Independent Auto Insurance Reviews

State Farm Auto Insurance Reviews

(108 reviews)
This page has been viewed by:
55,839
consumers
(2.0 out of 5 stars)
Customer Service:
Value for Money:
Claim Experience:
 

They never called me back

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Statefarmisbad Nov 07, 2019
I called to get a car quote. First, a man answered, he sounded nice. He said that he will transfer me to some lady. That lady had a bit of attitude but she was alright. She asked a few questions and then said, I will call you back shortly with some details. It has been 2 weeks now, no call. 0/5 stars.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Not happy with car insurance reviews for your insurance company? Get a quote across up to 20 Canadian car insurers and make sure that you do not pay too much.
 

poor customer service

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by p.m. Aug 18, 2019
My son who is 17 received his g2 license on July 22nd, 2019. He called State Farm, from Cornwall ON, for car insurance, he received a quote beforehand. He was told that it may take up to 14 days to get car insurance! Why so long? We figured we will wait a few days. Went away for one week, came back, still no word from State Farm. At this point, he was getting impatient. He had to update his Seller's package, it was updated 3 mo before, but needed a recent one. The only change for that was the date, all info was the same. Had to spend 40$ to get that done. Both times. Had to submit pictures of the car inside and out. Which was ridiculous. By week 3, received an email from them explaining that because he is a new driver, they need to check everything out. He finally called another insurance company and was insured within 15 min, did not need any pictures, or hassles, This company needs some major work on customer service. From what I read, I am not the only one. How are they still open? Not to mention have customers. Unbelievable
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Client's nightmare came true

 
(1.5 out of 5 stars)
by Frosty Jun 29, 2019
I had a car accident, (not at fault) on near end of April 2019. I called for a claim which took about 30mins, filling up all the information. My car had 4 panels and some parts inside the engine bay to repair. I had a talk with claim advisor saying that I was 100% not at fault because I had a dashcam which saved me a lot of trouble. Also, I was informed that my insurance rate should not go up after this. Some of the coworkers were friendly but somewhat confusing... My personal claim advisor who was named on my file wasn't available because he was on vacation. So, I asked if another one could work with me through this file and they literally said: "you have to ask this person that's in charge of your file". Sadly, they took literally almost 2 months to process on the insurance stuff such as "photos for confirmation", and additional photos before confirming the estimate... I had to chase them down every week and my patience ran so thin. After almost a month and a half of chasing them, the autobody shop decided to preorder the parts without insurance company giving them go-go because they were simply taking forever. It literally took less than a week for bodyshop to repair and after the car was fully repaired, the insurance gave bodyshop "good to go". I got my car back on June 21th 2019. But the nightmare doesn't end there. A month later, I looked over the policy papers from the insurance. To my surprise, the rate did go up by $100. (Monthly rate). I simply don't understand anymore about this insurance company. This insurance company is literally a massive money grab. They will literally "take your $$" by wasting your time 1-2 months before you get your car back. And then raise your rate up afterwards.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
If you have a good driving record in AB, you should pay around $110/month (women - $105/month and men - $113/month). Do you overpay? Get an Alberta car insurance quote to start saving.
 

The worst

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Died Apr 21, 2019
The company wants you to die before they pay an injury claim. Get a lawyer...They only want your money.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Stay away at all costs

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Ariana Apr 19, 2019
Please do yourself a favor and stay away from State Farm Auto Insurance at all costs. And, every day pray to God that someone who is covered by State Farm does not hit you! State Farm pulls out all types of magics and tricks to avoid paying when their clients are liable. Their adjusters vanish, they make up stories, they even let their clients get sued and lose in court.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Bad driving record? Your insurance rates can be double the standard insurance rate. Let us help you get the better auto insurance rate without breaking the bank.
 

Stay away from state farm

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Rebecca Mar 01, 2019
You need to call million times in order to cancel the insurance, plus the rate is pretty high, customer service is so bad, I will tell everyone I know to stay away from this insurance company
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

This is not State Farm anymore

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Lee-Ann Feb 27, 2019
Desjardins/Certas is what they are... you think you're saving a few $’s, you're not... I was in a terrible accident almost 3 years ago (April 29/2016)...lady turned left right in front of me while I was going 80kms hr. I was in physio for 2 years, chiro for almost 2 years, psychologist, was accepted for a pain program and medical cannabis (which they don’t want to pay for so they are settling)... I go to my Dr monthly and was seeing him weekly for the first 2 months after the accident. I couldn’t shower, stand, walk, lay down or drive, I was so hurt. Been to MRI's, ultrasounds and X-rays, to their Dr's in Hamilton 5 times, and 3 surgeons. I have a shoulder injury I have to live with for life...because I am on a fixed income, all these appointments I pay out of my pocket. I am not eligible for compensation, or a settlement to cover what is still approved and yes, lawyers are involved, so they get pretty much half. It all makes me so sick. If you're with this company, get out before it’s too late for you too. I have been informed they are one of the worst. I have been with them since I was 16 and I’m now 42 and leaving them.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Did you know that on average Ontario drivers with good driving records pay $1,805/year in auto insurance? Is your insurance rate higher? Get a free car insurance quote and start saving today.
 

Claim

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Nic11 Dec 19, 2018
I filed a claim a month ago after getting in an accident. I only had my new car for 15 days and have full coverage on my policy. Apparently, that doesn’t include a rental car and I still have not heard back from my claim advisor on what I’m getting for the car or if it’s even a write-off or not. I made an in-person statement 2 weeks ago and my advisor has been out of the office all week. I’ve lost a job because I have no way to get there as busses don’t go out that way. I’m 20 years old. I don’t make anywhere near 30,000 a year, so I’m frustrated I’m paying to get to and from places. Still paying my insurance with no car in the driveway and am struggling to find another job with next to no money. Awful customer service.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Dita R is the best employee

 
(4.5 out of 5 stars)
by Sayara Sep 21, 2018
She is very clear and to the point, makes everything simple, always replies to calls and emails quickly. She gave me a good deal, however, I got the same price from 2 companies but since her customer service was perfect I choose State Farm. Thanks, Dita!!!
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Bad driving record? Your insurance rates can be double the standard insurance rate. Let us help you get the better auto insurance rate without breaking the bank.
 

State Farm, don't do it

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by lyssi25 Sep 19, 2018
DON'T GO WITH THIS COMPANY AT AL. I got into my first accident, was not at fault whatsoever. I sent in photos, filed a police report. Just because I didn't have a witness, they even refused to hear out my story. This woman on the phone, Michelle, told me that even if I went before a judge, the accident would still be 50/50. This woman never once tried to find out more info or get the full story, I even filed a police report. All this place does is take money from you. I have a scratched bumper and the car that hit into me has money damage, so of course, I'm paying for it
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

State Farm doesn’t care

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Dunnings Aug 15, 2018
On July, 23,2018, my fiancé was involved in an accident. The girl was turning left to go east, he was turning left to go west. She turned off her signal light and ended up t-boning the box of his truck. We gathered a reputable Witness we had never met before from the scene of the accident. They recently called us to say because someone was speaking in the background during her (phone) statement instead of getting a personal statement... she wasn’t independent and he will be held at fault. I’m pissed. I’m sick and tired of being screwed over by insurance companies. This was in no way fair at all. Our witness is someone we don’t even know who responded to the accident, she was there the entire time not even three doors down. I’m not satisfied, and also am annoyed with the customer service calling at 5 am thinking we will be awake, and then you're never able to reach them again and if you leave a message, they call at 5 am again.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Not happy with car insurance reviews for your insurance company? Get a quote across up to 20 Canadian car insurers and make sure that you do not pay too much.
 

Stay AWAY from these people

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by M.O Jul 31, 2018
WORST experience in my entire life. Completely disorganized, liars, misleading! STAY AWAY from State Farm. You can find better insurance without hidden lies.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Great Guys!

 
(5.0 out of 5 stars)
by christianlotfy Jul 18, 2018
Jamie W truly gave me a different perspective on insurance companies. His person to person interaction truly humanized the process for me. There was absolutely no pressure and he even looked into and revealed things for me that really helped out. I'm State Farm for life! I highly recommend Jamie and his first-class services.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
If you have a good driving record in AB, you should pay around $110/month (women - $105/month and men - $113/month). Do you overpay? Get an Alberta car insurance quote to start saving.
 

worst company ever

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by rahul Jul 07, 2018
Worst company I have ever seen. I have to follow up with each and every step for my claim. They don't care what situation you are in... They took their time no matter how serious the situation was... Don't recommend to anyone.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Terrible Customer Service

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by ALS Jul 04, 2018
Stephanie and Stella W from State Farm in Aurora, need to develop customer service skills in listening and communicating. When we first approached them for an insurance quote, we were given the wrong information. Now, 2 months later they give us new information that leaves my husband with no insurance. They are refusing to acknowledge what they had first told us.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Bad driving record? Your insurance rates can be double the standard insurance rate. Let us help you get the better auto insurance rate without breaking the bank.
 

Incompetent brokers

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Ripped off Jun 28, 2018
Was given a secure price for auto insurance. I cancelled my current insurance in order to accept State Farm but once I submitted the required documentation to them they doubled the price! So unprofessional!!!
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Worst Customer Service

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by MGrondin Jun 18, 2018
Jeff J from State Farm in Alberta lost my loyalty after being with them for 11 years when he failed to update me on discounts and new rates. I got quotes on my vehicle from other companies and discovered that I qualified for new discounts and could have been saving up to $40 a month for the last 5 years. When I asked him and his staff about this, they got defensive and gave me a lame excuse and refused to offer me any money back or discounts for a future rate. As a loyal customer of so long, I put my trust in him and his staff, but now I feel completely screwed over. What do I get for being so loyal? Taken advantage of. Jeff J does not have your best interest in mind and will squeeze every penny out of you. Do not get your insurance from here.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Not happy with car insurance reviews for your insurance company? Get a quote across up to 20 Canadian car insurers and make sure that you do not pay too much.
 

State Farm Stay Away

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by State Farm Stay Away Jun 06, 2018
My stopped vehicle was rear-ended by another driver doing approximately 65km/h. I have post-concussion syndrome and a balance disorder since the collision I was involved in. I haven't worked in over a year and State Farm (Certas) have been terrible to deal with as far as financial assistance. If you are injured in a collision, State Farm will not be helping you in any way financially. They essentially want you to die and go away. The burden of your injury will rip your family apart. State Farm will only deny, deny, deny your claim to injury. Do not use this company, you will definitely regret it. Brutal company to deal with that has no scruples. Certas (State Farm) and by extension Desjardins are vile companies to deal with.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

State Farm Beware

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Nandita B May 15, 2018
Really disappointed with State Farm Canada and its unprofessionalism. I registered a claim last Monday and was promised action within 2 days. It's been 7 days now and nothing. All they have to do is to have an appraiser go to my dealership and provide an estimate, and that takes 7 days!!! They don't answer phone calls...really bad customer rep. I have always had great interaction with State Farm US and really disappointed with the level of service.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Did you know that on average Ontario drivers with good driving records pay $1,805/year in auto insurance? Is your insurance rate higher? Get a free car insurance quote and start saving today.
 

State Farm Client for 40 years

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by d young Apr 11, 2018
Over the past few years, as they have transitioned to Desjardin, State Farm has become the absolute worst provider of insurance. I have never had a claim, both auto and home insurance - does not matter to them, they just want your premium and will not answer a question. I dread if I should ever have to make a claim. Stay away from State Farm.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Buyer Be Aware

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by 2/3s of Car Mar 19, 2018
Agents are great and pleasant but that is to lure you in. A person who has only been in Canada for 2 months with a very large Dodge Ram 1500 ran a red light at 60kms, hit my 2009 Escape and my vehicle was deemed a total loss. Since I had the new vehicle, I maintained it the highest level to last me till at least 2020 and have put fair amount of money in doing so. Desjardins General Insurance Group took my monthly premiums, Desjardins General Insurance Group are offering 2/3s of what it will take to get approximately the same vehicle and Desjardins General Insurance Group gets to keep my vehicle with all the upkeep I put into it before the accident so they can sell it in the auction and get more money. Nothing more than corporate greed. I have been with State Farm for 34 years. Desjardins General Insurance Group Auto Claims Advisors appear to be a bunch of androids reading from cue cards. Since Desjardins General Insurance Group took over State Farm Canada, it is nothing more than a get Rich Quick Scheme. Should have the option to rate of a negative star.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Bad driving record? Your insurance rates can be double the standard insurance rate. Let us help you get the better auto insurance rate without breaking the bank.
 

Horrible State Farm

 
(1.5 out of 5 stars)
by Mtmurcia Mar 18, 2018
State Farm is known for their outrageously high rates for auto insurance. I have also had multiple issues with them trying to cancel my policy and dealing with their employees. They really need to work on customer service experiences and adjust prices. I do not recommend ANYONE to try State Farm. I cannot wait for automated cars to take over these streets and State Farm goes under.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

First Claim Expierience

 
(5.0 out of 5 stars)
by Danielle Feb 21, 2018
Recently, I was hit in my driveway by a vehicle coming down the road. I placed a claim as soon as I could and have received constant updates and support throughout the whole ordeal. It’s been a really good experience and as a new driver I appreciate the support I have been shown. 5/5.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
If you have a good driving record in AB, you should pay around $110/month (women - $105/month and men - $113/month). Do you overpay? Get an Alberta car insurance quote to start saving.
 

SF actually charge you more

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by TorontoAutoInsuranceForAged25 Feb 20, 2018
SF actually charge you more for same auto insurance than its counterparts. When I found a cheaper alternative, SF agent told me that my cancellation charges would be around $250 (which I said okay). But when I actually called to cancel it, they told me it’s gonna be $350. They increase the cancellation fee when you do it. Otherwise they just try to keep you in their loop till you actually cancel it, then they squeeze as much cancellation fee from you as they can. Pretty bad experience with StateFarm (they are the bullies of auto insurance industry in Ontario). Stop taking policy from StateFarm, make them run out of business and that’s what I will do and make my friends and family do as well.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Bad Custoner Service

 
(1.5 out of 5 stars)
by George S Jan 04, 2018
This review is based on my experience dealing with this State Farm agency for my home and auto insurance. The people working for this agency are nice but they have no clue about customer service. They quoted me one price for both my home and auto insurance and when it was time to sign, both prices went up by about 10% from what I was originally quoted. They were slow to get back to me. They are not knowledgeable of their own system. I was told by an agent that my home insurance was stopped (even though I had just renewed it) and later she told me that it was not true and that she was looking at the wrong info! I had such a bad experience buying an auto and home insurance that I am now worried what would happen if I have a claim. I will try to cancel my policies with this company if I can.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Not happy with car insurance reviews for your insurance company? Get a quote across up to 20 Canadian car insurers and make sure that you do not pay too much.
 

Great till you need em

 
(2.5 out of 5 stars)
by Vandalized&donated Dec 14, 2017
Low monthly payments, very manageable, they're accommodating with your billing cycle - all of that part is great. But as soon as you have a problem or file a claim or something else happens to your car, when you call State Farm and let them know, guarantee your monthly payment will shoot WAY up and they may or may not help you with repairs.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Good Neighbour Gone Bad

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Nov 29, 2017
I have been a customer for 20 years, everyone in my family had insurance through them, and for many years, they were solid and worth a bit higher rates for good service and no hassle claims. Not anymore, they are not State Farm, they just use that name with nothing to go behind it. My payments have changed slightly out of the blue a few times through the year, but this month I had to pay $100 more for my monthly insurance bill!! I called and I am told I should have been given a statement showing me the changes. Not so~! As a single mother, I am very careful to make my budget and it is down to the penny paycheque to paycheque but I pay my bills and live as I can with what I earn. Now I have no money for Christmas!!! I need proper notice of increases, an explanation to justify the increase and affordable coverage that is consistent in cost. There is NO justification for the increase of $1200 a year!!! *- home/auto/life -broker contacted, they have lost a good customer and someone who once called them a friend and neighbour.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Bad driving record? Your insurance rates can be double the standard insurance rate. Let us help you get the better auto insurance rate without breaking the bank.
 

StateFarm

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by JP Nov 29, 2017
CALL AVIVA! If only there was a 0-star option available for State Farm... After 12 years of being a loyal State Farm client, it is clear that the level of service has dropped significantly since they were purchased by Desjardin. For years I would listen to horror stories and defend their service based on one claim nearly 10 years ago that I felt was handled very well. This year I had a boat claim that was not handled well by the claims department and decided to change providers. For whatever reason, when I asked that they put a note on my account to not renew policies (6 in total), they stopped withdrawing the premiums from my account and then sent a letter stating I owed cancellation fees. After only receiving one notification about the amount owed, they put me into collections for $167.00 when I have never once in 12 years been late to pay. Call Aviva... I had no previous policies with them and they provided better rates and coverage on all of my policies.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Worst company ever

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Alex Oct 25, 2017
Worst company ever, there’s a reason they have so many bed reviews. They lie and tell you something different every time you call. They over charge and over sell. Try to tell you have have to have life insurance so you buy more forgetting to tell you the true reason is they are on commission.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
If you have a good driving record in AB, you should pay around $110/month (women - $105/month and men - $113/month). Do you overpay? Get an Alberta car insurance quote to start saving.
 

Would not recommend

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Pmb Oct 20, 2017
No communication, renewal dates consistently change with notice. Rates are higher then most companies. Went to cancel and magically my dates had changed, even tought I never moved or changed my policy.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?