Independent Life Insurance Reviews

Great-West Life Life Insurance Reviews

(156 reviews)
This page has been viewed by:
122,730
consumers
(1.4 out of 5 stars)
Customer Service:
Value for Money:
 

Bad service

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by muammer May 02, 2019
I am on the short term disability from my workplace and they work with the Great-West. I'm already on a 70% reduced coverage and they made me pay for the 150$ form they provide for the doctor to fill in. On top of that, there are 7 days waiting period without pay, if you don't have sick days you're pretty much in trouble. The doctor asked for 4 weeks no work, Great-West reduced it to 2 and a half. Every time you make a claim or a quote, they always refuse it or ask for more information. Everything to make you give up. The staff on the phone won't accept criticism and will argue with me.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Did you know that one in three Canadians, on average, will be disabled for more than three months before they turn 65? Get a disability insurance quote today to make sure your income is secure, even when you are temporary disabled.
 

Short term disability

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by IJ Apr 16, 2019
I had recently been put on a short term leave from my job due to a pregnancy. I work in a highly dangerous environment with violent clients. Shortly after being put on leave I had a miscarriage. My leave was supposed to be 7 weeks according to my doctor's notes. I had been upfront and shared all information regarding every appointment to GWL and was happy to supply them with any further medical notes they needed. I was told by my GWL caseworker that I no longer qualified for a short term leave because my pregnancy being why I was off in the first place. I explained that I was still having complications and that my doctor insisted I needed to take the full 7 weeks. I was also told I didn’t qualify anymore because I was able to return to my job and complete 60% of my work. Which I found laughable because if I’m anything less than 100% at this job I put everybody at risk. I went back to my doctor and explained what was happening and he said I am the physician and the medical professional here and I believe you need the full 7 weeks. At this time I call my caseworker who tells me I’ve been cut off from my benefits as of last week. She said she had tried calling and leaving me a voice mail but there are no records of either on my phone. So glad I won’t be having to deal with this company again
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

GWL Long Term Disability

 
(5.0 out of 5 stars)
by Tara S Apr 10, 2019
Hey, folks, I read all reviews and surprised since GWL has been very supportive of my LTD claim. I run races and marathons, drive my car, play field hockey. My specialists support my chronic pain and given no hard time from the insurer. I had my arm removed from elbow to my hand and have a complex case treated by Bioscript Solutions in Oakville.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Did you know that mortgage insurance is the same as life insurance but more expensive and offers less protection? By cancelling it and getting life insurance , you would typically save around 30%-40% for the same coverage.
 

Very expensive and no service

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Mona Mar 29, 2019
The insurance is full of surprises. I was claiming for my dental and apparently, it is not covered because the first crown was less than 5 years. There is no booklet with exceptions available even though I requested it already like 2 times. This is completely a rip-off. I have the right to know what are the exceptions in order to make a choice if I go to my dentist in Canada or Europe. In order to receive a response, it takes more than 2-3 weeks. This is not a support service at all...
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

HORRIBLE COVERAGE

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Jon Mar 26, 2019
Hey folks - robbery = GWL. They don't cover anything. Says 100% but an absolute scam! The ombudsman should be called in and this company should pay out the millions it owes to everyone! How can anyone work for this company? I get it, you're scared to change jobs. At least tell the management that they are scamming ppl and that is no the way to do business. What a horrible company.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Did you know that if you are a 35-year old female, a term life insurance policy for 10 years with coverage of $500,000 will cost you around $15-$20/month? Getting your life insurance quote today will allow you to lock-in a great rate.
 

Long term Disability

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by bigdog Mar 26, 2019
Stay away!!! This company takes your money and doesn't honour their policies. Doing treatment for cancer and was told I didn't have the claim, so I was still able to do my job. Forced back to work and had to stop treatment, will work hard to get my employer to kick this company to the curb. Took them 3 months to figure my claim and just denied it anyways. Doctors and the company are confused about why the claim was denied. This insurance company is an example of what is wrong in the world today - greed. Stay away from this dollar store insurance company. If you work for a company like this, look in the mirror and ask yourself: can I make this a better world for my kids or will I be a part of the problem
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

health insurance DISAPPOINTING

 
(1.5 out of 5 stars)
by bcblueeyes Mar 14, 2019
Great-West Health/Dental insurance policy is disappointing compared to competitors. GWL only pays what a guide would indicate rather than what a service provider charges. This is a real cheap way out of providing health and dental coverage. My partner's insurance does pay the difference of what GWL does not pay (as her insurance company Sun Life has good customer policy). GWL has no problem taking my monthly fee but maybe they should change their policy to reflect other insurance companies. If my employer did not use GWL, I would not recommend GWL due to their cheapness (policies) in co-insurance.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Did you know there is a 35% chance of developing a critical illness before you are 65 and 65%-70% chance before you turn 81? That means getting a critical illness insurance quote is no less important than getting life insurance. Your choice.
 

Hugh Disappointment

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Johnathan Mar 07, 2019
If you have an option, stay away from their service. I tried to call a general helpline and find out more info regarding disability claims. They gave me another to call for disability claim info. I called that number, and the lady on the phone told me I should call another office in Scarborough, so I called Scarborough disability claim office. They said they only help with existing claims. With all this passing around, I still couldn't find out if they will accept my situation, where to submit claims, and how to get claim form etc. Useless, rude, slow, ineffective customer services. Lastly, I found out I should contact my account rep-M.D. She never answers her phones or returns phone calls. Every time I call, she is out of the office or away from the desk. If your company is short of staffing, hire more people, and hire smarter people. Super Disappointed
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

GWL is a fraud

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Nicki Feb 28, 2019
This company is a total fraud. Broke my elbow and they denied my claim. Over and over. Appeal after appeal. Documented disability as it’s on an X-ray and still denied. I don’t know how these people look themselves in the mirror and live with themselves knowing that every day they literally ruin people’s lives.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Not sure if you can qualify for life insurance with existing health pre-conditions? Let us to help you with a no medical life insurance quote , meaning that you do not need to pass a medical exam to qualify for a life insurance policy.
 

Crafty Lawyers.

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Anonymous Feb 23, 2019
This 'company' is a complete and utter farce run by callous individuals. Their policies are a joke, leaving you with little-to-no coverage. There are numerous occasions where I am reimbursed $2, $4, $5 as a result of how they run the numbers. I am inclined to call it a scam, but somehow these sneaky crooks play by their fine print rules and get away with it. I advise anyone of good ethical character to steer clear from any involvement with this 'company'.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Stay away from this company

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Teephany Feb 19, 2019
This is the worst company ever. They don't care about their customers at all. Only care about pocketing the cash every month. No return of call. Will go to great lengths not to pay indemnity.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Planning to get life insurance to protect your family, including children? Make sure that you get enough coverage. According to studies, it takes about $250,000 in total to raise a child to the age of 18 (and that doesn’t include any post-secondary education costs).
 

High claim rejection

 
(1.5 out of 5 stars)
by Darkev Feb 15, 2019
I’m supposed to have group insurance for dental. However each year my out-of-pocket expenses go up and up while Great-West finds new ways to not pay for claims. Recently I had 2 fillings on 2 teeth that happened to have crowns on them. The crowns were not touched. The two teeth under the crowns had cavities where my gums receded. $430 was the cost and $0 was the benefit amount. They don’t cover fillings to teeth that have crowns on them. They consider this “crown repair” when the dentist never touched the crowns at all. This is just one of many ineligible claim excuses they come up with to render your dental plan with them practically useless. I’m going to be pushing our union to switch to a better provider. We have approximately 40,000 employees and many of us in my section are fed up with this company.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Horrible Insurance

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by tikisa Jan 22, 2019
My son recently became very ill and #greatwestlife will not pay for his medicine. The 2 reasons they have given you are also madness in my opinion. 1. It's too expensive –or- 2. It’s a new drug... 1. is the only reason I have insurance and 2. Every Dr. I have spoken with has been using this since the 80s to treat this illness. The head of the specific division of pediatrics at BC Children Hospital has written a letter to GWL with no result. The drug is covered by Pharmacare and they still won't cover it. ...BE WARNED! #greatwestlife are not an investment, not an insurance company they are highway robbers.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thinking of getting a life insurance quote from an insurance agent? They work for one insurance company and can only sell the products of that company. That may not result in the best rate for you. Our insurance brokers compare life insurance quotes across 20+ Canadian insurers for you.
 

GWL policy

 
(2.0 out of 5 stars)
by rene.r.c Jan 17, 2019
They have a policy where if you have two different plan coverage but both with GWL, they will only pay for the procedure once regardless of how much money is on either plan. Ex. if I have 1000 worth dental work done, my plan only covers 800. You'd think my spouse's plan, which covers 1000, also would cover the balance of 200. Nope, GWL will only pay for the procedure once. So why am I paying for 2 plans, why don't you provide me with service I'm paying for on both plans?
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Bad customer service!!!

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Bad service Jan 14, 2019
Waiting on phone call more than 30 min and nobody answers, just the operator says: wait. I tried to call more than 3 times this morning. Even no star for this but no other option.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Did you know that if you are a 30-year old male, a term life insurance policy for 20 years with coverage of $200,000 will cost you around $19/month? Getting your term life insurance quote today will allow you to benefit from a great rate.
 

Revolting Customer Service

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by DontDrinkandDrive Jan 13, 2019
Paid into the LTD program for over a year. Drunk driver hits me on my way to work. I am now suffering from chronic headaches and migraines and vision problems. Submitted a request for LTD in October 2018 and it's half-way in January 2019 and it's still "pending medical approval from our consultants"? If you send ANY document to your claims adjuster, you are now in a mandatory two-week queue prior to your claims adjuster even looking at it. This includes an attached document that is REQUIRED to be sent. GWL is so reluctant on giving out money but so easy to take your monthly LTD payments by you and your coworkers. They don't care about your financial situation or even remotely show compassion towards your disability. They treat you like criminals. With 20-20 Hindsight, I would strongly discourage any company from joining GWL's poor service. Scroll up, Scroll down. The same thing I wrote has been mentioned over a hundred times and nothing has changed.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Health and Dental Nightmare

 
(1.5 out of 5 stars)
by Robin PS Dec 18, 2018
Unfortunately, I have negative things to share about my experiences with GWL. Not only have they made me jump through hoops for both dental and medical coverage, they have not honoured a predetermination as they say they need “more information” which is clearly a stalling tactic. My doctor has appealed meds coverage twice, I’ve appealed twice and they only come back with “we just don’t cover that med.” Not even a generic. I hate to say but I am going to try and opt out of this coverage because it’s horrible. Very very disappointed and extremely dissatisfied.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Did you know that if you are a 35-year old female, a term life insurance policy for 10 years with coverage of $500,000 will cost you around $15-$20/month? Getting your life insurance quote today will allow you to lock-in a great rate.
 

Policy not honoured

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Blubaru Dec 17, 2018
This is about "Drug Insurance", which is not available in the Product type. The Ontario Pension Board's Ontario Public Service Pension Plan drug coverage is supposed to be 90% but Great-West Life Assurance has applied a $1,000/year limit on a specific drug. The information available from the Ontario Pension Board and from the Great-West Life Assurance's GroupNet websites state that the drug coverage is 90% without any exception. Great-West Life will not provide the insurance policy, only a sketchy self-excusing letter explaining the limit using Health Canada and other excuses to deny payment for copayment coverage for a drug I have been taking for at least 13 years at the same dosage. My doctor submitted a form requested by Great-West Life Assurance in which the reason for prescribing and the dosage was stated, which Great-West Life Assurance rejected. Great-West Life Assurance is dishonest. Ultimately, this will probably be settled in small claims court. It isn't just about the small amount of money involved, it is the principle that the information presented by the Ontario Pension Board and Great-West Life Assurance state specific coverage, which is not being honoured and, if there is an exception, that information is not provided, and the supposed exception to 90% coverage is for a different condition for the prescribed drug. The Ontario Treasury Board Secretariat is a party to the insurance policy agreement and will be named as a party in a small claims court lawsuit. If this is resolved in small claims court, it will cost Great-West Life Assurance and the taxpayer of Ontario a lot more money than the outstanding unreimbursed amount.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Very very bad - Service

 
(1.5 out of 5 stars)
by Plan holder Dec 14, 2018
Give me a break! They put you on hold for hours and hours...they dropped my call 3 times in 1 hour...was on the phone for several hours to get one claim question answered. They do not reply to emails. It's a gimmick!!!
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Did you know there is a 35% chance of developing a critical illness before you are 65 and 65%-70% chance before you turn 81? That means getting a critical illness insurance quote is no less important than getting life insurance. Your choice.
 

Worst Service

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Oilbomb Dec 13, 2018
Absolutely pathetic Customer Service. They should be ashamed. Stay far away. Three months waiting for a claim. They say they will call you back and never do. They never let you speak to managers. They say a manager will call you back in two days and it never happens. They say they took care of everything yet when you call the dental office, they say they haven't heard from them in weeks. STAY FAR AWAY.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

DO NOT GET BENEFITS WITH THEM!

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Ram16 Dec 08, 2018
Don’t advise anyone to get benefits through this company! They do anything in their power to not pay you any money. When you have more than enough doctor letting stating you can’t go back to work and Great-West Life doesn’t think that’s good enough 'cause apparently, they are doctors, not an insurance company!! It’s a joke
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thinking of getting a life insurance quote from an insurance agent? They work for one insurance company and can only sell the products of that company. That may not result in the best rate for you. Our insurance brokers compare life insurance quotes across 20+ Canadian insurers for you.
 

The worst

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Alice Dec 06, 2018
Great-West Life does not care if you are ill. My experience with them has been horrible. There is no credibility nor transparency. Their customer service is absolutely horrid.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

TERRIBLE COMPANY!!

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by NOT EVEN Dec 04, 2018
Always a busy tone when calling customer service. Could not speak to anyone for over a month now, not even their switchboard could reach them, yet switchboard would say that they're experiencing high call volume, so then why isn't that message on their recording when calling in to make customers know what the heck is happening instead of a damn busy tone!!! This is all nonsense!!! 1.4 RATING FROM 133 REVIEWS!!! My husband claims are all selected for audit even though I've been submitting his claims via online, sent proof of the receipts, yet they would email countless times asking for proof, ARE YOUR EMPLOYEE INCOMPETENT??? CAN'T THEY OPEN RECENT ATTACHMENTS??!!! SO FRUSTRATED!!! LOOK at your rating, your service is crap and surprisingly there has been no significant changes even with the constant negative reviews. SHAME!!!
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Not sure if you can qualify for life insurance with existing health pre-conditions? Let us to help you with a no medical life insurance quote , meaning that you do not need to pass a medical exam to qualify for a life insurance policy.
 

fraud

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Ben Nov 29, 2018
If you have a choice, stay away from this company. They will do anything to not pay your claims. i.e. multiple short-term disability claims of my colleagues have been delayed in payment for months after their disability period. Cancer medication claims have been ignored over and over again. One of my colleague's husband passed away more than 6 months ago and there are still no payments. You can imagine the financial stress this creates. For myself, basically, every claim in the region of 100 $ + (over one hundred) is "randomly" selected for audit half the time then ignored after successful completion of the audit. The customer support line phone always has a busy tone. You simply cannot reach them. The online written requests get no answer. If you escalate to your company administrator, they will make statements that they tried to call you three times to clarify. They will state that you as a customer ignored them and therefore they do not pay. I can go on and on with these stories... Overall, this is a full-on fraud company.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Denied on shaky grounds

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Beware of GWL Nov 21, 2018
If there was less than one star - that's how I would rate. Be careful if your work goes through these guys. They do not care if you are ill, they don't care if you can no longer afford treatment or medication. They misuse facts, they will misinterpret doctors and specialists reports - their main goal is to save the company money. My life has been ruined by these guys - I am about to lose my home, my whole life. And now I cannot afford my medication - so what's the use? Next step: lawyer and media. Too many people at work they have done this to.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Planning to get life insurance to protect your family, including children? Make sure that you get enough coverage. According to studies, it takes about $250,000 in total to raise a child to the age of 18 (and that doesn’t include any post-secondary education costs).
 

HORRIBLE

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Anonymous Nov 20, 2018
This is my first time writing a review but I feel it is necessary because of the horrible customer service and awful benefits provided by GWL. They require paper copies submitted for any expense claim over $400 and even if you provide everything they ask for, they require to jump through even more hoops and waste your time driving around the city trying to get doctors' notes to substantiate your claim. The phone number they provide is ALWAYS busy, so you can never get ahold of them. Typical insurance company that tries to get away with not reimbursing you for the expenses that your insurance is supposed to cover. I have had benefits with 3 other insurance companies and this one is by far the worst.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

*Be aware!

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Livelovelaugh Nov 17, 2018
My experience with GWL was horrific right from day one. I wish I knew then what I know now. First of all, if they tell you something, it may or may not be the truth. Don’t trust them one bit. Keep your guard up. Protect yourself by printing out all your emails and record ALL phone conversations with them. Thankfully, I had a medical provider that gave me great advice at the start of my claim to journal and record everything as she was super frustrated and concerned how I was being treated right from the very beginning. It was not just concerns about one staff member, it was multiple and also multiple levels of management involved. GWL has admitted that my concerns are serious and have had negative consequences. I was told that after an investigation in June 2018 involving the director and regional manager that I would be provided the results of the investigation including what GWL has done to address the situation, any recommendations GWL has put forward and executed on, anything GWL has done to put in place such as policies and procedures to ensure this experience isn’t experienced by others, and answers to my questions. I did involve the ombudsman numerous times with no results. I found out the ombudsmen are paid by GWL. Despite my proof in the form of recordings, documentation and witnesses, they have yet provided me with any documentation that demonstrates they have taken this seriously by demonstrating to me that they did what they said they would do. It has been 5 months and still nothing.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Did you know that one in three Canadians, on average, will be disabled for more than three months before they turn 65? Get a disability insurance quote today to make sure your income is secure, even when you are temporary disabled.
 

LTD Benfits Stop Payment

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Still Fed Up. Nov 12, 2018
I've been off of work on short/long term disability with GWL since Oct. 2012. It has been a challenge at best. I'll be utilizing their ombudsman for the 4th time. They have stopped payment without explanation yet again. There is no credibility nor transparency. Global News here I come. I hope everyone speaks up.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Threatening to cut me off !

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Whatajoke Nov 03, 2018
I’ve been on WSIB for 18 months. GWL is my Ltd carrier. I am being paid 100% WSIB, and GWL has not paid me one cent, however, they are threatening to cut my Ltd off even though they aren’t paying it if I don’t apply for CPP. I’ve called 4 times and have left messages but no one returns your calls. WSIB even wrote them a letter saying basically “ buzz off “, she’s on our payroll. I have spoken with a lawyer and they agreed that GWL should not be insisting I apply as they don’t pay me. This so-called worker of mine also calls at night or in the middle of the day on weekends. What a bunch of jokers. Never ever use this company.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Did you know that mortgage insurance is the same as life insurance but more expensive and offers less protection? By cancelling it and getting life insurance , you would typically save around 30%-40% for the same coverage.
 

Get what you pay for

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Ellie Oct 31, 2018
The story is the same at all insurance companies. You get what you pay for; know what you bought. Read both employee and customer reviews; both parallel each other. Had to request supervisor assistance. Caseworker never returned emails or calls. I have a new caseworker. Hope things pick up and I get the help and care I need to get better so I can do what I love, my job.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?