Car Insurance Reviews

State Farm Auto Insurance Reviews

This page has been viewed by: Please wait... consumers
(116 reviews)
State Farm
1.9 out of 5 stars:
Customer service:
Value for Money:
Claim experience:
Share your own experience
Write a review

State Farm is terrible

by Norris on Oct 1, 2021
1 out of 5 stars

I was hit by someone insured by State Farm and they are essentially giving me the run around in order to avoid paying repairing the damage their insured driver did to my vehicle. I had a police report filed that clearly has the driver admitting fault and get 2 citations for it, but they are so claiming they need to determine liability. It should be an open and shut case. They are not a good company to work with. This situation should've been resolved.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo
Review topics

Trying to Insure a truck

by Even Asronam on Sep 24, 2021
1 out of 5 stars

I recently bought a truck that had a small lowering kit, called State Farm for insurance and they told me I had to submit pictures of all sides so I did, went back the next day and they told me that they couldn’t insure it because it was too arrow dynamic and that resulted in a faster acceleration rate. Work on a vehicle all the time never once heard of something so ridiculous didn’t even ask what size motor or anything. Very uneducated and will do anything to save money.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo

This is the worst company

by Lawyer said no on Feb 16, 2021
1 out of 5 stars

I was involved in an MVA five years ago and their adjusters would rather turn your life upside down chase you everywhere even have investigators move in next door. They do not help those in need would rather fight you on what you need for your recovery. The investigators they hire are criminals. Stocking you 24/7. They have destroyed my life and do so on purpose they have ruined my life with my family my friends even enlisted the help of neighbors to try to find out information. If they took the time to help clients Statefarm's rates would not be as high as they are but spending 3 cents to fight a cent you guys are the scum of all scum insurance companies. Do not use this company if you think you're going to be insured if you hit in your car.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo

Did you know that on average Ontario drivers with good driving records pay $1,805/year in auto insurance? Is your insurance rate higher? Get a free car insurance quote and start saving today.

don't pay a claim

by MF on Apr 6, 2020
1 out of 5 stars

I had two experiences with State Farm, in the first, when I purchased a new auto (same make and model as previous), they failed to update my policy, even after calling and billed me for 2 years, and then refused to pay a claim for a small crash stating that the wrong VIN was on the policy and then refused to pay the monthly fees they were charging me. Then we had stolen jewelry and found out that they let our policy lapse. Two emails with an agent, where he confirmed he put it in place, all documentation sent, etc. Then when we went to make a claim, he said - you never had a policy, I forwarded emails where he stated it was active and then he stopped responding...

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo

They never called me back

by Statefarmisbad on Nov 7, 2019
1 out of 5 stars

I called to get a car quote. First, a man answered, he sounded nice. He said that he will transfer me to some lady. That lady had a bit of attitude but she was alright. She asked a few questions and then said, I will call you back shortly with some details. It has been 2 weeks now, no call. 0/5 stars.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo
Review topics

poor customer service

by p.m. on Aug 18, 2019
1 out of 5 stars

My son who is 17 received his g2 license on July 22nd, 2019. He called State Farm, from Cornwall ON, for car insurance, he received a quote beforehand. He was told that it may take up to 14 days to get car insurance! Why so long? We figured we will wait a few days. Went away for one week, came back, still no word from State Farm. At this point, he was getting impatient. He had to update his Seller's package, it was updated 3 mo before, but needed a recent one. The only change for that was the date, all info was the same. Had to spend 40$ to get that done. Both times. Had to submit pictures of the car inside and out. Which was ridiculous. By week 3, received an email from them explaining that because he is a new driver, they need to check everything out. He finally called another insurance company and was insured within 15 min, did not need any pictures, or hassles, This company needs some major work on customer service. From what I read, I am not the only one. How are they still open? Not to mention have customers. Unbelievable

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo
Bad driving record? Your insurance rates can be double the standard insurance rate. Let us help you get the better auto insurance rate without breaking the bank.

Client's nightmare came true

by Frosty on Jun 29, 2019
1.5 out of 5 stars

I had a car accident, (not at fault) on near end of April 2019. I called for a claim which took about 30mins, filling up all the information. My car had 4 panels and some parts inside the engine bay to repair. I had a talk with claim advisor saying that I was 100% not at fault because I had a dashcam which saved me a lot of trouble. Also, I was informed that my insurance rate should not go up after this. Some of the coworkers were friendly but somewhat confusing... My personal claim advisor who was named on my file wasn't available because he was on vacation. So, I asked if another one could work with me through this file and they literally said: "you have to ask this person that's in charge of your file". Sadly, they took literally almost 2 months to process on the insurance stuff such as "photos for confirmation", and additional photos before confirming the estimate... I had to chase them down every week and my patience ran so thin. After almost a month and a half of chasing them, the autobody shop decided to preorder the parts without insurance company giving them go-go because they were simply taking forever. It literally took less than a week for bodyshop to repair and after the car was fully repaired, the insurance gave bodyshop "good to go". I got my car back on June 21th 2019. But the nightmare doesn't end there. A month later, I looked over the policy papers from the insurance. To my surprise, the rate did go up by $100. (Monthly rate). I simply don't understand anymore about this insurance company. This insurance company is literally a massive money grab. They will literally "take your $$" by wasting your time 1-2 months before you get your car back. And then raise your rate up afterwards.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo

The worst

by Died on Apr 21, 2019
1 out of 5 stars

The company wants you to die before they pay an injury claim. Get a lawyer...They only want your money.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo

Stay away at all costs

by Ariana on Apr 19, 2019
1 out of 5 stars

Please do yourself a favor and stay away from State Farm Auto Insurance at all costs. And, every day pray to God that someone who is covered by State Farm does not hit you! State Farm pulls out all types of magics and tricks to avoid paying when their clients are liable. Their adjusters vanish, they make up stories, they even let their clients get sued and lose in court.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo

If you have a good driving record in AB, you should pay around $110/month (women - $105/month and men - $113/month). Do you overpay? Get an Alberta car insurance quote to start saving.

Stay away from state farm

by stay away from statefarm on Mar 1, 2019
1 out of 5 stars

You need to call million times in order to cancel the insurance, plus the rate is pretty high, customer service is so bad, I will tell everyone I know to stay away from this insurance company

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo