Car Insurance Reviews

Wawanesa Auto Insurance Reviews

This page has been viewed by: Please wait... consumers
(102 reviews)
Wawanesa
1.6 out of 5 stars:
Customer service:
Value for Money:
Claim experience:
Share your own experience
Write a review

Deception at its highest level

by fm on Mar 27, 2021
1 out of 5 stars

Wawanesa and it's actually "hub international" is very deceptive insurance they will go to your bank account and steal from you without notifying you. If this doesn't scare you then I don't know what would. These are thugs with a license to steal. Stay away, advise your family and friends to stay away. This is the most dishonest broker that I've ever dealt with in my life... Once you sign up with them you are in for a long miserable year with plenty of surprises. From doubling your rates by 50% without notifying you to withdraw double the monthly rate. They were charging me for 2 cars instead of 1 for years. We demand the RCMP to investigate this broker in Windsor Ontario. For fraud and unauthorized transactions and a lot more!

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo

They flush me for no reason

by Jonathan on Mar 6, 2021
1 out of 5 stars

Short story, I'm a good driver for 20 years now. No accidents in a decade. 2019, il receive a small rock on my windshield. I made a repair in a local shop, and after the repair, a huge crack appears in the windshield (straight for the repair). I need to change my windshield under a reclamation. Next year, 2020, I hurt a fire pit in a SEPAQ national park. My bumper needed a replacement (+/- 2000$). That's it, NOTHING ELSE. They refuse to renew my contract, and now I'm not insurable anymore. THANK YOU WAWANESSA

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo

Horrible Customer Service

by Shawn M on Feb 25, 2021
1 out of 5 stars

I have recently had a pretty bad experience with this company. I would strongly recommend you think twice before considering them for your insurance needs. Back in 2018, I had an accident, a minor accident in which there was no claim paid. The Wawanesa representative I dealt with was awful to deal with and was not on my side at all and would not reply to my inquiries. This individual was responsible for determining fault, as well as dealing with claims yet she didn't even understand the Alberta Traffic Act. I was shopping around for insurance quotes, upon doing so discovered they had placed an at-fault accident on my file. They did so without consulting me about it. Further, the fact that they didn't pay out the claim in this accident tells me that there wasn't enough fault to do so. My opinion is that this was placed upon my file to prevent my being able to get a better deal on my insurance elsewhere.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo

Did you know that on average Ontario drivers with good driving records pay $1,805/year in auto insurance? Is your insurance rate higher? Get a free car insurance quote and start saving today.

Bad service

by AR on Oct 21, 2020
1 out of 5 stars

I had an accident about 2 weeks ago and still I have not got my claim processed. They are finding ways to deny my claim. Bad experience

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo
Review topics

New driver again, and I'm 51

by Mike N Ike on Jun 27, 2020
2 out of 5 stars

May 2019, they said my insurance would be 675 a year, I didn't have insurance the year before cause I had to sell my car so I could survive. Insurance was over 1100 which I paid, they said it would be 675 for this year. I got an invoice, it was over 1400. I'm 51, no accidents, been driving 36 years. This is the 4th time in my life I'm a "new' driver again, this is wrong!

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo

Not bad, but too expensive..

by Wawaclaimed on Mar 15, 2020
4 out of 5 stars

I was paying 250 a month originally, someone cut me off on the road and I had ended up rear-ending them. The claim was okay, I reported it to their after-hours staff I believe, immediately and someone got back to me in a few days. My car was a write off (old 2006 vehicle). I had to reach out to them a few times and hassle them and eventually it was settled on a fair offering based on MSRP of the vehicle, and even told me they'd change it if I could find a better price (which I couldn't due to not many vehicles of the same km and features). My monthly went up to 355 thereafter. Now it has been a year and has gone up again to 418 a month. After I consult them on the changes, they give me it's-just-how-it-is explanation due to my past claim. But overall, they provided me with a rental for work, everything was pretty decent. Now I am searching for a new company that aligns with my old rate. But all the companies have similar negative reviews and people telling me to stay away...

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo
Not happy with car insurance reviews for your insurance company? Get a quote across up to 20 Canadian car insurers and make sure that you do not pay too much.

The worst of the worst

by Starbear on Feb 4, 2020
2 out of 5 stars

Don’t go near this company. Cost us thousands. Their lower rates will cost you when you claim.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo
Review topics

Horrible company!

by Cody P on Jan 30, 2020
1 out of 5 stars

I was rear-ended by a Wawanesa policyholder in October 2019, flash forward to (almost) February 2020 and I am still waiting on my settlement. They wouldn’t return a call for the longest time, due to saying “We can’t claim until our policyholder calls us back”. After they get an appraiser to look at your car, (3 months after the accident) they want to low ball you on the settlement. Now that I have agreed to a reasonable settlement they are harassing me about salvaging the car. NO SETTLEMENT CHECK - NO CAR! I can not afford to wait another three months to get the check to purchase another car. Has been by far the worst customer service I have ever dealt with. If you are in an accident with someone who has this insurance company, good luck! If you are thinking about purchasing a policy with them, go somewhere else. A very shady and rude company!

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo

Cheap for a reason I guess

by John Smith on Jan 8, 2020
1.5 out of 5 stars

Low rates, HORRIBLE service. This company is complete trash. We reported our car stolen 3 days ago and have left multiple voice mails and emails that have all gone unreturned. We should've been provided with a rental by now, but haven't even been provided with a phone call. AVOID

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo

If you have a good driving record in AB, you should pay around $110/month (women - $105/month and men - $113/month). Do you overpay? Get an Alberta car insurance quote to start saving.

Avoid Wawanesa at all coats

by Heather S on Dec 19, 2019
1 out of 5 stars

I was a customer of Wawanesa and paid my premiums including collision insurance every month on time for 18 years. I had a collision a few years back. I had an estimate completed at a body shop, Wawanesa accepted the estimate and made an agreement to pay the cost of the repairs. Following the first estimate, I experienced a very high-risk pregnancy and was on bed rest, and it ended with the death of my child. When I took my vehicle in for the second estimate the body shop called me and informed me that Wawanesa would no longer follow through and keep their own word. I called the broker who laughed at my situation and I escalated it through Wawanesa. They were quite happy, smug and proud of themselves that they no longer had to pay the claim. They were very clear that now they were no longer legally obligated that they would not follow through with payment, regardless of their word that they would. Wawanesa, you might be legally in the right, but what an absolutely abhorrent and disgusting way to treat your own customers. Wawanesa took advantage of us during the single most difficult and vulnerable time in our lives, and they are proud of it. They increased our premiums, despite not paying out the claim. Left us with a $10,000 repair bill. My recommendation would be to find an insurance company that you can rely on and put your trust into. Ask yourself if you need that kind of stress when dealing with difficult situations? If you are having any difficulty, make sure you sue them, promptly and without hesitation and please reconsider giving your business to this company.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo