Independent Life Insurance Reviews

Great-West Life Life Insurance Reviews

(186 reviews)
This page has been viewed by:
150,242
consumers
(1.3 out of 5 stars)
Customer Service:
Value for Money:
 

Disability claim

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by TB Jan 20, 2020
The Edmonton office is horrible, if you have any choice do not go with these people! I was paid for a month then waited over a month to hear back from my claim adjuster, left voicemails and emails, even called his group leader and didn’t receive anything. I paid this company for years and still haven't received proper coverage, I emailed him on Thursday, January 9th and still haven’t received a response, this company is an embarrassment.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thinking of getting a life insurance quote from an insurance agent? They work for one insurance company and can only sell the products of that company. That may not result in the best rate for you. Our insurance brokers compare life insurance quotes across 20+ Canadian insurers for you.
 

Terrible Benefits Comapny

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by AnnoyedEmployee Jan 16, 2020
This is the worst insurance company. They take way too long to process claims and then deny them for "not meeting requirements" that were not previously listed ANYWHERE. When calling to inquire, they tell you you should have "known the requirements" or "called first to ask". Absolutely not - if something is a requirement, it should be listed as such on the website. They will find any reason to deny your claim. If you're looking for a group benefits provider, save your employees and look elsewhere.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Run around

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by EG Jan 10, 2020
My husband has been receiving DSB for now 3 years first and out of the blue now they say there are discrepancies in his file and want him to see one of their doctors about 8 hours away. My husband's doctors do not want him to drive or fly. I bet anything they will cut his benefit...he told them he was unable to make that trip but would be willing to see another specialist in our province. Always something with them! They lie and make things up as they go. All 3 doctors have written letters stating he can not return to work. Chronic pain and back problems will not get any better.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Did you know that if you are a 35-year old female, a term life insurance policy for 10 years with coverage of $500,000 will cost you around $15-$20/month? Getting your life insurance quote today will allow you to lock-in a great rate.
 

Will do anything not to pay

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Disabled Dec 24, 2019
Had a disability product. Terrible service. The caseworkers keep demanding doctor letters that I had to pay for, wasting neurologists valuable time as doctors had already signed off in forms to state I was totally disabled. Wouldn’t even consider Great-West Life. Really terrible all the way.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Incompetence everywhere

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by iBarJar Dec 18, 2019
This company only wants the premium. They do not want to do any service. They try their very best to frustrate customers. Calls take > 30 minutes to connect anyone. Emails take 4 days or more.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Did you know that mortgage insurance is the same as life insurance but more expensive and offers less protection? By cancelling it and getting life insurance , you would typically save around 30%-40% for the same coverage.
 

I can't even begin

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by ih8gwl Dec 17, 2019
Want payment delayed for no reason? Want doctors faxes or medical claims rejected despite being covered denied without explanation? Want your spouse inexplicably removed for no reason? How about no payments for 6-7 weeks during your rehabilitation back to work? Lawyer up if you want to deal with this negligence and document everything, I wish I did. 31 months I've dealt with this insanity and never again, just mistake after mistake and nobody cares at all.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

They are a Scam

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Tams Dec 10, 2019
I've been insured with them through my work and have been paying into them for almost 2 years with no claims. I finally made a claim for orthopedic shoes and it has been a month since I sent them what they asked for - doctor's prescription and podiatrist's. They rejected my claim BY SENDING A LETTER THROUGH SNAIL MAIL!!! I can't even touch how bad an idea that is because it's slow and dated... ESPECIALLY WHEN THEY CAN CALL/EMAIL OR UPDATE MY FILE! I called to find out why, and I've had to wait on the phone for half an hour before a representative picks up and tells me the same things. They refuse to pay for my shoes because according to their system my condition requires orthotics, not ortho shoes. I asked them to cover my orthotic insoles and they said my plan doesn't cover those, only ortho shoes, but they won't pay for my shoes because my condition requires the insoles... I explained that my doctor told me to get both of them for my condition, but they are saying their system says otherwise and they don't cover insoles. Fast forward to a month and I've spoken to the supervisor twice and have only received the same runaround. This is literally the worst runaround in the history of runaround. It goes likes this: "Your doctor says you need these things but our system says you need only the insoles. We do not cover insoles for you but we do cover shoes for you. We can't give you shoes because according to our system you need insoles. We don't cover insoles for you." It is ridiculous! This is what I've had to hear for a month AFTER waiting on the phone for upwards of 20 minutes and up to a half-hour. Please! For the sake of your sanity, and your money, if your employer offers benefits through this company, don't waste your money because you can easily pay for your stuff without going through them if you choose to opt-out.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Did you know that one in three Canadians, on average, will be disabled for more than three months before they turn 65? Get a disability insurance quote today to make sure your income is secure, even when you are temporary disabled.
 

Worst Response Time

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by RL Nov 14, 2019
I sent them an email asking about one of my claims. They responded back 20 days later with little to no information. They do not care about their clients. Thankfully our workplace has switched to another provider.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Don’t ever use this company

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Overwhelmed Nov 05, 2019
I feel like they scam people I’ve paid into this company for years through my work. I never had to use them until just recently. I had to have surgery and was going to be off work for 1 month to 6 weeks. All the papers were filled out by both myself and the surgeon. It has been a month and I have not seen any money from them... In fact, they are asking for all the forms to be filled out again by me and my surgeon. My surgeon has faxed them three times now..now no one is responding to my calls and messages that I have left. I had to pay my bills and rent with my credit card. I’m running out of money and I feel helpless. I’m not sure what to do anymore. This company needs to be Investigated.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Not sure if you can qualify for life insurance with existing health pre-conditions? Let us to help you with a no medical life insurance quote , meaning that you do not need to pass a medical exam to qualify for a life insurance policy.
 

Refuse to pay for CPAP Machine

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by jeromeqc Oct 31, 2019
For years I had severe anxiety problems and was unable to find the root cause for it. Recently I have been diagnosed with Sleep Apnea, doctor recommended me to buy a CPAP machine and to be honest it changed my life! The best of it is I don't need to take medication for the anxiety anymore, sleep apnea was the root cause for my anxiety! Turns out that the (not so) Great West refuse to pay for the CPAP machine which is priced at 1700$ because for them I am not sick enough (i have moderate Sleep Apnea), they reimburse me over 1000$ per year for anxiety pills but they won't pay a dime for the real solution to the problem which is Sleep Apnea.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Are they scammers?

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by apple Oct 28, 2019
I don't know what is up with this company, I filed a short term disability claim but it seems like they do everything in their power to avoid paying you. I had to call maybe 50 times to get somebody to review my file, and even after several months, I haven't received a penny! Please avoid this company, lucky for me it was only a short term disability and I was able to withstand the damage.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Did you know there is a 35% chance of developing a critical illness before you are 65 and 65%-70% chance before you turn 81? That means getting a critical illness insurance quote is no less important than getting life insurance. Your choice.
 

Great Service from GWL

 
(5.0 out of 5 stars)
by tanya Oct 27, 2019
I'm sorry to hear you are all having difficulties with this company. This company has been extremely supportive and the process has not been difficult at all. I thought leaving a comment on my positive experience would be beneficial so that people know they don't always provide bad service!
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Patel

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by RedAlert Oct 22, 2019
The GWL is worst for coverage through job medical insurance. They excuse to not pay for the tooth procedure and crown because it was taken out before I joined the present company. Don't you think this is an excuse? This company took around 4-5 months to answer the question that, are they going to pay or not. Finally, they said they will not pay. I am surprised why consumer protection is not taking any action against this kind of useless company, keeping such stupid clauses in the policies.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Planning to get life insurance to protect your family, including children? Make sure that you get enough coverage. According to studies, it takes about $250,000 in total to raise a child to the age of 18 (and that doesn’t include any post-secondary education costs).
 

worst, terrible, scammer

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by chris Oct 11, 2019
This is the worst insurance provider, always making an excuse not to pay any type of claim. Another insurer already pays the CPAP machine for my sleep apnea which is $2016 and they just need to pay the remaining wich is $504 still they declined to pay it, shame on you Great-West Life. Another insurer paid it without any question. Great-West Life is the terrible and worst insurance company ever.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

GWL-doesn't do their Job right

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by GWL doesnt do job right Sep 26, 2019
I've been on LTD disabled Insurance through work for 20 years - 1st with London Life then GWL bought them...I think my policy may have changed then... I've told GWL with every request they send me, exactly what my monthly CPP income was.. then I got CPP survivor benefit added when the husband died ... and they were notified then, and my disability payments never were reduced. OK... I figured I am allowed to keep CPP survivor benefit.. as I've always told them in everything they requested that I've "this total Includes CPP Survivor benefit" I'm told now... there IS no allowance for inflation. Every extra penny CPP gives me including what my Husband wanted me to have is deducted and I am ONLY allowed to make $800 month for life...HOW CAN ANYONE LIVE ON $800 MONTHLY for life in this era ?? Now GWL wants to do a review of past CPP payments as they say they overpaid me.... even Ontario disability pays $1,130 mo to their clients... However.. it was GWL fault their workers never read or followed up on what I've been sending them for over 7 years... IF there was an issue... someone on their end should have caught it years ago... Now they want $30.000 + paid back as overpayments of 7 years... and I don't even make anything close to what government assistance pays their ODSP clients.. and housing wants 33 % of income... If one can get that... This is their fault by not reading what I've been sending them all these years, and now want to come after me for them not doing their job right... I've had 6 different GWL caseworkers in past 8 years...who always approved my file because of what honesty I've stated... How can they make ME responsible for them dropping the ball??? I don't have the money to repay this amount :-( I guess I need a lawyer...
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Did you know that if you are a 30-year old male, a term life insurance policy for 20 years with coverage of $200,000 will cost you around $19/month? Getting your term life insurance quote today will allow you to benefit from a great rate.
 

Terrible

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by fafonso Aug 27, 2019
They take months to approve something that you are entitled to receive. You have to be persistent otherwise they won't pay anything. My husband works with another insurance company and comparing with this one is away better, they are faster and they don't play games like great west. Really bad company!
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

NIGHTMARE

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by basarabas Aug 21, 2019
I have been working with Great-West for my insurance coverage for nine years, alongside them is another insurance company for my husband. There is absolutely no comparison. Great-West should be embarrassed and disgusted by their “service” to clients. They have always been very slow to process claims and question everything on top of their slowness, however, in the last three months, they have become even worse with me. They have a claim that they have not processed since June 8! They have emailed me four times about it, asking for different information, as well as called the service provider about it July 30th and questioned them. What’s more, is that it doesn’t even show up on their online system as being received and under review! So I called last week and inquired about that claim and she said she could see it and everything looks fine so it should be processed in a few days. I said fine and I still want to speak to a manager. Still, no claim has been processed and no one has called me back! I have many other problems with this company but the list is too long to type here so I just put my recent problem. I caution any employer or individual thinking of going with this provider, you’ll regret it! I have talked to several other people at my work place and they have said the same thing - NIGHTMARE! Unless you want to be on a constant audit DO NOT go with this company! I wouldn’t give this company even one star if it were not mandatory for posting!
1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Did you know that mortgage insurance is the same as life insurance but more expensive and offers less protection? By cancelling it and getting life insurance , you would typically save around 30%-40% for the same coverage.
 

Sneaky and Terrible Coverage

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by frustrated Jul 16, 2019
I'm under my partner's health benefits. Chiropractic care is listed at $500 per year covered at 100%. I had my initial assessment for $125. This was the least expensive that I found in my immediate area in Toronto. Only $68 was covered much to my surprise. After extensive time on the phone, I was told that they only cover the lowest amount offered in my area. Looking at the Ontario Chiropractic Association's website I found that they recommend a fee was $88 - $150 for an initial assessment in 2019. The company refused to share with me their supporting evidence showing how they found $68 to be the lowest cost per hour. This is honestly so frustrating. If a plan offers $500 covered at 100% I shouldn't be surprised that my first claim towards this amount isn't fully covered. Maybe there are smaller towns in Ontario where $68 is the cost of chiropractic care but in Toronto, you're unlikely to find this. There's nothing that makes me so upset as sneaky and deceptive behaviour.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Zero empathy

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Unhappywoman Jun 20, 2019
This company has zero empathy and lack any form of communication skills when it comes to their clients. Being on short term disability for mental illness and they make it worse by refusing to cover any treatment for a psychologist after they referred me to their own doctor to see if I needed that treatment. After their own doctor stated I needed therapy from a psychologist they still refused to pay due to it “being too expensive” of treatment; been off work since February and they never once referred me to get any form of medical help so I bought it on my own and when I did that, they come back with zero financial aid and a comment of “we’re not responsible for your choices”. Apparently, someone who cannot work because of mental illness is to sit on the couch and do nothing and become worse because to them that is financially safe. Worst insurance company ever.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Planning to get life insurance to protect your family, including children? Make sure that you get enough coverage. According to studies, it takes about $250,000 in total to raise a child to the age of 18 (and that doesn’t include any post-secondary education costs).
 

psychotherapists not covered

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by km Jun 08, 2019
It is absurd that they determine the type of mental health professional I am allowed to see. This needs to be changed. Psychotherapists should be covered on any plan that has social workers or psychologists.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Great Worst Life

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Jordan May 31, 2019
Honestly, my life was better with my dislocated disc in my back, then dealing with these people who have no care for their clients. I am in disbelief because I was off for 12 weeks and now I was told they are only gonna be paying me for 4 weeks. I am shocked and feel disgusted.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thinking of getting a life insurance quote from an insurance agent? They work for one insurance company and can only sell the products of that company. That may not result in the best rate for you. Our insurance brokers compare life insurance quotes across 20+ Canadian insurers for you.
 

In business to make money

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Displeased in BC May 29, 2019
Dealing with GWL on a disability claim for my wife has been completely abhorrent. As others have noted, if they can find ANY reason to deny the claim, they will. We have in writing from them that while her doctors may consider her unable to work, they don't agree (without justification given) so go back to work. Despite our request to be seen by a doctor of their choosing, they declined and stuck with their decision on appeal. If your employer defaults to their decision, as he does, then you are stuck with the employer demanding that she return to work despite doctors instructions she can't. The sad irony in this is she is paying for this 'coverage'. The sad footnote is every health care provider we have dealt with, has had nothing good to say about patient experiences with GWL.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Absolutely no compassion

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Mary May 27, 2019
I've been off work for 5 months, my EI ran out in April, it is now the end of May. They told me complete lies about waiting for my employer to respond about my income to find out they didn't actually reach out until May 23rd. I've called a few times a week and they kept giving me the same excuse while talking down to me as if I'm bothering them to do their job. Now the person who handled my claim is away and will call me next week. I've been told next week for 4 weeks. This is completely unprofessional, you can't seem to get through to anyone in charge. I'm a single mother, having health issues, no other income. This is insurance I pay for and they treat me like I'm working for them. I have not been able to speak to one person who has been polite or understanding during this whole process. This is completely unprofessional...
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Did you know that if you are a 35-year old female, a term life insurance policy for 10 years with coverage of $500,000 will cost you around $15-$20/month? Getting your life insurance quote today will allow you to lock-in a great rate.
 

Long Term Disability

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by spencer May 22, 2019
Great West Life needs to have a class action suit filed against them. They fully know that you will never get through on their one fax number for all claims for all of Canada. They prey on the insured a game of non-customer service. You need to record and file a complaint to the different insurance regulators government and non-government. They need to be exposed for the harm they are doing to their customers. They are ruining lives. They fail to be honest and show a willing nature to frustrate and delay and deny claims. They fail to collect all information on claims and blame the client. We need to get together to take collective action against them. I faxed them a dozen times and got busy signals today every time. They fully know this is the best way to frustrate and eliminate your timely claims. This cancer must be removed and penalize and removed from the insurance business. Will give some direction in how to deal with this company that has taken advantage of hundreds of people. They prey on your lack of knowledge on what to do. They have been at this for years and have schooled themselves in how to handle the Art Of The Claim To their advantage
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

The Worst

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by rick May 18, 2019
They have an answering machine phone system, very hard to get an agent on the phone. They rarely return phone calls. Rarely return emails. Very difficult to fax documents as their fax machine seems to usually not work and takes days to weeks to get a hold of an agent to confirm whether fax went through. Then it seems like they don't even read medical records sent to them. Got my claim and appeal both denied which took 5 months total. Denials didn't mention any medical information sent to them, doctor's diagnosis, or doctor finding I was not medically fit for work. You'll hear lots about being 60% able to work. It doesn't matter if you are vomiting, dizzy, or having other flu-like symptoms. Doesn't matter your doctor finds you unfit for work and in need of bed rest. The whole system is corrupt by design. Don't worry about your claim being paid out, it won't be.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Did you know there is a 35% chance of developing a critical illness before you are 65 and 65%-70% chance before you turn 81? That means getting a critical illness insurance quote is no less important than getting life insurance. Your choice.
 

Bad service

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by muammer May 02, 2019
I am on the short term disability from my workplace and they work with the Great-West. I'm already on a 70% reduced coverage and they made me pay for the 150$ form they provide for the doctor to fill in. On top of that, there are 7 days waiting period without pay, if you don't have sick days you're pretty much in trouble. The doctor asked for 4 weeks no work, Great-West reduced it to 2 and a half. Every time you make a claim or a quote, they always refuse it or ask for more information. Everything to make you give up. The staff on the phone won't accept criticism and will argue with me.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Short term disability

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by IJ Apr 16, 2019
I had recently been put on a short term leave from my job due to a pregnancy. I work in a highly dangerous environment with violent clients. Shortly after being put on leave I had a miscarriage. My leave was supposed to be 7 weeks according to my doctor's notes. I had been upfront and shared all information regarding every appointment to GWL and was happy to supply them with any further medical notes they needed. I was told by my GWL caseworker that I no longer qualified for a short term leave because my pregnancy being why I was off in the first place. I explained that I was still having complications and that my doctor insisted I needed to take the full 7 weeks. I was also told I didn’t qualify anymore because I was able to return to my job and complete 60% of my work. Which I found laughable because if I’m anything less than 100% at this job I put everybody at risk. I went back to my doctor and explained what was happening and he said I am the physician and the medical professional here and I believe you need the full 7 weeks. At this time I call my caseworker who tells me I’ve been cut off from my benefits as of last week. She said she had tried calling and leaving me a voice mail but there are no records of either on my phone. So glad I won’t be having to deal with this company again
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Did you know that one in three Canadians, on average, will be disabled for more than three months before they turn 65? Get a disability insurance quote today to make sure your income is secure, even when you are temporary disabled.
 

GWL Long Term Disability

 
(5.0 out of 5 stars)
by Tara S Apr 10, 2019
Hey, folks, I read all reviews and surprised since GWL has been very supportive of my LTD claim. I run races and marathons, drive my car, play field hockey. My specialists support my chronic pain and given no hard time from the insurer. I had my arm removed from elbow to my hand and have a complex case treated by Bioscript Solutions in Oakville.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Very expensive and no service

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Mona Mar 29, 2019
The insurance is full of surprises. I was claiming for my dental and apparently, it is not covered because the first crown was less than 5 years. There is no booklet with exceptions available even though I requested it already like 2 times. This is completely a rip-off. I have the right to know what are the exceptions in order to make a choice if I go to my dentist in Canada or Europe. In order to receive a response, it takes more than 2-3 weeks. This is not a support service at all...
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Not sure if you can qualify for life insurance with existing health pre-conditions? Let us to help you with a no medical life insurance quote , meaning that you do not need to pass a medical exam to qualify for a life insurance policy.
 

HORRIBLE COVERAGE

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Jon Mar 26, 2019
Hey folks - robbery = GWL. They don't cover anything. Says 100% but an absolute scam! The ombudsman should be called in and this company should pay out the millions it owes to everyone! How can anyone work for this company? I get it, you're scared to change jobs. At least tell the management that they are scamming ppl and that is no the way to do business. What a horrible company.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?