Independent Auto Insurance Reviews

Wawanesa Auto Insurance Reviews

(80 reviews)
This page has been viewed by:
45,048
consumers
(1.5 out of 5 stars)
Customer Service:
Value for Money:
Claim Experience:
 

Terrible Avoid like the plague

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Clint Feb 13, 2019
Had my Truck Stolen recently. The claims process was an absolute nightmare, the adjuster felt her only role was to watch from the sidelines and deny expenses, not helping me through the process, no consultation, no helping deal with the Autobody shop, could not even reach her by phone. Always had to e-mail. My truck was gone for 3 months for repair and came back with a list of issues that I needed to "deal with through the Autobody shop" or fix myself. I was paying insurance for 2 specific reasons 1)to get me back to the place I was before the event 2)to have a helping hand when I did have an issue Instead I got a distant accountant. When I asked to dispute claims items that decided by her with no agreement or consultation with me, I was told here's our dispute mechanism- hire your own appraiser and they can fight it out with ours. Good luck making that work for you. By the way the Appraiser was also terrible, the shop evaluated that my truck needed a batch of Front end work that it did not need (have pics to prove), instead of maybe actually taking a look he just reported to the adjuster only and they agreed to disallow the work meaning no mechanical work was done at all. I got back a truck with a large list of repairs and less functionality. On top of that, I have to deal with the shop warranty process with no help. Stay away from this company!
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Not happy with car insurance reviews for your insurance company? Get a quote across up to 20 Canadian car insurers and make sure that you do not pay too much.
 

Downhill Slide

 
(2.0 out of 5 stars)
by Fed up in Gatineau Feb 04, 2019
I have been with Wawanesa for years. On the recommendation of their agents, I filed 3 claims and asked them about one incident where I did not make a claim. Last year they sent a letter telling me they didn't want me as a client for Auto anymore! So in future do not speak to an agent unless you really want to file a claim. Then this year they have gone to a broker system. I called to get a reason for my premium jump. After being transferred 3 times I was told and I quote "to save money" but I am the one who got charged a 35$ broker fee and they raised my monthly premium by 35$ - why? "Well, Wawanesa decided that that was the rate they wanted to charge" - no real explanation. So needless to say I will be looking for a new insurance company this year.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Terrible Customer Service

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by JS Jan 24, 2019
I submitted a claim that night when I was involved in a collision. It was the other's party mistake. He admitted it but he just gave me his business card and asked me to call him. So I called the 24/7 claim line and everything went fine, she asked me to call the next day to notify them if I am able to drive to an auto body shop. So I called the local Edmonton phone line for claims and then the lady answered the call, I just called to notify them that I am ready to go for a free estimate but this lady was very RUDE very very RUDE. Instead of asking me how am I, after saying that I went to a hospital because of a stiffed neck and my back hurts, she just kept asking me what is my speed at that time? Seriously? I already submitted a claim and already told them what happened and she is keeping asking me about what happened and my speed? THIS IS A VERY BIG MISTAKE PAYING THIS COMPANY. I wish them removed from this industry. Very rude people and the only thing they know is to collect money from you. If I can give a negative star, I will!
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Bad driving record? Your insurance rates can be double the standard insurance rate. Let us help you get the better auto insurance rate without breaking the bank.
 

0 star

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by mathewo Nov 25, 2018
Please avoid this scam company at any cost. I am a driver with 24 years without any claim and was with Wawanesa for last seven years. I had a minor issue at a parking lot 2 years before with no claim. I opened the door and just touched the car next to me. The other car driver was inside and she was an insurance broker. She reported that to my insurance company and they recorded as at fault no claim and reduced my star rating to 1. The next year renewal time my rate jumped to 45 dollars per month and 50 dollars this year. What a SCAM
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

WAWANESA IS A FRAUD !!!!!

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by M.Q Sep 10, 2018
I have had full insurance with them the whole time. And when my car was hit and run, they didn't even give me a rental car. They refused to cover me and constantly tried to find ways to not cover me. They kept saying we need a full report. I'm still confused because my car is fully insured, so why do they need any report because if I'm at fault or not, they are still supposed to cover me and yet they didn't. This should be a WARNING to EVERYONE not to insure anything with WAWANESA because they are FRAUD and they will do you no good. They are crooks who will screw you over when the time comes to pay you. If you don't believe me, then read all the other comments. BE SMART PPL.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Did you know that on average Ontario drivers with good driving records pay $1,805/year in auto insurance? Is your insurance rate higher? Get a free car insurance quote and start saving today.
 

Horrible insurance

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Chantale Aug 31, 2018
Horrible service. Horrible prices. All in all...horrible insurance company who does not care about their clients.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

I was a loyal customer

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by theresa Aug 20, 2018
For 14 years we were loyal customers. We had our home and vehicles insured through Wawanesa. This year I received my renewal to discover our car insurance for a 2008 and 2009 was going UP $50.00 per month. That's $600.00 a year. We have had no claims and no tickets. In fact, we both have perfect driving records. I was in shock. Now at the same time, we decided to trade in our 2009 Dodge Journey for a 2017 Dodge Durango Citadel. When I called for a quote, they wanted an additional $25.00 per month on top of the $50.00 a month it was already going up. Our fantastic broker said he thought this was atrocious and began shopping us around. Not only did he find a better rate through another company but the new rate is $3.00 a month less than the original rate (before renewal) with the new car. So instead of an extra $900.00 a year (higher renewal and new car), we are now paying $36.00 per year less with our new company. Cleary with Wawanesa customer loyalty means absolutely nothing.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
If you have a good driving record in AB, you should pay around $110/month (women - $105/month and men - $113/month). Do you overpay? Get an Alberta car insurance quote to start saving.
 

Not user friendly.

 
(2.5 out of 5 stars)
by writeray Jul 14, 2018
I signed a contract with them and had to wait over 2 months for the bill to get to me. When it did, they increased the rate by 14%. Also, payment was due the day before they sent the bill.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Stay away !!!

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Tania Jul 13, 2018
Horrible customer service, unprofessional, misleading and lying in my request on the phone, many rude people at customer service, but Adeline D was the WORSE. Finally, I got to speak to the only gentlemen who clarified the issue, but just a person can't represent such a horrible company.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Did you know that on average Ontario drivers with good driving records pay $1,805/year in auto insurance? Is your insurance rate higher? Get a free car insurance quote and start saving today.
 

Horrible

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Kari.M Jul 07, 2018
If I could rate a zero, I would. Two double payments taken, issued two sets of pink cards with vehicles we haven't had for months. And when asked about how they were going to credit us or refund us, I was told by Alma, the Edmonton underwriter, that amending would take too long and potentially cause me more grief because they are different vehicles... which are supposed to cost me $200 less a month than what they keep taking.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Delay due to system upgrade.

 
(1.5 out of 5 stars)
by Annoyed insured. Jun 29, 2018
Had requested a change in policy back in April/18... it is now June and no changes have been done. My broker "Westland Insurance" advise me that Wawanesa is having a system upgrade... Due to the delays I cancelled the insurance beginning of June.. and guess what.. they did not cancel the policy...now they owe me 3 months worth of adjustments. Terrible service.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Not happy with car insurance reviews for your insurance company? Get a quote across up to 20 Canadian car insurers and make sure that you do not pay too much.
 

I WISH I COULD GIVE LESS STARS

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by abell453 Jun 27, 2018
Terrible Claim Service!!! NOTHING has happened with our not-at-fault vehicle accident claim from 4 MONTHS AGO!! They sent an "adjuster" to take pictures of our vehicle, and they never even opened our hood to look at the most important components of our vehicle! The adjuster seems to know more about the damage to our vehicle than our mechanic who has thoroughly inspected our vehicle and found extensive damage. This is by far the WORST COMPANY I HAVE EVER DEALT WITH altogether. I cannot stand anyone that contacts us. Literally, have nothing good to say about this insurance company.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

terrible and no follow up

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by injured Jun 26, 2018
I was paying a ridiculous amount for insurance and did my diligence on my coverage. Was in an unfortunate accident due to black ice and no other vehicle other than myself was involved. I was covered for full medical but they neglected to advise me on the process at the time of purchase as to what coverage would be if I hit an object. No coverage for that and I accept that as a learning curve on my part going forward when dealing with insurance companies. Wawanesa said they would contact me about my claim number for medical and assign someone to my case. That person NEVER ONCE contacted me. I called back many times and sent emails, to a point now where NO ONE is getting back to me. This company has no problem taking your money but when you are actually a good driver and you are hurt due to weather accidents with the full medical coverage, they will avoid you so they don't have to pay anything out and wait for your time to expire. NOT IMPRESSED. They are also very bitchy on the phone and in email - they have no clue what customer service is. People need to remember we are all people at the end of the day.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Bad driving record? Your insurance rates can be double the standard insurance rate. Let us help you get the better auto insurance rate without breaking the bank.
 

Incompetent

 
(1.5 out of 5 stars)
by Unsatisfied May 03, 2018
When they say that they will take out your payment on a certain date, it's never on that day. It comes out like 3 days later, which really screws with us financially. I do not recommend this insurance company.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Bad adjuster

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by ABCD Apr 05, 2018
The insurance is not fair.Her name is Angela B and she should not be in adjuster claim. She did not protect customer (maybe both of us have same insurance company) and did not listen or follow the report. My story - I check my back up camera and begin to reverse slowly. At the point, I notice my neighbour reverse coming outside her garage. My vehicle half of my driveway and on the street. I continue to look at my camera, I stop as she's getting closer. I hear a beep from my cars safety system. She did not slow down reversing, I honk my horn. She did not stop and processed to hit my vehicle. I get out to the car, this lady said she did not see my vehicle, she was late for school and gave me her number and said: "call later". I talk to her and she admits her fault in front of my dad. But she can afford my damage cost, she said she would like to pay me half a damage. I said no and want to let the insurance decide. After 2 weeks, insurance respond to me 50/50 fault, which makes me upset. If someone is looking for the vehicle insurance, please keep away from this company/or don't use this adjuster.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Not happy with car insurance reviews for your insurance company? Get a quote across up to 20 Canadian car insurers and make sure that you do not pay too much.
 

RESENTCLAIM

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by PETER M Mar 20, 2018
I can say - The worst insurance company ever ever ever!!! When I got insurance from them and signed all papers I told them I prefer to pay more for my insurance but I want service. And what I got now after one year - 0 service, very very slow, and very poor coverage!!! My question - what I paid money for??? Definitely will change to another insurance as soon as possible!!! PLEASE STAY AWAY FROM THEM!!!
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Withheld policy 3 weeks later

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by One unhappy lady Mar 08, 2018
3 weeks ago we went to the local broker...got all set up, even was given our temporary slip. We then went and had our car plated (we just moved from another province) which we could not do until we had Alberta insurance. THREE WEEKS later we get a phone call telling us our policy is being withheld due to an outstanding balance owing to another insurance company until it is paid (we were not aware of this owing but neither here nor there in this matter... so long story shortened... we got insured (or so we thought), they allowed us to drive around not knowing that they had put our policy on hold for 3 weeks! What if we had an accident or just got pulled over??? We would be in big trouble and it would be their fault! Not impressed at all. This should have been told to us way sooner than 3 weeks. At this point, I don't understand how they can legally even do this
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
If you have a good driving record in AB, you should pay around $110/month (women - $105/month and men - $113/month). Do you overpay? Get an Alberta car insurance quote to start saving.
 

Avoid this company

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Sickofwawanesa Feb 01, 2018
Avoid this company if you have another option. Both claims I made were real fights to get any service. Took well over a month for them to even start the process and when they did they valued the vehicle at exactly half of what VMR and Blackbook valued it. They tried everything to get out of paying and claim they value was less because the seats are dirty and it needed cleaning. Well after hitting and approach and landing hard everything was dusty. I will find another company and recommend everyone to do the same.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

No equal rights

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Ken Dec 31, 2017
On Friday 29th December 2017, at 12: 30, I discovered that the front bumper of my Mercedes Benz ml500 vehicle was badly damaged and the radiator antifreeze fluid was leaking, while it was safely parked on the roadway on West Broadway, H4V,2Z5, Montreal, Q.C. Immediately I was told by a neighbour who witnessed the accident/hit and go, that it was done by a Canada Poste van. On my windscreen, I saw a Canada poste business card with information and contact numbers. I immediately called and contacted my insurance Wawanesa for advice on my next step. I then contacted Canada Poste and the Supervisor acknowledged the report of the accident, and she asked me to come at the poste for all the information, including the driver, pertaining to the accident, which I did. At about 15:05 hrs I went to the Wawanesa office at 8585 bouls Decarie, Montreal. Q.C to file a claim. The person opening the claim did not even told me her name, but started. When she was finished taking down all the information she needed, I asked her if I am entitled to a replacement/rental since I have to go get my kids from daycare and do my other personal stuff using a vehicle since that I am not responsible, nor liable for the accident, and he replied, NO, 1. BECAUSE THE POLICY IS CHANGED. I disputed it because over a year ago, I had a similar accident when I was not responsible and under the same policy, within less than an hour, I was provided with a rental. I then requested to speak to a supervisor, at this time I called Wawanesa, and I was advised that I was entitled since the car is not operable and I am not responsible.She came back and told me that the supervisor said 2. IF I NEED A RENTAL I MUST GO GET A CREDIT CARD AND RENT THE VEHICLE MYSELF. I request again to speak to the supervisor. Minutes later a lady came and said: "Can I help u?" She continued to say, 3. WHATEVER THE CLAIMS AGENT SAID TO ME BEFORE IT IS THE SAME THING SHE WILL SAY TO ME. She did not even told me her name too but added that 4. the accident is not investigated as yet 'cause the inspector has to come on next Tuesday or Wednesday 2nd or 3rd, January 2018 to inspect and evaluate the damages. So I asked her who is really lying, and what will happen to my kids and myself from doing my daily stuff without the usage of my car. She now told me that 5. ALL THE CAR RENTALS ARE CLOSED. She then told me 6. TO LEAVE THE BUILDING, SINCE OUR BUSINESS WITH ME IS DONE, WHILE STANDING NEXT TO A MUSCULAR WHITE MALE. So, to avoid any further physical action being forced on me I pick up my documents to leave. The supervisor said to me 7.TO TAKE A TAXI OR A CAB. I said to myself that I was treated like this just because I was a Black man.I will take this matter as far as it can go, for the world to know that Racism is at every level and the sickness of it needs to be rotted out.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Did you know that on average Ontario drivers with good driving records pay $1,805/year in auto insurance? Is your insurance rate higher? Get a free car insurance quote and start saving today.
 

NIGHTMARE AUTO CLAIM

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Insurancegirl95 Sep 19, 2017
I've attempted to open two claims here and was mortified with the experience. The first one, I was side swiped while in the right lane on the highway, by someone who was in the passing lane trying to get in who failed to check her blindspots. I exchanged info and reported to my broker right away. The lady told the story that I was getting over and hit her. Nearly impossible as it was merging so her lane HAD to get in. A field adjuster went to see the location and came back with it being 50/50 since the stories conflicted. I was so confused how they were calling this 50/50 when her lane was ending and she was merging into mine. Not to mention she was elderly. They wouldn't even take statements from my passengers since "they aren't witnesses." I work in insurance and we always take statements from all passengers. Really skepctial of their claims process. I withdrew the claim as I refused to agree on 50/50, and she ended up doing the same. I was also involved in a single vehicle accident this fall where I hydroplaned while driving in a hail storm. After reporting to my broker, she advised me not to submit a claim since they would likely jack my premiums up and it would cost me more in the end. Like I said, I'm in insurance, I see total loss accidents happen all the time. It always bugs me not knowing what they would'ved appraised my car at ACV. I ended up settling for selling it as is on Kijiji and losing a ton of money, I'm sure. Needless to say, I'll be switching companies after my renewal in Novemeber. This forum just reassured me how awful Wawanesa truly is.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Horrible Customer Service

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Disappointing customer Jul 21, 2017
We had the worst experience with Wawanessa due to the agent who was handling the claim. Her name is Sue and she should not be in customer service. Claim was not at fault, the other party's insurance should cover all the costs so we would expect that for the services we are paying, the agent would get on the job and make the arrangements. Sue failed to do so, my husband missed work because the rental wasn't arranged, we ended up taking the car in to the nearest shop and ended up paying for HST. No one explained how this works, what happens if...we felt like hiring a lawyer to have him/her work for the other party using our money. We are looking for another company. Company should provide customer service courses for agents like Sue...but from what I am reading about the company...I don't think anyone cares...
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
If you have a good driving record in AB, you should pay around $110/month (women - $105/month and men - $113/month). Do you overpay? Get an Alberta car insurance quote to start saving.
 

16 yrs great experience

 
(4.5 out of 5 stars)
by jesa Apr 25, 2017
Over the past 16 years I've had my auto insurance with Wawanesa. I've had two hail claims and two accident claims in this time. I've always been treated with fairness and the rate I pay is better than anywhere else I've ever looked into.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

What's wrong with you?

 
(3.0 out of 5 stars)
by P. Lee Apr 20, 2017
For over a month now, I have been trying to add my newly leased car onto my policy with wawanesa.com. First, my wife called and was on hold for over an hour and no one ever came to the phone. Then, when I did the policy change online by adding the new vehicle and deleting the old vehicle. A week later, I got a letter from Wawanesa which states I had tried to add a vehicle but it was removed because there is no policy for that vehicle. Duh!!! Why do I need to add it if the vehicle already has policy?! Last weekend (4/14/2017) tried to add online again and today on 4/20/2017 I am still seeing my old car on the policy with no new car added. What the heck is wrong with you people? You used to be a great company. Now I can't even get in touch with you.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Not happy with car insurance reviews for your insurance company? Get a quote across up to 20 Canadian car insurers and make sure that you do not pay too much.
 

Liars

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Disappointed Apr 17, 2017
This company is THE worst. Not extensive but I discovered why after a reclamation they do their best to avoid to pay, they will lie to you on the phone. Don't ask for a manager, same thing... And I put 1 star 'cause I wasn't able to put 0
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

TERRIBLE CUSTOMER SERVICE

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Tituana Apr 04, 2017
Awful customer service! Right from the start speaking with my customer service rep has been such a hassle. I called to inquire about adding another vehicle to my policy, she gave me one quote and then finalized it, to tell me later, after my daughter was added, that it will be more expensive... Calling numerous times, not being able to get any answers, always around the bush... Very frustrating, I don't understand the kind of customer service that is being provided.. I found another company and I will not be ever using their services. Ever.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Bad driving record? Your insurance rates can be double the standard insurance rate. Let us help you get the better auto insurance rate without breaking the bank.
 

WORST COMPANY

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by PETE001 Mar 21, 2017
This company is the worst insurance company, do not get Wawanesa. Johanne M, Christy, and the senior manager lied and deceived me into releasing my car and did not provide promised service. This is a bad company, the adjusters are liars. They took my car and sold it at auction because they did not want to repair it. If anyone wants a proof, I have it. Do not get insurance from Wawanesa, they are fraudulent and liars. The people who work at Wawanesa are dishonest and have no humanity.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Auto Claim Nightmare

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Linda Mar 12, 2017
Terrible company. 30 years and only 2 claims. 10 years ago Wawanesa stuffed me with 100 % fault for a lane change I was making where another driver ran a red light on a left hand turn and drove right into me. And i had a witness - a Canpar courrier stopped and gave me his card because he saw it happen. Wawanesa didnt ever bother to contact him! Then terrible treatment last December. I was rear ended while I was stopped at a red light. No fault right? Wrong. Throughout the claim I had the sinking feeling that Wawanesa and the adjuster Nicole in Grande Prairie - not even in my same City - were working on behalf of the other drivers insurance company. I am 1000.00 out of pocket! I am definitely leaving them after reading reviews posted here. Run people Run from theses people.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
If you have a good driving record in AB, you should pay around $110/month (women - $105/month and men - $113/month). Do you overpay? Get an Alberta car insurance quote to start saving.
 

service soso price on the rise

 
(2.5 out of 5 stars)
by phil514e Feb 20, 2017
i had a claim 2 1/2 years ago they did not cover the towing of my car to the garage I got a rental car for a while (my deposit I only got it back 3 months later after all the calls an complaints) after that my insurance rate keeps going up. When I called to find out why, the agent was told me about cars in the area being at risk and I should moved... I moved I save 70$ the 1st year... after that it just keeps going up... the rate was low at 1st but then got a little too crazy... I found a better deal with dejardins
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Horrible claim experience

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by disgruntleddriver Feb 07, 2017
I was going to hold off on writing a bad review, but after yesterday's experience I have had enough. I was in an accident a few months ago where I was making a right hand turn and was hit by someone who switched lanes in the intersection. Right from the start I experienced awful and callous customer service. My adjuster told me in our initial call that I was probably at fault; this was before she even looked into my case. I was never given any information on how to get a rental car while my car was in the shop. After a week of her ignoring my phone calls and emails, I called her supervisor to complain. He was surprised that I hadn't received a rental car and promptly ordered me one (though that wasn't supposed to be his job). About a month after the accident I got my car back. However, the body shop or the appraiser hadn't done their due diligence and I found out the hard way that my radiator was broken and had not been assessed and fixed properly. So back to the shop it went. At the time, the shop told me it should have been a write off. Fast forward a few months and the transmission line popped off, leaving me stranded in a parking lot. The body shop again said the car should have been a write off but paid to have the problem fixed. Yesterday my car died AGAIN, and I think it's due to the transmission damage caused by all the fluid leaking at once. I now have a car that is not driveable in the middle of a cold snap. It's so fun walking to the bus stop. I should mention that I never heard from Wawanesa after they approved the initial repair on my car. I had to find out from a broker at State Farm that I was declared 100 percent at fault for the accident. A loyal customer for 10 years, with this being my first ever claim, and this is how I was treated. Do yourself a favor and stay far, far away from Wawanesa. The money you save on your monthly insurance will all be spent on keeping your car on the road after you make a claim with them!
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Not happy with car insurance reviews for your insurance company? Get a quote across up to 20 Canadian car insurers and make sure that you do not pay too much.
 

Rude! No respect!

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Tifanny yap Jan 27, 2017
The costumer service iz very awful! No respect and rude!! They don't care about their costumers! they only care is MONEY!!
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Want to save on auto insurance?
10+ Insurers compared
Get a free, instant quote
Customize your policy
Wawanesa Auto Insurance
80 reviews
5 Darkstar
(2)
4 Darkstar
(7)
3 Darkstar
(6)
2 Darkstar
(5)
1 Darkstar
(60)
Most helpfull reviews