Independent Life Insurance Reviews

RBC Insurance Life Insurance Reviews

(22 reviews)
This page has been viewed by:
19,015
consumers
(1.8 out of 5 stars)
Customer Service:
Value for Money:
 

Stay away!!

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Run!! Sep 19, 2018
After getting life insurance I decided I didn't want it at that time. I called the company the following day to be transferred to 3 different people all in which said they were going to email my original sales representative. This phone call took up at least an hour and a half of my day. In the next 4 days, I received the life insurance package which I have cancelled. I called back to wait another hour to talk to yet another person that was going to email my original sales associate. At that time I demanded to talk to someone who could cancel it immediately. They gave me an email that I had to send an "I want to cancel " verification letter too. A few days later I received another package and a phone call asking what I thought. Again it was still not cancelled. A different email was given. This company is terrible!!
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Not sure if you can qualify for life insurance with existing health pre-conditions? Let us to help you with a no medical life insurance quote , meaning that you do not need to pass a medical exam to qualify for a life insurance policy.
 

RBC travel insurance

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by BCresident Apr 23, 2018
Worst insurer ever. Did not cover emergency treatment when was being flown back to home country. Left with thousands of dollars of medical expenses which RBC should have covered.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

RBC Insurance Fraud

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Randy Jan 28, 2018
In 2015 the RBC on Dundas Street in Toronto fraudulently signed me up for life and disability insurance when I co-signed for my son's PLC. Insurance was neither asked for nor agreed to. I did discuss it in 2013 and declined it with the RBC. I have filed complaints with the RBC, the BBB in Toronto, and the FCAC. No resolution yet. Others are caught up in this scam. The funny thing is that one of the documents the RBC sent me virtually proves the fraud. It took months for the Bank to even admit there was even a complaint process! Do NOT take your business to this institution!
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Planning to get life insurance to protect your family, including children? Make sure that you get enough coverage. According to studies, it takes about $250,000 in total to raise a child to the age of 18 (and that doesn’t include any post-secondary education costs).
 

RBC ACCIDENT INSURANCE

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Shane E Jan 04, 2018
Canceled my account 3 times. They have taken payments out for 4 straight months in a row. Their certified agent Hisham told me that the person who called me when I ordered the accident insurance called me out and lied to me. I was promised I would receive a refund in 72 hours and they have now cancelled my insurance. The very next day $72.00 was taken out of my account and when I called I was told that they saw I had a refund coming in 10 days, not 72 hours as I was told. Another lie. Be really careful with these people. I am shocked that the Royal Bank would act in this very unscrupulous manner. Save yourself a lot of headaches and buy your insurance from a reputable company.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

RBC disabilty insurance

 
(2.0 out of 5 stars)
by MadinAlberta Apr 12, 2017
After spending weeks trying to purchase Disability insurance from the RBC broker, and checking and rechecking and being assured that the policy covers lost wages in case of partial disability or loss of work due to injury or illness, I, unfortunately, needed to file a claim three years after purchasing the policy. When filling out the paperwork, I again inquired about the fact that it covers loss of wages, and was again assured my policy does. So after completing the required paperwork, paying my Dr to complete the physician portion out $40! I get ahold of the adjudicator and low and behold I am told that because it is a WCB claim, and that I am still employed and able to perform modified duties, that they will not cover me! The adjuster was very sympathetic on the phone while explaining to me, that I had purchased the wrong type of insurance. and that yes the RBC does offer the type I had thought I had purchased, there is nothing he could do, as I do not meet the requirements of the policy I own. Well, this is the first and last time, I will be cancelling the policy asap, and moving all of my banking to a different bank. I have also lodged a complaint with them about the pushing and pressure sale technique used by the broker in the office, but suspect that this too will fall on deaf ears. DON'T BE FOOLED, the prices might look attractive, but the customer service is just lip service.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Did you know there is a 35% chance of developing a critical illness before you are 65 and 65%-70% chance before you turn 81? That means getting a critical illness insurance quote is no less important than getting life insurance. Your choice.
 

Bad company

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by jfjkdkh Apr 11, 2017
Terrible services.I tried to cancel with them for 2 months received notification that the cancellation email was received and someone would get in touch with me.No one did, called again gave me the wrong cancellation email send it again with all the document and still waiting , i had to put a stop payment on my account.Never had an apology from a manager or anyone.When they call you and ask if your interested into life or health insurance just say no and hang up , waste of money and waste of time.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

A racist company

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Sam from Edmonton Dec 23, 2016
I applied for a life a life insurance and they asked me tons of questions. At the end after so many days a rude guy called me and told me because sometimes you travel outside of Canada we do not insure you. Such a racist and un-trustable company!
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Did you know that mortgage insurance is the same as life insurance but more expensive and offers less protection? By cancelling it and getting life insurance , you would typically save around 30%-40% for the same coverage.
 

Disability Insurance Denied

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Barry Nov 11, 2016
RBC disability Insurance today denied my claim as the rep. phoned me to tell me this. She will send a follow up letter and has told me I can appeal this decision. I believe I worked much longer then most people would even of attempted to work mostly due to the fact that I loved what I did so much I would be in constant pain even though I was on pain & anti-inflammatory pills daily. My job is very physical and finally after a third MRI in 10 years showed even more damage then before and my Doctor stated on the RBC form that I could not work anymore the claim was still denied. The rep said an RBC Orthopaedic Doctor said my pain should have resided in 4-6 weeks. I have not worked for 5 months and the pain and restriction in my body movements have not gotten any better at all. I have done everything humanly possible to give my body a chance at being able to endure and hopefully be able to function at all. I have no coverage but have spent a small fortune on physiotherapy and anything I was told could help. For over 10 years I had spent a hour, 7 days a week on exercising but now I can not do most of those due to constant pain. Even though my whole life has changed due to constant pain which is mentally very challenging RBC is of the oponion I should have gotten better. Do your homework before purchasing disability insurance because I believe RBC will say anything it takes to deny you even though you fully deserve the benefit.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Life Insurance Policy Revoked

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by SoDiscouraged Sep 28, 2016
I applied for life insurance a year ago because I was expecting my first child. I am a female in my early 30s a non-smoker, never done drugs, and do not drink. I have no autoimmune issues. I paid premiums for a year, increased my policy a year later when I changed my job and then I received a couriered mail stating that my policy was rescinded with a cheque for the premiums paid. After 2 month, I am still waiting to get this off my record. My doctor is also waiting to hear back because he has indicated there is no reason for my policy to have been rescinded and is waiting to clarify any questions. They said the worker is on holidays. For three months? If they do not want my business that is fine but now I cannot get life insurance because they have this note on my record which is inaccurate. HIRE COMPETENT PEOPLE AND RECORD INFORMATION ACCURATELY! Do not get life insurance from them.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Did you know that one in three Canadians, on average, will be disabled for more than three months before they turn 65? Get a disability insurance quote today to make sure your income is secure, even when you are temporary disabled.
 

Life insurance

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Amy Aug 05, 2016
We are dealing with Calgary 8 Ave RBC life insurance office. Horrible experience. I called the office to change my credit card on file to find out that my adviser no longer (1.5yrs) works for RBC. And i have to wait for customer service to assign a new adviser for my file. It's been 3 weeks and i'm still waiting... And the big surprise is that we signed a family life insurance policy and i just found out that only my husband is insured. Wow.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Medical Student Scammed

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Bradley May 08, 2016
I rarely post reviews but I feel that if you are considering buying disability insurance knowledge is power. I took a medical leave of absence from medical school. The insurance representative informed me of the steps that I needed which were to follow up with my GP. Well after waiting 7 months she told me that I needed to see another specialist. I saw a specialist a week ago and she called a couple days ago...explaining that she determined that I should have recovered in 3 months so she is sending me a cheque for 3 months and has now closed the case. I was infuriated to say the least as they became the judge and juror in my case and determined that I only required 3 months to recover when my physician had been treating me for 8 months. She said that she had closed the case but that I could appeal it. I thought where is the justice? How can an insurance company charge me $72/month and then when I have a medical emergency and take time off that they decide how long I should be off for. She then went on to say that because I did not see this other physician after 3 months that they decided that there was no backing in my support. I explained to her and she agreed that she had not told me to see another specialist till after 7 months. I feel really thrown under the bus. I reflected on my experience with the insurance representative who had keep putting a carrot in front on a stick and saying the money will be coming soon. She claimed that it took 8 months for the physician to send her the medical documents. I told her that she should have been following up on the case and that this should not take 8 months to obtain. I wonder what is my next step now? Will the appeal work in my favor? Will they continue to take advantage of me? Will they pay me the $14000+ they owe me? Who watches out for the common medical patient from these crooks? How can they continue to be the judge and jury? Will they try to scam you as they did me? Think carefully before you obtain insurance.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Did you know that if you are a 30-year old male, a term life insurance policy for 20 years with coverage of $200,000 will cost you around $19/month? Getting your term life insurance quote today will allow you to benefit from a great rate.
 

Denied Disability Coverage

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by @deny4disability Mar 07, 2016
It is difficult enough to admit a mental illness to anyone. But when you painfully come to terms with it and ask for fair coverage from your insurer to be denied, it is both heart breaking and heartless. RBC admits I was indeed ill and covered me for an entire 2 week period. They denied coverage past a certain day even though they have proof of my doctor prescribing 2 months of anti-depressant medication on the same day, and also a written note from my doctor stating "continues to be unfit for work until further notice". They deem that note to expire at midnight of the same day as that is when they suspended any coverage for myself. Mental illness does not come with a scar or a cast to prove it. There are no visual aids to assist us and therefore insurance companies take advantage of their customers and deny coverage. We are instead perceived to be dishonest in our claims. Pushing a person that is suffering from depression and anxiety a little closer to the edge when the edge is already greased. We are not dishonest, we are suffering. We are not unintelligent, we are unwell. Shame on RBC and their practices.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Advisors are too aggressive.

 
(2.0 out of 5 stars)
by Paul J. Dec 30, 2015
The only reason why I purchased my policy from RBC is because the price was competitive. The advisor was too aggressive and had no professionalism . The over all experience was horrible.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thinking of getting a life insurance quote from an insurance agent? They work for one insurance company and can only sell the products of that company. That may not result in the best rate for you. Our insurance brokers compare life insurance quotes across 20+ Canadian insurers for you.
 

Travel and RBC Avion visa

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Bobinwaiting Dec 10, 2015
Bought RBC travel insurance and also used my RBC Avion visa card insurance. Wife had an accident the day before diving trip 6500 US funds plus airfare. Thinking we were covered, called in the claim. Wife was in a full-length cast. Two months later, still no refund. The RBC Avion visa card insurance now say since he didn't pay exactly half of the trip on the card they refuse to pay anything! Have filled claim complaint with Canada insurance. RBC visa website falsely states it covers travel cancellation. No mention of a percentage or amount you have to spend.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Aggressive sales personel

 
(2.0 out of 5 stars)
by ca Oct 02, 2015
Bottom line, their prices are cheaper, however, you deal with aggressive sales personel who want their commission, disorganized medicals and any complaints you make with customer service are ignored. Horrible/stressful situation.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Did you know that if you are a 35-year old female, a term life insurance policy for 10 years with coverage of $500,000 will cost you around $15-$20/month? Getting your life insurance quote today will allow you to lock-in a great rate.
 

600 % premium Increase

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Victoria BC customer Jun 23, 2015
Without notice RBC insurance withdrew 353.52 dollar from our RBC account from a normal 52.53 amount. RBC bank contacted them on our behalf and all the contact information were dead phone numbers. Registered letter sent and still no response or reversal of the charge. Very poor customer service.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Worst Insurance Brokers ever

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Tickedoff Nov 29, 2014
They take so long to book for your medical and then after you have to wait 4 weeks to even get an in touch text or phone call from them, I'm still waiting for the broker to call us back on the insurance paperwork to get finalize after getting a medical done 4 weeks ago.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thinking of getting a life insurance quote from an insurance agent? They work for one insurance company and can only sell the products of that company. That may not result in the best rate for you. Our insurance brokers compare life insurance quotes across 20+ Canadian insurers for you.
 

N/A

 
(4.0 out of 5 stars)
by rylanz Jun 19, 2012
Set up the account and it was quick and easy.
0 of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Affordable coverage!

 
(5.0 out of 5 stars)
by Jane Jun 08, 2012
This is a basic policy; small coverage that is inexpensive - affordable.
0 of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Did you know there is a 35% chance of developing a critical illness before you are 65 and 65%-70% chance before you turn 81? That means getting a critical illness insurance quote is no less important than getting life insurance. Your choice.
 

N/A

 
(4.5 out of 5 stars)
by mariana_r May 22, 2012
Best presentation of plans
0 of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

N/A

 
(2.0 out of 5 stars)
by cliftonv Apr 27, 2012
The insurance policy was not explained to me properly. I wanted an investment and life insurance for my son and they signed me up for one that I have to claim on my income tax. Unclear as how I can opt out of this and make another investment for my son.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Did you know that one in three Canadians, on average, will be disabled for more than three months before they turn 65? Get a disability insurance quote today to make sure your income is secure, even when you are temporary disabled.
 

N/A

 
(4.0 out of 5 stars)
by paula Apr 11, 2012
When I put in a claim, they asked the right questions and completed the claim in a timely fashion
0 of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?