Motorcycle Insurance Reviews

Intact Insurance Motorcycle Insurance Reviews

This page has been viewed by: Please wait... consumers
(8 reviews)
Intact Insurance
1.8 out of 5 stars:
Customer service:
Value for Money:
Claim experience:
Share your own experience
Write a review

Given bad advice

by disgruntled intacter on Oct 20, 2021
1 out of 5 stars

Renewed motorcycle insurance with Intact in April 2021. Paying well over 700 dollars per year. Met a person with a bigger motorcycle and when comparing insurance costs found out he was paying far less than me. I contacted his insurance company and got a quote for 154. Before cancelling with Intact I called to find out the penalty for cancelling early so I could make an informed decision. I was told they would take 1 extra month. That's all I was told so I assumed you took the 12-month cost and divided it to get the monthly cost and made my decision to cancel early. BUT that is not how they work it instead of 300 dollars I got 74 because most of the cost you pay is in the summer months when you use it the most. I never would have cancelled early to take a loss of over 200 dollars but their response to my many phone calls to questions and complaints got me nowhere. Don't use this company!

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo

Hidden cancellation fees! Run!

by Upset former client on Jul 9, 2019
1 out of 5 stars

I got a motorcycle insurance policy with these guys a couple of years ago. This past year my premium went up over $100 with no claims or explanation. I decided to shop around and found a better rate (just over 1/2 the cost). My Intact policy expired the end of May (the policy was paid in full from the end of the previous May) As a courtesy, I sent them an email a week later to say I would not be renewing. They sent me a registered letter saying they were cancelling my policy for non-payment and that they were setting the cancellation date to early August. They sent me a bill for over $450 to cover the time from the expiry date (end of May) to their new made-up cancellation date in Aug! This is nothing short of criminal and I would steer clear of this poor excuse of a company at all costs!

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo

Silver Lining

by David on Feb 14, 2019
5 out of 5 stars

Upon having a bad crash on my motorcycle back in August, I proceeded to contact my service provider Intact. I have dealt with more than a few different providers in my life, some good, some not so much. From the onset Intact was more than helpful with my claim, it appeared they care more about my wellbeing than the destruction of a piece of machinery. I had an estimator come by my place of work, which was super convenient, and deem it a total loss. I was issued a cheque for my bike within days, which was very pleasant. I had trouble starting my replacement claim for my gear, as the appeal of looking at gear at the time was difficult with some ongoing injuries from the mishap. I was told it wasn't a rush and to do it when I felt comfortable. My adjuster gave me a step by step, easy guide to follow which I finally completed after 6 months, I submitted an email with the necessary info and the next day was told my cheque was in the mail. They somehow helped me get through a rough situation, I am beyond happy that I chose them. Hope others are as fortunate as I was.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo

25% increase for no reason!

by northernrider on Mar 23, 2017
1.5 out of 5 stars

I've been insured with Intact since I got my licence 4 years ago. It's gone down every year, and now all of a sudden it jumps from $1600/ year to $2200. I've got no claims or tickets. Needless to say I'm shopping for new insurance and will not be an Intact customer again.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo

Vultures, incompetent, rigid

by Whatever on May 28, 2016
1 out of 5 stars

God have mercy on your soul if you are late with a payment. $40 charge and threats to cancel your coverage. They make it impossible to speak to them; then again, they're not human

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo

atv liability coverage

by rec. user on Oct 27, 2015
2.5 out of 5 stars

Purchased a liability coverage for the year on atv. After one month the unit blew up. Called to cancel the coverage which was only used for one month of twelve, and was told there is no refund???? No explanation however it can be transferred to a new unit. Been using this company for 10 years on the same atv. Stick to local insurance companies where you can talk to a person and rectify problems face to face.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo

Stole 6 months payments

by Irritated on Aug 28, 2014
1.5 out of 5 stars

I insured a motorcycle in May and paid double premiums during the summer months. Jevco, who Intact absorbed also did this but then took no payments during the winter months. Intact is now charging me monthly starting in October with no adjustment for the extra 6 months of payments they have already taken from me. So 1 years worth of payments from May - October for 6 months of coverage. This should be illegal but my broker assures me there is nothing they can do about it.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo

Total scam artists

by crazunt@hotmail.com on Nov 4, 2013
1 out of 5 stars

This company charged me 327$ a month for a new 8000$ motorcycle and when I wanted to cancel the coverage early they decided to charge me a extra 1260$. They did it without warning or any notification of a huge fee for early cancellation. Highest rates ever and horrible customer service.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo