Independent Auto Insurance Reviews

MPI Auto Insurance Reviews

(27 reviews)
This page has been viewed by:
10,409
consumers
(2.4 out of 5 stars)
Customer Service:
Value for Money:
Claim Experience:
 

MPI is taking advantage

 
(2.0 out of 5 stars)
by Rudi Nov 27, 2018
There is no competition, you can not go anywhere else - and this is probably why MPI representatives behave like they don't owe you anything and you are just little p.o.s for them. Every MPI center has different rules or they just understand them differently (this is from my own experience ). Do not try to argue with the clerk (even if you are sure that you are right ) because he is putting it in your file and you are singled out in any MPI center. I owed them 40 $ for my last payment as it was overdue, they never sent me a letter that they are charging me 40 $ overdue fee but they did send me one that sounds like I'm the biggest criminal in the province. ??? MPI should be reviewed and reconstructed.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
If you have a good driving record in AB, you should pay around $110/month (women - $105/month and men - $113/month). Do you overpay? Get an Alberta car insurance quote to start saving.
 

Bring back private competition

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by PrivatizeNow Aug 13, 2018
I was involved in an accident where my tail end slid out towards the median, but instead of a median being there a vehicle was crashed on top of the median. 4 other people slid the same way into the side of the median which instead was a vehicle that shouldn't have been there in the first place. Instead of acknowledging extenuating circumstances (96 accidents in that one night due to conditions and unsalted/unsanded roads), MPI found me and the 4 other people at fault for hitting a vehicle, we all got -5 demerits for it.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

MPI are bullies

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Hate MPI Feb 13, 2018
Currently in a battle with MPI. My vehicle had a hit and run while I was at work. Now MPI wants me to say I crashed my own car. Who in their right mind would admit to something they didn’t do. I hate MPI they’re horrible. I wish we had privatized insurance. They won’t fix it unless I say I crashed it out they suck.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Not happy with car insurance reviews for your insurance company? Get a quote across up to 20 Canadian car insurers and make sure that you do not pay too much.
 

4 weeks and counting

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by adam r. Sep 11, 2017
My vehicle was in an accident 4 weeks ago. Nobody has contacted me once about my vehicle. After calling in numerous times I found out they deemed it a writeoff after two weeks. One week after that I was given an "offer" which I again had to call in to get. They offered me $12,000 less than I paid for it 14 months ago. I submitted a counter offer the very next day, filling out all their required paperwork. It has now been another whole week and have yet to get a reply. Any time I call in the supervisor who has to handle our claim now is not in or is off that day. What a way to treat your customers who are without a vehicle... I would give MPI a 0 if it were an option.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Nightmare

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Heartbroken Sep 06, 2017
I'm currently having an absolute battle with MPI. My vehicle was at a shop being fixed when they left my keys in the car and left it outside the compound! Well shockingly it was stolen. Now my Lincoln MKX was a 2007 but it was in perfect condition other then the passenger mirror wouldn't stay up, which was why it was at the shop in the first place. It has only been on the highway 4 times and has 70, 000 km on it. MPI doesn't want to fix any of the damages saying it was old damages! I'm fuming. All kinds of scratches and dents, tears in the leather, the windshield cracked all the way across.. I was a victim and now MPI is victimizing me. It has been over a month since it was stolen and I don't even have it back yet. I wish I could go anywhere else for insurance.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Did you know that on average Ontario drivers with good driving records pay $1,805/year in auto insurance? Is your insurance rate higher? Get a free car insurance quote and start saving today.
 

Worst company.

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Cindy Aug 26, 2017
Rear ended at red light 2 times!! My parent is enduring severe pain due to the car accidents. Their symptoms are very severe, they can't cook or do housework. And they have severe headaches every single day and have finished taken 9 big bottles of extra strengths Tylenol already for the pain. MPI DOESN'T CARE about their customers. They would book an assessment 2 weeks later and don't reimburse us or give us any of the treatment. The only way to make MPI reimburse for your treatments or anything is when you really get paralyzed from the accident... PLEASE if anyone has the same experience, just find a LAWYER first, don't even try to talk to them. They only care about profits and they are like robbers.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Scammers

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Bambi May 19, 2017
I got into an accident in my friend's car because the brakes wouldn't work, MPI took the car 3 days later. They told me I'd have to prove that the brakes failed already assuming that I did it on purpose. My friend then went to place holding her car and it looked 100% different, the hood looked like a crowbar was taking to it and the head light was hanging out, we had MPI send pictures of what they took when the car got to the lot, they said the car was in the same exact condition that they picked it up in (which it wasn't) we have no idea what else they did to the car now, and we believe they tampered with it to prove I was at fault. Just because we're teenagers they expect the worse. The adjuster couldn't even tell us what happened to the car and she had no idea what she was talking about. She was making jokes about the hood of the car. Very unprofessional and disappointing that I'll have to probably take a hit on my license because MPI are crooks.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Bad driving record? Your insurance rates can be double the standard insurance rate. Let us help you get the better auto insurance rate without breaking the bank.
 

Rear-ended at a red light

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by RippedoffbyMPI Apr 01, 2017
I was rear ended at a red light and the driver responsible took 100% fault. I noticed within a few days after the accident that my gas gauge was going down rapidly so I had my vehicle towed believing that my vehicle would be fixed or written off. (It's a 2000 GMC 4x4) After three weeks of MPI inspecting and also towing it to a shop, MPI refused ti fix my vehicle stating that the fuel line leak was caused by corrosion and not the impact of being rear ended! B.s. I even offered to pay 50% to get it fixed but they outright refused. I was then informed by the inspector that MPI would be demanding a safety inspection at my cost. After taking my truck in there was no mention of rust and that I had a fuel leak!! I can't justify fixing my truck for $1000 when its only worth $1800! This should all be covered by MPI, my insurance provider because I was rear ended and it wasn't my fault. I now have one week to cancel my plates and now will have to sell my truck off for parts with no money to replace it! I feel ripped off completely!!
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Use false values for vehicles

 
(1.2 out of 5 stars)
by Cheated Jul 26, 2016
My adjuster claimed that they didn't have any market info for a 1999 Golf GLS TDI and then had to resort to using ADP for a value report. The report was full of $1000 "unidentifed vehicles". How can they claim that this makes any sense?! How am I to reasonably believe that these are cars like my own? If they could use it in my report, why couldn't they be identified as my car? MPI and ADP are a bunch of crooks. They are trying to cheat people out of the proper value of their vehicles. There are similar stories everywhere... why does this keep happening?!
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Did you know that on average Ontario drivers with good driving records pay $1,805/year in auto insurance? Is your insurance rate higher? Get a free car insurance quote and start saving today.
 

Very slow

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Badass Jul 06, 2016
Very slow and rude service autopac needs some competion a claim not even my fault takes them over 3 weeks slowest service I've ever seen and rude customer service
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Mpi ignores the facts

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by mick Jun 27, 2016
My vehicle was hit in a parking lot. A witness came forward and gave a statement to mpi, . Mpi still won't process the claim. They insist the vehicle hit a stationery object. They hired someone who looks at the vehicle and writes a biased report. Amazing how a person who gets a cheques from Autopac and has a theory out weighs a witness who was there. It would be a complement to call mpi a crook.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
If you have a good driving record in AB, you should pay around $110/month (women - $105/month and men - $113/month). Do you overpay? Get an Alberta car insurance quote to start saving.
 

MPI doesn't care about custome

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by hugo Feb 21, 2016
Yes, my older car was in an accident, broken headlight and few scratches. The estimator says, here's the estimate, go get it fixed. I say, hey, is this close to a write off? He says, sure we can total loss it. Fine. But then I have to go up 3 levels of supervisors to get a sniff of a fair settlement, bringing similar ads with prices, making 5 appointments - arguing and debating about the settlement. And finally they agree to give me the amount they were willing to pay for repairs on the car!! Why put me through all this?? oh yeah, cause you can, cause your the only game in town, cause your mission statment about customers and all that is bogus. mpi you play a mean game and not fair.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Manitoba to another province

 
(2.0 out of 5 stars)
by NotImpressed Jun 24, 2015
Extremely slow, painful and needed money for every form I filled out. They were unable to give me the information I needed to obtain a drivers license on one form (Date I got my drivers license and Drivers Abstract), I had to get a drivers experience and a Drivers abstract. Not sure why this information cannot be put on one form. Also, the process is very interesting, they can change my phone number, my address, my credit card information over the phone, they can also send my Claim's over the phone but for the Driver's experience I have to put the same information on a form and fax it in (no email availability). I don't quite understand why this many forms need to be filled out? why information cannot be sent via email or secure website (there is no difference in terms of security mail/fax vs. secure website upload)? Why standard information required for transferring license to other provinces is not a single form and multiple!
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Not happy with car insurance reviews for your insurance company? Get a quote across up to 20 Canadian car insurers and make sure that you do not pay too much.
 

poor customer service

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Anonymous Dec 31, 2013
I wish I could find insurance some where else. they are quick to take my money but not so to do the right thing. There answer was to go back to the broker when there the ones who made the mistake. Guess you can do what you want when your a monopoly.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

N/A

 
(2.2 out of 5 stars)
by Natalie Jul 11, 2012
depend who is your adjuster! some can be real rude!
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Did you know that on average Ontario drivers with good driving records pay $1,805/year in auto insurance? Is your insurance rate higher? Get a free car insurance quote and start saving today.
 

N/A

 
(1.5 out of 5 stars)
by Aiden Jul 10, 2012
When my truck was stolen right out of the store parking lot and taken on a joy ride for 3 days and brand new tires torn to shreds we had to prove and then prove again and fight for their replacement! It took over 6 mths to settle...in the mean time we had to be out of pocket for 1800.00 worth of tires, rod changes, balancing and also had to cover the destroyed steering column and replace my glasses and uniforms that were in the truck at the time. (I had just gotten off work) They were very difficult to deal with and NOT "Friendly Manitoba" like in anyway.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

N/A

 
(3.5 out of 5 stars)
by Megan Jul 02, 2012
I was satisfied with the processing time for claims and with the outcome.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Bad driving record? Your insurance rates can be double the standard insurance rate. Let us help you get the better auto insurance rate without breaking the bank.
 

N/A

 
(3.8 out of 5 stars)
by kateW Jun 29, 2012
My claims have mostly been with glass, and the company processes my claims without challenge. However, it is odd that they even ask the date of the original damage. You may have a stone chip you don't even notice until cold weather hits and the chip becomes a long crack.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

N/A

 
(3.2 out of 5 stars)
by EthanM Jun 13, 2012
Only one claim processed and it appeared to go smoothly.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
If you have a good driving record in AB, you should pay around $110/month (women - $105/month and men - $113/month). Do you overpay? Get an Alberta car insurance quote to start saving.
 

N/A

 
(5.0 out of 5 stars)
by carter Jun 05, 2012
I had my vehicle stolen and vandalized about 5 weeks apart. I was treated very well and got things done in a timely fashion.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

N/A

 
(2.2 out of 5 stars)
by nathanb Jun 04, 2012
Only option offered for auto insurance in Manitoba. They do not provide comparable prices as they have a monopoly on the auto insurance business in MB. They found me at fault in an accident that I was involved in when the other driver was clearly 100% at fault. I wish I had the option of choosing a different insurance company.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Bad driving record? Your insurance rates can be double the standard insurance rate. Let us help you get the better auto insurance rate without breaking the bank.
 

the only insurance company

 
(5.0 out of 5 stars)
by lauren May 25, 2012
I have had good dealings with this company. They are the only insurance company so I don't have another one to compare it to.
0 of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

N/A

 
(4.8 out of 5 stars)
by sarah May 18, 2012
Accidents years ago - no problems, concerned about no-fault insurance though!
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Did you know that on average Ontario drivers with good driving records pay $1,805/year in auto insurance? Is your insurance rate higher? Get a free car insurance quote and start saving today.
 

N/A

 
(3.8 out of 5 stars)
by Scotty May 07, 2012
For the most part MPI has been very good to deal with for claims. I feel the rates are a little high and would like to see them adjusted instead of providing rebates.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

N/A

 
(4.8 out of 5 stars)
by zoko May 01, 2012
My garage was broken into, the thieves trashed my car. MPI gave me a fair and quick settlement.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Not happy with car insurance reviews for your insurance company? Get a quote across up to 20 Canadian car insurers and make sure that you do not pay too much.
 

N/A

 
(3.0 out of 5 stars)
by Emma Apr 20, 2012
sometimes call center employees are rude
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

N/A

 
(5.0 out of 5 stars)
by Tim Apr 12, 2012
Our trailer was damaged - repairs were done and paid for immediately
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Bad driving record? Your insurance rates can be double the standard insurance rate. Let us help you get the better auto insurance rate without breaking the bank.
Want to save on auto insurance?
10+ Insurers compared
Get a free, instant quote
Customize your policy
MPI Auto Insurance
27 reviews
5 Darkstar
(5)
4 Darkstar
(3)
3 Darkstar
(2)
2 Darkstar
(5)
1 Darkstar
(12)
Most helpfull reviews