Credit Card Reviews

Capital One Platinum Costco MASTERCARD Consumer Reviews

This page has been viewed by: Please wait... consumers
(190 reviews)
Capital One Platinum Costco MASTERCARD
1.4 out of 5 stars:
Customer service:
Value for Money:
Product Features experience:
Share your own experience
Write a review

Cash back reward

by Kadiatu Conteh on Nov 26, 2021
1 out of 5 stars

I am so disappointed with the Costco Capital One credit card. They claim to send me my cashback money but I didn’t receive it and they refused to reimburse me because they said it was EXPIRED. This is the biggest scam I have ever seen from a huge company like them and I will NEVER again use their card or do business with anything that carried their name.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo
Review topics

Rip off! Be careful!

by Sparkle on Oct 4, 2021
1 out of 5 stars

I was not an executive Costco member so I just signed up for a Capital One Costco card to get the cashback on the Capital One Mastercard. 1.5 years down the line I cancelled my Costco membership and hence had to close CapitalOne Mastercard and I was read a disclosure that says that I have to give up all my cashback reward money and close the account. Meaning all that cashback I earned overtime was for nothing! I got zero money through 1.5 years of accumulated cashback. I feel cheated. Pls, be aware of this.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo

Unfair policy

by Lyn on Oct 28, 2020
1 out of 5 stars

They forfeit my cashback rewards accumulated almost a year cause I decided to not renew my Costco membership that expired near the end of the year. It will not be forfeited only if it expired after their January voucher issue date. This policy is unfair as there is no point using their card for purchases if Costco membership will expire before they issue the cashback and I decide to not renew anymore. I could be better off with other cashback credit cards than this. Disappointed with this policy and customer service.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo

Scotiabank® Gold American Express® Card

Scotiabank® Gold American Express® Card

Earn up to 40,000 bonus Scotia Rewards points in your first year (that's up to $400 towards travel). Earn 5 Scotia Rewards points for every $1 you spend at eligible grocery stores, dining and entertainment 

Get this card / Apply online

Delays, Fees, Poor Service

by runwild on Jan 29, 2020
1.5 out of 5 stars

Limit on this card is typically low and getting a limit increase is difficult. They charge $29 over-limit fees and will not provide an option for just declining over-limit charges. Waiting almost 3 weeks for my Costco Mastercard cashback cheque so far, which they no longer send out with statements. They selectively issue these rebates digitally now, but didn't/wouldn't for me, even though I asked after two hours with customer service was given three wildly different days about when my cheque mailed out. The only options for support are chat and phone (mostly overseas call centers) - no email option! Spend well over $100K per year on this card so my cashback is 4-figures, but probably not as much as it would be if I used a different card. It might be time to switch...

0 of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo
Review topics

Horrible Policies

by Ashley on Jan 11, 2020
1 out of 5 stars

This is the worst credit card I have ever had. They freeze your card after a short time of an overdue payment. I was less than one week late on a payment because I was stuck in another country while travelling and couldn't access my online banking in a foreign country and they froze my card. When I called to cancel my card, they forfeited all of my Costco cashback rewards.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo
Review topics

Cancelled account, No remedy.

by fb on Sep 11, 2019
1 out of 5 stars

Asked Costco to set up an auto-renewal for my Costco membership associated with my Mastercard when I renewed last year, this wasn't done so my Costco membership expired without my knowledge. No letter, email or calls were received either from Costco or Capital One regarding this issue. I only found out there was a problem when my card declined. Capital representative told me they had closed my account because I hadn't renewed my Costco membership and that my 650 dollars of cashback accrued was now non-collectable but advised that Costco could call and request the account be reopened. Went in and renewed my Costco membership and explained the situation. They called and asked for it to be reopened but there was no supervisor available to do so so I had to call back the next day. They then told me Costco had to fill out a form requesting the account be reopened detailing the reasons for missed membership renewal. Went in and Costco sent the form. Capital one denied the request even though it was from Costco whose membership I failed to renew. I've never missed a payment, my credit score is over 760, I paid my full balance owing every month. The fact that they can close the account with no notice and refuse to reopen it once I explained the situation and remedied the membership issue despite Costco's request is complete garbage. This is a terrible company with zero ethics and very poor customer service. Many of the reps are second language English speakers which make navigating phone conversation challenging and they can't help you once the issue is figured out. To boot Capital, one has been hacked and all their accounts information stolen. This is just a really bad issuer and we can all find better. Don't sign up, if you have any of their cards please switch.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo
Review topics

Scotiabank® Gold American Express® Card

Scotiabank® Gold American Express® Card

Earn up to 40,000 bonus Scotia Rewards points in your first year (that's up to $400 towards travel). What else will you get:

 

  • Earn 5 Scotia Rewards points for every $1 you spend at eligible grocery stores, dining and entertainment
  • Earn 3 Scotia Rewards points for every $1 you spend at eligible gas stations, daily transit, and select streaming services
  • Earn 1 point for every $1 you spend on all other eligible everyday purchases
  • Complimentary Concierge Services 24/7
  • Comprehensive Travel Insurance coverage with 25 days of travel medical insurance for eligible persons under age 65

Get this card / Apply online

Only for its great cash back

by Vanessa on Aug 31, 2019
2 out of 5 stars

I got my card blocked 3 times within a couple months for supposedly fraudulent transactions. Every time I had to call wait for the agent, answer all the security questions + transactions one by one for the last 7 days, then got transferred to the security centre and restart the process again security questions, transactions one by one for the last 7 days, then got my card unblocked. The best waiting time was 50 mins, the worst was over 2h 30 minutes and I was at the cashier of Costco. I did an official complaint at Costco customer service about Capital One the same day. I can tell you Costco cares. This problem seems to be resolved as I receive now an email asking if I recognize the possibly fraudulent transactions and I can respond by email without anything else to do. Like many other reviewers, I also got refused for a higher credit limit despite I always pay the whole amount of my statement account every month in time. I'm using this card primarily for daily expenses because of the great cashback also for the no annual fee. I have other credit cards with much higher limit as a back up.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo

They just don't get it.

by jz9@outlook.com on Nov 26, 2018
1 out of 5 stars

1. Regularly blocking transactions because of 'fraud'. As a result, missed out on some limited Black Friday deals. They do this regularly on me. One would think they would learn my spending habits, but they don't. 2. Won't let me increase my limit. 'Our computers have determined you don't qualify for an increase in limit... please try again a year from now'. Hello, whatever happened to doing a credit check? No, if their computer says no, they won't do that. The only reason I keep them is their link to Costco with the cashback. They do have one nice feature - the auto pay feature from my bank account each month.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo

Scam, No Customer Service

by Disappointed on Oct 22, 2018
1.5 out of 5 stars

I have had this card for one year now as we are avid Costco shoppers and decided to reap the benefit of some cash back. I have never encountered such terrible and disappointing customer service with any other credit card that I use (AMEX, other MC). My credit limit is $8000, this must have been determined from the initial credit and salary check conducted. I know we spend more than this but figured the credit limit will be increased in good time as soon as Capital One has evidence of timely & full payments each month (I have an impeccable record with credit cards/bills - never late, always paid in full). It's been a year, I've declined numerous times due to being at the limit and unbeknownst to me, they even allowed a transaction to go through a bit over the limit (under $100), and then charged me a $29 over-limit fee!! I requested a few times for Capital One to increase my limit and they refused, and said it would have to go through upper management for reconsideration, and that they would need to do another credit check and salary check - I refused as I feel I do not need to be begging Capital One, they should be harassing me to increase the limit - crazy! I have never seen anything like it. In addition, cash back refunds are due in Jan/Feb, I did not receive mine until the following June as I kept calling Capital One to state I did not receive a refund, and they kept saying "It's in the mail". Terrible service, I will contact Costco to complain, and will likely cancel this altogether.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo

Scotia Momentum Visa Infinite Card

Scotia Momentum Visa Infinite Card

Earn 10% cash back on all purchases for the first 3 months (up to $2,000 in total purchases). Plus, no annual fee in the first year, including on supplementary cards. A welcome offer value of $350. 

Get this card / Apply online

Brutal Interest Worst CC !

by GettingSmart on Sep 4, 2018
1.5 out of 5 stars

Should you forget to make the total monthly payments, they will hit with total interest charges and whatever you have spent for the month even though your new bill has not arrived. No one can explain the average monthly system but it’s highway robbery! They simply just charge you over and over and over again for interest. Every month I had an 80$ interest on one month with a small balance of 1000$. My visa had 4000$ and I didn’t get charged that much. That’s when I decided to never use this card unless it’s necessary. Bring cash to Costco or use your debit card. It’s better in the long run or you end up having to pay double for the lousy cashback offers. What’s in your wallet...? A crappy Capital One card!

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo
Review topics