Car Insurance Reviews

MPI Auto Insurance Reviews

This page has been viewed by: Please wait... consumers
(58 reviews)
MPI
1.8 out of 5 stars:
Customer service:
Value for Money:
Claim experience:
Share your own experience
Write a review

Mpi Legalized Corporate Thieves.

by Ron on Jan 13, 2024
2 out of 5 stars

I backed in to sign in the parking lot at Walmart. I have not had an accident for 6 + years. I go to put in a claim and I am told I will be deducted (5) demerits. The same penalty for a 2nd offense for driving while texting. How in hell is this the same thing ? I am told my license will go from $45.00 to $300. The first year, $200.00 the 2nd year and the 3rd $100.00 before it goes back to normal. That is $600.00 for my License plus $200.00 deductible for the claim. That comes to a whopping $800.00 out of my pocket for having 1 accident in 6 years. MPI you are ridiculous. There is something terribly wrong with you being able to take 5 points right off the top but have me only gain 1 point a year for safe driving. Then when I ask the lady at MPI "What am I paying insurance for? She tells me to help pay for the damage on the claim. What about the $1700.00 a year I paid for the 6 years I did not have an accident? How do you rate me backing in to a pole on a parking lot to be as dangerous as driving while texting? Paint everyone with the same brush and charge them the same demerits for any infraction. Time to re-evaluate how you rip off the public.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo

Terrible service

by A Kl on Nov 7, 2023
1 out of 5 stars

Had to call in for every single step for things to keep on going for our claim which is all supposed to be communicated and done automatically. If I wouldnt keep on calling in we wouldnt get anywhere with our claim. Once you finally talk to someone after waiting so long, the person was so super rude and just wouldnt let me explain. Hope to never have to deal with them again.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo

Claim response

by Anthony Black on Dec 15, 2022
2.5 out of 5 stars

My son hit a deer outside Oak Bank that happened on 12 November it is now 15 December the adjuster took her time on getting the claim advanced now being so lucky and privileged she has finally answered her phone and advised me that’s a check for his vehicle that he has been without for a month and will be another two weeks before he gets it right at Christmas time but nobody’s around...

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo
Review topics

Did you know that on average Ontario drivers with good driving records pay $1,805/year in auto insurance? Is your insurance rate higher? Get a free car insurance quote and start saving today.

Left holding the bag

by MomyCatt on Dec 5, 2022
1.7 out of 5 stars

My van was stolen. I live alone and have no family. MPI gave little info as to the process. I have never gone through this before... I don't know what questions to ask or how the process goes. They gave me no list of approved shops MPI certified. Left making a guess who to take it to then have to relay information as they can't seem to call each other. I am the victim yet I am doing all the work. Towing of vehicle to shop was delayed by at least 7 days
Still would have been sitting at MPI if I didn't call and asked when it was being delivered to the shop, it would still be in their lot.
They gave me no time frame or date for the usage of the rental. All of a sudden I get a call that coverage has stopped. No warning no heads up... No date when coverage would expire. I don't get one little bit of info if I am not after them. Still, when asked when coverage is up on rental they gave me no answers.
It leaves me in tears. I have to get my van back which is disgusting to drive after people living in it because the coverage of the vehicle is breaking me. I am just a single poor person and MPI is breaking my back. I'm sure they wouldn't treat the owner of a Porsche like this.
If only there was another way other than being treated like garbage.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo
Review topics

Vandalism claim

by Jsb on Aug 12, 2022
2 out of 5 stars

Claim experience way worse than vandalism. Slashed tire and broken door glass. It was towed away and still waiting for the adjuster to look at it after 5 days. Anyone could adjust it with one quick look. Phoned them. On hold for nearly 2 hours. No answer and rude. No update on claim status. I phoned the tow truck company. Much more courteous. They told me what little they knew but were very courteous and empathetic. Cannot complain about customer service. They have none!!!

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo
Review topics

The absolute worst customer service

by Doug on Jun 14, 2022
1 out of 5 stars

They are just another money-hungry corporation that doesn’t care about people. They lied several times during my claim. I was injured in an accident that wasn’t my fault. Took 3 weeks to be able to start any treatments for whiplash and concussion. They lost my Keys for a week. I had to go down to their comp wound and of course, my keys were sitting on the driver's seat where I told them they were. They said I could go to a physiotherapist and chiropractor but then they denied my physio claim months 3 months after the accident. They rejected the chiropractor's diagnosis that I needed more sessions to heal properly. Private insurance cost more but is worth it when you have a claim. You can’t even call them as they say they aren’t taking calls and to leave a message. I have left 3 in 3 days and no one has called me back. The absolute worst!!!

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo
Review topics

If you have a good driving record in AB, you should pay around $110/month (women - $105/month and men - $113/month). Do you overpay? Get an Alberta car insurance quote to start saving.

Worst company ever

by Dg on May 12, 2022
1 out of 5 stars

MPI is so big... Nobody knows anything! If you are not on hold for a very long time you are in line for even longer! I lived in 2 other provinces with private insurance and there were cheaper and soooooo much better by far! MPI is a joke and so embarrassing but they are the one and only, so they rule you...
Nothing you can do! Nowhere else to go, and they know it! Very bad. Manitoba needs a change! Bad! And everyone knows it.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo

Wheres my truck?

by Mpi on Jan 13, 2022
1 out of 5 stars

These people have had my truck for almost 6 months! No one answers the phone! It's a joke? Ready to report it stolen to the police

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo
Review topics

No claims adjustors!

by Tom on Jan 11, 2022
1 out of 5 stars

Really? I call to make a claim and no one is home? How about adding claims adjustors as opposed to handy-out refunds?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo
Review topics
Not happy with car insurance reviews for your insurance company? Get a quote across up to 20 Canadian car insurers and make sure that you do not pay too much.

Worst Company Ever

by Sara Mclean on Jul 14, 2021
1 out of 5 stars

I have yet to have one good experience with MPI. When talking to customer service they are extremely arrogant. You can tell MPI knows that the consumers are stuck with them so they treat their customers like that. It is always their way... They are one of the most unhelpful companies out there and every single time you call, someone always tells you something different than the last person you talked to. There is a real lack of communication between them and the customers are suffering because of it.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo