’s not worth the embarrassment and hassle.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo

Scotiabank® Gold American Express® Card

Scotiabank® Gold American Express® Card

Earn up to 40,000 bonus Scotia Rewards points in your first year (that's up to $400 towards travel). What else will you get:

 

  • Earn 5 Scotia Rewards points for every $1 you spend at eligible grocery stores, dining and entertainment
  • Earn 3 Scotia Rewards points for every $1 you spend at eligible gas stations, daily transit, and select streaming services
  • Earn 1 point for every $1 you spend on all other eligible everyday purchases
  • Complimentary Concierge Services 24/7
  • Comprehensive Travel Insurance coverage with 25 days of travel medical insurance for eligible persons under age 65

Get this card / Apply online

HBC store card

by Anne-Marie on Apr 19, 2021
1.5 out of 5 stars

Had HBC card for years - as gives further discounts occasionally to cardholders. Husband had a card. And I eventually got one if I went to the store on my own. Last night online shopping I used my card and it declined, husband's card ok.
I called to see why my card declined - could not make sense by figured inactivity on my card. Saw also they had old phone numbers on file. Lady asked 3x for info and then had to transfer to an advisor who also asked the same 100 questions. Wanted to know who was phone provider on phone ????? I said maybe easier to cancel the card since nothing owing. He said need to ask more questions. Easter Canada does not trust us I guess.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo