Independent Credit Cards Consumer Reviews

Rogers Platinum MASTERCARD Consumer Reviews

(41 reviews)
This page has been viewed by:
20,675
consumers
(1.7 out of 5 stars)
Customer Service:
Value for Money:
Product Features:
 

Total disaster

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by joker Oct 05, 2019
I was refused a credit card even though I had never in my whole life had a problem with my credit score. I have 2 other major credit cards and I am mortgage-free. This is a total joke of a bank. Reading the reviews Actually, I am glad I was not approved.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Not sure what credit card to choose? Our credit card comparison analyzes hundreds rewards, no-fee, travel and other credit cards to help you to choose the best one.
 

Stay away from this card

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Abe Sep 20, 2019
I have had more problems with this credit card than all my other credit cards. I don't mind that they charge one of the highest interest rates but when you try and call to talk to them there's nothing that they know or that they can even make up on the phone. This is probably the worst card that I've ever held.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Dumbest Review Process Ever

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Mitch F Sep 12, 2019
Got the card just before a trip. Used it once or twice in Canada before traveling. Then get to Europe use it in a taxi no problem. Tried at the hotel declined. Called them and they said it was under review due to possible fraud activity. I said OK is it this charge at the hotel? it was me. "Sorry but it is under review". But who? "Fraud department". Can I talk to them? "No". Why not? "They don't do that" So then of course how are they going to review something without asking the person. I called back a couple of weeks later and it was still under review. Then finally a month later someone calls me and ask me if I tried to use the card at this hotel. I said yes so now it is not under review. One MONTH to ask one question to clear it all up!. But don't worry they apologized every time. The another card I used on the same trip sent me a text after a charge they were concerned about. They asked me about it. I replied that it was me. Thet replied all is good. 3 minutes. How freaking dumb is Rogers. I pretty much wanted to cancel my internet with them because of this. Maybe I still willl.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Searching for the best rewards credit card? We compare hundreds of Canadian credit cards helping you to maximize your rewards points.
 

Very good for a no fee card

 
(4.5 out of 5 stars)
by robinson Sep 09, 2019
I have a number of cards but I've noticed this one wins out most of the time. Why? It's got very wide acceptance and the 1.75 percent is pretty darn hard to beat. The foreign exchange program is excellent. So, I say it's a winner.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

I find the Bad Reviews Unjust!

 
(4.0 out of 5 stars)
by JamesJ Aug 20, 2019
People crying that they got charged interest for the whole month after they didn't pay the whole balance!!! That's not Rogers fault. (it's yours). I had this card for over a year and used it frequently in Canada and the US with no hangups. ( I had called before travel ) Not ideal that I had to call to have my rewards posted to a statement, but I received them which is GREAT! Better having the 150$ in my pocket than having other cards lining their pockets with my hard-earned monies. All in all, I don't think this company has the best Customer Service, but I have never waited very long and not really anything worth complaining about. I'm here for the Rewards and surprisingly no data breaches yet from overlooking security flaws like my CAP1 card. In my opinion, this is one of the best cards you can get. Regards!
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Not sure what credit card to choose? Our credit card comparison analyzes hundreds rewards, no-fee, travel and other credit cards to help you to choose the best one.
 

BAD CUSTOMER SERVICE

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by val79 Jul 31, 2019
These product features are common. They offer relatively small rewards based on purchase amounts. But even this small reward can be impossible to redeem due to their horrible customer service. They simply ignore your requests and may even close your account where they don't like your questions or complaints. I once called them with a few basic questions about my account balances and CSR was not able to answer any of them. I was truly frustrated and the conversation resulted in their closing my account while I was specifically asking to keep it because I wanted my rewards redeemed. They simply closed my account because I was asking too many questions and probably was "difficult" for them. Afterwards, I called them again and CSR told me the account was closed voluntarily. This was not true and I keep the audio recordings of my conversations with Rogers MasterCard CSRs proving it was closed against my will. Never been mistreated like this before but have no regrets about closing the account, except for losing my rewards. No anger. Customers have the right to know the truth and opinions.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Fraudulent Charges

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by kdhillon Jun 02, 2019
I had fraudulent charges on my credit card from Uber Eats in the Netherlands (I am in Canada). Furthermore, this credit card was never even added to my personal Uber Eats account, so it was clear to me that someone stole my credit card for their own account. They would not refund these fraudulent charges and so far I have spoken to ten different representatives who have yet to resolve the issue.
1 of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Searching for the best rewards credit card? We compare hundreds of Canadian credit cards helping you to maximize your rewards points.
 

Great Credit Card

 
(4.0 out of 5 stars)
by Mike V May 22, 2019
I really don't get why all the other negative reviews are for. I've had a Rogers Credit card for 2 years now and the card has only been declined once. When I called into customer service they quickly discovered the issue and explained it to me (my fault, CC number had changed and I left the old number in a recurring amazon payment long after it was discontinued. They said the issue would be resolved the next day and it was). Apart from that, it's a great card. No fee, 1.75% cashback on every purchase, 4% cashback on foreign purchases (great for business trips to the US that get re-reimbursed) and the money back can be used on any purchase, any time. It's no longer tied to Rogers' bills. Can request the cash back right within the Rewards app, otherwise, it's a little tricky. But who doesn't use a phone app these days?
1 of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Inconsiderate Customer Service

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by cxvyt Apr 11, 2019
Slow service aside (every process takes a minimum of 2 weeks to go through), every time I talk to customer service they are rude and condescending. They don't care about any individual case, whatever the situation they would repeat the same information from a script. On top of that, they are inconsistent with important information such as reward rates and credit limit increase time limits. Never have I seen such incompetence. Additionally, because they are a small company, transactions and payments also take a long time to process. If you need your credit card to pay any important bills, I would go to literately any other credit card company. The "cash back rewards" aren't worth it.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Not sure what credit card to choose? Our credit card comparison analyzes hundreds rewards, no-fee, travel and other credit cards to help you to choose the best one.
 

Blocked my card

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Awful Feb 27, 2019
I tried to make a valid purchase and my credit card was blocked. Whenever I try to call Rogers Bank, I am told this is being reviewed and nothing ever gets done. This has been ongoing for 5 days and I have now put in an official complaint to Rogers, hopefully, this will speed things up.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Poor service!

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by A.R. Feb 27, 2019
I called today to ascertain why I could not get into my card info. Spoke with a woman who didn’t understand that I was getting different views on my screen as to hers. First with Safari and then with Google. She said...Open your eyes! How tacky. Disaster.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Searching for the best rewards credit card? We compare hundreds of Canadian credit cards helping you to maximize your rewards points.
 

Absolute joke of a company!!!

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by mikeygggg Feb 01, 2019
Tried a promo offer and got the World Elite card. Used once and then they sent to security for review, no one ever called and when you call them, they have no answers. That was 4 days ago. I have since cancelled the card. Trying to get anything accomplished with customer service is beyond an embarrassment for this company. Do not bother with this joke of a company and "bank". Since then I have also switched cell phone provider for wasting my time
2 of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Poor customer service

 
(2.0 out of 5 stars)
by Oh Feb 01, 2019
Perks are great in theory but they happen to never work in practice. It's a constant struggle to cash in the cash back rewards, even if they are applied to transactions involving Rogers (phone bill...). But the worse is that to fix any issue, you have to call the customer service which is worse than awful. Reps never know anything and they even try to bullshit you. There is no possible way you can talk to any reasonable person and so any issue that you have simply stayed unresolved forever. So when it comes to perks, well, great you have all these cash back $....but you can never use them.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Not sure what credit card to choose? Our credit card comparison analyzes hundreds rewards, no-fee, travel and other credit cards to help you to choose the best one.
 

My nightmare

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Chillyfinger Jan 16, 2019
I fell for the misleading claim of a 3% rebate, which turned out to have "strings attached". Trying to deal with customer "service" is an exercise in futility. I have been trying for over a year to cancel the card ("trying" mostly consists of unsuccessful attempts to get anyone to answer the customer service line or logging in to the online site). They seem to change policies constantly. Current credit card policies are unrecognizable from the ones they sprung on me in 2017. Bottom line: there is NO CUSTOMER SERVICE and, trust me, you will want to figure out what's going on. Good luck!
1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Stay away from it really!

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Kong Jan 08, 2019
If I can choose 0star, I will do that. Worst experience ever!! Very angry. The rep blocked my card for no reason, they are not helpful at all. Just repeating the same thing: we don’t know how long you need to you, just wait for the call! Never again with this company. I didn’t get to claim my rewards, which are around $300 Damn!! Useless!!
1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Searching for the best rewards credit card? We compare hundreds of Canadian credit cards helping you to maximize your rewards points.
 

Horrible cs exp. to date

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Pirath Dec 13, 2018
Worst card to hold. The company puts my card under review without any notice and no one contacts me for over a month and counting. Online suggests to call CS and customer service rep has absolutely no info. and tells me to wait and pray.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Worst customer service

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Justin Dec 04, 2018
I find the agents are quite unhelpful. They have told me they were going to follow up first thing the next day, however, they did not. If they don't know the answer to a question, they make up information to get you off the phone. For example, one of the agents said that because of the Canada Post strike, the Purolator shipments are delayed. This is grossly inaccurate as Purolator guarantees the shipments to be delivered the next day. Also, all of the staff seem very unhelpful as they don't seem willing to help you get what you need. I would not recommend this company. The only reason I was looking at this card is because I was travelling (I applied 4 weeks in advance). Since they aren't able to get me this card in time for my trip, I am stuck with paying high transaction fees.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Not sure what credit card to choose? Our credit card comparison analyzes hundreds rewards, no-fee, travel and other credit cards to help you to choose the best one.
 

Customer Service

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by RogersSux Nov 21, 2018
Tried to do a purchase on the card, was denied and the card was locked. Rogers CS advises I will get a callback once they've reviewed my account. It's been a month and counting, no word. Called in multiple times to clarify but was told to wait. Seriously? A WORLD ELITE credit card gets locked while doing a foreign transaction? Waste my wallet space keeping this card in there.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

AVOID! WORST CC Company

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by WildDisease Nov 08, 2018
You know Rogers Bank is owned by Rogers, the same Canadian icon known to improperly assess fees against the Disclosure Agreements & provide terrible customer service. It's no different at Rogers Bank or with a Rogers Bank MasterCard. MasterCard should cut Rogers Bank off or better yet, don't sign up for it!
1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Searching for the best rewards credit card? We compare hundreds of Canadian credit cards helping you to maximize your rewards points.
 

Rogers card... so far so good

 
(4.0 out of 5 stars)
by philipc Oct 20, 2018
I've been using the card for 4 months. I've charged about $15000 on the card and I've racked up about $350 of cash back. I do not deal with Rogers for my cell phone or cable. Therefore, in early December I will contact CSR to request applying the cash back to my January statement... We'll see? The only decline so far is Hertz car rental for the security deposit. I use my PC credit card for this. When I return the car, I just settle the bill with my Rogers card. Works fine. I've used the card across Canada and the US... works great!
0 of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Worst Credit Card Company ever

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Bailey01 Oct 09, 2018
I made a huge mistake signing up for this Rogers MC. The perk was getting the reward points to apply to my Rogers Communications bill. I have always paid my Rogers Communications on a monthly basis - never late - never any added interest. This was confirmed on 3 occasions with Rogers. Then I began getting calls from this MC outfit stating I owe in August and this was ongoing until 1st week of October. I logged all phone calls - Agent- Date- Time - and Conversation. I have spent 7hrs calling both Rogers and the Rogers Bank MC people. I even set up a Conference call between Rogers & MC people. Rogers confirm on the phone that I have made ALL payments - MC people don’t address the 308.40 charge that was paid through my Bank Account. BOTH of these companies. Pass the buck - Rogers state they cannot access the Bankcard and the MC can’t even answer a question I have as to “where” they are getting their figures from. My card was never used for any other transactions. They were harassing me constantly - threatening a Collection Agency. I finally threw my hands in the air and paid the MC to stop the insanity. This Bank is a complete unethical - unprofessional item and does NOT operate like our Chartered Banks. DON'T ever apply for this card - Rogers Communications needs to disassociate themselves from this so-called Company!!!
1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Not sure what credit card to choose? Our credit card comparison analyzes hundreds rewards, no-fee, travel and other credit cards to help you to choose the best one.
 

Don’t use this card.

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Sayeed Oct 03, 2018
Very bad customer service. Their reward can’t be used for bill payment. Not recommended to anyone.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Bad customer service

 
(1.5 out of 5 stars)
by Jeremy30 Sep 26, 2018
Ombudsmen lied to me about my card being in mail and violated Canada’s privacy commission 30-day recommendations. Unfortunately, going to have to cancel the card because can not risk dealing with Rogers and Deborah E ombudsmen being extremely rude and I have emailed lies which she sent me. Thank you, I do not want anyone dealing at Rogers
1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Searching for the best rewards credit card? We compare hundreds of Canadian credit cards helping you to maximize your rewards points.
 

FREQUENTLY GETS DECLINED

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Markham905 Aug 20, 2018
For some reason, this card gets declined and when you call in to inquire, they give you the standard response: 1) they don’t see any attempts 2) they don’t see any declines 3) the issue must be with the vendor 4) we can send you a new card How is it a vendor issue when it’s multiple vendors? The only thing that is constant is the card, not the vendors. Why would sending me a new card fix what they claim is a vendor issue? I can’t recommend this card until Rogers acknowledges that they have an issue and address it instead of passing the blame onto every vendor you shop with.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Troubles over small benefits

 
(2.0 out of 5 stars)
by Liz Jun 01, 2018
Rogers Bank Credit Card seems to have pretty good benefit at a glance but there's a lot of hidden issues if you use it everywhere. You gain small cash back benefits by using it, but the troubles it causes later are not worth it. The truth is that Rogers Bank is not a real bank and they don't have the leverage other real banks have. For example, it's almost impossible for them to reverse the charges immediately after you complain about fraudulent charges on your credit card. You will have to go through a lengthy process of dispute(up to 90 days for a result) and even then you might not get the money back. I would definitely not recommend to use this credit card overseas or use it for any recurring billings. I also wouldn't recommend to have other authorized credit cards under your account with Rogers Bank credit card. It turns out that when they said the authorized credit card is cancelled, it's not really cancelled. When they send you a new card for upgrade, the old authorized credit cards become active again and all the old recurring charges, which you were not able to disable for various reasons, will come through again, even though they said that old authorized credit card was cancelled, and the new credit cards have completely different credit card numbers, the charges still will come through. Their customer service and dispute department representatives don't seem very knowledgeable about the services either. They were not really able to explain to me why the problem is happening, nor are they able to connect me with anyone who can help me resolve my issues with their service.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Not sure what credit card to choose? Our credit card comparison analyzes hundreds rewards, no-fee, travel and other credit cards to help you to choose the best one.
 

Devious Interest charge

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by skye May 15, 2018
Full interest charge if you make partial payment - even if you make the payment equal to 95% of the owing balance. My statement balance was $1280, but I didn't have the statement with me at the time, so I paid roughly $1200 based on memory. End of month, they posted an interest charge of $24.32 to my account. I called and the CSR said that the interest charge does not apply to the remaining owing balance which is $80 in my case but applies to full amount $1280. I'm cancelling the card. Unacceptable, devious and rip-off! Not worth it
1 of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Card Gets Declined A LOT!!

 
(2.0 out of 5 stars)
by leapster Apr 21, 2018
I've had the card now for three months. The card gets declined a lot. When travelling overseas, even though I informed them where I will be, one out of every three transactions gets declined (I travel a lot, and never had any trouble with any other card). The card has also been frozen twice by their fraud department with usage in Canada. Once is similar to one of the previous reviews (Apple store). I went to an Apple Store and tried to buy an iPad. Declined! Went home and called them, and they said there was a suspicious transaction (yes, it was me buying an iPad I told them!). They said it will remain frozen until they investigate. I asked, how long? And they said they have seen it take six months! However, after a week, they called me and said my card is okay to use again. The benefits of this card are good, but the most unreliable card I have ever seen. Carry a backup so you don't get stranded.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Searching for the best rewards credit card? We compare hundreds of Canadian credit cards helping you to maximize your rewards points.
 

Non-existent customer service

 
(2.0 out of 5 stars)
by Leo Mar 17, 2018
So I get this card lured by the 1.75% cash back on everyday transactions. Yesterday I try to pay for a purchase at the Apple store. My card gets declined. "No biggie," I think - guys are serious about security, perhaps want me to confirm the transaction. So I call in, get a hold of an agent surprisingly quick ("amazing!" I am thinking), but that where it goes downhill (or should I say vertical down). Apparently, Apple store is a risky transaction and my card is blocked. "Will be reviewed by the fraud department" and will get a call when this is done. With no ETA when this is going to be complete. I ask how long is this verification going to take, an hour, a day, a week, a month. "We have no estimate, sir!" ..Approximately?! "We have no estimate, sir! You will get a call when it is complete." And the guy talks to me as I owe him something. I get the feeling Rogers Bank customer support is just there to say they have customer support. No other bank I ever had an issue like that that cannot be resolved by a quick and short phone call. Two days now and all I get is attitude when I call to ask when is this 'review' of my account going to be completed and account unblocked. Ridiculous! I will likely be closing this joke of a service at first convenience. Whoever wants reliable service - look elsewhere!
1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Constant declines...

 
(2.0 out of 5 stars)
by Markham905 Feb 01, 2018
The card constantly gets declined and when I call into customer service, they tell me that they don’t see any attempts on the card and there’s no reason for it being declined. They advise that the issue must be with the terminal, which I believed the first time it happened. It continues to happen at different establishments so it can’t be the terminal. I always use chip+pin, never tap. They’re sending me my 3rd card now to see if it helps...I’m not holding my breath...
1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Not sure what credit card to choose? Our credit card comparison analyzes hundreds rewards, no-fee, travel and other credit cards to help you to choose the best one.
 

Worst company to deal with

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Declanb Jan 25, 2018
I can't even get a hold of them and they don't seem to be getting my payments....
1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Let InsurEye to find the best credit card for you
Compare 100+ cards
Compare rewards, insurance and other offering
Understand how much you can save
Rogers Platinum MASTERCARD
41 reviews
5 Darkstar
(2)
4 Darkstar
(5)
3 Star off
(0)
2 Darkstar
(8)
1 Darkstar
(26)
Most helpfull reviews