Life Insurance Reviews

Equitable Life of Canada Life Insurance Reviews

This page has been viewed by: Please wait... consumers
(14 reviews)
Equitable Life of Canada
2.3 out of 5 stars:
Customer service:
Value for Money:
Share your own experience
Write a review

DO NOT BUY FROM THIS COMPANY

by C. Johnson on Apr 22, 2024
1 out of 5 stars

We had an agreement for a 10-year term for life insurance coverage for $120 a month. Ten years later they are taking over $1000 a month out of my account WITHOUT my authorization and without contacting me, I was in Mexico for the winter, not expecting to have someone’s hands in my bank, so I didn’t notice for 3 months. They REFUSE TO GIVE IT BACK.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo

Customer service

by Ba wang on Feb 9, 2023
1 out of 5 stars

Waited more than an hour before somebody picked up my call, I understand they are backlogged but the agent is rude and not helpful at all. It is so frustrating they always tell the same thing that doesn't make sense. So rude and unhelpful that lady whom I spoke to. Been calling them 5 times regarding my claim since December 2022 but until now no progress. You need to retrain your customer service! So rude...

1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo
Did you know that mortgage insurance is the same as life insurance but more expensive and offers less protection? By cancelling it and getting life insurance, you would typically save around 30%-40% for the same coverage.

Do not recommend

by Mimiwo on Jan 12, 2021
1 out of 5 stars

This insurance company was bought out in the early 2000s after almost collapsing and it has been said that some policyholders lost their investments. A quick google will show all this info. After it was bought off from the brink of collapsing, they are now using third-party insurance and investment agents from a multi-level marketing company called World Financial Group (WFG). WFG has been sued multiple times for unethical practices and is a Multi-level marketing company that makes profits off recruitment with a facade of selling insurance and investments. After I became a client to an advisor some time ago and recently found out they had their license revoked for fraud allegations. There were hidden fees and documents that were not signed by me. The advisor placed my investments in a locked term with penalties if I were to withdraw them. I asked to not be in any sort of locked-in investment. Equitable reps said there is nothing they can do and they cannot control what advisors do.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo

Horrible every time I deal

by Carolorac on Sep 9, 2020
1 out of 5 stars

Easy to connect to customer service BUT the tone of their representatives are sarcastic and unhelpful. They changed their app structure and it is impossible to find the break down of my coverage. Before it was easy and helpful. I could check what I have used and what I still haven't used now I can NO... I have to study what I have used and guess what is yet to be used. It is frustrating to have to call the customer service to find out why my payment % was so low as they can give you any explanation and how can you argue back if you can't see your benefits explanations. I got this from work of course. BUT I would not recommend this company to anyone, Anyway, disappointed is the word for this service!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo

policy problem

by Daniel on Jun 14, 2020
1 out of 5 stars

The company does not respond properly to customer problems. The company does not even try to resolve issues. They love to take the premiums but do not even listen to the customer. They sold us a non-smoking policy for our son and then changed it to a smoking policy without even informing us. Nothing on the premium notice showed the change or even when it was changed. The insurance application form clearly states he was a non-smoker and he has never smoked!

2 of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo
Planning to get life insurance to protect your family, including children? Make sure that you get enough coverage. According to studies, it takes about $250,000 in total to raise a child to the age of 18 (and that doesn’t include any post-secondary education costs).

Great Company!

by ProudMama on Jun 3, 2020
5 out of 5 stars

Have insurance for both my son and me, have found this company to be extremely responsive to my questions and see value & growth in our policies. Recently saw all their donations to charities and other health organizations and was thrilled to see a big company like this giving back. I am happy my advisor choose this company to work with.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo
Review topics

Great service and rates

by john on Nov 1, 2019
5 out of 5 stars

I bought permanent life insurance for $ 500000, I got a great rate of return compared to all the other companies. They answered all my questions and I am happy and satisfied. I recommend it

0 of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo
Review topics

Group insurance plan

by aceman3226 on Jul 21, 2017
5 out of 5 stars

I have been insured with Equitable Life for over 5 years. Having a small company I look to take care of my employees providing them with the best benefits and insurer. Over the years (past 20 years) we've been with all of the big Canadian companies (Sun Life, Manulife, Great West Life) and they were all ok but from a customer service standpoint, Equitable Life call centre representatives are the most knowledgeable and actually seem to care when one of my employees phone's in.

They also have the best (and easiest) ways to send in claims over their website and through my iPhone.

Would highly recommend this company.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo
Did you know that one in three Canadians, on average, will be disabled for more than three months before they turn 65? Get a disability insurance quote today to make sure your income is secure, even when you are temporary disabled.

Constructive cancellation

by Havingsaidthat on Jun 28, 2017
1 out of 5 stars

We returned from a trip last Friday and were shocked to find a letter dated June 5th from Equitable Life informing us that our life insurance policy had lapsed due to underfunding of "monthly administration charges".
We were further informed that our $165 monthly payments (referred to as "premiums" in the sales pitch and on the policy), were now $438 a month and a "shortage" amount of $1029 is owed by June 28th or we would be required to apply for reinstatement. The reinstatement would require us to requalify for life insurance on the basis of good health to the company's satisfaction.
We signed on to this Equation Universal Life policy on the advice of a so called financial advisor, who had been referred to us by a mortgage broker, due to our need at the time for mortgage insurance on an $80,000 mortgage. We still have the
We were 33 and 37 years old when we began with Equitable life, and we have paid $41,580 over 21 years for a $250000 insurance policy.
Having dutifully paid our premiums over 21 years, up to and including May 30, we are stunned to find ourselves suddenly uninsured with little time to react and come to grips with a staggering 165% premium increase.
We were a simple hardworking Canadian family in 1996 just trying to do the right thing in purchasing insurance. We didn't sign on to play the stock market, and we are not trained or well versed in financial matters. We trusted the experts and just kept on paying our premiums.
Given our evident longstanding loyalty, I am surprised that no financial advisor or customer service representative affiliated with our account bothered to contact us or otherwise give us advance notice of our looming situation.
We certainly were contacted with additional accident insurance offers from time to time.
To me, this appears to be a sort of constructive cancellation of our policy.
I contacted an Equitable Life Individual customer service representative on June 26 to request more specific details regarding the underfunding matter and the administration charges in writing.
I provided an email address and telephone number. I have received nothing to date.
I sincerely hope that this sort of thing never happens to anyone else.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo