Independent Life Insurance Reviews

Great-West Life Life Insurance Reviews

(128 reviews)
This page has been viewed by:
97,466
consumers
(1.4 out of 5 stars)
Customer Service:
Value for Money:
 

Threatening to cut me off !

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Whatajoke Nov 03, 2018
I’ve been on WSIB for 18 months. GWL is my Ltd carrier. I am being paid 100% WSIB, and GWL has not paid me one cent, however, they are threatening to cut my Ltd off even though they aren’t paying it if I don’t apply for CPP. I’ve called 4 times and have left messages but no one returns your calls. WSIB even wrote them a letter saying basically “ buzz off “, she’s on our payroll. I have spoken with a lawyer and they agreed that GWL should not be insisting I apply as they don’t pay me. This so-called worker of mine also calls at night or in the middle of the day on weekends. What a bunch of jokers. Never ever use this company.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Did you know that if you are a 35-year old female, a term life insurance policy for 10 years with coverage of $500,000 will cost you around $15-$20/month? Getting your life insurance quote today will allow you to lock-in a great rate.
 

Get what you pay for

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Ellie Oct 31, 2018
The story is the same at all insurance companies. You get what you pay for; know what you bought. Read both employee and customer reviews; both parallel each other. Had to request supervisor assistance. Caseworker never returned emails or calls. I have a new caseworker. Hope things pick up and I get the help and care I need to get better so I can do what I love, my job.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Horrible company

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by San Oct 30, 2018
Great-West-Life is a horrible company. They denied my application for LTD benefits despite the fact that my doctors supported my claim. I’m suffering from extreme anxiety, and stress at work on top of that chronic pain from work-related injuries and yet they told me there’s no reason for me to go on disability and I should go back to work. Hope this company will shut down. They really try their best not to pay you from what I can see. Of course, their workers do their best to deny you. That’s their bread and butter. Their workers’ mission is to take advantage of somebody’s misfortune. Who cares if you are suffering. All they care for is taking money from you. They are not there when you need them. Like so many people say here, they are lying thieves!
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Did you know that mortgage insurance is the same as life insurance but more expensive and offers less protection? By cancelling it and getting life insurance , you would typically save around 30%-40% for the same coverage.
 

LTD Claim

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Very Disappointed Client Oct 19, 2018
Applied for LTD end of August, gave all the information they required, of course, they required more information from the Doctor, Doctor submitted it. After a couple months of no income, what do you think happened with my claim - you guessed it...denied. I spoke with my Doctor after receiving the denial letter, he was shocked. He told me that I am unfit to work at my current job or any other job at this time. So now what??? Thank you Great-West Life, I am so glad I paid into LTD only to be denied. Will never deal with this company again.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Useless Customer Service

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Stephanie Oct 15, 2018
GWL review: Absolute garbage customer service. I asked them questions and they continued to ignore me, giving me standard responses that would result in me throwing all my money away if that were not the correct choice of action. I clarified my questions point by point so that even a child would understand that I had more than one question and wasn't looking for a "Thank you for contacting us. Have a nice day!". And yet they still gave me the same standard response, this time shutting my customer service tag down completely as if they answered even one of my questions at all. I tried submitting an official complaint and even that was ignored. I didn't even get a reply from them at all. You'd get better service talking to a wall. At least you'd be able to lean on it for support.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Not sure if you can qualify for life insurance with existing health pre-conditions? Let us to help you with a no medical life insurance quote , meaning that you do not need to pass a medical exam to qualify for a life insurance policy.
 

Disability Claim

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Cancer2018 Oct 15, 2018
LTD claim has not been processed after 1 month of submission. Very inefficient. No concern
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Enrollment - Health & Dental

 
(2.0 out of 5 stars)
by moiraarh Sep 06, 2018
I clicked on Life Insurance...because there isn't a drop-down option for Health & Dental. I had coverage with GWL with my previous employer. I accepted a buyout package and was eligible to enroll with GWL under the similar plan. I really had no issues with GWL when I was with group plan under the employer. However, when I signed up with GWL last week....it has been a "gong show" ever since. After signing up and being accepted...I was emailed copious documents and my policy # on August 30 - with noted commencement date for benefits starting September 1. There was no indication with paperwork when I would receive our drug cards. As I wanted to fill a prescription at Shoppers Drug Mart, I called GWL to find out if they could give me my client ID...and other info that Shoppers had requested. Well - GWL had no record of my policy # - it doesn't exist! Oh, for frig sake!! So, after several phone transfers to different departments passing the hot potato...approximately 45 minutes - still not resolved. I became apoplectic on the phone. How ironic that I had interviews for an executive assistant position with top big wigs at the London, Ontario office....and they spoke so eloquently on how customer service is "paramount" to their business...huh!
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Did you know that one in three Canadians, on average, will be disabled for more than three months before they turn 65? Get a disability insurance quote today to make sure your income is secure, even when you are temporary disabled.
 

Great-West Life experiences

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Great-West Life experience Sep 05, 2018
This provider is tracking each health-related submitted claim three years backdated and calling and intimidating our health providers, questioning services, billable time and dates. Great-West Life is a parody and if we don’t check for reimbursement upon submitting a claim, they just find loopholes to not pay or to state that there are customary fee restrictions. Nonsense and not much else. Unfortunately, we are ill enough to require “covered” services and they are evil enough to keep questioning each service we have sought and requested reimbursement for. I guess that because we won’t back down and leave Great-West Life to forget reimbursing us for legit expenses, their tactic is to bully our health professionals and question the service we have been provided with.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Great West Life Sucks

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Tesh Aug 22, 2018
The insurance company sucks so much. They make it so difficult for you to get money back for a claim. It's like they don't want you to get paid. You have to jump through so many hoops including talking to so many people (if you can get ahold of them), mailing forms/receipts and waiting many days.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thinking of getting a life insurance quote from an insurance agent? They work for one insurance company and can only sell the products of that company. That may not result in the best rate for you. Our insurance brokers compare life insurance quotes across 20+ Canadian insurers for you.
 

Great

 
(5.0 out of 5 stars)
by KLA Aug 21, 2018
I have never had an issue with GWL - always reimburses within a few days maybe a week with online claims. Paper claims do take longer but understandable. My pharmacy has even commented on how great the coverage is etc. My children have some significant medical needs and have always gotten what they need. I was surprised to see all the negative reviews, overall they have been fantastic, sure sometimes I wait for an email for a few days or have to be on hold for a bit but I understand I am not the only one that needs assistance.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Horrible experience

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by ainslieja Aug 21, 2018
They sent me a letter in the mail saying they need additional information for my claim. There was no address and they didn't indicate how I was to provide the information. I then called them and they said they would send me an email with the information. It's been 5 days yet no email!!! How does this company stay in business?
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Planning to get life insurance to protect your family, including children? Make sure that you get enough coverage. According to studies, it takes about $250,000 in total to raise a child to the age of 18 (and that doesn’t include any post-secondary education costs).
 

Simply Reptilian blood sucker

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Abandoned Aug 20, 2018
My experience was horrible with GWL. The case manager was ignorant, rude, illogical, unfair, deceptive. Despite my medical MRI with severe neural stenosis, they reject my case with deceptive, barbaric, sub-standard and uncivilized policy. Shame on my employer, the worst authorities to work for. I regret paying 20 years to this reptilian, greedy, inhuman company. We live under dictatorship and chaos. No wonder why we have a chronic shortage of skilled workers :( Our history is full of abusive policies which puts Canada down in the eyes of "well-developed" countries. The medical system is doomed to crash and if nothing else, suffering will do the job to wake us up.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Hustlers

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by JC Jul 23, 2018
Will find any loophole to deny you, sham of a company and despicable people.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Did you know there is a 35% chance of developing a critical illness before you are 65 and 65%-70% chance before you turn 81? That means getting a critical illness insurance quote is no less important than getting life insurance. Your choice.
 

Avoid at all costs

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by joshua1 Jul 10, 2018
My school uses them and god are they awful. I had an eye exam and was told they would cover the cost of my frames, but that I had to pay upfront and they would reimburse me. I waited a month with no mention of this from them at all. I created an account on their painfully slow and worthless website only to find all the reimbursements were pending, due to a lack of a known address. They never even attempted to contact me for this information. The website was god awful so as I spent ages trying to navigate properly to set this information and at the same time, called them in case it failed to do so. After a long while, I had finally submitted my address to them, both online and through on-phone support. I was told I would get my reimbursement in a couple weeks. A couple weeks later, a letter from them showed up at my place asking me for my address... Imagine my disbelief when they sent the letter to my address, asking for my address. These guys are just around to steal your money unless you waste your time trying to keep them honest.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Site "Temporarily" Unavailable

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Unimpressed Jun 27, 2018
I have this insurance company with my employer and good grief does it ever suck. I had Greenshield with my last employer. For the last few years, Greenshield billed the pharmacy directly without making the employer pay extra. If having to submit your receipts for drugs is not annoying enough, you have to do it by mail. What a craptacular company. Their website works, apart from GroupNet. Every time you go to their website, you get the following message. I have been trying since Friday night and still see the same message. Need I say more. Site Temporarily Unavailable. We are sorry this site is only available. We are working to restore service as quickly as possible. We apologize for the inconvenience and thank you for your patience. Return to Great-West Life website: Click here to return to the Great-West home page. This is the worst insurance company in all of Canada! I cannot believe I have to send prescription receipts again through Canada Post to get reimbursed (80%). They mail you the cheque and explanation entirely in French on top of that, no English anywhere. If you don't parler Francais, you will not understand most of it. The form I submitted was in English as were the receipts for meds prescribed by a doctor in Ontario. I have no idea what the letter says and short sentences in Eng are long in Fr. I would have to type it in Google translate, as they do not use email. I know this is a bilingual country, but do they seriously expect everyone to know French. Moreover, they don't even cover the prescription strength (a strength not available OTC), generic allergy medication, the same one Greenshield covered. Maybe that is why their explanation of my benefits for the receipts was in French? So unimpressed.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Did you know that if you are a 30-year old male, a term life insurance policy for 20 years with coverage of $200,000 will cost you around $19/month? Getting your term life insurance quote today will allow you to benefit from a great rate.
 

Thieves

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by laxreball Jun 14, 2018
The worst company I have ever dealt with. They take your money, but try to make a claim. Lying cheating thieves!!!
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Horrible customer service

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by jmc27 May 23, 2018
I am a completely healthy young woman - yet somehow it took them over 8 months to approve my benefits application. They lost my application several times, then sent me in the wrong direction several more. Absolutely horrendous customer service. Once I finally did get approved, they sent all my information and my drug and travel assistance card- but when I called to set up my online GroupNet, they said they have no record of me having benefits through them. Thoroughly disappointed!
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Not sure if you can qualify for life insurance with existing health pre-conditions? Let us to help you with a no medical life insurance quote , meaning that you do not need to pass a medical exam to qualify for a life insurance policy.
 

what is the point

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by frustratedemployee Apr 27, 2018
I have health insurance through work (AHS), applied for short-term disability and got denied. Have all the documentation from physician and specialist but yet I was denied. Why are we even paying premiums? Those adjusters don't even have medical backgrounds yet they decide how an insurance is judged!
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

the worst insurance company

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Butter Apr 12, 2018
Unfortunately, my husband has a group plan with this company. They provide the worst customer services, the hotline often gets disconnected. They refused claims even though we provided all the documentation they requested. I'm just hoping their company will choose another insurance company with better credibility, I can’t wait for this nightmare to end soon.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Did you know that one in three Canadians, on average, will be disabled for more than three months before they turn 65? Get a disability insurance quote today to make sure your income is secure, even when you are temporary disabled.
 

Worst experience I ever had!

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Peter G. Apr 11, 2018
They will do anything to deny even a 100 % pay for a basic dental claim (filling) and they will make up a reason to do it. When I called and asked them why they paid 60% and I have to pay 40%, the customer service actually HANG UP on me and never returned my call. Worse experience I ever had! EVER!!!
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Wish it could be zero stars

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by unhappy Apr 04, 2018
I have GWL health and dental coverage through my workplace. My husband has a different insurance company. Previously with coordination of benefits, we wouldn't pay much more than about $50 for any dental claims because GWL would cover whatever my husband didn't quite cover. Ever since the new 2018 dental fee guide has come out, they no longer cover anything more than the fee *guide* outlines. This guide is woefully lower than reasonable dental costs. Now GWL has left us paying upwards of 1/3 of dental costs. This is ridiculous. When I call to ask why their policy has changed, they just say it's because of the fee guide and plead ignorance. What a horrible company. If I could switch, I would.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Planning to get life insurance to protect your family, including children? Make sure that you get enough coverage. According to studies, it takes about $250,000 in total to raise a child to the age of 18 (and that doesn’t include any post-secondary education costs).
 

uncooperative

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by beaniebow Feb 07, 2018
They wouldn't give me a copy of my claim to file with another insurance company. Over a two month period, I called every other week and they never had a record for my request for a copy of the claim. Thus I was not able to make my claim and lost over $700.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Travel Insurance

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Bamboozled Jan 31, 2018
I recently was really sick on a trip to Cuba, I am from Canada. My workplace has "travel assistance" coverage through Great West Life. I read through their benefit booklet before I left and felt assured that they would have the resources to help in an emergency. This is a quote from our benefits booklet. "This program provides medical assistance through a worldwide communications network that operates 24Hours a day. The Network Locates medical services and obtains Great West Life's approval of covered services, when required as a result of a medical emergency" They talk a good game, sounds pretty sophisticated, and sounds like they have resources to help. Unfortunately, I was violently ill in Cuba. We are all given an emergency travel assistance card, so I tried calling the number on the card. It didn't work. And they had a special number just for when you are in Cuba. There was also some fine print that mentioned you may need to dial "00" instead of 1 if you are in another country. I tried this, this also didn't work. So then I tried dialling "00" plus "1". And it worked! I got through. Now I will certainly get some help....not so. They had absolutely no medical assistance for me at all. I had to go and find my own...in Cuba....while violently ill. The customer service rep was like a cold robot. They didn't seem interested at all in providing help. I'm asking for help and all the guy wants is my address, my phone number and postal code. Another thing is, you need to call the number they give you first or they may not pay your claim. They then give improper instructions for dialling outside the country. So your claim can be denied. Highly unethical company, to the point of straight-up fraudulent in my opinion. We need stronger laws in Canada for this type of behaviour.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thinking of getting a life insurance quote from an insurance agent? They work for one insurance company and can only sell the products of that company. That may not result in the best rate for you. Our insurance brokers compare life insurance quotes across 20+ Canadian insurers for you.
 

They avoid payments

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by dqpham_gh Jan 12, 2018
I'm under company insurance, the insurance covers for orthotics appliances. I went to the doctor to check and buy the orthotics appliances but when I claimed on the insurance policy, they've replied the doctor is not covered by the plan. And also they refuse to pay back for orthotics appliances. This company is a fraud just trying to steal money from people. Please look for a different insurance company to save yourself.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Denied STD

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Unsatified customer Jan 07, 2018
They will do anything they can not to pay you. This company is a fraud. They will use any excuse to delay the process and ask for clinical notes and once you provide everything they ask they will still find a reason to deny your claim
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Did you know that mortgage insurance is the same as life insurance but more expensive and offers less protection? By cancelling it and getting life insurance , you would typically save around 30%-40% for the same coverage.
 

Unethical and dishonest

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Captain Crunch Dec 28, 2017
The case manager of my short term disability stopped my benefits claim by changing my original injury claim of a dislocated shoulder to a strain/sprained shoulder muscle. Then the case manager took what a consulting physician said in a report and twisted it, omitting other medical facts of my file, facts that would keep me in the system. The manager only used those utterances to justify her argument. Basically lied to cut me off. Right now I'm in the second appeal stage, appealing to the very people that are causing me the problems. This is borderline criminal behaviour. And I'm still off work.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Never had problems with them

 
(5.0 out of 5 stars)
by Alex D. Plourde Dec 18, 2017
I have been with them for almost 9 years and they always took care of me preciously...Never had problem with payments and they always made sure I was really O.K before going back to work.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Did you know that if you are a 35-year old female, a term life insurance policy for 10 years with coverage of $500,000 will cost you around $15-$20/month? Getting your life insurance quote today will allow you to lock-in a great rate.
 

The worst insurance company!

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Unhappy customer Dec 03, 2017
They will do everything to decline your claim. The worst company in Canada! Maybe they survive only because it is the cheapest company for employer group plan. But if you have a choice, never deal with them!
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Impossible to Cancel

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by CJ40 Dec 02, 2017
Have been trying for months to cancel my critical illness and disability insurance policies. Originally spoke with a rep in July, who was unable to help me and told me to phone another line. They only take calls M-F 8-4:30(I also work the same hours). So it was weeks before I was able to actually speak with anyone. I spoke with multiple reps in July, who told me different things, left a message to a supervisor, mailed in a letter in August, emailed their client services in October. No one has ever reached out to me, then Dec. 1st rolls around and I get billed again! I'm glad I never had to process a claim with them, but at this rate, I'll probably be stuck with them until I retire. What a joke, this company is a total scam.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Did you know there is a 35% chance of developing a critical illness before you are 65 and 65%-70% chance before you turn 81? That means getting a critical illness insurance quote is no less important than getting life insurance. Your choice.
 

Intentionally Difficult

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by David Nov 30, 2017
This company makes filing a claim intentionally difficult, often stalling claims indefinitely without requesting further information, just so they don't have to pay out. I was switched to GWL by my employer and I've been shocked by how terrible this company is in comparison to my previous insurance provider. Keeping claims difficult and frustrating appears to be this company's cost-saving strategy.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?