Independent Life Insurance Reviews

Cumis Insurance Life Insurance Reviews

(8 reviews)
This page has been viewed by:
16,510
consumers
(1.3 out of 5 stars)
Customer Service:
Value for Money:
 

Greedy, unhelpful, corrupt

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by insomnitarium May 05, 2018
CUMIS insurance are very happy to take your money, as much of it as they can get their dirty little hands on. But good luck ever completing a claim. Their staff do not communicate, they will arbitrarily close your claim while stating that they "need more information" while no one is ever able to answer what additional information they need. I have attempted to complete a claim for 8 months now, still getting the runaround. These people more than happy to take your money. You'll never see a payout from them, they'll tie you up in red tape.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Planning to get life insurance to protect your family, including children? Make sure that you get enough coverage. According to studies, it takes about $250,000 in total to raise a child to the age of 18 (and that doesn’t include any post-secondary education costs).
 

Stop Payment

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Angrily Overinsured Feb 19, 2018
How do I get these people to quit taking payments from my account after cancelling. I have placed stop payment on my account and they keep changing the amount each month.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

THEY DON'T STOP TAKING YOUR $$

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Darren V. Aug 09, 2017
4 Months ago I faxed them, called them 3 times, (I called Cambrian and did what they said to do) and they still take $9.54 every month, they must be a cash strapped company! Don't buy CUMIS life ever!
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Not sure if you can qualify for life insurance with existing health pre-conditions? Let us to help you with a no medical life insurance quote , meaning that you do not need to pass a medical exam to qualify for a life insurance policy.
 

Don't bother with cumis

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by My dad Mar 28, 2016
My father fell very ill very quickly. Within days we were given the most awful news. Began the battle that we know will be lost. Helping him figure out how to afford to live during his battle. This insurance company has thus far been the worst to deal with. Do not purchase disability or life insurance with them. One of their claims officers had the nerve to even ask ... are u sure u didn't know you were ill. It seems suspicious u got insurance. But this tragedy is not happening to them, so what would they care. People buy insurance in case something terrible happens. And when it does, don't rely on these guys 'cuz their insensitivity is the last thing u want or need to hear.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Don't waste your time or money

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Hanging by a thread! Nov 06, 2015
We applied for our disability insurance and we have spent the past 5+ months waiting for a reply and have been denied. At $420/mth, they like to take your money, but not pay a claim. They have asked for almost our entire medical history. Ever hear of the privacy act? Do not use this company! They will find every excuse to Not pay out. What kind of insurance company is this? Thanks Steinbach Credit Union for supplying us with a useless insurance company. If this is the insurance company your bank/credit union offers you, find your own. They will never pay out. They will come up with every excuse. Let you go broke, and then the bank forecloses. Our loans officer even told us to find a different insurer. I do not give this company any rating at all, but you have to choose at least one star to submit this review.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Did you know that mortgage insurance is the same as life insurance but more expensive and offers less protection? By cancelling it and getting life insurance , you would typically save around 30%-40% for the same coverage.
 

Worst Company Ever

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Amanda Jul 27, 2015
The whole point of insurance is to protect yourself if something happens unexpectedly. This company did everything they could to avoid a payout on a family member. I am beyond disgusted at the steps they took through court. In the end, the consumer can't win because the legal fees could have been as much as the payout. I hate Cumis for causing so much stress and frustration. Do not trust anything this company has to say.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

CUMIS is Terrible

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by sarahyes Jul 10, 2013
I had a terrible experience with cumis, after years of paying insurance to cover loss of employment when the time finally came they denied me saying I was on a contract. Yes, doesn't everyone sign a job contract. Even though all the appropriate paperwork was given, even thought the government even said that I was laid off and entitled to coverage they refused my claim. All those thousands of dollars paid into a crap insurance company. Run the other way, and find a decent, honest insurance company to deal with.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Did you know that if you are a 35-year old female, a term life insurance policy for 10 years with coverage of $500,000 will cost you around $15-$20/month? Getting your life insurance quote today will allow you to lock-in a great rate.
 

N/A

 
(3.5 out of 5 stars)
by Anonymous Apr 11, 2012
There are not a lot of choices when one is diabetic and Cumus is one of the few options I had.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?