Credit Card Reviews

RBC Rewards VISA Consumer Reviews

This page has been viewed by: Please wait... consumers
(64 reviews)
RBC Rewards VISA
1.6 out of 5 stars:
Customer service:
Value for Money:
Product Features experience:
Share your own experience
Write a review

A nightmare each and every time

by Mar16 on Feb 6, 2024
1 out of 5 stars

Dealing with RBC Rewards is a true nightmare. Each and every time I have to call these people, I'm on hold for a very long time, transferred around, given the run around. Getting a refund of points takes weeks if not months. Each time there is an excuse. When this current situation has been resolved (apparently yet another two weeks they say) I am going to cancel my visa and move to someone else.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo

Get a different card if you expect any client service

by LukeW on Jan 6, 2024
3 out of 5 stars

The insurance programs and travel rewards are great.

The issue becomes obvious if you ever need any client service. It is very hard to get answers. It is very hard to get to someone who is actually empowered to help you. In my last call, I spent an hour on the phone with support. I had a balance issue that I needed to dispute. At the end of the call, I was told I was wrong. I asked for them to send me the math that they did to come up with the point that I was wrong. They said they could not do that. i asked for the info to be put in my secure Visa mail box. They also would not do that. They said I had to go to the branch to have them do the math again. So, today I did that. 45 minutes at the branch to find out they do not have detailed access to my account, and I would have to call in for help. No one is empowered to help. Currently, in a 3 month period, I have close to $3,000 of charges that Visa will not explain to me but wants me to pay. 22.99% interest if I do not. I am now looking for a simple cash back account from a different card supplier. I hope I can find better client service.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo

Almost impossible to dispute transactions!

by Robin on Sep 10, 2022
1 out of 5 stars

Over two hours waiting for RBC Disputes Department. Hung up after over two hours of canned music, and set up an appointment online for a callback. The call back (for which I waited almost three hours) informed me I had to call back Disputes and wait for them to answer!!!

On top of that, I was informed Disputes was closing for the weekend in 15 minutes and I wouldn’t be able to get through until the next business day. I asked for a supervisor. For that, I have to wait several days with no idea or time frame for a callback.

This bank is making billions upon billions of dollars off Canadians yet refuses to hire enough staff to deal with transaction disputes.

After over five hours of waiting my dispute, which is entirely above board, remains unaddressed.

So entirely unacceptable!!!!

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo
Review topics

Scotia Momentum Visa Infinite Card

Scotia Momentum Visa Infinite Card

Earn 10% cash back on all purchases for the first 3 months (up to $2,000 in total purchases). Plus, no annual fee in the first year, including on supplementary cards. A welcome offer value of $350. 

Get this card / Apply online

Just terrible waiting time

by Wen wen Jiang on Aug 9, 2022
1 out of 5 stars

Our fight tickets were cancelled by RBC rewards last year due to pandemic. We called 6 times in the past couple of weeks given the number they provided, but none of it get through, each time we try to wait 3-4 hours. Today we finally got someone over the phone, and she told us it's the service department issue, they are in sales and don't deal with it. We start to wonder if it's all Scams, and no one actually working on the other side of the service department phone line. Are they just trying to wait it out till your credit expires and not to bother them again??? Points + cash we paid by ourselves totally $1000 down the drain...

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo

This is a complete joke!!!

by Devon Diggle on Jul 1, 2022
1 out of 5 stars

Currently on my way to whatever RBC I can find first. The reason of being, I will be cancelling and closing anything and everything that affiliates me with them. After being on hold for 9 HOURS!!! (Wait time is 62 minutes…or just about 600 minutes is what they meant) For anyone saying why would you ever wait that long? That’s because nothing can be done online.
Each and every avenue brings you right back to the same old 800 number. All of this was to change an upcoming trip by one week, but a family emergency forced out hand. Half of the family is with another credit card. They waited 40 minutes and paid 41.00$ extra per passenger (more and acceptable) RBC REWARDS, 9-hour wait. 300.00$ per passenger extra. But how come you ask? Fuel cost… Not only were the people as unhelpful as it gets, but after fighting tooth and nail getting nowhere, we have no choice but to comply. Finally to make things worse, if these people aren’t out of touch, they wanted to know if I wanted to choose my seats and include a checked bag for 300.00$ more per person lol.

This is the second review I have written in my 34 years on this earth. I only do it because when I have an experience as bad as this one, I will always try and save people from the same nightmare. Thanks

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo

AWFUL CUSTOMER SEVICE AND WAIT TIMES

by Enrique Aldana on Apr 6, 2022
1 out of 5 stars

I have a credit to use for a flight on my RBC Rewards, therefore I need to call RBC Rewards to book a new flight. I was on hold for 2 hours. Once I finally get connected with an agent, they hung up on me after 30 minutes because they could not figure out to re-book the new flight. AWFUL SERVICE. I will be cancelling my credit card, these points are not worth it.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo

Scotiabank® Gold American Express® Card

Scotiabank® Gold American Express® Card

Earn up to 40,000 bonus Scotia Rewards points in your first year (that's up to $400 towards travel). Earn 5 Scotia Rewards points for every $1 you spend at eligible grocery stores, dining and entertainment 

Get this card / Apply online

Absolutely ridiculous

by Rachel on Apr 5, 2022
1 out of 5 stars

Waited two hours - which I understand wait times are long. Then once we did get on with an agent we tried booking a flight over the phone as we were not able to do it online because we needed to redeem a flight credit. We not only couldn't redeem the full flight credit, but we also lost over $200 on taxes and then the agent needed help so she called another department, and then hung up on us. We had given a call back number and they never called back. Absolutely ridiculous. On hold again for another hour (still no answer) and there is no possible another way to book our flight using these credits than through the phone. I will never use the points to book a flight again - I DO NOT recommend it.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo

Good luck getting any service

by WendyH on Mar 26, 2022
1 out of 5 stars

I’m a seasoned traveller and all I wanted was to pre-book my seats. Air Canada said if I booked my vacation using RBC Avion points I need to talk to them. GOOD LUCK hours on hold only to be cut off not once but many times.
I am so frustrated and I want to switch credit card and maybe even banks.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo
Review topics

Terrible service

by Lf on Mar 15, 2022
1 out of 5 stars

Waiting an hour to talk to someone. Talk to a lady for 30 sec before she sent me somewhere else for 3h 40mins waiting and never got a hold of anyone. This isn’t the first time it’s happened. You would think with all their money they could afford to hire more people and have more training. Would not recommend them as a bank at all!

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo

Scotia Momentum VISA Infinite Card

Scotia Momentum VISA Infinite Card

Earn 10% cash back on all purchases for the first 3 months (up to $2,000 in total purchases). Plus, no annual fee in the first year, including on supplementary cards. A welcome offer value of $350. What else will you get:

 

  • 4% on eligible recurring bill payments and grocery store purchases
  • 2% on eligible gas station and daily transit purchases
  • 1% cash back on all other eligible everyday purchases
  • Complimentary Concierge Services 24/7 Visa Infinite Dining Series Visa Infinite Music Series Wine Country Wonders Luxury Hotel Privileges
  • Comprehensive Travel Insurance & New Mobile Device Insurance coverage

Get this card / Apply online

Nightmare Hold Times & No Solutions

by Disappointed RBC Customer on Mar 7, 2022
1 out of 5 stars

I've been on hold for a total of over 3 hours today, and I've spent about 2 hours engaging with an agent who also put me on hold for most of that time. So far I have invested about 5 hours and counting (currently still on hold) since the first agent said she would speak to a supervisor and call me after 3 PM today, no call yet. It's 9 PM EST so I decided to get into their nightmare on hold queue again since I am supposed to travel tomorrow and they gave me a return flight with an impossible connection. They expect me to clear customs, check out my luggage from one airport (approx time is normally 90 mins) drive to another airport with the journey in between taking 1-2 hours depending on traffic and go through customs and security, check-in my luggage (normally 90 mins at best) with a transit time of 3 hours. There is a simple solution to this as there is another flight that would not require the change in airports for the same costs and it has available seats but apparently, this is too complicated and requires a supervisor... So here I am having invested over 5 hours in this process and my travel scheduled for tomorrow. Never again. Looking at cancelling and moving my 25-year banking relationship elsewhere if they won't resolve this for me.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo