Life Insurance Reviews

Great-West Life Life Insurance Reviews

This page has been viewed by: Please wait... consumers
(14 reviews)
Great-West Life
2.8 out of 5 stars:
Customer service:
Value for Money:
Share your own experience
Write a review

This is the worst!

by CouldBeBetter on Jun 20, 2021
1 out of 5 stars

I have had several insurance companies for group benefit, and Great-West Life is the worst. They do their very best to deny your claims, sometimes with extremely bizarre excuses. I pulled out a tooth when I was with another insurance company, then I changed my job, and very, unfortunately, the new company was with Great-West Life. When my dentist submitted the estimate to do something with my tooth, it was denied with the excuse that the tooth was not pulled out when the patient with them, and that was in their policy. I had never seen anything on paper regarding that policy, and certainly, they could not show it to me in any form. This kind of behavior is worse than robbery and stealing, in my opinion, and this kind of company should be legally closed.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo
Review topics

Widow left with nothing

by Hurting on Jun 8, 2021
1 out of 5 stars

My husband was still working when he passed away in 2010. I was told I would be paid 75k. But because he turned 70 2 weeks before he died, I got nothing. They never told him or me that would happen. I lost our family home. 😭

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo

No issues

by K.O. on Sep 1, 2020
5 out of 5 stars

I see all these horrible reviews and I was feeling doomed and afraid, but in fact, I have had zero issues or a bad experience and I have been disabled 6 years. My worker is amazing and always answers my calls and is supportive and kind. I am sure there are more people out there that have had good experiences with this insurer.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo
Did you know that if you are a 30-year old male, a term life insurance policy for 20 years with coverage of $200,000 will cost you around $19/month? Getting your term life insurance quote today will allow you to benefit from a great rate.

health insurance DISAPPOINTING

by bcblueeyes on Mar 14, 2019
1.5 out of 5 stars

Great-West Health/Dental insurance policy is disappointing compared to competitors. GWL only pays what a guide would indicate rather than what a service provider charges. This is a real cheap way out of providing health and dental coverage. My partner's insurance does pay the difference of what GWL does not pay (as her insurance company Sun Life has good customer policy). GWL has no problem taking my monthly fee but maybe they should change their policy to reflect other insurance companies. If my employer did not use GWL, I would not recommend GWL due to their cheapness (policies) in co-insurance.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo
Review topics

fraud

by Ben on Nov 29, 2018
1 out of 5 stars

If you have a choice, stay away from this company. They will do anything to not pay your claims. i.e. multiple short-term disability claims of my colleagues have been delayed in payment for months after their disability period. Cancer medication claims have been ignored over and over again. One of my colleague's husband passed away more than 6 months ago and there are still no payments. You can imagine the financial stress this creates. For myself, basically, every claim in the region of 100 $ + (over one hundred) is "randomly" selected for audit half the time then ignored after successful completion of the audit. The customer support line phone always has a busy tone. You simply cannot reach them. The online written requests get no answer. If you escalate to your company administrator, they will make statements that they tried to call you three times to clarify. They will state that you as a customer ignored them and therefore they do not pay. I can go on and on with these stories... Overall, this is a full-on fraud company.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo

Not worth the money.

by Dallas on Jul 18, 2017
1 out of 5 stars

I was forced to buy into group insurance. What they don't tell you is that it is a tiered system, meaning the high level management personnel receive extraordinary benefits on the backs of the mid-level employees. As middle management I was hit the hardest, my premiums were very high because of my salary, but I did not receive the top level of benefits and the already over paid upper management did. It still bothers me and when I left the company, I had paid more than 13 years of life insurance premiums that I was told had "no cash value". In a private plan, those premiums are often paid back to you, but I received nothing and was immediately without coverage the day I left the company. It is even incredible hard to get a clear answer what your benefits actually cover.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo
Did you know that mortgage insurance is the same as life insurance but more expensive and offers less protection? By cancelling it and getting life insurance, you would typically save around 30%-40% for the same coverage.

terrible customer service

by nettysent on Oct 22, 2012
1.5 out of 5 stars

I appreciate the coverage offered but the customer service is terrible. The woman who answered my call was rude and condescending. I hope to never have to call again.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo

Love my GWL life insurance!

by marklg on May 11, 2012
5 out of 5 stars

I get my GWL life through my company, and it is simple to use!

0 of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo

N/A

by Anonymous on Apr 11, 2012
4 out of 5 stars

I had life insurance with this company for years and had no issues whatsoever. It was a whole life plan and any time I requested any type of payout on my savings it was taken care of promplty and with great professionalism. No complaints at all.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo

Thinking of getting a life insurance quote from an insurance agent? They work for one insurance company and can only sell the products of that company. That may not result in the best rate for you. Our insurance brokers compare life insurance quotes across 20+ Canadian insurers for you.

N/A

by Anonymous on Apr 11, 2012
3.5 out of 5 stars

They are okay to deal with however hear very little from them or their agent that looks after me.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo