Credit Card Reviews

RBC Avion VISA Infinite Privilege Consumer Reviews

This page has been viewed by: Please wait... consumers
(29 reviews)
RBC Avion VISA Infinite Privilege
3 out of 5 stars:
Customer service:
Value for Money:
Product Features experience:
Share your own experience
Write a review

Charged for a flight - Never received a ticket (or refund)

by Infinite01 on Dec 16, 2022
1.3 out of 5 stars

Customer service at RBC/Avion Rewards is virtually non-existent, and to make matters worse they do not seem to have ANY communications with RBC Banking. I purchased a flight from Vancouver to Toronto for a business trip. It was only while I was away traveling that I realized I did not have any itinerary # or confirmation for the flight I had purchased via Avion Rewards weeks earlier. I immediately checked my Visa statement to confirm that there was indeed a charge for $640.00 from RBC Rewards Travel.

At this point, I have spent upwards of 7 hours of my time (mostly on hold) between RBC Avion Rewards and RBC Banking. The ONLY solution that has been posed was to email rbccustomerrelations@rbcrewards.com - everyone I spoke to on the phone provided no help, there were no notes left on the account causing me to explain the issue repeatedly, and after all is said and done the only option is to send an email. Having sent the email, I received no confirmation of receipt, and it has now been over 5 days without any response. This matter was brought to RBC's attention over 3 weeks ago, and I still have no idea how I am going to get a refund for the $640 I spent on this flight. It's borderline fraud, and despicable service coming from Canada's largest bank.

What to do? File a complaint with the FCAC? All I know is I will be moving every bit of banking I have with RBC elsewhere.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo

Wait times to change flight

by Robyn on Jul 30, 2021
1 out of 5 stars

I have been waiting on the phone now for 4 hours to talk to an agent to change my flight. If I could do so with the airline I would. This service is abysmal.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo
Review topics

SERVICE WHAT A JOKE

by Madcustomer on Jul 12, 2021
2 out of 5 stars

I have been trying to speak to an agent at RBC Rewards Travel for 2 days now started yesterday at 4 pm by 10 pm I knew that no one was going to answer the call because
they went home at 9 pm. I started this morning at 9 am and it is 618pm and I am still on hold and probably will not speak to anyone tonight. I will have to keep trying for days.
I can't believe how the agents are not able to answer calls in a timely manner!!!!
This is ridiculous and very frustrating!!! We pay for a service that we can't even get good customer service... I booked a flight and all I want to do is cancel and get my money back and it is not happening that easy... This is so frustrating!!!
What kind of business is this???
Very bad customer service!

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo

Scotiabank® Gold American Express® Card

Scotiabank® Gold American Express® Card

Earn up to 40,000 bonus Scotia Rewards points in your first year (that's up to $400 towards travel). What else will you get:

 

  • Earn 5 Scotia Rewards points for every $1 you spend at eligible grocery stores, dining and entertainment
  • Earn 3 Scotia Rewards points for every $1 you spend at eligible gas stations, daily transit, and select streaming services
  • Earn 1 point for every $1 you spend on all other eligible everyday purchases
  • Complimentary Concierge Services 24/7
  • Comprehensive Travel Insurance coverage with 25 days of travel medical insurance for eligible persons under age 65

Get this card / Apply online

Very weak privilege benefits

by JCn on Sep 7, 2020
2.5 out of 5 stars

I booked a luxury hotel through the Visa Luxury Hotel collection, which should have VIP status, upgrades and some cash discounts on food and beverage. However, not only there is no VIP nor upgrades for my room, but I was treated as other customers and had to wait over 30 mins for the room to be available at 5 pm. (I arrived at 4 pm). I do not feel any "privilege status" during my stay. I tried to book a family trip using RBC rewards apps, but it says the dates I have chosen were unavailable. But I know rooms were available since I've tried to book through the hotel's official site. I then turned to the Infinite Privilege Concierge for help, after speaking to the representative over 30 mins to provide EVERY INFO, then the representative says she needs to transfer me to the RBC Reward hotline to better help my situation. After another 30 mins call again with the representative providing again EVERY INFO (AGAIN!), she said a fee will be charged if I make any booking over the phone. I explained my frustration and hung up at that point.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo

Insurance Disability

by Kam on Jul 13, 2020
1 out of 5 stars

The process is still under review for over five months. Have the same experience with another bank which took about three weeks and done! Every single time you call (let's say twice per week, seems I found a new part-time job!), they have no clue, unprofessional. They don't take any initiative to smooth your case. There is no supervisor you could talk to. They say they will call you which never do. IT IS FRAUD!

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo

Excellent Value +

by Tojoso on Mar 14, 2020
5 out of 5 stars

I've never had any delays in contacting any division when making contact and thoroughly enjoy the benefits of this RBC/Visa pairing.
From the points benefit all the way up to airport lounge access, this card is a win.
I will add, on two occasions I was contacted directly by their security department to validate odd purchases being made. This was greatly appreciated in both the consideration of my and their protection.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo

Scotiabank® Gold American Express® Card

Scotiabank® Gold American Express® Card

Earn up to 40,000 bonus Scotia Rewards points in your first year (that's up to $400 towards travel). Earn 5 Scotia Rewards points for every $1 you spend at eligible grocery stores, dining and entertainment 

Get this card / Apply online

Good for traveller oversea

by SK on Dec 2, 2019
5 out of 5 stars

I had had an Avion visa infinite privilege for many years. If you travel oversea every year, this card is worth the money because it comes with medical insurance and travel insurance lounge access.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo
Review topics

Poor customer service

by ovsa on Nov 20, 2019
1.5 out of 5 stars

I have been waiting a month to be reimbursed by RBC for a ticket I purchased using the credit-point option. Was told initially 5 to 7 working days. They do not respond to any email inquiries. And keep getting the run around from the phone representatives. Never again will I use RBC Avion nor do I recommend it to anyone.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo

No service

by Sheila on Aug 27, 2019
1.5 out of 5 stars

Try and phone in to report a breach of card security. On hold 3 times for over 5 hours. Get a CALL BACK OPTION.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo

Scotia Momentum Visa Infinite Card

Scotia Momentum Visa Infinite Card

Earn 10% cash back on all purchases for the first 3 months (up to $2,000 in total purchases). Plus, no annual fee in the first year, including on supplementary cards. A welcome offer value of $350. 

Get this card / Apply online

Good for premium travellers

by Kar on Jul 29, 2019
5 out of 5 stars

Two things I like about this card - that I can access the fast lane at certain airports, and - you get 1/2 price for non-economy seats. I always save my points and use them to buy business seats when I travel.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo
Review topics