Car Insurance Reviews

BCAA Auto Insurance Reviews

This page has been viewed by: Please wait... consumers
(24 reviews)
BCAA
1.7 out of 5 stars:
Customer service:
Value for Money:
Claim experience:
Share your own experience
Write a review

Do not file a claim after-hours

by EvoGirl27 on Apr 5, 2024
1.7 out of 5 stars

The claims process is hilarious. I call in the evening when most people have 20–30 mins to waste, thought I submitted my claim, and get told the next person that will call me is an adjuster.
Get called the next day... Not by an adjuster but by someone saying "do you have 20–30 mins of your time to waste to CONFIRM everything that was said last night? It was our AFTER HOURS line so we have to do EVERYTHING AGAIN pretty much"
Oh, but then I say "it's pointless then to use the after hours line if I just have to go through the same thing over again"
"We advise that if you can't call between 9-5 (y'know, when most people work) to use the after hours line!"
"But... You just said I have to waste the same amount of time confirming all the details because it's your after-hours line... So... There's no point in using it"
Absolutely the stupidest thing I have ever experienced with insurance. Why even have an after hours line??? To piss off your customers and waste AN HOUR of their time reporting an accident??? You do realize we have to report to ICBC too, right?? It shouldn't take 1.5 hours to report an accident... Without hold times.
Insanity.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo

Great customer service experience

by satwikkhanna on Dec 23, 2023
5 out of 5 stars

Called BCAA to inquire around my current insurance and to get a top up for rental car insurance and found Denise Chiasson to be really helpful. She went an extra mile to check with ICBC about why the quotes for my driving license are showing high and reached back to me with the proper reasons. I could definitely rely on her and went ahead to purchase the top up plan. Thanks.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo

Did you know that on average Ontario drivers with good driving records pay $1,805/year in auto insurance? Is your insurance rate higher? Get a free car insurance quote and start saving today.

Wanted 2 hours for jump start

by Juan Recavarren on Dec 17, 2023
2 out of 5 stars

I have BCAA roadside for about 20 years and this year I called them twice, first time they told me I had to wait 3 hrs so I fixed the problem my self and the second time I call them and they told me I have to wait 1 hr for a jump start and I have been waiting 2 hours.
Definitely is not worth $500 a year for a family plan
I could have call a taxi and jump start the car for $25 dollars.
I'm not sure about getting BCAA in 2024.
Customer service was good on the phone but waiting that long for a simple jump start.....

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo

Can’t trust them - Don’t believe them when they say 1 accident forgiveness!!!

by Cali5 on Dec 12, 2023
1 out of 5 stars

I had an extremely clean driving record, no traffic violations ever and no accidents until a late 2022 when a crazy person ran a red and hit me turning left. Their insurance company ruled, it was my fault because I was turning left even though I had a witness stating otherwise regarding the red light. BCAA said not to worry, don’t spend any money fighting it since I have 1 accident forgiveness anyway. When it came time to renew, they upped my insurance almost $2000 regardless. Apparently the underwriter can do whatever they want and they don’t have to honour 1 accident forgiveness that I paid for! Unbelievably awful company. Bottom line, YOU Can't trust BCAA… they have no integrity and do not stand behind their word. Both my husband and I had left and saved hundreds for same coverage by leaving this horrible insurance company.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo

Don’t waste your money on BCAA

by Tim Hoang on Oct 10, 2023
1 out of 5 stars

2 times I had to call BCAA for towing my motorcycle. Both times the wait time for the tow truck to come was more than 2 hours. Basically, BCAA is a middle man between you and a tow truck contractor.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo

If you have a good driving record in AB, you should pay around $110/month (women - $105/month and men - $113/month). Do you overpay? Get an Alberta car insurance quote to start saving.

Worst experience ever

by Megan on Sep 14, 2023
2 out of 5 stars

I had the worst experience with bcaa. My car battery died and I needed a new one soy fiancé called and booked an appt but we later had to change the appt time to a later time because I’m the one with the membership. We changed it to 7pm as I wouldn’t be home till then because of work and the support line person told me that it would not be a problem at all… I then got a call at 7:10 telling me that I would have to wait 2 hours or till the next morning, so because I work I decided to wait the 2 hours… got another call an hour later saying that all of the battery replacement people went home sick… ok fine, rescheduled for the next day at 7pm and the lady on the phone told me she would make a note saying that they HAD to make it to me since I had already been rescheduled… the next day comes and at 7pm I get a call saying that they don’t know why I was scheduled that late as they have no one working that late that can help me.. so I had to schedule for the next morning (this is day 3) for the first appt that they had which was 6:15.. they didn’t show up till 8. The only good part about this whole experience was the guy that changed my battery, he was very nice and got the job done quickly but even he couldn’t believe what had happened to me. 5 stars for the battery man, 0 for everything else.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo

Don't do optional with BCAA if you have a lease car

by D on Aug 16, 2022
1 out of 5 stars

I just need to remove the named driver on my optional car vehicle.
They said I have a lease car that doesn't have a blanket letter (European car).
I need to get a letter from my dealership in order to do it
It's such a waste of time. I waited on the phone for over an hour ( So lack of people working) and I got the answer to getting a blanket letter first!
She works in Prince George, but at the location in Vancouver, the agent will fax the request over to the least company and do that for you. So double standards inside the company.
JUST DON'T DO optional with them if you have a European lease car!!!

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo
Review topics

Always understaffed for auto insurance renewals and roadside assistance

by Bogey on Jul 28, 2022
1.5 out of 5 stars

I’m not sure what’s going on at BCAA but the overall usefulness is terrible. I’ve been a member for many years but will now be cancelling. I literally cannot renew my insurance at the South Surrey BCAA because they never have enough agents and always tell you come back another day.
Roadside assistance takes hours for the simplest battery boost.
Not recommended!

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo
Review topics
Not happy with car insurance reviews for your insurance company? Get a quote across up to 20 Canadian car insurers and make sure that you do not pay too much.

The total loss claim offer was one-half of an eventual arbitration award

by Watchout on Jul 6, 2022
1 out of 5 stars

When my 5-year-old car was totalled, BCAA offered $8000, basing the offer on a Mitchell report, and refused to discuss any other amount, despite receiving me a 34-page submission with documented evidence.
I asked for arbitration, and BCAA offered no help whatsoever in initiating the process. Eight months after the accident, the arbitrator ruled that the value of the car was $12000, or 50% more than BCAA's non-negotiable offer.
It is impossible to imagine any insurance company with more difficult or less satisfactory results. Do not buy insurance from these people.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo
Review topics