Credit Card Reviews

HBC MASTER CARD Consumer Reviews

This page has been viewed by: Please wait... consumers
(33 reviews)
HBC MASTER CARD
1.6 out of 5 stars:
Customer service:
Value for Money:
Product Features experience:
Share your own experience
Write a review

Looking for the best Credit Card?

Scotia Momentum VISA Infinite card

Earn 10% cash back on all purchases for the first 3 months (up to $2,000 in total purchases). Plus, no annual fee in the first year, including on supplementary cards. A welcome offer value of $350.

Get this credit card

 

Filter

Most helpfull reviews
Review author
Clear all

Credit rating over $1

by HBC sucks on Feb 27, 2020
1 out of 5 stars

I left a small balance of $1 and change for a couple of months and when I paid it off I found they had closed the account and this had a huge effect on my credit rating. I can't believe they screwed me so bad over a dollar which I paid off even though the account was closed

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo

Accounts and service

by mike on Jan 30, 2020
2.5 out of 5 stars

I don't know what is going on with this company. The service representatives they have are not up to the job. They have in general a bad attitude and not helpful. The wait times online are unacceptable (suggests lots of complaints and/or understaffed). I could not set up an online account from their website and could get no-one that could rectify this!? At this point after three days and four phone calls - nothing has been resolved. Writing this brings me to the 5th phone call ON HOLD for now 22 minutes. I have better things to do. Too bad because the store is pretty good and great deals and discounts for quality products.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo

Failed customer service

by eddiereview on Dec 29, 2019
1 out of 5 stars

One word: WORST! First I normally don't go online to write these kinds of reviews but in this case, I feel obligated to do so because they have been so bad in terms of resolving issues and customer service. They double charged me on my credit card. They dare to deny it. After 10 customer service calls. Being passed around left and right, still did not fix the issues, most horrific experience ever. Their customer service is clearly outsourced so they had massive problems comprehending my question (super frustrating) I'm a very patient person. My statement is in black and white and I don't see it's possible for them to even deny? I have never ever experienced this from any retailer/credit card company. Boggles my mind still. Don't sign up, most horrible customer service experience ever and they don't seem to own up to their faults.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo

Scotia Momentum VISA Infinite Card

Scotia Momentum VISA Infinite Card

Earn 10% cash back on all purchases for the first 3 months (up to $2,000 in total purchases). Plus, no annual fee in the first year, including on supplementary cards. A welcome offer value of $350. What else will you get:

 

  • 4% on eligible recurring bill payments and grocery store purchases
  • 2% on eligible gas station and daily transit purchases
  • 1% cash back on all other eligible everyday purchases
  • Complimentary Concierge Services 24/7 Visa Infinite Dining Series Visa Infinite Music Series Wine Country Wonders Luxury Hotel Privileges
  • Comprehensive Travel Insurance & New Mobile Device Insurance coverage

Get this card / Apply online

Worst service ever!

by cborg on Dec 3, 2019
1 out of 5 stars

Similar to another recent review, i asked for increase from $1k to $3k and was declined. I have absolutely PERFECT credit, and a very high limit on my daily use elite mastercard. I asked why I was declined and the robot couldn't tell me. When I asked to speak to a manager for clarification, they put me on hold for 15+min then disconnected, so I had to call back and then was told after 20+ min that they are busy and a manager can call me back in 2-3 days. What kind of customer service is that? I rarely use this card and will not be using again in the future. Ridiculous. I also noticed my credit limit was $10K a few years back and suddenly dropped to $1k? The Bay, whats going on?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo

Bay Master Card is HELL

by shocked customer on Nov 25, 2019
1 out of 5 stars

As is their online ordering that did not go through after hours of trying - telling me my card was NOT VALID when it was valid - then the items arrived defective and or damaged - then I was diverted to the Philippines every time I called to resolve the problem where the customer agents did not follow through on their promises - promise #1: to credit me for the damaged items 15% so, I would not return the whole lot. The adjustment was not credited to my master card. Promise #2: the 2 items I did return were credit at a lower price than the amount of refund I was emailed. Again every time I called I was diverted to the Philippines - and bounced between customer service and back to master card department - one saying the problem was with the other and so on onto Infinitum. I have never encountered the worst service and have never had the worst experience.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo

Based out of the Philippines

by Hazel on Nov 9, 2019
1 out of 5 stars

This card has the MOST frustrating customer service. They have no online communication. You have to call a toll-free number that is based in the Philippines. The employees use fake English names so none of them have last names - they tell you it is for security reasons (not sure what this means as the only reason I take down a name is to document who is accessing my personal information). They do not understand English and they read from a script. So if you ask a question outside of the script, they just keep repeating the same sentence over and over again. SO frustrating. I cancelled my card because of the horrible customer service from this card. You will sit on hold for 30 minutes and then have to talk to a human who basically sounds and acts like a computer. Get a different credit card.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo

Scotiabank® Gold American Express® Card

Scotiabank® Gold American Express® Card

Earn up to 40,000 bonus Scotia Rewards points in your first year (that's up to $400 towards travel). Earn 5 Scotia Rewards points for every $1 you spend at eligible grocery stores, dining and entertainment 

Get this card / Apply online

Refusal to increase card limit

by Joanne595 on Nov 3, 2019
2.5 out of 5 stars

I recently went to The Bay to purchase a couch. The Bay Days sale was on And the clerk offered 24 months equal payments if I used my Bay credit card. I’ve had the card for many years and had no idea if the credit limit which was not sufficient to cover the purchase and needed to be increased for 1,000.00. Customer service refused, advised I was not eligible and did not meet their criteria. I have Excellent credit with my Visa limit of 35,000.00 and no balance but they would not increase my limit to 3000 to purchase their couch. I ended up using my Visa but was disgusted and embarrassed by their refusal. I will not be shopping there any further and am requesting they cancel my credit card. The sales clerk advised me that they are now refusing all requests to increase credit limits. Is The Bay in credit trouble?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo

Total crap

by Paul on Oct 17, 2019
1 out of 5 stars

I've been using this card for many years, without any problem. It's just recently they just stopped my card for no reason. The people from the customer service department are pretty rude. Every time I contact them, they spent more than 30 minutes asking tons of verification questions and privacy questions, most of which are totally non-relevant to this card. Never want to waste another minute with them!

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo

Replacement Card delays

by jay on Sep 23, 2019
1 out of 5 stars

My Card expired in July, waited one month to receive the new card but didn't receive Called CSR they said the new card is already issued & sent & they suggested to request a new one as reported lost....Now after 20 calendar days still I didn't get the replacement card....Called CSR they again suggested to report as lost and request new one...One time the CSR told me the address is wrong. I was surprised to hear while I already received activation letter in mail on the correct address... Because the card is issued by Capital one they don't have any control of whether the card is sent or not....Surprising !!

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo

Scotia Momentum Visa Infinite Card

Scotia Momentum Visa Infinite Card

Earn 10% cash back on all purchases for the first 3 months (up to $2,000 in total purchases). Plus, no annual fee in the first year, including on supplementary cards. A welcome offer value of $350. 

Get this card / Apply online

Inappropriate Card Block

by Anita on Jun 5, 2019
1 out of 5 stars

I use the HBC Capital One MasterCard weekly to buy groceries at one of 3 stores in my community. Today, my card was declined so I had to use another. Fearing it had been compromised, I immediately called Capital One and was told the block was automatic and based on unusual activity or amount. I explained I was using it at the same store I shop at every week, their history going back for years would bear that out, the amount was less than $85, and my account is in good standing. Security repeated that it was automatic based on unusual activity or amount, but could not clarify beyond that statement. The representative said she would unblock my card, and I told her that based on this I’m not sure I really want to use this card anymore; I have no confidence in their process. She had no response for me. HBC MasterCard was wonderful until it was taken over by Capital One. What a pity as I will miss getting the HBC Rewards.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo