Independent Auto Insurance Reviews

State Farm Auto Insurance Reviews

(100 reviews)
This page has been viewed by:
46,539
consumers
(2.1 out of 5 stars)
Customer Service:
Value for Money:
Claim Experience:
 

Dita R is the best employee

 
(4.5 out of 5 stars)
by Sayara Sep 21, 2018
She is very clear and to the point, makes everything simple, always replies to calls and emails quickly. She gave me a good deal, however, I got the same price from 2 companies but since her customer service was perfect I choose State Farm. Thanks, Dita!!!
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Bad driving record? Your insurance rates can be double the standard insurance rate. Let us help you get the better auto insurance rate without breaking the bank.
 

State Farm, don't do it

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by lyssi25 Sep 19, 2018
DON'T GO WITH THIS COMPANY AT AL. I got into my first accident, was not at fault whatsoever. I sent in photos, filed a police report. Just because I didn't have a witness, they even refused to hear out my story. This woman on the phone, Michelle, told me that even if I went before a judge, the accident would still be 50/50. This woman never once tried to find out more info or get the full story, I even filed a police report. All this place does is take money from you. I have a scratched bumper and the car that hit into me has money damage, so of course, I'm paying for it
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

State Farm doesn’t care

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Dunnings Aug 15, 2018
On July, 23,2018, my fiancé was involved in an accident. The girl was turning left to go east, he was turning left to go west. She turned off her signal light and ended up t-boning the box of his truck. We gathered a reputable Witness we had never met before from the scene of the accident. They recently called us to say because someone was speaking in the background during her (phone) statement instead of getting a personal statement... she wasn’t independent and he will be held at fault. I’m pissed. I’m sick and tired of being screwed over by insurance companies. This was in no way fair at all. Our witness is someone we don’t even know who responded to the accident, she was there the entire time not even three doors down. I’m not satisfied, and also am annoyed with the customer service calling at 5 am thinking we will be awake, and then you're never able to reach them again and if you leave a message, they call at 5 am again.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Not happy with car insurance reviews for your insurance company? Get a quote across up to 20 Canadian car insurers and make sure that you do not pay too much.
 

Stay AWAY from these people

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by M.O Jul 31, 2018
WORST experience in my entire life. Completely disorganized, liars, misleading! STAY AWAY from State Farm. You can find better insurance without hidden lies.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Great Guys!

 
(5.0 out of 5 stars)
by christianlotfy Jul 18, 2018
Jamie W truly gave me a different perspective on insurance companies. His person to person interaction truly humanized the process for me. There was absolutely no pressure and he even looked into and revealed things for me that really helped out. I'm State Farm for life! I highly recommend Jamie and his first-class services.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Did you know that on average Ontario drivers with good driving records pay $1,805/year in auto insurance? Is your insurance rate higher? Get a free car insurance quote and start saving today.
 

worst company ever

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by rahul Jul 07, 2018
Worst company I have ever seen. I have to follow up with each and every step for my claim. They don't care what situation you are in... They took their time no matter how serious the situation was... Don't recommend to anyone.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Terrible Customer Service

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by ALS Jul 04, 2018
Stephanie and Stella W from State Farm in Aurora, need to develop customer service skills in listening and communicating. When we first approached them for an insurance quote, we were given the wrong information. Now, 2 months later they give us new information that leaves my husband with no insurance. They are refusing to acknowledge what they had first told us.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
If you have a good driving record in AB, you should pay around $110/month (women - $105/month and men - $113/month). Do you overpay? Get an Alberta car insurance quote to start saving.
 

Incompetent brokers

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Ripped off Jun 28, 2018
Was given a secure price for auto insurance. I cancelled my current insurance in order to accept State Farm but once I submitted the required documentation to them they doubled the price! So unprofessional!!!
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Worst Customer Service

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by MGrondin Jun 18, 2018
Jeff J from State Farm in Alberta lost my loyalty after being with them for 11 years when he failed to update me on discounts and new rates. I got quotes on my vehicle from other companies and discovered that I qualified for new discounts and could have been saving up to $40 a month for the last 5 years. When I asked him and his staff about this, they got defensive and gave me a lame excuse and refused to offer me any money back or discounts for a future rate. As a loyal customer of so long, I put my trust in him and his staff, but now I feel completely screwed over. What do I get for being so loyal? Taken advantage of. Jeff J does not have your best interest in mind and will squeeze every penny out of you. Do not get your insurance from here.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Did you know that on average Ontario drivers with good driving records pay $1,805/year in auto insurance? Is your insurance rate higher? Get a free car insurance quote and start saving today.
 

State Farm Stay Away

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by State Farm Stay Away Jun 06, 2018
My stopped vehicle was rear-ended by another driver doing approximately 65km/h. I have post-concussion syndrome and a balance disorder since the collision I was involved in. I haven't worked in over a year and State Farm (Certas) have been terrible to deal with as far as financial assistance. If you are injured in a collision, State Farm will not be helping you in any way financially. They essentially want you to die and go away. The burden of your injury will rip your family apart. State Farm will only deny, deny, deny your claim to injury. Do not use this company, you will definitely regret it. Brutal company to deal with that has no scruples. Certas (State Farm) and by extension Desjardins are vile companies to deal with.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

State Farm Beware

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Nandita B May 15, 2018
Really disappointed with State Farm Canada and its unprofessionalism. I registered a claim last Monday and was promised action within 2 days. It's been 7 days now and nothing. All they have to do is to have an appraiser go to my dealership and provide an estimate, and that takes 7 days!!! They don't answer phone calls...really bad customer rep. I have always had great interaction with State Farm US and really disappointed with the level of service.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Bad driving record? Your insurance rates can be double the standard insurance rate. Let us help you get the better auto insurance rate without breaking the bank.
 

State Farm Client for 40 years

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by d young Apr 11, 2018
Over the past few years, as they have transitioned to Desjardin, State Farm has become the absolute worst provider of insurance. I have never had a claim, both auto and home insurance - does not matter to them, they just want your premium and will not answer a question. I dread if I should ever have to make a claim. Stay away from State Farm.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Buyer Be Aware

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by 2/3s of Car Mar 19, 2018
Agents are great and pleasant but that is to lure you in. A person who has only been in Canada for 2 months with a very large Dodge Ram 1500 ran a red light at 60kms, hit my 2009 Escape and my vehicle was deemed a total loss. Since I had the new vehicle, I maintained it the highest level to last me till at least 2020 and have put fair amount of money in doing so. Desjardins General Insurance Group took my monthly premiums, Desjardins General Insurance Group are offering 2/3s of what it will take to get approximately the same vehicle and Desjardins General Insurance Group gets to keep my vehicle with all the upkeep I put into it before the accident so they can sell it in the auction and get more money. Nothing more than corporate greed. I have been with State Farm for 34 years. Desjardins General Insurance Group Auto Claims Advisors appear to be a bunch of androids reading from cue cards. Since Desjardins General Insurance Group took over State Farm Canada, it is nothing more than a get Rich Quick Scheme. Should have the option to rate of a negative star.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Not happy with car insurance reviews for your insurance company? Get a quote across up to 20 Canadian car insurers and make sure that you do not pay too much.
 

Horrible State Farm

 
(1.5 out of 5 stars)
by Mtmurcia Mar 18, 2018
State Farm is known for their outrageously high rates for auto insurance. I have also had multiple issues with them trying to cancel my policy and dealing with their employees. They really need to work on customer service experiences and adjust prices. I do not recommend ANYONE to try State Farm. I cannot wait for automated cars to take over these streets and State Farm goes under.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

First Claim Expierience

 
(5.0 out of 5 stars)
by Danielle Feb 21, 2018
Recently, I was hit in my driveway by a vehicle coming down the road. I placed a claim as soon as I could and have received constant updates and support throughout the whole ordeal. It’s been a really good experience and as a new driver I appreciate the support I have been shown. 5/5.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Did you know that on average Ontario drivers with good driving records pay $1,805/year in auto insurance? Is your insurance rate higher? Get a free car insurance quote and start saving today.
 

SF actually charge you more

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by TorontoAutoInsuranceForAged25 Feb 20, 2018
SF actually charge you more for same auto insurance than its counterparts. When I found a cheaper alternative, SF agent told me that my cancellation charges would be around $250 (which I said okay). But when I actually called to cancel it, they told me it’s gonna be $350. They increase the cancellation fee when you do it. Otherwise they just try to keep you in their loop till you actually cancel it, then they squeeze as much cancellation fee from you as they can. Pretty bad experience with StateFarm (they are the bullies of auto insurance industry in Ontario). Stop taking policy from StateFarm, make them run out of business and that’s what I will do and make my friends and family do as well.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Bad Custoner Service

 
(1.5 out of 5 stars)
by George S Jan 04, 2018
This review is based on my experience dealing with this State Farm agency for my home and auto insurance. The people working for this agency are nice but they have no clue about customer service. They quoted me one price for both my home and auto insurance and when it was time to sign, both prices went up by about 10% from what I was originally quoted. They were slow to get back to me. They are not knowledgeable of their own system. I was told by an agent that my home insurance was stopped (even though I had just renewed it) and later she told me that it was not true and that she was looking at the wrong info! I had such a bad experience buying an auto and home insurance that I am now worried what would happen if I have a claim. I will try to cancel my policies with this company if I can.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
If you have a good driving record in AB, you should pay around $110/month (women - $105/month and men - $113/month). Do you overpay? Get an Alberta car insurance quote to start saving.
 

Great till you need em

 
(2.5 out of 5 stars)
by Vandalized&donated Dec 14, 2017
Low monthly payments, very manageable, they're accommodating with your billing cycle - all of that part is great. But as soon as you have a problem or file a claim or something else happens to your car, when you call State Farm and let them know, guarantee your monthly payment will shoot WAY up and they may or may not help you with repairs.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Good Neighbour Gone Bad

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Nov 29, 2017
I have been a customer for 20 years, everyone in my family had insurance through them, and for many years, they were solid and worth a bit higher rates for good service and no hassle claims. Not anymore, they are not State Farm, they just use that name with nothing to go behind it. My payments have changed slightly out of the blue a few times through the year, but this month I had to pay $100 more for my monthly insurance bill!! I called and I am told I should have been given a statement showing me the changes. Not so~! As a single mother, I am very careful to make my budget and it is down to the penny paycheque to paycheque but I pay my bills and live as I can with what I earn. Now I have no money for Christmas!!! I need proper notice of increases, an explanation to justify the increase and affordable coverage that is consistent in cost. There is NO justification for the increase of $1200 a year!!! *- home/auto/life -broker contacted, they have lost a good customer and someone who once called them a friend and neighbour.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Bad driving record? Your insurance rates can be double the standard insurance rate. Let us help you get the better auto insurance rate without breaking the bank.
 

StateFarm

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by JP Nov 29, 2017
CALL AVIVA! If only there was a 0-star option available for State Farm... After 12 years of being a loyal State Farm client, it is clear that the level of service has dropped significantly since they were purchased by Desjardin. For years I would listen to horror stories and defend their service based on one claim nearly 10 years ago that I felt was handled very well. This year I had a boat claim that was not handled well by the claims department and decided to change providers. For whatever reason, when I asked that they put a note on my account to not renew policies (6 in total), they stopped withdrawing the premiums from my account and then sent a letter stating I owed cancellation fees. After only receiving one notification about the amount owed, they put me into collections for $167.00 when I have never once in 12 years been late to pay. Call Aviva... I had no previous policies with them and they provided better rates and coverage on all of my policies.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Worst company ever

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Alex Oct 25, 2017
Worst company ever, there’s a reason they have so many bed reviews. They lie and tell you something different every time you call. They over charge and over sell. Try to tell you have have to have life insurance so you buy more forgetting to tell you the true reason is they are on commission.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Did you know that on average Ontario drivers with good driving records pay $1,805/year in auto insurance? Is your insurance rate higher? Get a free car insurance quote and start saving today.
 

Would not recommend

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Pmb Oct 20, 2017
No communication, renewal dates consistently change with notice. Rates are higher then most companies. Went to cancel and magically my dates had changed, even tought I never moved or changed my policy.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Terrible claim handeling

 
(1.5 out of 5 stars)
by Daina Oct 13, 2017
I have very bad experience having claim with State Farm. They didn't pay the claim even I had the video of the accident and suggested me to go to the Court.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Not happy with car insurance reviews for your insurance company? Get a quote across up to 20 Canadian car insurers and make sure that you do not pay too much.
 

Tina and Jessica

 
(4.2 out of 5 stars)
by Kenji1991 Sep 01, 2017
Very great customer service and good for first time drivers. I would recommend for anyone willing to get first time insurance.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

This company is disgusting

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by soprano Aug 22, 2017
Poorest customer service. They just need your money. They will lie, lure you into the policy and once you are in, they do not care about you. No 1 ranking for unethical company. Do not provide pre-authorization to your account. They take your money without your notice even after you complain and try to cancel their insurance. Customer complaint center has no authority over anything. Only thing you get out of this insurance company is, mental agony and, if you have an issue, both agents and customer care will listen to you, talk and do nothing about it.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
If you have a good driving record in AB, you should pay around $110/month (women - $105/month and men - $113/month). Do you overpay? Get an Alberta car insurance quote to start saving.
 

the worst insurance company

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by mad as hell Aug 01, 2017
Never again will I go with them never again mark my words I filed a claim after my car got hit they paid for some of the damages and failed to pay for the rest, I have communicated with them a lot of time for now they claimed the 1 year act crap, must be nice to steal money from the ppl and when its time to pay you dont you let the time expired. Never again will I go for you guys. tks .
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Certas not like State Farm

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Benny Jul 22, 2017
What a disaster. I bought a third vehicle and had my daughter added as a primary driver. During the discussion the agent also noticed some savings so made some other changes. Since then the policy went up several thousand, they took different amounts from mine and my husbands accounts and could not explain why. When I left and went to Economical Insurance at half the cost Certas said we owed money but could not explain why. Now it is at a collection agency. Had State Farm for 25 years. Economical Insurance has excellent customer service so far
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Not happy with car insurance reviews for your insurance company? Get a quote across up to 20 Canadian car insurers and make sure that you do not pay too much.
 

Non professional experience

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Stanley B. Jul 14, 2017
I was given a policy only to have it cancelled due to a ticket on my licence that I told the broker About! Then I was charged $1278 for six weeks of insurance when I agreed to pay $465/month. I was misrepresented and ripped off. The worst experience ever!!!
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

State farm cancellation

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Odalys Jul 04, 2017
I'm really upset. I canceled my 4 policies 3 months ago with State Farm. The next month they took the entire monthly premium from my bank account. Later they explained to me that they needed to pay the cancellation fees. After 3 weeks they send me a check with what was left after fee payment and now I got a letter telling me that I was sent to "Debt collection company" for owing them money? I'm so upset I will post everywhere what State Farm does to the clients for more than 10 years when they decide to cancel any policies. -Odalys
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Did you know that on average Ontario drivers with good driving records pay $1,805/year in auto insurance? Is your insurance rate higher? Get a free car insurance quote and start saving today.
 

price gone up, no valid reason

 
(2.0 out of 5 stars)
by Lynn Jun 19, 2017
I have been accident free for the past year and yet my policy has gone up. When i called them, the reason they gave is there is some system info error for my record. They should have charged me the higher price from the beginning. The insurance agent that I signed my contract quit and another one called me a while ago to introduce himself. When I tried to reach him after seeing the new policy, he's gone too. Wonder why......
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?