Credit Card Reviews

Scotiabank Momentum VISA Infinite card Consumer Reviews

This page has been viewed by: Please wait... consumers
(19 reviews)
Scotiabank Momentum VISA Infinite card
2.2 out of 5 stars:
Customer service:
Value for Money:
Product Features experience:
Share your own experience
Write a review

Interested in this Credit Card?

Scotia Momentum VISA Infinite card

SCOTIA MOMENTUM VISA INFINITE CARD

Earn 10% cash back on all purchases for the first 3 months (up to $2,000 in total purchases).

Plus, no annual fee in the first year, including on supplementary cards. A welcome offer value of $350.

Get this credit card

 

Filter

Most helpfull reviews
Review author

Wouldn't reccomend

by Alana Cuthbertson on Apr 25, 2022
1 out of 5 stars

If you are getting this card any month other than November, don't. If you cancel your card you will lose your cashback amount earned. I got the card in May and wanted to cancel before the annual renewal fee ($120/year). They said the only way for me to get my reward dollars is to pay the annual fee and wait until November when the payment comes. In my case, I have to pay $120 just to get my $300 in rewards. It doesn't matter if you have a bank account with them or another Visa.
I also found that the annual fee was quite high for the amount of rewards I earned.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo
Review topics

Poor Customer services

by Sam on Mar 31, 2022
1 out of 5 stars

I used my card for 4 years but when my card is due to expire, they didn’t know it and never send a new card for me even though I told them via phone many times.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo
Review topics

Do not use this visa card.

by Nicole Woods on Mar 4, 2022
1 out of 5 stars

When I signed up for this visa card I was told that I will receive an extra 10% cashback on all purchases within the first 3 months up to $2,000. I even called the bank to confirm that regardless of the amount I spend within the first 3 months I will still receive the 10% cashback and anything that goes over the $2,000 amount the promo will not apply. After 8 months I had yet to see my 10% cashback. I called multiple times and received a different message every time, but was always told that it will show up on my statement soon. The last lady I spoke to told me I would see it on my Feb 19th statement. I did not. When I called back again today, I ended up finding out that I did not qualify for the 10% extra cashback because you need to spend a MINIMUM of $2,000 in the first 3 months to qualify NOT up to $2,000!!!!! The wording is so sneaky, I am so frustrated and angry with this service and all the mixed messages I have received from them. DO NOT RECOMMEND.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo
Review topics

Scotia Momentum Visa Infinite Card

Scotia Momentum Visa Infinite Card

Earn 10% cash back on all purchases for the first 3 months (up to $2,000 in total purchases). Plus, no annual fee in the first year, including on supplementary cards. A welcome offer value of $350. 

Get this card / Apply online

Deceptive Cash back Rewards

by cmctavish on Jan 12, 2022
1 out of 5 stars

I have set up quite a few of my recurring bills with this card thinking I would receive 4% off. However, upon reviewing my end-of-year cashback balance I noticed that they conveniently left off $720 in rewards. I have been calling from November to January trying to connect with someone to fix this "error". However, after being on hold well over 2 hours and being transferred 5 times and then ultimately hung upon. I am about to cancel this card and leave Scotiabank altogether. STAY AWAY!!!

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo

10% cash back scam

by PHONG LE on Dec 8, 2021
1 out of 5 stars

It appears this company will use deceptive marketing to trick customers to sign up for their products. I received a pre-approved offer for this card with a prominent 10% cashback for the first $2,000 spent. I called to follow up and the responses I received changed from one person to the next. They are: (1) you will get it in November, (2) the promotion is paid partially 25% within 6 months and in full within 1 year, (3) there is no such promotion and (4) you will get it within 7 months. Four different responses after 4 calls. At this point, I am not confident that I will see any of the 10% promotion reward and feel strongly that the 10% cashback is a scam... I will cancel the Scotiabank VISA.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo

Worst customer service EVER!

by Keeper2614 on Jul 29, 2021
1 out of 5 stars

I recently had a fraudulent charge authorized on my visa that had so many red flags it should never have been processed. I spend hours on the phone on several different occasions trying to get this sorted out. They reversed some of the fraudulent charges but decided to keep a couple hundred stating it was an exchange rate issue. When I called to find out why I didn't get a full refund they admitted they made a mistake and refunded the balance the next day. Now I have to battle with them for a credit I'm expecting on the closed account. I have no idea when the credit will come through as the company advised me to keep an eye on my account to see it. I can't keep an eye on the account as it was closed due to the fraudulent charge they let through. Visa is telling me I have to call the fraud department when I see the credit to get it transferred to my open account or get a cheque sent but as I have told them I CAN'T SEE MY ACCOUNT SO HOW DO I KNOW WHEN TO CALL!

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo

Scotiabank® Gold American Express® Card

Scotiabank® Gold American Express® Card

Earn up to 40,000 bonus Scotia Rewards points in your first year (that's up to $400 towards travel). Earn 5 Scotia Rewards points for every $1 you spend at eligible grocery stores, dining and entertainment 

Get this card / Apply online

Travel Insurance Scotia VISA

by amenatiz on Jul 29, 2020
2 out of 5 stars

You think it covers you but not. I paid with my Scotia Momentum Visa Infinite card a trip abroad in April 2020 with a bunch of friends. The airline company cancelled the trip due to COVID and offer in exchange for a voucher to use with their airline valid 18 months. I asked for a cash refund but they refused. Therefore I went to Scotia Assist I order to use the Travel insurance "trip cancellation". I had high hopes because one of my friends in the same situation managed to get a refund with his own travel insurance with his Visa card from another bank. (Not Scotia bank). he made the claim in April and got a refund at the end of May 2020. Let me tell you it has been awfully slow with Scotia Assist insurance! I called good dozens of time, they lost my file then found it back, the, after 3 months they told me to call another Department named World Travel Protection. Since I got a reply: they refused to refund me because they say " As stated in your Certificate of Insurance; Trip Cancellation will reimburse you for any Eligible Expenses which are not refundable or reimbursable in any manner if, prior to Your scheduled departure, an Insured Person is required to cancel a Trip due to one of the covered Causes for Cancellation." Therefore if the airline offers a voucher, even if you have the insurance you will not be able to get a refund! My other friend in the same situation did get a refund but it was with another bank. I will say that actually there are so many exceptions in the insurance charts that most of the time you will never get a refund. Very disappointed! So now I will have an airline voucher that I will not use and no refund. The insurance was useless.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo
Review topics

Third class credit card

by ML on Dec 30, 2019
1 out of 5 stars

I used this credit card for the past three years. I made all my payments on time and just once I missed the payment as I forgot. They didn't even inform me and reduced my credit limit. I immediately paid the balance payment and closed the account. But they still went ahead and informed the credit bureau and impacted my credit score. Please don't get this credit card. They are useless.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo
Review topics

Blocked card in Christmas

by Very disappointed customer on Dec 20, 2019
2 out of 5 stars

I can't believe how ruthless this company can be. It's the Christmas holidays and they blocked my card. I have the best credit rating and always pay on time. I made the mistake of selecting their paperless bill option which messed up my billing system. I didn't receive any bill notifications and missed 2 bill payments. I finally looked into it and asked where are my bills. They said: you have to set up notifications. WHAT? If I go paperless I should automatically be notified if my bill is ready just like any other company would do. So basically after 3 hours of discussions with different representatives, they reversed part of the interest payments and told me to pay the bill which I did. I didn't even get a notice that the bill is late and they sent it to collections! (2 years and I always paid in full and on time and they send me to collections). The next day my card is blocked? Wow after talking to you guys and rectifying the issue that was Scotia's fault they block my card in the holidays. I can't even book a vacation for my family. Thanks, Scotiabank Visa for caring about your customers.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo
Review topics

Scotia Momentum VISA Infinite Card

Scotia Momentum VISA Infinite Card

Earn 10% cash back on all purchases for the first 3 months (up to $2,000 in total purchases). Plus, no annual fee in the first year, including on supplementary cards. A welcome offer value of $350. What else will you get:

 

  • 4% on eligible recurring bill payments and grocery store purchases
  • 2% on eligible gas station and daily transit purchases
  • 1% cash back on all other eligible everyday purchases
  • Complimentary Concierge Services 24/7 Visa Infinite Dining Series Visa Infinite Music Series Wine Country Wonders Luxury Hotel Privileges
  • Comprehensive Travel Insurance & New Mobile Device Insurance coverage

Get this card / Apply online

Watch out!!!

by Dacre on Nov 26, 2019
2 out of 5 stars

I signed up. Then the changed the rewards from 4% to 2%. When I cancelled the card they reneged on the $300+ cashback. Never again and Scotia Bank products.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo