Independent Auto Insurance Reviews

Wawanesa Auto Insurance Reviews

(94 reviews)
This page has been viewed by:
54,400
consumers
(1.5 out of 5 stars)
Customer Service:
Value for Money:
Claim Experience:
 

Cheap for a reason I guess

 
(1.5 out of 5 stars)
by John S Jan 08, 2020
Low rates, HORRIBLE service. This company is complete trash. We reported our car stolen 3 days ago and have left multiple voice mails and emails that have all gone unreturned. We should've been provided with a rental by now, but haven't even been provided with a phone call. AVOID
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Not happy with car insurance reviews for your insurance company? Get a quote across up to 20 Canadian car insurers and make sure that you do not pay too much.
 

Avoid Wawanesa at all coats

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Heather S Dec 19, 2019
I was a customer of Wawanesa and paid my premiums including collision insurance every month on time for 18 years. I had a collision a few years back. I had an estimate completed at a body shop, Wawanesa accepted the estimate and made an agreement to pay the cost of the repairs. Following the first estimate, I experienced a very high-risk pregnancy and was on bed rest, and it ended with the death of my child. When I took my vehicle in for the second estimate the body shop called me and informed me that Wawanesa would no longer follow through and keep their own word. I called the broker who laughed at my situation and I escalated it through Wawanesa. They were quite happy, smug and proud of themselves that they no longer had to pay the claim. They were very clear that now they were no longer legally obligated that they would not follow through with payment, regardless of their word that they would. Wawanesa, you might be legally in the right, but what an absolutely abhorrent and disgusting way to treat your own customers. Wawanesa took advantage of us during the single most difficult and vulnerable time in our lives, and they are proud of it. They increased our premiums, despite not paying out the claim. Left us with a $10,000 repair bill. My recommendation would be to find an insurance company that you can rely on and put your trust into. Ask yourself if you need that kind of stress when dealing with difficult situations? If you are having any difficulty, make sure you sue them, promptly and without hesitation and please reconsider giving your business to this company.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

TERRIBLE COMPANY

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Wesley Dec 07, 2019
I've had the misfortune of having my truck burn down due to unknown reasons. This was Aug 2018. After I bought my new truck I had a bird strike and dented the hood. I decided to go through insurance. That was a mistake. They sent me around playing phone tag for days and wanted to send out an appraiser, to replace a hood. What should've been a 1-day process turned into 2 weeks? I would've been better off paying the 2k for the hood and paint myself. Now I've come to find out they pulling my insurance because of "too many tickets". Meanwhile, I've been on the roads for 15 years and have NEVER been involved in a collision or an at-fault claim. EVER. They can't look beyond their computer algorithms and statistics. This company is crooked and will serve you as long as you pay them and aren't forced to handle a claim. And if you do need to file a claim, good luck ever getting a hold of an adjuster or ANYONE that can help. STEER CLEAR.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
If you have a good driving record in AB, you should pay around $110/month (women - $105/month and men - $113/month). Do you overpay? Get an Alberta car insurance quote to start saving.
 

Absolute Joke

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Jason Nov 29, 2019
I got insurance from them middle August & decided cancelled at the end of October. Their rates are ridiculous they try to squeeze as much money out of you as possible. Despite my policy being cancelled in October. They've taken money from my bank account 3 times this month alone over 3 insurance monthly payments as well as me paying for August, September, & October. Totalling 6 payments in 3 months absolutely ridiculous. On top of their greedy scam schemes, their staff is completely clueless about what is going on. Extremely unprofessional & cannot even communicate in a proper matter. I've exchanged over 50+ emails with them & am still currently in the works of getting my money back. The literal worst experience with something that is so straightforward. It is disgusting & pathetic. This is the first review I've made for anything. No joke. I went out of my way to make an account to tell you whatever you do. Do not get insurance from Wawanesa. I repeat do not.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Wawanesa and deeks insurance

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Alvis Oct 21, 2019
Within the last 3 months, Wawanesa and Deeks's insurance has screwed me. They went into my account and charged me 2 NSF fees and another 2 this week. They went in on the same day and they told me they would try back in a couple of days. They lied. They went in again the same day. Both of these companies are working together to screw people. These are the 2 worst insurance companies I have ever dealt with and now they are saying it is my banks' fault and hung up the phone. I even spoke to a manager and she did the same thing. Be aware and careful because the will take your money too.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Bad driving record? Your insurance rates can be double the standard insurance rate. Let us help you get the better auto insurance rate without breaking the bank.
 

Poor Customer Service

 
(1.5 out of 5 stars)
by aaros Sep 03, 2019
I filled out an online quote request and that went very smoothly, spoke to a representative and everything appeared to be going smoothly until they up and just stopped speaking to me. I went to upper management to sort this out and while she seemed to be willing to help me, we did not connect on the weekend she tried to call and when I attempted to contact after that, she also stopped speaking to me. VERY poor customer service.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Greedy insurance.

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Kate Aug 30, 2019
I was in an accident other drivers fault. They offered me the money, but not because they were "good" insurance but because they would raise my monthly payment meaning I would pay more (going up by 50%). I had to use my money to pay for my car so they would not raise my monthly payment. Conclusion this insurance dose not care about what happens to your car they just want more money. Horrible insurance.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Did you know that on average Ontario drivers with good driving records pay $1,805/year in auto insurance? Is your insurance rate higher? Get a free car insurance quote and start saving today.
 

Stay away from wawanesa in NB

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by WawanesaScamerAlert Aug 06, 2019
If you are with or thinking about getting insurance through Wawanesa in Moncton NB (New Brunswick) or near me then think again. My insurance went from $60 to $111 to $125 a month for a 10-year-old car. TD Canada stole $100 from me and I called Wawanesa in Moncton NB and I experienced the worst customer service EVER! The lady on the phone told me they will cancel my insurance if I don't come up with the money TD bank stole from me. All I asked was to pay it in 3 days from now. She threatened to cancel my insurance if I couldn't provide proof from my bank TD that it was their fault. However, TD doesn't think it's their fault which it is 100%! So, today I look for a new insurance company. This hasn't been my only experience with Wawanesa either. I've dealt with them since 2007 and I have 2 other similar experiences with ignorant representatives. If I could rate Wawsnesa in Moncton NB a big fat 0 I would. They don't deserve 1 star.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Cancellation

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by KR Jul 23, 2019
The worst insurance company I have ever encountered. Took money that was not owed to them and threatened a missed payment on my account if not paid. Cancelled my insurance and they took $970.00 out of my account without warning. They are crooks who take everything and do nothing to help you at all. By far stay away from them they are awful people who don’t care about their customers. Absolutely ignorant.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
If you have a good driving record in AB, you should pay around $110/month (women - $105/month and men - $113/month). Do you overpay? Get an Alberta car insurance quote to start saving.
 

Nearly made me homeless

 
(2.5 out of 5 stars)
by Cross Jul 08, 2019
Had an 89 Toyota Tercell back in 1995 and was in a car accident that nearly ended my life. I was on comprehensive coverage and it was like pulling teeth to get my claims from them. They were so slow with the claims process that I had to force my injured self back to work to make ends meet. Nearly reinjuring myself again in the process. What a terrible way to take someone's money and do not return the value of the car back to them for so long a time. Shame on Wawanesa, I will never go with them again. I remember calling so many times to check back with them and they kept giving me the brush off and a bunch of excuses that made me feel that I was forgotten. Promising me 2 weeks, then 3 weeks, etc. Disgusting.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Wawanesa refuses to help me

 
(1.2 out of 5 stars)
by Abandoned by wawanesa Jul 04, 2019
I am a US citizen, female travelling alone on a road trip in Canada. My car was broken into, windows broken, and all my belongings and passport and money was stolen. I called Wawanesa immediately to report it. They said it was a glass only claim because they don’t cover anything but just the glass. I have been on the phone with Wawanesa every day since then, for 5 days. I call the US Wawanesa to help me and they say they can’t help me because I am in Canada (they cover Canada), so they give me the Canadian Wawanesa number to call (Wawanesa is a Canadian company), I call them and the representative actually angrily hung up on me after telling me that I was not his problem because I have a US policy. I call the US side back and they also say they cannot help me. And this has been happening for 5 days while I am SLEEPING IN A CAR WITH NO WINDOWS, while it rains and I am open to being physically assaulted. If anything happens to me, it is WAWANESA FAULT. There have been some kind and understanding phone representatives, but still after 5 days NOTHING has been done. I keep continually being volleyball’d back and forth between the Canadian and US Wawanesa claims Departments and no one will help me at all.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Not happy with car insurance reviews for your insurance company? Get a quote across up to 20 Canadian car insurers and make sure that you do not pay too much.
 

Paying the Insurance.

 
(2.5 out of 5 stars)
by Wolf Jun 13, 2019
I generally pay yearly to have that bill out of my way, this year I had extended bills so I decided to split the bill, I paid half, then a quarter and the final payment which states right on the form they provided says Aug. 3rd, and they wanted the payment a month after I paid the first quarter of the last half, I paid more to bring down the final payment. They don't seem to honor their own agreement papers. I tried talking to them, but they won't budge, I have other small-time debts to pay, so not paying till the due date "they" wrote down.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Why even pay for insurance

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Pissedoff Jun 04, 2019
I was backed into while I was in a meeting. My shop kept my car for three whole months and when I finally got it back half the ordered parts weren’t even on my car, barely any of the damage was actually fixed and they refuse to do anything. They paid the shop a month and a half before I even got my car back and now they’re telling me to take it up with the shop. No one I call from there will budge to figure out a fair solution all because someone backed into me while I was in a meeting.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Bad driving record? Your insurance rates can be double the standard insurance rate. Let us help you get the better auto insurance rate without breaking the bank.
 

Terrible Avoid like the plague

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Clint Feb 13, 2019
Had my Truck Stolen recently. The claims process was an absolute nightmare, the adjuster felt her only role was to watch from the sidelines and deny expenses, not helping me through the process, no consultation, no helping deal with the Autobody shop, could not even reach her by phone. Always had to e-mail. My truck was gone for 3 months for repair and came back with a list of issues that I needed to "deal with through the Autobody shop" or fix myself. I was paying insurance for 2 specific reasons 1)to get me back to the place I was before the event 2)to have a helping hand when I did have an issue Instead I got a distant accountant. When I asked to dispute claims items that decided by her with no agreement or consultation with me, I was told here's our dispute mechanism- hire your own appraiser and they can fight it out with ours. Good luck making that work for you. By the way the Appraiser was also terrible, the shop evaluated that my truck needed a batch of Front end work that it did not need (have pics to prove), instead of maybe actually taking a look he just reported to the adjuster only and they agreed to disallow the work meaning no mechanical work was done at all. I got back a truck with a large list of repairs and less functionality. On top of that, I have to deal with the shop warranty process with no help. Stay away from this company!
1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Downhill Slide

 
(2.0 out of 5 stars)
by Fed up in Gatineau Feb 04, 2019
I have been with Wawanesa for years. On the recommendation of their agents, I filed 3 claims and asked them about one incident where I did not make a claim. Last year they sent a letter telling me they didn't want me as a client for Auto anymore! So in future do not speak to an agent unless you really want to file a claim. Then this year they have gone to a broker system. I called to get a reason for my premium jump. After being transferred 3 times I was told and I quote "to save money" but I am the one who got charged a 35$ broker fee and they raised my monthly premium by 35$ - why? "Well, Wawanesa decided that that was the rate they wanted to charge" - no real explanation. So needless to say I will be looking for a new insurance company this year.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Did you know that on average Ontario drivers with good driving records pay $1,805/year in auto insurance? Is your insurance rate higher? Get a free car insurance quote and start saving today.
 

Terrible Customer Service

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by JS Jan 24, 2019
I submitted a claim that night when I was involved in a collision. It was the other's party mistake. He admitted it but he just gave me his business card and asked me to call him. So I called the 24/7 claim line and everything went fine, she asked me to call the next day to notify them if I am able to drive to an auto body shop. So I called the local Edmonton phone line for claims and then the lady answered the call, I just called to notify them that I am ready to go for a free estimate but this lady was very RUDE very very RUDE. Instead of asking me how am I, after saying that I went to a hospital because of a stiffed neck and my back hurts, she just kept asking me what is my speed at that time? Seriously? I already submitted a claim and already told them what happened and she is keeping asking me about what happened and my speed? THIS IS A VERY BIG MISTAKE PAYING THIS COMPANY. I wish them removed from this industry. Very rude people and the only thing they know is to collect money from you. If I can give a negative star, I will!
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

0 star

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by mathewo Nov 25, 2018
Please avoid this scam company at any cost. I am a driver with 24 years without any claim and was with Wawanesa for last seven years. I had a minor issue at a parking lot 2 years before with no claim. I opened the door and just touched the car next to me. The other car driver was inside and she was an insurance broker. She reported that to my insurance company and they recorded as at fault no claim and reduced my star rating to 1. The next year renewal time my rate jumped to 45 dollars per month and 50 dollars this year. What a SCAM
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Not happy with car insurance reviews for your insurance company? Get a quote across up to 20 Canadian car insurers and make sure that you do not pay too much.
 

WAWANESA IS A FRAUD !!!!!

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by M.Q Sep 10, 2018
I have had full insurance with them the whole time. And when my car was hit and run, they didn't even give me a rental car. They refused to cover me and constantly tried to find ways to not cover me. They kept saying we need a full report. I'm still confused because my car is fully insured, so why do they need any report because if I'm at fault or not, they are still supposed to cover me and yet they didn't. This should be a WARNING to EVERYONE not to insure anything with WAWANESA because they are FRAUD and they will do you no good. They are crooks who will screw you over when the time comes to pay you. If you don't believe me, then read all the other comments. BE SMART PPL.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Horrible insurance

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Chantale Aug 31, 2018
Horrible service. Horrible prices. All in all...horrible insurance company who does not care about their clients.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
If you have a good driving record in AB, you should pay around $110/month (women - $105/month and men - $113/month). Do you overpay? Get an Alberta car insurance quote to start saving.
 

I was a loyal customer

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by theresa Aug 20, 2018
For 14 years we were loyal customers. We had our home and vehicles insured through Wawanesa. This year I received my renewal to discover our car insurance for a 2008 and 2009 was going UP $50.00 per month. That's $600.00 a year. We have had no claims and no tickets. In fact, we both have perfect driving records. I was in shock. Now at the same time, we decided to trade in our 2009 Dodge Journey for a 2017 Dodge Durango Citadel. When I called for a quote, they wanted an additional $25.00 per month on top of the $50.00 a month it was already going up. Our fantastic broker said he thought this was atrocious and began shopping us around. Not only did he find a better rate through another company but the new rate is $3.00 a month less than the original rate (before renewal) with the new car. So instead of an extra $900.00 a year (higher renewal and new car), we are now paying $36.00 per year less with our new company. Cleary with Wawanesa customer loyalty means absolutely nothing.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Not user friendly.

 
(2.5 out of 5 stars)
by writeray Jul 14, 2018
I signed a contract with them and had to wait over 2 months for the bill to get to me. When it did, they increased the rate by 14%. Also, payment was due the day before they sent the bill.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Not happy with car insurance reviews for your insurance company? Get a quote across up to 20 Canadian car insurers and make sure that you do not pay too much.
 

Stay away !!!

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Tania Jul 13, 2018
Horrible customer service, unprofessional, misleading and lying in my request on the phone, many rude people at customer service, but Adeline D was the WORSE. Finally, I got to speak to the only gentlemen who clarified the issue, but just a person can't represent such a horrible company.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Horrible

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Kari.M Jul 07, 2018
If I could rate a zero, I would. Two double payments taken, issued two sets of pink cards with vehicles we haven't had for months. And when asked about how they were going to credit us or refund us, I was told by Alma, the Edmonton underwriter, that amending would take too long and potentially cause me more grief because they are different vehicles... which are supposed to cost me $200 less a month than what they keep taking.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Bad driving record? Your insurance rates can be double the standard insurance rate. Let us help you get the better auto insurance rate without breaking the bank.
 

Delay due to system upgrade.

 
(1.5 out of 5 stars)
by Annoyed insured. Jun 29, 2018
Had requested a change in policy back in April/18... it is now June and no changes have been done. My broker "Westland Insurance" advise me that Wawanesa is having a system upgrade... Due to the delays I cancelled the insurance beginning of June.. and guess what.. they did not cancel the policy...now they owe me 3 months worth of adjustments. Terrible service.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

I WISH I COULD GIVE LESS STARS

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by abell453 Jun 27, 2018
Terrible Claim Service!!! NOTHING has happened with our not-at-fault vehicle accident claim from 4 MONTHS AGO!! They sent an "adjuster" to take pictures of our vehicle, and they never even opened our hood to look at the most important components of our vehicle! The adjuster seems to know more about the damage to our vehicle than our mechanic who has thoroughly inspected our vehicle and found extensive damage. This is by far the WORST COMPANY I HAVE EVER DEALT WITH altogether. I cannot stand anyone that contacts us. Literally, have nothing good to say about this insurance company.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Did you know that on average Ontario drivers with good driving records pay $1,805/year in auto insurance? Is your insurance rate higher? Get a free car insurance quote and start saving today.
 

terrible and no follow up

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by injured Jun 26, 2018
I was paying a ridiculous amount for insurance and did my diligence on my coverage. Was in an unfortunate accident due to black ice and no other vehicle other than myself was involved. I was covered for full medical but they neglected to advise me on the process at the time of purchase as to what coverage would be if I hit an object. No coverage for that and I accept that as a learning curve on my part going forward when dealing with insurance companies. Wawanesa said they would contact me about my claim number for medical and assign someone to my case. That person NEVER ONCE contacted me. I called back many times and sent emails, to a point now where NO ONE is getting back to me. This company has no problem taking your money but when you are actually a good driver and you are hurt due to weather accidents with the full medical coverage, they will avoid you so they don't have to pay anything out and wait for your time to expire. NOT IMPRESSED. They are also very bitchy on the phone and in email - they have no clue what customer service is. People need to remember we are all people at the end of the day.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Incompetent

 
(1.5 out of 5 stars)
by Unsatisfied May 03, 2018
When they say that they will take out your payment on a certain date, it's never on that day. It comes out like 3 days later, which really screws with us financially. I do not recommend this insurance company.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Not happy with car insurance reviews for your insurance company? Get a quote across up to 20 Canadian car insurers and make sure that you do not pay too much.
 

Bad adjuster

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by ABCD Apr 05, 2018
The insurance is not fair.Her name is Angela B and she should not be in adjuster claim. She did not protect customer (maybe both of us have same insurance company) and did not listen or follow the report. My story - I check my back up camera and begin to reverse slowly. At the point, I notice my neighbour reverse coming outside her garage. My vehicle half of my driveway and on the street. I continue to look at my camera, I stop as she's getting closer. I hear a beep from my cars safety system. She did not slow down reversing, I honk my horn. She did not stop and processed to hit my vehicle. I get out to the car, this lady said she did not see my vehicle, she was late for school and gave me her number and said: "call later". I talk to her and she admits her fault in front of my dad. But she can afford my damage cost, she said she would like to pay me half a damage. I said no and want to let the insurance decide. After 2 weeks, insurance respond to me 50/50 fault, which makes me upset. If someone is looking for the vehicle insurance, please keep away from this company/or don't use this adjuster.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

RESENTCLAIM

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by PETER M Mar 20, 2018
I can say - The worst insurance company ever ever ever!!! When I got insurance from them and signed all papers I told them I prefer to pay more for my insurance but I want service. And what I got now after one year - 0 service, very very slow, and very poor coverage!!! My question - what I paid money for??? Definitely will change to another insurance as soon as possible!!! PLEASE STAY AWAY FROM THEM!!!
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Bad driving record? Your insurance rates can be double the standard insurance rate. Let us help you get the better auto insurance rate without breaking the bank.
 

Withheld policy 3 weeks later

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by One unhappy lady Mar 08, 2018
3 weeks ago we went to the local broker...got all set up, even was given our temporary slip. We then went and had our car plated (we just moved from another province) which we could not do until we had Alberta insurance. THREE WEEKS later we get a phone call telling us our policy is being withheld due to an outstanding balance owing to another insurance company until it is paid (we were not aware of this owing but neither here nor there in this matter... so long story shortened... we got insured (or so we thought), they allowed us to drive around not knowing that they had put our policy on hold for 3 weeks! What if we had an accident or just got pulled over??? We would be in big trouble and it would be their fault! Not impressed at all. This should have been told to us way sooner than 3 weeks. At this point, I don't understand how they can legally even do this
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Want to save on auto insurance?
10+ Insurers compared
Get a free, instant quote
Customize your policy
Wawanesa Auto Insurance
94 reviews
5 Darkstar
(3)
4 Darkstar
(7)
3 Darkstar
(8)
2 Darkstar
(7)
1 Darkstar
(69)
Most helpfull reviews