Life Insurance Reviews

RBC Insurance Life Insurance Reviews

This page has been viewed by: Please wait... consumers
(23 reviews)
RBC Insurance
1.5 out of 5 stars:
Customer service:
Value for Money:
Share your own experience
Write a review

Cancellation nightmare

by NL on May 29, 2024
1 out of 5 stars

Sent them a letter of request for cancellation at the end of March to the most recent address from their latest communication. 6 weeks went by with no email no reply. Went to their office in Brampton and talked to their Agent and Manager. They told me they had moved out of the last location. Strange enough my letter was not returned by Canada Post. I assumed it was still delivered to their Head Office.
The Agent gave me some forms to fill and signed. She told me it will take 2 to 3 business days. Two weeks went by and I sent her a email to follow up. She said she emailed the Head Office. Any other week came and gone still nothing. I emailed the Agent again and she told me they were behind. I will have the process finalized the next week. I then put a Stop Payment request in CIBC because they still charged me two months in a row. I found out they still charged me for the third time!
I will refer this to my Lawyer if they are still dragging their feet. They want to drag it on as long as possible and charge me a very high interest rate on the chunk of money they advanced to me last year. It’s just a nightmare dealing with them.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo

Scam 💯 just like their supposedly special account opening offers

by Mimi on Jan 13, 2024
1 out of 5 stars

They make money by keeping money from their customers and closing/ lacking accounts in middle of transaction which end up not being posted and you need to call them until you decide to terminate and close even new account before using it and then they want you to pay them for closing account... Scamers no wonder they have been sued and hope many of us can get together and make a formal complaint

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo

Impossible to get ahold of

by Sara on Sep 19, 2023
1 out of 5 stars

Took advantage of the fact that we were new home owners and added so many extra charges. Denied me due to being on anti anxiety medication. When canceling my husband's plan, never got back to us via fax or email and proceeded to take the money out of his account after we have already cancelled. Hours are on eastern standard time so we have to call at 6am to even reach them, and you can't leave a message on machine. Would never recommend.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo
Did you know there is a 35% chance of developing a critical illness before you are 65 and 65%-70% chance before you turn 81? That means getting a critical illness insurance quote is no less important than getting life insurance. Your choice.

Never reply email, slow action

by ca9902 on Jul 21, 2021
1.5 out of 5 stars

I talked to customer service over the phone, and they told me to email them for my inquiry. I received the auto-reply told me they have received my email, but they never reply me with my questions. I wanna cancel my policy, they said they already received my request, in processing, however, it has been almost three weeks, nothing was done. I will never ever recommend RBC insurance to my friends.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo

Terrible Service by Phone

by contactingmybrokerIguess on Feb 20, 2021
2.5 out of 5 stars

Today I saw my policy lapsed so I called to fix. My rep said I have a balance outstanding on account and can't reinstate. Fine, update card info to pay balance, requested new policy. Apparently they need to re-underwrite me because I "cancelled due to non-payment". To pursue or escalate call Monday, but they can't help now.

OK but I was never advised of this? I found it lapsed TODAY when I tried to update it. "We mailed out notices" - to the wrong address, even though I updated it when I last moved as usual. They updated the policy but not my profile. "But it's still your responsibility to pay." Except I thought was paid because I auto-pay (annually) and never received notice of an issue. I know I get digital copies so not receiving a physical wasn't a tip-off for me.

So I am a client who notices the lapse, calls immediately, pays the balance, requests a new policy with auto-pay, and this is the response? I am very disappointed in the accusative feel I received in my call today.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo

Shady policies

by Sandra on Apr 19, 2019
1 out of 5 stars

I was having my life insurance charged monthly to my credit card when the expiry changed I called and updated my information. Unknown to me, until 2 months later RBC had lapsed my policy. Lapsed Feb. 13, I received a letter in the mail April 18th. Apparently, the charge did not go through on my updated credit card. After explaining to customer service this was not possible and there must have been a mistake, and asking what I could do to remedy the situation ( i.e. provide a credit card statement, reinstate my policy over the phone etc.) I was told by customer service that this was not their problem and that if I wanted to reinstate my policy I would have to fill in a bunch of paperwork and submit to a medical?! What a scam.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo
Review topics
Did you know that if you are a 30-year old male, a term life insurance policy for 20 years with coverage of $200,000 will cost you around $19/month? Getting your term life insurance quote today will allow you to benefit from a great rate.

Worst customer service

by Felicia on Apr 11, 2019
1 out of 5 stars

Outside of the fact, that it takes months to ever hear back from your own case employee, it took 4 months to set up my life insurance and I am still waiting to actually receive anything in the mail to confirm my insurance is, actually, in place (other than the fact that they have started withdrawing funds for this). Healthy female, no children, in my 20s, never smoked, have never done any drugs, drink infrequently. Just blown away by their utter incompetence and horrifying communication skills every step of the way. This company is an absolute scam and I will happily recommend anyone to use any other company when it comes to your insurance needs. Sad to say, but thanks to this horrific encounter, I will likely pull all of my insurance - home, auto (3 vehicles), and life, along with all of our bank accounts and go somewhere else. RBC does not deserve your business and they need to get their act together. They work for us, not the other way around.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo
Review topics

shady business practices

by unimpressedwithRBC on Jan 8, 2019
1 out of 5 stars

RBC told me they would let me know when my policy would take effect so I could cancel an existing policy I already had... but they waited 24 days to have me sign it, but still charged me as of the date they had written the policy. I ended up paying two premiums for a month. Very sketchy and unimpressed. Choose someone else!

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo

RBC life insurance half star

by Moe on Dec 19, 2018
1 out of 5 stars

A few weeks ago I thought that I might need life insurance, so I started to shop around till I found a policy called universal life insurance. I thought it works for me. I called the bank and I started following them to get this policy. Originally, online price was so low by the time I saw the bank rep. The prices jump up a little bit, which was ok. However, with final approval, the priced came to over 275. Then I asked how this happened, they said that the medical test shows a high blood pressure 172/92 (for which medication is required and I never ever had any meds for my blood pressure). Also, they said I'm overweight 240 pounds and I've passed on several places including my family doctor, only 219 pounds. I got nervous and I called my family doctor and requested a full physical test and everything was alright. We tried to inform them and they said they can't take any different result from my family doctor. And they approved me with 200%, which makes my policy rate jump above average - $2000 in total. So I have to pay $2000 for one year and after that, they will do the tests again. So here is the story, RBC insurance hired a company to do medical tests for their clients. This company has one mission - to find anything wrong with the client to be taken as a good excuse to put you on high rate insurance even if they will come with a broken scale to read your weight wrong or a blood pressure machine to read your blood pressure wrong. And no way you can even discuss this with the bank. I had to decline the policy and I decided to share this story with everyone so they will be careful. Thx

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo

Thinking of getting a life insurance quote from an insurance agent? They work for one insurance company and can only sell the products of that company. That may not result in the best rate for you. Our insurance brokers compare life insurance quotes across 20+ Canadian insurers for you.

Stay away!!

by Run!! on Sep 19, 2018
1 out of 5 stars

After getting life insurance I decided I didn't want it at that time. I called the company the following day to be transferred to 3 different people all in which said they were going to email my original sales representative. This phone call took up at least an hour and a half of my day. In the next 4 days, I received the life insurance package which I have cancelled. I called back to wait another hour to talk to yet another person that was going to email my original sales associate. At that time I demanded to talk to someone who could cancel it immediately. They gave me an email that I had to send an "I want to cancel " verification letter too. A few days later I received another package and a phone call asking what I thought. Again it was still not cancelled. A different email was given. This company is terrible!!

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo
Review topics