Credit Card Reviews

Desjardins VISA Classic Consumer Reviews

This page has been viewed by: Please wait... consumers
(39 reviews)
Desjardins VISA Classic
1.6 out of 5 stars:
Customer service:
Value for Money:
Product Features experience:
Share your own experience
Write a review

Terrible company

by Kurt Reed on Jul 23, 2021
1 out of 5 stars

The worst credit card company ever. I missed a small portion of my previous payment and didn’t realize it. I talked with one of their representatives on the phone who assured me that I could pay the remainder with my current monthly payment we scheduled 4days from then.
I made the payment exactly when I said I would, but they didn’t register it, claimed it was a missed payment and dropped my credit rating 40points. They were very capable of putting a request in to the credit bureau to reverse the results of their own mistakes but refused. I’m now on a 6month suspension for missing the payment they screwed up..lol.
Their customer service is horrid. Avoid dealing with them at literally any cost.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo

Buying appliances

by St.onge on Apr 27, 2021
1 out of 5 stars

We were refused, only offered us $ 1000 we have a credit score of 800 our another credit card is paid every 2 weeks the only other debt is a car $236 a month and they had the nerve to tell us we do not meet their criteria WHY???

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo
Review topics

Stolen data

by Daniel on Apr 13, 2021
1 out of 5 stars

A Desjardin employee stole my information.
Getting a credit card with Desjardin was a huge mistake. I made my payments, I got to the end and paid off 1018 dollars, what I thought was the remainder of the card because after my information was stolen I wanted nothing to do with them. I still owed 100 dollars on the card, but because their site is so terrible to navigate, I didn't realize I still owed. A few months later I get a letter in the mail, I open it and it is about a late payment. Now I have a bad credit rating and my information was stolen. The worst financial decision I ever made was going through Desjardin.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo

Scotia Momentum Visa Infinite Card

Scotia Momentum Visa Infinite Card

Earn 10% cash back on all purchases for the first 3 months (up to $2,000 in total purchases). Plus, no annual fee in the first year, including on supplementary cards. A welcome offer value of $350. 

Get this card / Apply online

Hangups common no service

by DM on Mar 4, 2021
1 out of 5 stars

I have been a Visa Desjardin customer for over twenty years. Recently my credit card did not process, I called in to be advised my account is closed. Why I asked, because they no longer have a financing program with RONA, I stated I have a Desjardin Visa and have not financed with Accord D Financing since 2002. To that, they stated they sent a letter in June 2020, to which I did not receive and nor has my address changed. The letter was to be resent over two weeks ago and nothing again, been hung up when trying to find out what's going on, I receive two statements since these statements from this company all showing everything inlace. Reporting to credit bureau regularly. Weird place

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo

EconoMax Visa

by Bob S on Jan 27, 2021
1 out of 5 stars

Paid the full amount of my purchase (900$) as soon as I received the statement at the EconoMax store where I purchased the item. I have a receipt for the payment but between Desjardins Visa and EconoMax, they can't track down the payment. EconoMax does not dispute that I made the payment in full. The incompetency seems lay squarely with Desjardins. They are asking me, not EconoMax to prove that the payment was made. 2 hours of my time lost because of their gross incompetency and they still haven't figured it out yet. Luck for Desjardins, they seem to have little to no competition in Quebec. I hope that changes soon.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo
Review topics

Horrible site to access

by Rodolfo B on Jan 7, 2021
1 out of 5 stars

It requires user ID but not password, then it shows error. They make it impossible for us to acces our balance!

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo
Review topics

Scotiabank® Gold American Express® Card

Scotiabank® Gold American Express® Card

Earn up to 40,000 bonus Scotia Rewards points in your first year (that's up to $400 towards travel). What else will you get:

 

  • Earn 5 Scotia Rewards points for every $1 you spend at eligible grocery stores, dining and entertainment
  • Earn 3 Scotia Rewards points for every $1 you spend at eligible gas stations, daily transit, and select streaming services
  • Earn 1 point for every $1 you spend on all other eligible everyday purchases
  • Complimentary Concierge Services 24/7
  • Comprehensive Travel Insurance coverage with 25 days of travel medical insurance for eligible persons under age 65

Get this card / Apply online

Terrible Experience

by Joel on Jan 4, 2021
1 out of 5 stars

If I could rate it 0 out of 5 stars I would.
After a year of paying off my credit card online statement, they reached out saying I owed $1,500 that was nowhere to be found online. The website is useless and very user-unfriendly.

Terrible experience. Would never recommend using this service if you use online banking at all.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo

Very upset

by Keller P on Nov 28, 2020
1.5 out of 5 stars

I have a Bestbuy credit card through Desjardins, we just paid it off and now they cancelled it because they no longer have a contract with the Bestbuy store.
The second problem - we have a leon's card as well and another visa classic card, we have been making payments on time and always paid off the cards, so today my aunt applied for the leon's card they declined it and I was the co-signer to make sure and they still decline it for no reason, my credit is good, this is very disrespectful since we already in business and I been making payments, on time, so you know what I will close all my accounts with you for this disrespectful action declining my application, and I hope everyone and every business will stop dealing with you.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo
Review topics

Incompetent to say the least

by J. Martinez on Oct 28, 2020
1 out of 5 stars

I used this company when Sleep Country offered a 2 year no interest through them. A few days later I made a second purchase and asked to have only one account for both purchases. First problem: they opened 2 different accounts and if they mailed any statements, I did not receive them. My first purchase: Took several attempts to access my account online to arrange for payments. Then I sent by fax and then by mail the information needed to make automatic payments. Both ignored. They began to send me late payment notices but no statements. After many failed attempts to speak with them over the phone, I finally was able to make the arrangements to pay without problems. In the meantime, I got a letter from the collection company regarding the "second account" (for which they claim have sent statements but none received). In spite of my efforts to arrange for monthly payments, they damaged my credit record and now I am dealing with a collection agency (for the second account only). My experience is that I am dealing with a deceitful or very incompetent company that is best to stay away from.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo

Scotia Momentum VISA Infinite Card

Scotia Momentum VISA Infinite Card

Earn 10% cash back on all purchases for the first 3 months (up to $2,000 in total purchases). Plus, no annual fee in the first year, including on supplementary cards. A welcome offer value of $350. What else will you get:

 

  • 4% on eligible recurring bill payments and grocery store purchases
  • 2% on eligible gas station and daily transit purchases
  • 1% cash back on all other eligible everyday purchases
  • Complimentary Concierge Services 24/7 Visa Infinite Dining Series Visa Infinite Music Series Wine Country Wonders Luxury Hotel Privileges
  • Comprehensive Travel Insurance & New Mobile Device Insurance coverage

Get this card / Apply online

They ruined my credit score

by ab on Sep 13, 2020
1 out of 5 stars

One of my furniture line of credit with them became overdue. I was on a 'don't pay anything for two years" plan to buy this furniture. After two years a monthly payment became due. It has been such a long time that it just went out of my mind, I missed the minimum monthly payment for 2 months, it wasn't a large amount. They never called or emailed me to remind me of the late payment. They ruined my credit score which hurt my ability to get a mortgage. When I called them to ask why you didn't contact me, they said they lost my number or didn't have it. I put all my correct details in the application. I paid off the entire amount rather than keep dealing with them. Even though the agent gave me the whole amount to be paid, they still contacted me of a small balance owing, I'm trying to get rid of them. Stay away from them and protect your credit score!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo