Car Insurance Reviews

MPI Auto Insurance Reviews

This page has been viewed by: Please wait... consumers
(59 reviews)
MPI
1.8 out of 5 stars:
Customer service:
Value for Money:
Claim experience:
Share your own experience
Write a review

Mpi Legalized Corporate Thieves.

by Ron on Jan 13, 2024
2 out of 5 stars

I backed in to sign in the parking lot at Walmart. I have not had an accident for 6 + years. I go to put in a claim and I am told I will be deducted (5) demerits. The same penalty for a 2nd offense for driving while texting. How in hell is this the same thing ? I am told my license will go from $45.00 to $300. The first year, $200.00 the 2nd year and the 3rd $100.00 before it goes back to normal. That is $600.00 for my License plus $200.00 deductible for the claim. That comes to a whopping $800.00 out of my pocket for having 1 accident in 6 years. MPI you are ridiculous. There is something terribly wrong with you being able to take 5 points right off the top but have me only gain 1 point a year for safe driving. Then when I ask the lady at MPI "What am I paying insurance for? She tells me to help pay for the damage on the claim. What about the $1700.00 a year I paid for the 6 years I did not have an accident? How do you rate me backing in to a pole on a parking lot to be as dangerous as driving while texting? Paint everyone with the same brush and charge them the same demerits for any infraction. Time to re-evaluate how you rip off the public.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo

Claim response

by Anthony Black on Dec 15, 2022
2.5 out of 5 stars

My son hit a deer outside Oak Bank that happened on 12 November it is now 15 December the adjuster took her time on getting the claim advanced now being so lucky and privileged she has finally answered her phone and advised me that’s a check for his vehicle that he has been without for a month and will be another two weeks before he gets it right at Christmas time but nobody’s around...

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo
Review topics

Vandalism claim

by Jsb on Aug 12, 2022
2 out of 5 stars

Claim experience way worse than vandalism. Slashed tire and broken door glass. It was towed away and still waiting for the adjuster to look at it after 5 days. Anyone could adjust it with one quick look. Phoned them. On hold for nearly 2 hours. No answer and rude. No update on claim status. I phoned the tow truck company. Much more courteous. They told me what little they knew but were very courteous and empathetic. Cannot complain about customer service. They have none!!!

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo
Review topics

Did you know that on average Ontario drivers with good driving records pay $1,805/year in auto insurance? Is your insurance rate higher? Get a free car insurance quote and start saving today.

Attitude

by Random user_ on Apr 9, 2021
2 out of 5 stars

They talk with a rude tone, and try to act over smart, not nice at all

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo
Review topics

MPI is taking advantage

by Rudi on Nov 27, 2018
2 out of 5 stars

There is no competition, you can not go anywhere else - and this is probably why MPI representatives behave like they don't owe you anything and you are just little p.o.s for them. Every MPI center has different rules or they just understand them differently (this is from my own experience ). Do not try to argue with the clerk (even if you are sure that you are right ) because he is putting it in your file and you are singled out in any MPI center. I owed them 40 $ for my last payment as it was overdue, they never sent me a letter that they are charging me 40 $ overdue fee but they did send me one that sounds like I'm the biggest criminal in the province. ??? MPI should be reviewed and reconstructed.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo
Review topics

Manitoba to another province

by NotImpressed on Jun 24, 2015
2 out of 5 stars

Extremely slow, painful and needed money for every form I filled out. They were unable to give me the information I needed to obtain a drivers license on one form (Date I got my drivers license and Drivers Abstract), I had to get a drivers experience and a Drivers abstract. Not sure why this information cannot be put on one form.
Also, the process is very interesting, they can change my phone number, my address, my credit card information over the phone, they can also send my Claim's over the phone but for the Driver's experience I have to put the same information on a form and fax it in (no email availability).

I don't quite understand why this many forms need to be filled out? why information cannot be sent via email or secure website (there is no difference in terms of security mail/fax vs. secure website upload)? Why standard information required for transferring license to other provinces is not a single form and multiple!

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo
Not happy with car insurance reviews for your insurance company? Get a quote across up to 20 Canadian car insurers and make sure that you do not pay too much.

N/A

by Anonymous on Apr 11, 2012
2.5 out of 5 stars

depend who is your adjuster! some can be real rude!

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo

N/A

by Anonymous on Apr 11, 2012
2 out of 5 stars

When my truck was stolen right out of the store parking lot and taken on a joy ride for 3 days and brand new tires torn to shreds we had to prove and then prove again and fight for their replacement! It took over 6 mths to settle...in the mean time we had to be out of pocket for 1800.00 worth of tires, rod changes, balancing and also had to cover the destroyed steering column and replace my glasses and uniforms that were in the truck at the time. (I had just gotten off work) They were very difficult to deal with and NOT "Friendly Manitoba" like in anyway.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo

N/A

by Anonymous on Apr 11, 2012
2.5 out of 5 stars

Only option offered for auto insurance in Manitoba. They do not provide comparable prices as they have a monopoly on the auto insurance business in MB. They found me at fault in an accident that I was involved in when the other driver was clearly 100% at fault. I wish I had the option of choosing a different insurance company.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo