Credit Card Reviews

Capital One Platinum Costco MASTERCARD Consumer Reviews

This page has been viewed by: Please wait... consumers
(190 reviews)
Capital One Platinum Costco MASTERCARD
1.4 out of 5 stars:
Customer service:
Value for Money:
Product Features experience:
Share your own experience
Write a review

This is a shame

by Coranne on Oct 14, 2022
3 out of 5 stars

So in order to get anywhere with this product, you have to go to the CIBC bank and get a picture, and open an account. Even though I explained that I have two bank accounts with two other banks and do not wish to have a third bank account they still said I needed to do this in order to have any further dealings with this credit card... Liars and thieves.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo
Review topics

Premature expiry of card

by Upset with CIBC on Oct 10, 2022
1 out of 5 stars

My new Costco CIBC card has an expiry date of 04/27. However, I discovered today that as CIBC issued my card "in a rush" they cancelled it and I have to await a new card being sent out at which time I have to redo all of my set up including bills I want to pay automatically. 45 minutes on the phone with customer service resulted in a few apologies but they can't just automatically reset our card. I'm absolutely disgusted with this whole process and with CIBC. Hoping we will be recompensed for time on the phone and all pending transactions.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo
Review topics

MEDIOCRE CARD AND LIMIT

by PEBS88888 on Aug 20, 2022
2 out of 5 stars

The year I got this card. I had earned $181k. They gave me a credit limit of $4500. Every last card I had was $10k-40k cards. Yet I only asked for $10k minimum. So that I can keep my utilization low. My typical spend at Costco is $550-800 for a Costco run. And online can usually be $1k items.

I have an 836 score STEADY that doesn’t go up. Or down. As my monthly spending is really steady and I pay cards all on the 18TH of every month for all bills.

Anyways. They said to have it a year and then ask. That was 2018 to now. Yep. In recent 2021 I asked again. Still NOPE.

Then Costco decided to do something amazing. They switch to CIBC. For those of you who hate CIBC. I can say this: CIBC TOOK MY COSTCO CREDIT CARD OUT OF THE CAVEMAN ERA as I don’t know how many times I’ve asked Capital One to please accept Apple Pay. Who even carries cards anymore???

The first thing I did. Was activate Apple Pay. The second thing? I asked CIBC for a limit increase of $1500 and was instantly approved. Seriously? You are begging for years. For a few k increase on a card you’ve had for years….. makes you wonder. Where capital one’s priorities are.

Every time you ask them. They will say. USE IT MORE AND WE WILL RAISE THE LIMIT…. HOW ABOUT YOU RAISE IT THEN I WILL USE IT MORE?? I’m not ruining my credit score. By impacting my utilization score. What a joke. My utilization on $141k of credit card limits. Is 1-3%! I don’t play the 30-35% game.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo
Review topics

Scotia Momentum VISA Infinite Card

Scotia Momentum VISA Infinite Card

Earn 10% cash back on all purchases for the first 3 months (up to $2,000 in total purchases). Plus, no annual fee in the first year, including on supplementary cards. A welcome offer value of $350. What else will you get:

 

  • 4% on eligible recurring bill payments and grocery store purchases
  • 2% on eligible gas station and daily transit purchases
  • 1% cash back on all other eligible everyday purchases
  • Complimentary Concierge Services 24/7 Visa Infinite Dining Series Visa Infinite Music Series Wine Country Wonders Luxury Hotel Privileges
  • Comprehensive Travel Insurance & New Mobile Device Insurance coverage

Get this card / Apply online

Terrible service

by Joe M on May 19, 2022
1 out of 5 stars

We have been with Costco since 1996 and we are fed up with this new card "CIBC MasterCard", in fact, because of this card we are considering terminating our membership with Costco. Why Costco is not looking after their merchandise and letting their customers use the card of their choice? Capital One was great, why switch? Twice my card was denied at the gas pump, I contacted CIBC and waited in line for 1.5 hours and no one answered the phone. We are set up to withdraw our monthly invoice directly from our bank. What's CIBC? Costco! Please, get rid of this card, their service is terrible.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo

Worst credit card to have

by Alexandrine kelley on May 2, 2022
2.5 out of 5 stars

Thank you, Costco for changing your credit card from Capital One to CIBC. I have been trying to get my statements from January for 2 months now! I can’t get a hold of customer service for less than 2 hours waiting on the phone and no one is able to help me!
Today I decided to try again and I’m at 3 hours and 20 minutes waiting so far!!!!
I was trying to save paper by doing online banking but now we can’t access our accounts.
This is so wrong!

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo

So glad CIBC took over, great call Costco

by Gary on Mar 26, 2022
1.3 out of 5 stars

After one invoice and without prompting, CIBC increased my credit level by 50%. They must have noted a payment was made before a statement was even issued. I've had to do this so I would not go over the ridiculously low level set by Citibank. It's still not at the higher level that I want it to be, but what a relief after a year of Citibank doing nothing on this...

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo
Review topics

Scotia Momentum Visa Infinite Card

Scotia Momentum Visa Infinite Card

Earn 10% cash back on all purchases for the first 3 months (up to $2,000 in total purchases). Plus, no annual fee in the first year, including on supplementary cards. A welcome offer value of $350. 

Get this card / Apply online

Card paused?

by Ken on Mar 4, 2022
1.5 out of 5 stars

I unknowingly had my Capital One credit card "paused". My card is always up to date, and have never made a late payment. However since my address is a PO Box, they decided after years of mailing my bill, to pause my credit card. Everyone knows how I found out! Apparently, they require a physical address. After spending 45 minutes on the phone they were unable to rectify the issue and told me that someone would contact me soon to have this resolved... Still waiting.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo

Credit limit is an insult!

by Gary W on Nov 27, 2021
2.5 out of 5 stars

I'm in the top 10% when it comes to my credit rating and my other credit cards have limits up to 10 times over the $2,000 that Citibank established. I've had the card for about 11 months now, use it for everything and the limit has remained the same. When I phoned to increase the limit I was told "they" could not do it and it was up to Citibank. It was explained that after several months they normally offer a credit limit increase. NOT! On average, I paid several times between statement dates to keep below their limit. What a pain trying to keep track. I like the card benefits so looking forward to Costco changing to another bank. Citibank's poor service and lack of attention to customer need warrants it.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo
Review topics

Cash back reward

by Kadiatu Conteh on Nov 26, 2021
1 out of 5 stars

I am so disappointed with the Costco Capital One credit card. They claim to send me my cashback money but I didn’t receive it and they refused to reimburse me because they said it was EXPIRED. This is the biggest scam I have ever seen from a huge company like them and I will NEVER again use their card or do business with anything that carried their name.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo
Review topics

Scotiabank® Gold American Express® Card

Scotiabank® Gold American Express® Card

Earn up to 40,000 bonus Scotia Rewards points in your first year (that's up to $400 towards travel). Earn 5 Scotia Rewards points for every $1 you spend at eligible grocery stores, dining and entertainment 

Get this card / Apply online

Terrible Customer Service

by Caleb on Nov 25, 2021
1 out of 5 stars

I called to request a credit increase as I intended to make a large purchase (book a vacation). Got an automated system that said there were no offers at this time and calling a live person would not help. Anyway, I called a live representative to request how I could request an increase or what the process was. I was told I had to wait for an automated offer. I asked if there was any way for me to make this purchase and was told maybe I should use my visa. For your information, I have zero credit issues, my limit request would not be a concern.
I guess now we know what Capital One will no longer be the credit card company for Costco in Canada.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo
Review topics