Life Insurance Reviews

Cumis Insurance Life Insurance Reviews

This page has been viewed by: Please wait... consumers
(11 reviews)
Cumis Insurance
1.2 out of 5 stars:
Customer service:
Value for Money:
Share your own experience
Write a review

Do not get cumis!!!!

by Teej hoek on Jan 22, 2021
1 out of 5 stars

I got Cumis through Servus credit union as a mortgage life insurance/ disability 3 years ago. I was young and dumb. You are not helping your family with this company. Every 5 years they “renew” the insurance and if you didn’t contact them about any changes to your health (every 5 years) they will not pay your family out. It’s a scam because they don’t let you know this. Also, it’s expensive I paid 220$ a month for me and my smoker husband. Also eventually they will raise the price every 5 years regardless of what they say at the beginning when you pay more so your “protected by increase in payment” - scam. Term life insurance is your best bet! Go through any company that’s been there for more than 20-30 years. Term life insurance is so cheap and is best for your family. Even adding critical illness for 20-25 years is way cheaper than this piece of this company!

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo

BEWARE ..

by Richard Bradley on Jan 5, 2021
1 out of 5 stars

RIP OFF INSURANCE COMPANY!!!
I had an insurance policy that expired three years ago and this company kept taking premiums out of my account. I contacted them and was basically treated like trash and told to get lost. I then sent a letter to the insurance Ombuds Office to voice my concern and again they sided with Cumis Insurance and I was treated like garbage.
GIVE UP IF YOU TRY TO STOP THE THEFT OF MONEY BY THIS SO-CALLED INSURANCE COMPANY. AS FAR AS I AM CONCERNED THEY ARE LOW LIFE AND SHOULD BE AVOIDED AT ALL COSTS.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo

Faulty insurance denials

by Tasha on Dec 15, 2020
1 out of 5 stars

I have been paying this company for 6 years, they found a loophole to deny my short term disability claim. I have created a group to raise awareness of how they sell a false sense of security and to help people find the right course of action when their claims have been denied.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo
Review topics
Did you know that one in three Canadians, on average, will be disabled for more than three months before they turn 65? Get a disability insurance quote today to make sure your income is secure, even when you are temporary disabled.

Mental Health Diagnosis

by River on Apr 30, 2020
1 out of 5 stars

READ THE FINE PRINT

Have your family read it over and contact the company via email so you have a paper trail later on.
Family member was diagnosed with Dementia and Cumis contacted him DURING these many years of his struggles. They talked him into "upgrading' his policy for money. At no time, did anyone ask him any health questions...Go somewhere else, read their 'exclusions' IMPORTANT.. Mental Illness can void your policy and you won't even know it.

NEVER

But they were quick to take his money.

Dad eventually left us, and CUMIS did not pay out.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo

0 stars... Don't do it.

by 0 stars on Jan 26, 2019
1 out of 5 stars

I signed up for Cumis Life and Loss of Employment Insurance last year. At the time I had been with my employer for over 9 years with very few complaints. I noticed a shift in management behaviours and opted to insure myself and my family (to help cover mortgage payments) in the event of loss of employment. Sure enough, things went downhill quickly at work, and despite my best efforts to appease my employer, I found myself out of a job. I received a certificate number and summary with a benefit effective date of insurance from Cumis (as well as the premiums benefit amounts etc.) It seemed pretty cut and dry to me; I lost my job after the policy was in place but I was denied as my coverage had not been in place for 60 days prior to losing my job and they refused to pay. Honestly, with 4 kids and a wife counting on me, the last few months have been about as stressful as it gets, and it was clearly a mistake to rely on Cumis for any sort of peace of mind. I would strongly urge anyone considering insuring themselves with Cumis to look elsewhere.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo
Review topics

Scam

by tjjewett on Oct 16, 2018
1 out of 5 stars

Paid life, mortgage, accident insurance. Had an accident and was off work for 3 months and got denied for the claim because I didn't put I have acid reflux on the medical forms

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo
Not sure if you can qualify for life insurance with existing health pre-conditions? Let us to help you with a no medical life insurance quote, meaning that you do not need to pass a medical exam to qualify for a life insurance policy.

Biggest Con

by Been Conned on Oct 10, 2018
1 out of 5 stars

My parents paid into Cumis Life for over 20 years. My mom passed away in March of this year. Cumis cancelled the insurance plan right after that. Now Cumis is sending me forms so they can rip me off also. My dad has yet to receive anything for my mom. How STUPID does Cumis think I am. My parents and I have the same last name. Cumis must think I am pretty stupid to fall into their trap.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo
Review topics

Stop Payment

by Angrily Overinsured on Feb 19, 2018
1 out of 5 stars

How do I get these people to quit taking payments from my account after cancelling. I have placed stop payment on my account and they keep changing the amount each month.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo

THEY DON'T STOP TAKING YOUR $$

by Darren Vinette on Aug 9, 2017
1 out of 5 stars

4 Months ago I faxed them, called them 3 times, (I called Cambrian and did what they said to do) and they still take $9.54 every month, they must be a cash strapped company! Don't buy CUMIS life ever!

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo
Did you know that if you are a 35-year old female, a term life insurance policy for 10 years with coverage of $500,000 will cost you around $15-$20/month? Getting your life insurance quote today will allow you to lock-in a great rate.

Worst Company Ever

by Amanda on Jul 27, 2015
1 out of 5 stars

The whole point of insurance is to protect yourself if something happens unexpectedly. This company did everything they could to avoid a payout on a family member. I am beyond disgusted at the steps they took through court. In the end, the consumer can't win because the legal fees could have been as much as the payout. I hate Cumis for causing so much stress and frustration. Do not trust anything this company has to say.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo