Independent Life Insurance Reviews

Great-West Life Life Insurance Reviews

(165 reviews)
This page has been viewed by:
133,117
consumers
(1.4 out of 5 stars)
Customer Service:
Value for Money:
 

NIGHTMARE

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by basarabas Aug 21, 2019
I have been working with Great-West for my insurance coverage for nine years, alongside them is another insurance company for my husband. There is absolutely no comparison. Great-West should be embarrassed and disgusted by their “service” to clients. They have always been very slow to process claims and question everything on top of their slowness, however, in the last three months, they have become even worse with me. They have a claim that they have not processed since June 8! They have emailed me four times about it, asking for different information, as well as called the service provider about it July 30th and questioned them. What’s more, is that it doesn’t even show up on their online system as being received and under review! So I called last week and inquired about that claim and she said she could see it and everything looks fine so it should be processed in a few days. I said fine and I still want to speak to a manager. Still, no claim has been processed and no one has called me back! I have many other problems with this company but the list is too long to type here so I just put my recent problem. I caution any employer or individual thinking of going with this provider, you’ll regret it! I have talked to several other people at my work place and they have said the same thing - NIGHTMARE! Unless you want to be on a constant audit DO NOT go with this company! I wouldn’t give this company even one star if it were not mandatory for posting!
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Planning to get life insurance to protect your family, including children? Make sure that you get enough coverage. According to studies, it takes about $250,000 in total to raise a child to the age of 18 (and that doesn’t include any post-secondary education costs).
 

Sneaky and Terrible Coverage

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by frustrated Jul 16, 2019
I'm under my partner's health benefits. Chiropractic care is listed at $500 per year covered at 100%. I had my initial assessment for $125. This was the least expensive that I found in my immediate area in Toronto. Only $68 was covered much to my surprise. After extensive time on the phone, I was told that they only cover the lowest amount offered in my area. Looking at the Ontario Chiropractic Association's website I found that they recommend a fee was $88 - $150 for an initial assessment in 2019. The company refused to share with me their supporting evidence showing how they found $68 to be the lowest cost per hour. This is honestly so frustrating. If a plan offers $500 covered at 100% I shouldn't be surprised that my first claim towards this amount isn't fully covered. Maybe there are smaller towns in Ontario where $68 is the cost of chiropractic care but in Toronto, you're unlikely to find this. There's nothing that makes me so upset as sneaky and deceptive behaviour.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Zero empathy

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Unhappywoman Jun 20, 2019
This company has zero empathy and lack any form of communication skills when it comes to their clients. Being on short term disability for mental illness and they make it worse by refusing to cover any treatment for a psychologist after they referred me to their own doctor to see if I needed that treatment. After their own doctor stated I needed therapy from a psychologist they still refused to pay due to it “being too expensive” of treatment; been off work since February and they never once referred me to get any form of medical help so I bought it on my own and when I did that, they come back with zero financial aid and a comment of “we’re not responsible for your choices”. Apparently, someone who cannot work because of mental illness is to sit on the couch and do nothing and become worse because to them that is financially safe. Worst insurance company ever.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Did you know that if you are a 30-year old male, a term life insurance policy for 20 years with coverage of $200,000 will cost you around $19/month? Getting your term life insurance quote today will allow you to benefit from a great rate.
 

psychotherapists not covered

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by km Jun 08, 2019
It is absurd that they determine the type of mental health professional I am allowed to see. This needs to be changed. Psychotherapists should be covered on any plan that has social workers or psychologists.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Great Worst Life

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Jordan May 31, 2019
Honestly, my life was better with my dislocated disc in my back, then dealing with these people who have no care for their clients. I am in disbelief because I was off for 12 weeks and now I was told they are only gonna be paying me for 4 weeks. I am shocked and feel disgusted.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Did you know that mortgage insurance is the same as life insurance but more expensive and offers less protection? By cancelling it and getting life insurance , you would typically save around 30%-40% for the same coverage.
 

In business to make money

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Displeased in BC May 29, 2019
Dealing with GWL on a disability claim for my wife has been completely abhorrent. As others have noted, if they can find ANY reason to deny the claim, they will. We have in writing from them that while her doctors may consider her unable to work, they don't agree (without justification given) so go back to work. Despite our request to be seen by a doctor of their choosing, they declined and stuck with their decision on appeal. If your employer defaults to their decision, as he does, then you are stuck with the employer demanding that she return to work despite doctors instructions she can't. The sad irony in this is she is paying for this 'coverage'. The sad footnote is every health care provider we have dealt with, has had nothing good to say about patient experiences with GWL.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Absolutely no compassion

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Mary May 27, 2019
I've been off work for 5 months, my EI ran out in April, it is now the end of May. They told me complete lies about waiting for my employer to respond about my income to find out they didn't actually reach out until May 23rd. I've called a few times a week and they kept giving me the same excuse while talking down to me as if I'm bothering them to do their job. Now the person who handled my claim is away and will call me next week. I've been told next week for 4 weeks. This is completely unprofessional, you can't seem to get through to anyone in charge. I'm a single mother, having health issues, no other income. This is insurance I pay for and they treat me like I'm working for them. I have not been able to speak to one person who has been polite or understanding during this whole process. This is completely unprofessional...
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Did you know that one in three Canadians, on average, will be disabled for more than three months before they turn 65? Get a disability insurance quote today to make sure your income is secure, even when you are temporary disabled.
 

Long Term Disability

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by spencer May 22, 2019
Great West Life needs to have a class action suit filed against them. They fully know that you will never get through on their one fax number for all claims for all of Canada. They prey on the insured a game of non-customer service. You need to record and file a complaint to the different insurance regulators government and non-government. They need to be exposed for the harm they are doing to their customers. They are ruining lives. They fail to be honest and show a willing nature to frustrate and delay and deny claims. They fail to collect all information on claims and blame the client. We need to get together to take collective action against them. I faxed them a dozen times and got busy signals today every time. They fully know this is the best way to frustrate and eliminate your timely claims. This cancer must be removed and penalize and removed from the insurance business. Will give some direction in how to deal with this company that has taken advantage of hundreds of people. They prey on your lack of knowledge on what to do. They have been at this for years and have schooled themselves in how to handle the Art Of The Claim To their advantage
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

The Worst

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by rick May 18, 2019
They have an answering machine phone system, very hard to get an agent on the phone. They rarely return phone calls. Rarely return emails. Very difficult to fax documents as their fax machine seems to usually not work and takes days to weeks to get a hold of an agent to confirm whether fax went through. Then it seems like they don't even read medical records sent to them. Got my claim and appeal both denied which took 5 months total. Denials didn't mention any medical information sent to them, doctor's diagnosis, or doctor finding I was not medically fit for work. You'll hear lots about being 60% able to work. It doesn't matter if you are vomiting, dizzy, or having other flu-like symptoms. Doesn't matter your doctor finds you unfit for work and in need of bed rest. The whole system is corrupt by design. Don't worry about your claim being paid out, it won't be.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Did you know there is a 35% chance of developing a critical illness before you are 65 and 65%-70% chance before you turn 81? That means getting a critical illness insurance quote is no less important than getting life insurance. Your choice.
 

Bad service

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by muammer May 02, 2019
I am on the short term disability from my workplace and they work with the Great-West. I'm already on a 70% reduced coverage and they made me pay for the 150$ form they provide for the doctor to fill in. On top of that, there are 7 days waiting period without pay, if you don't have sick days you're pretty much in trouble. The doctor asked for 4 weeks no work, Great-West reduced it to 2 and a half. Every time you make a claim or a quote, they always refuse it or ask for more information. Everything to make you give up. The staff on the phone won't accept criticism and will argue with me.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Short term disability

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by IJ Apr 16, 2019
I had recently been put on a short term leave from my job due to a pregnancy. I work in a highly dangerous environment with violent clients. Shortly after being put on leave I had a miscarriage. My leave was supposed to be 7 weeks according to my doctor's notes. I had been upfront and shared all information regarding every appointment to GWL and was happy to supply them with any further medical notes they needed. I was told by my GWL caseworker that I no longer qualified for a short term leave because my pregnancy being why I was off in the first place. I explained that I was still having complications and that my doctor insisted I needed to take the full 7 weeks. I was also told I didn’t qualify anymore because I was able to return to my job and complete 60% of my work. Which I found laughable because if I’m anything less than 100% at this job I put everybody at risk. I went back to my doctor and explained what was happening and he said I am the physician and the medical professional here and I believe you need the full 7 weeks. At this time I call my caseworker who tells me I’ve been cut off from my benefits as of last week. She said she had tried calling and leaving me a voice mail but there are no records of either on my phone. So glad I won’t be having to deal with this company again
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Did you know that if you are a 35-year old female, a term life insurance policy for 10 years with coverage of $500,000 will cost you around $15-$20/month? Getting your life insurance quote today will allow you to lock-in a great rate.
 

GWL Long Term Disability

 
(5.0 out of 5 stars)
by Tara S Apr 10, 2019
Hey, folks, I read all reviews and surprised since GWL has been very supportive of my LTD claim. I run races and marathons, drive my car, play field hockey. My specialists support my chronic pain and given no hard time from the insurer. I had my arm removed from elbow to my hand and have a complex case treated by Bioscript Solutions in Oakville.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Very expensive and no service

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Mona Mar 29, 2019
The insurance is full of surprises. I was claiming for my dental and apparently, it is not covered because the first crown was less than 5 years. There is no booklet with exceptions available even though I requested it already like 2 times. This is completely a rip-off. I have the right to know what are the exceptions in order to make a choice if I go to my dentist in Canada or Europe. In order to receive a response, it takes more than 2-3 weeks. This is not a support service at all...
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thinking of getting a life insurance quote from an insurance agent? They work for one insurance company and can only sell the products of that company. That may not result in the best rate for you. Our insurance brokers compare life insurance quotes across 20+ Canadian insurers for you.
 

HORRIBLE COVERAGE

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Jon Mar 26, 2019
Hey folks - robbery = GWL. They don't cover anything. Says 100% but an absolute scam! The ombudsman should be called in and this company should pay out the millions it owes to everyone! How can anyone work for this company? I get it, you're scared to change jobs. At least tell the management that they are scamming ppl and that is no the way to do business. What a horrible company.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Long term Disability

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by bigdog Mar 26, 2019
Stay away!!! This company takes your money and doesn't honour their policies. Doing treatment for cancer and was told I didn't have the claim, so I was still able to do my job. Forced back to work and had to stop treatment, will work hard to get my employer to kick this company to the curb. Took them 3 months to figure my claim and just denied it anyways. Doctors and the company are confused about why the claim was denied. This insurance company is an example of what is wrong in the world today - greed. Stay away from this dollar store insurance company. If you work for a company like this, look in the mirror and ask yourself: can I make this a better world for my kids or will I be a part of the problem
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Not sure if you can qualify for life insurance with existing health pre-conditions? Let us to help you with a no medical life insurance quote , meaning that you do not need to pass a medical exam to qualify for a life insurance policy.
 

health insurance DISAPPOINTING

 
(1.5 out of 5 stars)
by bcblueeyes Mar 14, 2019
Great-West Health/Dental insurance policy is disappointing compared to competitors. GWL only pays what a guide would indicate rather than what a service provider charges. This is a real cheap way out of providing health and dental coverage. My partner's insurance does pay the difference of what GWL does not pay (as her insurance company Sun Life has good customer policy). GWL has no problem taking my monthly fee but maybe they should change their policy to reflect other insurance companies. If my employer did not use GWL, I would not recommend GWL due to their cheapness (policies) in co-insurance.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Hugh Disappointment

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Johnathan Mar 07, 2019
If you have an option, stay away from their service. I tried to call a general helpline and find out more info regarding disability claims. They gave me another to call for disability claim info. I called that number, and the lady on the phone told me I should call another office in Scarborough, so I called Scarborough disability claim office. They said they only help with existing claims. With all this passing around, I still couldn't find out if they will accept my situation, where to submit claims, and how to get claim form etc. Useless, rude, slow, ineffective customer services. Lastly, I found out I should contact my account rep-M.D. She never answers her phones or returns phone calls. Every time I call, she is out of the office or away from the desk. If your company is short of staffing, hire more people, and hire smarter people. Super Disappointed
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thinking of getting a life insurance quote from an insurance agent? They work for one insurance company and can only sell the products of that company. That may not result in the best rate for you. Our insurance brokers compare life insurance quotes across 20+ Canadian insurers for you.
 

GWL is a fraud

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Nicki Feb 28, 2019
This company is a total fraud. Broke my elbow and they denied my claim. Over and over. Appeal after appeal. Documented disability as it’s on an X-ray and still denied. I don’t know how these people look themselves in the mirror and live with themselves knowing that every day they literally ruin people’s lives.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Crafty Lawyers.

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Anonymous Feb 23, 2019
This 'company' is a complete and utter farce run by callous individuals. Their policies are a joke, leaving you with little-to-no coverage. There are numerous occasions where I am reimbursed $2, $4, $5 as a result of how they run the numbers. I am inclined to call it a scam, but somehow these sneaky crooks play by their fine print rules and get away with it. I advise anyone of good ethical character to steer clear from any involvement with this 'company'.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Planning to get life insurance to protect your family, including children? Make sure that you get enough coverage. According to studies, it takes about $250,000 in total to raise a child to the age of 18 (and that doesn’t include any post-secondary education costs).
 

Stay away from this company

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Teephany Feb 19, 2019
This is the worst company ever. They don't care about their customers at all. Only care about pocketing the cash every month. No return of call. Will go to great lengths not to pay indemnity.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

High claim rejection

 
(1.5 out of 5 stars)
by Darkev Feb 15, 2019
I’m supposed to have group insurance for dental. However each year my out-of-pocket expenses go up and up while Great-West finds new ways to not pay for claims. Recently I had 2 fillings on 2 teeth that happened to have crowns on them. The crowns were not touched. The two teeth under the crowns had cavities where my gums receded. $430 was the cost and $0 was the benefit amount. They don’t cover fillings to teeth that have crowns on them. They consider this “crown repair” when the dentist never touched the crowns at all. This is just one of many ineligible claim excuses they come up with to render your dental plan with them practically useless. I’m going to be pushing our union to switch to a better provider. We have approximately 40,000 employees and many of us in my section are fed up with this company.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Did you know there is a 35% chance of developing a critical illness before you are 65 and 65%-70% chance before you turn 81? That means getting a critical illness insurance quote is no less important than getting life insurance. Your choice.
 

Horrible Insurance

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by tikisa Jan 22, 2019
My son recently became very ill and #greatwestlife will not pay for his medicine. The 2 reasons they have given you are also madness in my opinion. 1. It's too expensive –or- 2. It’s a new drug... 1. is the only reason I have insurance and 2. Every Dr. I have spoken with has been using this since the 80s to treat this illness. The head of the specific division of pediatrics at BC Children Hospital has written a letter to GWL with no result. The drug is covered by Pharmacare and they still won't cover it. ...BE WARNED! #greatwestlife are not an investment, not an insurance company they are highway robbers.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

GWL policy

 
(2.0 out of 5 stars)
by rene.r.c Jan 17, 2019
They have a policy where if you have two different plan coverage but both with GWL, they will only pay for the procedure once regardless of how much money is on either plan. Ex. if I have 1000 worth dental work done, my plan only covers 800. You'd think my spouse's plan, which covers 1000, also would cover the balance of 200. Nope, GWL will only pay for the procedure once. So why am I paying for 2 plans, why don't you provide me with service I'm paying for on both plans?
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Did you know that mortgage insurance is the same as life insurance but more expensive and offers less protection? By cancelling it and getting life insurance , you would typically save around 30%-40% for the same coverage.
 

Bad customer service!!!

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Bad service Jan 14, 2019
Waiting on phone call more than 30 min and nobody answers, just the operator says: wait. I tried to call more than 3 times this morning. Even no star for this but no other option.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Revolting Customer Service

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by DontDrinkandDrive Jan 13, 2019
Paid into the LTD program for over a year. Drunk driver hits me on my way to work. I am now suffering from chronic headaches and migraines and vision problems. Submitted a request for LTD in October 2018 and it's half-way in January 2019 and it's still "pending medical approval from our consultants"? If you send ANY document to your claims adjuster, you are now in a mandatory two-week queue prior to your claims adjuster even looking at it. This includes an attached document that is REQUIRED to be sent. GWL is so reluctant on giving out money but so easy to take your monthly LTD payments by you and your coworkers. They don't care about your financial situation or even remotely show compassion towards your disability. They treat you like criminals. With 20-20 Hindsight, I would strongly discourage any company from joining GWL's poor service. Scroll up, Scroll down. The same thing I wrote has been mentioned over a hundred times and nothing has changed.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Did you know that if you are a 35-year old female, a term life insurance policy for 10 years with coverage of $500,000 will cost you around $15-$20/month? Getting your life insurance quote today will allow you to lock-in a great rate.
 

Health and Dental Nightmare

 
(1.5 out of 5 stars)
by Robin PS Dec 18, 2018
Unfortunately, I have negative things to share about my experiences with GWL. Not only have they made me jump through hoops for both dental and medical coverage, they have not honoured a predetermination as they say they need “more information” which is clearly a stalling tactic. My doctor has appealed meds coverage twice, I’ve appealed twice and they only come back with “we just don’t cover that med.” Not even a generic. I hate to say but I am going to try and opt out of this coverage because it’s horrible. Very very disappointed and extremely dissatisfied.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Policy not honoured

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Blubaru Dec 17, 2018
This is about "Drug Insurance", which is not available in the Product type. The Ontario Pension Board's Ontario Public Service Pension Plan drug coverage is supposed to be 90% but Great-West Life Assurance has applied a $1,000/year limit on a specific drug. The information available from the Ontario Pension Board and from the Great-West Life Assurance's GroupNet websites state that the drug coverage is 90% without any exception. Great-West Life will not provide the insurance policy, only a sketchy self-excusing letter explaining the limit using Health Canada and other excuses to deny payment for copayment coverage for a drug I have been taking for at least 13 years at the same dosage. My doctor submitted a form requested by Great-West Life Assurance in which the reason for prescribing and the dosage was stated, which Great-West Life Assurance rejected. Great-West Life Assurance is dishonest. Ultimately, this will probably be settled in small claims court. It isn't just about the small amount of money involved, it is the principle that the information presented by the Ontario Pension Board and Great-West Life Assurance state specific coverage, which is not being honoured and, if there is an exception, that information is not provided, and the supposed exception to 90% coverage is for a different condition for the prescribed drug. The Ontario Treasury Board Secretariat is a party to the insurance policy agreement and will be named as a party in a small claims court lawsuit. If this is resolved in small claims court, it will cost Great-West Life Assurance and the taxpayer of Ontario a lot more money than the outstanding unreimbursed amount.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Did you know that one in three Canadians, on average, will be disabled for more than three months before they turn 65? Get a disability insurance quote today to make sure your income is secure, even when you are temporary disabled.
 

Very very bad - Service

 
(1.5 out of 5 stars)
by Plan holder Dec 14, 2018
Give me a break! They put you on hold for hours and hours...they dropped my call 3 times in 1 hour...was on the phone for several hours to get one claim question answered. They do not reply to emails. It's a gimmick!!!
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Worst Service

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Oilbomb Dec 13, 2018
Absolutely pathetic Customer Service. They should be ashamed. Stay far away. Three months waiting for a claim. They say they will call you back and never do. They never let you speak to managers. They say a manager will call you back in two days and it never happens. They say they took care of everything yet when you call the dental office, they say they haven't heard from them in weeks. STAY FAR AWAY.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Did you know that if you are a 30-year old male, a term life insurance policy for 20 years with coverage of $200,000 will cost you around $19/month? Getting your term life insurance quote today will allow you to benefit from a great rate.
 

DO NOT GET BENEFITS WITH THEM!

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Ram16 Dec 08, 2018
Don’t advise anyone to get benefits through this company! They do anything in their power to not pay you any money. When you have more than enough doctor letting stating you can’t go back to work and Great-West Life doesn’t think that’s good enough 'cause apparently, they are doctors, not an insurance company!! It’s a joke
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?