Independent Life Insurance Reviews

Blue Cross Life Insurance Reviews

(11 reviews)
This page has been viewed by:
11,530
consumers
(1.3 out of 5 stars)
Customer Service:
Value for Money:
 

near total waste of money

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by miguel Jun 05, 2018
My mom had Blue Cross health insurance for 26 years, spending about $19000 in total. Whenever she had health expenses, they weren't covered. When she was in hospital, she was entitled to a semi-private room through her insurance but the hospital wouldn't move her and Blue Cross refused to call them to clarify the situation. Finally, after we put up a big fuss, she had a few days of her 3-week stay in a decent room. After years of this, we called to get some documents telling what is actually covered, they sent the new card we requested but nothing about what is and isn't covered. When she died, they said they would process a refund. I sent the doctor's death declaration but they e-mailed 2 weeks later saying they wanted a death certificate. It is too late to bother now, the last month is over. The whole thing is pretty much a scam, you are better off putting some money aside for unforeseen medical expenses or going with a REAL insurance provider.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Did you know that one in three Canadians, on average, will be disabled for more than three months before they turn 65? Get a disability insurance quote today to make sure your income is secure, even when you are temporary disabled.
 

unbelievable!!!

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by FEDUP Mar 28, 2018
I purchased full coverage health insurance in...2012. And off to Phoenix for the winter we went... I ended up in Casa Grande Hospital with a heart attack. Blue Cross took 1.5 days to ok surgery. They even asked the cardiologist to release me to fly back to Saskatchewan, the doctor would not do it. I kept getting bills for many thousands for months afterwards, I was calling Blue Cross all the time about these bills, finally 8 months later, Blue Cross informed me there won't be any more bills coming to me because they paid for it all. Except the after checkups at the doctors in Arizona. I paid for that. Now, YEARS LATER, this morning March 28th, 2018, I received a phone call from a collection agency wanting the ambulance bill amount of 1800US or it was going to be on my credit bureau. I called Saskatchewan Blue Cross about this bill they did not pay ( I paid for the top coverage they had which included an ambulance ) and...I am not getting anywhere with them...I am getting ahold of my MLA about this...DO NOT BUY FROM THIS COMPANY.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

The worst customer experience

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by MB Sep 15, 2017
Blue cross is the worst customer experience I have ever had because they are a complete money grab. They make you pay for all of your expenses abroad out of your own pocket, and do not clarify what is under insurance and what is not. "Sudden and unexpected medical conditions" seems great because one would assume that most medical conditions are unexpected and sudden, however, Blue Cross means it so steal your money because to them everything is expected and nothing is sudden! I will never let me, my family or my friends do business with them ever again, you are better off just paying out of your own pocket!
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Did you know that if you are a 30-year old male, a term life insurance policy for 20 years with coverage of $200,000 will cost you around $19/month? Getting your term life insurance quote today will allow you to benefit from a great rate.
 

THE WORST EVER!

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Bisho Aug 27, 2017
I have lived in several countries and tried different kind of insurances. This Blue cross is unbelievable! When you register with them, they don't bother to tell you all important details. You will be surprised with it only when you are calling for a claim. 1st of all most of insurance companies provide in-advance payment for their customers. it means when you visit a doctor they will pay everything and you have to pay nothing! but Blue cross will make you pay first and then send whatever documents for the amount you paid. after more than a week i called because i didn't receive any reply from them and the agent in a very rude way told me "what? you sent it a week ago? it takes 3 months!!!!". Nobody informed me this when i came to register!! 3 months to get a refund??!!!! For me this is the worst insurance company ever and i will never recommend it to anyone!
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Blue Cross Insurance

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by LC Aug 25, 2017
Terrible, not worth your money and time. I was with the insurance company for 8 months and it has been the most difficult insurance I've dealt with before. Usually I never write reviews when I'm unhappy about a service, but I would like to let people know that they're not easy to deal with. Over the 8 months I've successfully claimed my money back 3/5 times. I received 1 cheque 4 months later, after constant following-up with Blue Cross. I've decided to cancel Blue Cross even though I still have 1 more cheque that have not been sent to me. I've dealt with this claim for over 8 months. They mailed me letters requesting for more information after each time I have provided what they had asked for. Suddenly, a month ago I received another letter in the mail from them (even after I responded to their previous info request) saying that if I hadn't replied in 30 days and this has not been dealt with, they will close the claim and I will not be able to receive any money. What had really upset me was when I called in the last time, they told me the reason they're only allowing me 30 more days is because they have already given me 8 months to deal with this. I was extremely disappointed as I have clearly been responding and providing with all the information they've asked for. I'm really upset that they keep pushing me around so they can buy more time and not give me a proper response, and tell me they've given me so much time. I will never recommend anyone using this company.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Did you know there is a 35% chance of developing a critical illness before you are 65 and 65%-70% chance before you turn 81? That means getting a critical illness insurance quote is no less important than getting life insurance. Your choice.
 

Bluecross? Criminals.

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by aliveandwell Jul 14, 2017
I was in a very serious car accident (rear-ended) and could not work for 9 months. I applied for short-term disability which was part of my plan and do you think I saw a penny of that? Nothing. I would send in two specialists reports plus my GP's report per their request. Six weeks would go by without a word and I would get a letter advising it had been over a month and they needed updated medical reports. I would send them in, 6 weeks would go by, I would get a letter saying the same thing. After these crooks doing that THREE times to me I handed it over to my lawyer. He sued and we won. I only gave them a star because you had to give at least one. They don't deserve even one star.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

No actual "benefit"

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by WJ Apr 27, 2017
You may be thinking you're getting a good deal but your not. Everything is deemed "pre-existing" and nothing is covered. You also have to wait 6 months for some coverage to start (Medication). The blue assured plan is ridiculously expensive and covers you for crap all. DON'T PURCHASE. It is more beneficial to pay as you go....Sad
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Did you know that mortgage insurance is the same as life insurance but more expensive and offers less protection? By cancelling it and getting life insurance , you would typically save around 30%-40% for the same coverage.
 

A complete scam

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Disappointed1701 Sep 08, 2016
The individual health insurance seems great. The plan seems to provide many benefits for a low cost. If you claim a benefit? Your medical history will be investigated and you will be labelled as having a pre-existing condition, regardless of your actual medical history. You will be unable to make future claims for this affliction. If your doctor disputes these findings and sends a letter to Blue Cross, it will be ignored. You will spend in excess of four months going back and forth with the very friendly but entirely clueless and useless customer service staff. In short, a COMPLETE waste of time and money. Avoid at all costs.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

The worst health insurance

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Nick Aug 23, 2016
I had 2 claims returned for ambulance bill for a reasons not specified in the policy and only to create more inconvenience and headaches. The first claim was returned because the statement from the hospital was not enough and needed a receipt.The second claim was declined because the receipt from the hospital for ambulance service does not specify origin and destination for the trip like i am going on a vacation. This is the very same receipt the hospital issues to all patients and it is a standard Ontario flat fee for ambulance service, regardless of the origin and destination. The only reason i am with that insurer is because is a group insurance from the employer. Worst ever customer service!
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Not sure if you can qualify for life insurance with existing health pre-conditions? Let us to help you with a no medical life insurance quote , meaning that you do not need to pass a medical exam to qualify for a life insurance policy.
 

Worst company EVER

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Brew Aug 25, 2014
I had the largest policy Blue Cross offered while I was a student in university. 1 million dollars in coverage towards travel for needed hospitals. When I contracted a rare cancer and had to fly 3000 miles away for treatment, I went to blue cross to put in a claim. Phone call after phone call and an afternoon of face to face discussion with my policy proof in hand, I was denied any coverage at all!! WHat is the point of having insurance, if the providers are complete crooks? Their reason for denying my claim was that I would have to prove that I was going to die if I didn't fly to another hospital? They don't even treat what I have anywhere else!! The only way to prove you would die otherwise is to die?!?! Obviously they won't pay if you are dead either!? Please save your money and pick someone else or nobody at all. You'll be better off!
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

N/A

 
(4.0 out of 5 stars)
by Kencito Apr 13, 2012
Always willing to answer all questions.
0 of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Planning to get life insurance to protect your family, including children? Make sure that you get enough coverage. According to studies, it takes about $250,000 in total to raise a child to the age of 18 (and that doesn’t include any post-secondary education costs).
Want to save on life insurance?
20+ insurers compared
Get an free, instant quote
Best life insurance rates
Blue Cross Life Insurance
11 reviews
5 Star off
(0)
4 Darkstar
(1)
3 Star off
(0)
2 Star off
(0)
1 Darkstar
(10)
Most helpfull reviews