Life Insurance Reviews

TD Insurance Life Insurance Reviews

This page has been viewed by: Please wait... consumers
(8 reviews)
TD Insurance
1.4 out of 5 stars:
Customer service:
Value for Money:
Share your own experience
Write a review

Monthly doubled

by Sympatico on Aug 20, 2021
1 out of 5 stars

This is not a policy that most people will be able to carry forward into their senior years with its associated lower income potential. My payments started at $34.00/month but by year 10 of my term, I was paying $166/monthly. To continue the policy my monthly payments would start at $338. I have to wonder what kind of increase would be on that amount after another 10 years. The policy payout would have been $250,000.
This is about this before you take a term life insurance policy. It will most likely be unaffordable in the period of your life you most desire the assurance.
It feels like people like myself are funding the payouts for those who can afford the monthly premiums till the policy pays out..

1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo
Review topics

Incompetent

by IrateAndNotImpressed58 on Aug 12, 2021
1 out of 5 stars

I had Life Insurance with TD for 8 years, and I always paid my premiums on time. Never had an issue. I was then told if I would renew my policy before expiry (which would have been 2023) I would pay a lesser premium. So, I went ahead and did that. My medical was done, and all was well. The policy was approved, but nobody from TD contacted me to advise me that it was approved. Then I received a letter saying my policy was cancelled and the premium deducted from my account. Did not get an answer as to why and a series of mistakes were made with renewing my policy. Not impressed. Thank you TD for all your help in not being able to process this policy for me. Baffles the mind. Can't understand how TD can treat a long-term customer like this.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo
Review topics

They will trick you

by TheOne on Mar 28, 2019
1 out of 5 stars

I looked into 100,000 of life insurance and seen a link about applying for 500,000 so I clicked it and applied and after filling out the forms it said basically thanks for signing up for 100,000 and we will contact you soon. That’s not what I signed up for!

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo
Review topics
Did you know there is a 35% chance of developing a critical illness before you are 65 and 65%-70% chance before you turn 81? That means getting a critical illness insurance quote is no less important than getting life insurance. Your choice.

Very long wait

by Marie on Sep 20, 2018
1.5 out of 5 stars

They take over 6 weeks to review the policy application, so for that time you are without insurance and waiting for the underwriters to review it. The sales people assure you that you won't need a medical, that the process is simple etc. They are lying. They don't tell you that it will take at least 6 weeks and they don't tell you that invasive medicals are required. I don't enjoy getting more bloodwork and other samples done repeatedly. I do that enough at my Doctor. They are not easy to deal with and every time you call it's a long wait. The policy is also not active until they approve it. I called to switch my life insurance providers and wanted my new policy active by the time my old one ran out, but they took so long I was without life insurance for several weeks. Not fun when you have kids that depend on you and you get worried to even drive somewhere without life insurance. Horrible service. Way too slow.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo

nondisclosure disqualified

by burned by non disclosures on Oct 26, 2017
1 out of 5 stars

Really zero but makes u choose. If your parents or siblings have cancer before age of 60 you don’t qualify disability nor life insurance but they don’t ask these when first applying for insurance. Plus they will continue to take your payments without letting you know until you have an issue; then you find out your not covered even if you are paying on the insurance.
The request forms only ask for past 24 months but they go far back into your health records to find any reason to disqualify you very evasive.
Again ask what disqualifies you before paying for this insurance as they won’t tell you up front and take your payments anyway. They don’t care.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo

Worst Experience

by Say No To TD Ins on Oct 17, 2016
1 out of 5 stars

I requested a replacement Insurance with TD Life Insurance and found the experience very painful.
It was very difficult to get answers or in touch with the right personnel once the application was done.
After three months I was told by their underwriting department that they do NOT have COVERAGE for anyone who had CANCER that had spread.
Example: They will NOT insure a person who had STAGE 3 Cancer even if they survived for 20 years.
They did not request this information in the application, as they only asked if you had the disease and with an affirmed answer they went on the do Blood and Urine test.
After 3 months they requested a report of medical history from family doctor and based on the Stage 3 Cancer 20 years ago they declined the application.
They had no reason the take blood or Urine samples and other confidential information if they had a Policy not to Insure CANCER SURVIVORS with stage 3.
I am very distressed by the entire process and will hope to protect My Entire Family Of CANCER SURVIVORS, please Avoid TD Life Insurance.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo
Did you know that if you are a 35-year old female, a term life insurance policy for 10 years with coverage of $500,000 will cost you around $15-$20/month? Getting your life insurance quote today will allow you to lock-in a great rate.

TD INSURANCE - SCAM ARTISTS

by Once Bitten on May 28, 2015
1 out of 5 stars

We realized that TD Insurance had been dipping into our TD bank account to "service" a policy they claimed we'd bought. Even though they could not produce our authorization for access to our bank account, nor paperwork to show we'd purchased a policy with them, they were adamant that we'd bought it. They claimed they did all their business over the phone, hence no paperwork. The scary thing was they had our dates of birth, our TD bank account number, our address, phone number, etc. even though we had never done business with TD Insurance. Our confidential bank information was obviously accessible to them. After 5 months of telephone back-and-forth, and going up the ladder through managers of different departments within TD Insurance and up to their Ombudsperson, I finally got a cheque for the amount stolen plus interest, but no apology, no damages for the theft nor for my time in getting this matter redressed. My email to the Vice-President of TD Insurance was merely sluffed off to an underling and it looped back to the managers I'd dealt with who merely responded that they were familiar with the case! So my experience has been thatTD Insurance, from top to bottom, is in the business of scamming. I'm shying away from TD Bank as well if customers' personal information in traded to other companies.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo

Very helpful agents

by MS on Oct 8, 2013
4 out of 5 stars

Anytime I have had questions about my coverage, or was unsure of what was or was not covered, TD Insurance agents were very helpful and always asked if I needed any more assistance.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo