Car Insurance Reviews

Dominion Insurance Auto Insurance Reviews

This page has been viewed by: Please wait... consumers
(33 reviews)
Dominion Insurance
2.1 out of 5 stars:
Customer service:
Value for Money:
Claim experience:
Share your own experience
Write a review

Avoid at all costs

by Jdboylan on Jul 7, 2023
1 out of 5 stars

I had the wrong banking information on file and missed a payment, so they cancelled me. Also making my premium go way up and my vehicle was disabled until I found another company. I would STRONGLY recommend going anywhere else unless you want to waste a ton of time and money on this company.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo
Review topics

Very confusing experience

by chad britch on Aug 21, 2021
2 out of 5 stars

The original quote was 96/month for two vehicles... After providing ALL required information they called and said 178. I was fine with that. Then I received another call quoting me 251 a month.... Then I was wondering "what the hell". Every call they seemed to make up reasons why the rates were increasing. Anyway, I agreed to the 251 a month. An hour later they called with another fictional claim about my driving history that had me confused even more... When I asked what this other driving infraction was they would not respond and then said - "We are sorry we cannot insure you..."
Waste of time and effort to get a simple answer to get insurance when all relevant info was provided in the "online quote process".... Quote of 96 a month!

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo

No consistency

by Ty Depratto on Dec 16, 2020
1.5 out of 5 stars

Got a low quote from what I thought was surex.
Never got sent documents after asking twice. Paid a bunch of extra money the first month. After about 6 month's of paying the same payments, I was getting charged an extra $60 a month time and time again. What kind of BS is that? All this extra money coming out randomly for the last 7 months with no explanation and still no documents. This place is a joke and I see why the rating is God awful. Will be canceling immediately. I do not recommend this company what so ever. Sad times getting robbed during covid.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo
Not happy with car insurance reviews for your insurance company? Get a quote across up to 20 Canadian car insurers and make sure that you do not pay too much.

Wow

by Robin on May 23, 2019
1.5 out of 5 stars

Very affordable insurance prices, but if you, actually, need to deal with the insurance company, expect a call back in 4 months. Also, you need to keep calling for updates. When you do finally get a hold of someone, keep in mind that they sound like they don't want to talk, they have better things to do. If you want to feel worried if they're going to fight for you, and if you have the patience to wait for a call back in a few months, then you shouldn't have any issues here at all.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo
Review topics

Ripoff

by kmehta14 on Apr 24, 2019
1 out of 5 stars

Recently, I switched to Travelers (Dominion) because I got a call from a guy who works at Surex which is a broker company stating that he can get me a good quote for auto insurance for two cars I own and he lied saying that but that is only possible if I buy tenant insurance as well. While buying the insurance plan I asked him that I’m planning to sell one of my cars in the middle of the one-year insurance term so will the discount still continue and he said yes. Now I got rid one of the vehicles and they just removed $20 from my monthly bill cycle and when I tried cancelling the insurance he told me about the cancellation fee which he never mentioned about it until I decide to cancel what a ripoff! Worst experience ever, I would suggest not to deal with Travelers (Dominion)

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo

Terrible experience with claim

by Eric S on Feb 16, 2019
1 out of 5 stars

Exactly like Alex explained on Jan 2018 in one of the comments below. My agent never returned phone calls and was extremely absent-minded in a lot of the claim details. It was so bad that I asked to speak to his manager, who claimed everything done by him was normal. The estimator was also absent-minded when verifying my car. He knew I had a current model GTI and when meeting me in my parking area he proceeded to check out my neighbours Hyundai SUV. One of my good friends is a damn good car painter. He told me the proper repair to the door was to replace it since there was a crease in the door that would make any repair look like crap. What did the estimator want to do? He wanted to "pull and paint" my dent from my door. When I raised concerns that it would look like crap AND it was also a current model year car; he tried to make me believe that replacement doors didn't exist. 1 phone call to my local dealership confirmed that a warehouse full of spare panels were available from Toronto. Estimated time to get to Ottawa was usually 1-3 business days. Why did he lie? To save money of course. They still wanted to go through with the cheap repair until I threatened to sue for breach of contract. They started to listen right away. Of course, they also tried to force me to some chop shop "preferred shop" of theirs too. There's no way in hell I would do that since they are again trying to save even more money and my friend is a damn good painter at his shop. I brought it there and the repair was fabulous. Unfortunately, my friend wanted additional time to work on the tint of the paint for a 100% match because they saved the time of replacing the door instead of the repair but the appraiser said no. Again reinforcing the cheapness of the company. My friend did an excellent job matching the factory paint without any blemishes. I don't see a difference. I am told it's about 95% accurate though. Still, I am happy. I tried to make a complaint on the estimator but they said they "found he was doing his job". As for agent and manager... Well, you can see why they still got jobs. Because they spend as less money as possible.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo
Bad driving record? Your insurance rates can be double the standard insurance rate. Let us help you get the better auto insurance rate without breaking the bank.

Very Consistent Experience

by Smith on Feb 15, 2019
4.5 out of 5 stars

Firstly, I'd like to say that I read the previous reviews and I want to express heartfelt empathy for the experiences of others that have posted on this site about negative experiences. I've been with Travelers (Chieftain/Dominion) for approx 10 years. I've had 2 accidents (roughly 10 years apart), neither at fault, no tickets or any other claims. Both my home and auto policies are with them. I have accident forgiveness and my rates didn't increase as a result of the accidents. The claims process was honest and straightforward. My broker handled a lot of the details for me, and I was connected with agents from Travelers as needed. Rental cars were covered, repairs were done promptly and as expected. The one thing that was negative on the repairs to my car is that due to the age of my car (4 years old at the time), I couldn't get a new OEM part covered. I had to go aftermarket for the bumper I needed or else have the shop buff/repair the existing bumper. Minor thing, I just wasn't aware of it and surprises aren't fun during these processes. Not a huge deal. Overall, I didn't get run-around from the company during a claim.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo

Auto Insurance

by RiveraH on Oct 3, 2018
1 out of 5 stars

They are only interested in grabbing the money from the clients. I moved to a new place just 15km away from my old address in the same city and they increased my policy by 85% without any previous warning. Also, the bad service and on top of that they renew my policy, withdraw ahead of the first payment before even the current policy expired. Definitely there are enough reasons to make me feel robbed by this company.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo

bad accident

by Hurt with no help on Sep 15, 2018
1 out of 5 stars

I had insurance from Dominion. A part fell off a highway truck also insured by Dominion. I was hurt very bad in the accident. Dominion refused to pay for any medication. They only paid for 10 physiotherapy appointments and a psychiatrist for 2 years. They were happy to pay the private detective that followed me for 2 years 24/7. The Dr and lawyers got paid well after starving me for 8 years owing $400 000 to people for my food and medical expenses. I had no choice to take the small settlement they offered to live on the rest of my life and pay people back. I am not able to cook or care for myself. They had no care in helping me get better. The insurance company would sooner give the money to healthy people to lie for them than get the hurt people better

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo
Review topics

If you have a good driving record in AB, you should pay around $110/month (women - $105/month and men - $113/month). Do you overpay? Get an Alberta car insurance quote to start saving.

Stay clear of Dominion

by Yar on May 29, 2018
1 out of 5 stars

Hello, I wish I checked the reviews before accepting their policy. I don't know how to get out of it, no one answers the phone. God help me.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo
Review topics