Credit Card Reviews

RBC Rewards VISA Consumer Reviews

This page has been viewed by: Please wait... consumers
(64 reviews)
RBC Rewards VISA
1.6 out of 5 stars:
Customer service:
Value for Money:
Product Features experience:
Share your own experience
Write a review

A nightmare each and every time

by Mar16 on Feb 6, 2024
1 out of 5 stars

Dealing with RBC Rewards is a true nightmare. Each and every time I have to call these people, I'm on hold for a very long time, transferred around, given the run around. Getting a refund of points takes weeks if not months. Each time there is an excuse. When this current situation has been resolved (apparently yet another two weeks they say) I am going to cancel my visa and move to someone else.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo

Get a different card if you expect any client service

by LukeW on Jan 6, 2024
3 out of 5 stars

The insurance programs and travel rewards are great.

The issue becomes obvious if you ever need any client service. It is very hard to get answers. It is very hard to get to someone who is actually empowered to help you. In my last call, I spent an hour on the phone with support. I had a balance issue that I needed to dispute. At the end of the call, I was told I was wrong. I asked for them to send me the math that they did to come up with the point that I was wrong. They said they could not do that. i asked for the info to be put in my secure Visa mail box. They also would not do that. They said I had to go to the branch to have them do the math again. So, today I did that. 45 minutes at the branch to find out they do not have detailed access to my account, and I would have to call in for help. No one is empowered to help. Currently, in a 3 month period, I have close to $3,000 of charges that Visa will not explain to me but wants me to pay. 22.99% interest if I do not. I am now looking for a simple cash back account from a different card supplier. I hope I can find better client service.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo

Rewards Fraud

by Ba on Nov 11, 2023
1 out of 5 stars

Redeemed rewards for amazon rewards and did not receive, after a month called the customer service, the customer service reinstated my points back, I then redeemed the points on October 26 for purchase of an item, there were no tracking number and so far till date I did not receive the item. I find it painful to call the customer service again and waste all my time.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo

Scotiabank® Gold American Express® Card

Scotiabank® Gold American Express® Card

Earn up to 40,000 bonus Scotia Rewards points in your first year (that's up to $400 towards travel). Earn 5 Scotia Rewards points for every $1 you spend at eligible grocery stores, dining and entertainment 

Get this card / Apply online

Compete Waste of Time

by Vasmaven on Jul 5, 2023
1 out of 5 stars

After cancelling a flight to Palm Springs, I received a credit voucher for around $829 per person. The email described several conditions for its future use flight must originate in Canada, must be used by the same customers etc... There was no mention of how the included value of the original taxes may not be the same as for a different destination or that the pricing that RBCR gets may be different from the AC website.
After extensively planning a trip to Barcelona with AC website pricing of $975 per person, I was told that I would owe over $1200 in order to use my voucher. Why?
Because BCN taxes are higher and so is the pricing of the flight that RBCR offers.
They offered no information about how to get accurate pricing in order to understand the actual value of the credit. So my $1658 credit is actually only worth just over $400.
If you have a voucher, plan on spending hours and hours on the phone trying to figure out how to get any value out of this phantom credit.
Goodbye, $1658. You’ll be expiring very soon:(

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo

Excellent service

by darrell gerus on Oct 19, 2022
5 out of 5 stars

We booked a 4-night stay in Tulsa and were treated exceptionally well by Sarah. She was friendly and very knowledgeable. We use our points for travel throughout North America, nice to be able to travel again.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo
Review topics

Terrible customer service

by Sol on Sep 13, 2022
1 out of 5 stars

The worst customer service on earth! Try to avoid them, they are impossible! You can't talk to a professional person!

Try to avoid them as much as you can! Even the telephone number for customer service they put on the web, doesn't work!!!!
I better buy expensive tickets than waste hours and days online.
I'm going to miss two flights, they really don't care!
And they are also expensive and don't have all the flights available in the market.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo
Review topics

Scotiabank® Gold American Express® Card

Scotiabank® Gold American Express® Card

Earn up to 40,000 bonus Scotia Rewards points in your first year (that's up to $400 towards travel). What else will you get:

 

  • Earn 5 Scotia Rewards points for every $1 you spend at eligible grocery stores, dining and entertainment
  • Earn 3 Scotia Rewards points for every $1 you spend at eligible gas stations, daily transit, and select streaming services
  • Earn 1 point for every $1 you spend on all other eligible everyday purchases
  • Complimentary Concierge Services 24/7
  • Comprehensive Travel Insurance coverage with 25 days of travel medical insurance for eligible persons under age 65

Get this card / Apply online

Almost impossible to dispute transactions!

by Robin on Sep 10, 2022
1 out of 5 stars

Over two hours waiting for RBC Disputes Department. Hung up after over two hours of canned music, and set up an appointment online for a callback. The call back (for which I waited almost three hours) informed me I had to call back Disputes and wait for them to answer!!!

On top of that, I was informed Disputes was closing for the weekend in 15 minutes and I wouldn’t be able to get through until the next business day. I asked for a supervisor. For that, I have to wait several days with no idea or time frame for a callback.

This bank is making billions upon billions of dollars off Canadians yet refuses to hire enough staff to deal with transaction disputes.

After over five hours of waiting my dispute, which is entirely above board, remains unaddressed.

So entirely unacceptable!!!!

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo
Review topics

No customer service

by Lea on Aug 15, 2022
1 out of 5 stars

I booked a flight with my RBC reward points and it got cancelled.
I spent 7 hours on hold over 3 days to speak with someone from the RBC rewards team to ask for my points to be credited back to my account following this cancellation.
When I finally was able to talk to someone, the person was useless and just gave me an email address to send my request after spending 30 min asking me the same questions over and over.
My email request was sent more than 5 weeks ago and still nothing.
I am not even asking for a cash refund or any indemnification I just want points back.
It is shameful to treat customers this way.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo
Review topics

Just terrible waiting time

by Wen wen Jiang on Aug 9, 2022
1 out of 5 stars

Our fight tickets were cancelled by RBC rewards last year due to pandemic. We called 6 times in the past couple of weeks given the number they provided, but none of it get through, each time we try to wait 3-4 hours. Today we finally got someone over the phone, and she told us it's the service department issue, they are in sales and don't deal with it. We start to wonder if it's all Scams, and no one actually working on the other side of the service department phone line. Are they just trying to wait it out till your credit expires and not to bother them again??? Points + cash we paid by ourselves totally $1000 down the drain...

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo

Scotia Momentum Visa Infinite Card

Scotia Momentum Visa Infinite Card

Earn 10% cash back on all purchases for the first 3 months (up to $2,000 in total purchases). Plus, no annual fee in the first year, including on supplementary cards. A welcome offer value of $350. 

Get this card / Apply online

No service or support

by Brian on Aug 4, 2022
1 out of 5 stars

Their website keeps crashing while you do your booking which makes it very hard to be accurate. Because of this, there was an error in a name and it took me 4 days and being on hold collectively for 8 hours total just to fix this problem. Extremely frustrating, very understaffed and no management to call or email you back. I wouldn’t waste your money, just abandon your points you better off.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo
Review topics