Independent Life Insurance Reviews

Great-West Life Life Insurance Reviews

(149 reviews)
This page has been viewed by:
115,253
consumers
(1.4 out of 5 stars)
Customer Service:
Value for Money:
 

health insurance DISAPPOINTING

 
(1.5 out of 5 stars)
by bcblueeyes Mar 14, 2019
Great-West Health/Dental insurance policy is disappointing compared to competitors. GWL only pays what a guide would indicate rather than what a service provider charges. This is a real cheap way out of providing health and dental coverage. My partner's insurance does pay the difference of what GWL does not pay (as her insurance company Sun Life has good customer policy). GWL has no problem taking my monthly fee but maybe they should change their policy to reflect other insurance companies. If my employer did not use GWL, I would not recommend GWL due to their cheapness (policies) in co-insurance.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Not sure if you can qualify for life insurance with existing health pre-conditions? Let us to help you with a no medical life insurance quote , meaning that you do not need to pass a medical exam to qualify for a life insurance policy.
 

GWL is a fraud

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Nicki Feb 28, 2019
This company is a total fraud. Broke my elbow and they denied my claim. Over and over. Appeal after appeal. Documented disability as it’s on an X-ray and still denied. I don’t know how these people look themselves in the mirror and live with themselves knowing that every day they literally ruin people’s lives.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Crafty Lawyers.

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Anonymous Feb 23, 2019
This 'company' is a complete and utter farce run by callous individuals. Their policies are a joke, leaving you with little-to-no coverage. There are numerous occasions where I am reimbursed $2, $4, $5 as a result of how they run the numbers. I am inclined to call it a scam, but somehow these sneaky crooks play by their fine print rules and get away with it. I advise anyone of good ethical character to steer clear from any involvement with this 'company'.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Did you know that if you are a 35-year old female, a term life insurance policy for 10 years with coverage of $500,000 will cost you around $15-$20/month? Getting your life insurance quote today will allow you to lock-in a great rate.
 

Stay away from this company

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Teephany Feb 19, 2019
This is the worst company ever. They don't care about their customers at all. Only care about pocketing the cash every month. No return of call. Will go to great lengths not to pay indemnity.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

High claim rejection

 
(1.5 out of 5 stars)
by Darkev Feb 15, 2019
I’m supposed to have group insurance for dental. However each year my out-of-pocket expenses go up and up while Great-West finds new ways to not pay for claims. Recently I had 2 fillings on 2 teeth that happened to have crowns on them. The crowns were not touched. The two teeth under the crowns had cavities where my gums receded. $430 was the cost and $0 was the benefit amount. They don’t cover fillings to teeth that have crowns on them. They consider this “crown repair” when the dentist never touched the crowns at all. This is just one of many ineligible claim excuses they come up with to render your dental plan with them practically useless. I’m going to be pushing our union to switch to a better provider. We have approximately 40,000 employees and many of us in my section are fed up with this company.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Did you know that mortgage insurance is the same as life insurance but more expensive and offers less protection? By cancelling it and getting life insurance , you would typically save around 30%-40% for the same coverage.
 

Horrible Insurance

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by tikisa Jan 22, 2019
My son recently became very ill and #greatwestlife will not pay for his medicine. The 2 reasons they have given you are also madness in my opinion. 1. It's too expensive –or- 2. It’s a new drug... 1. is the only reason I have insurance and 2. Every Dr. I have spoken with has been using this since the 80s to treat this illness. The head of the specific division of pediatrics at BC Children Hospital has written a letter to GWL with no result. The drug is covered by Pharmacare and they still won't cover it. ...BE WARNED! #greatwestlife are not an investment, not an insurance company they are highway robbers.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

GWL policy

 
(2.0 out of 5 stars)
by rene.r.c Jan 17, 2019
They have a policy where if you have two different plan coverage but both with GWL, they will only pay for the procedure once regardless of how much money is on either plan. Ex. if I have 1000 worth dental work done, my plan only covers 800. You'd think my spouse's plan, which covers 1000, also would cover the balance of 200. Nope, GWL will only pay for the procedure once. So why am I paying for 2 plans, why don't you provide me with service I'm paying for on both plans?
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Did you know there is a 35% chance of developing a critical illness before you are 65 and 65%-70% chance before you turn 81? That means getting a critical illness insurance quote is no less important than getting life insurance. Your choice.
 

Bad customer service!!!

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Bad service Jan 14, 2019
Waiting on phone call more than 30 min and nobody answers, just the operator says: wait. I tried to call more than 3 times this morning. Even no star for this but no other option.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Revolting Customer Service

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by DontDrinkandDrive Jan 13, 2019
Paid into the LTD program for over a year. Drunk driver hits me on my way to work. I am now suffering from chronic headaches and migraines and vision problems. Submitted a request for LTD in October 2018 and it's half-way in January 2019 and it's still "pending medical approval from our consultants"? If you send ANY document to your claims adjuster, you are now in a mandatory two-week queue prior to your claims adjuster even looking at it. This includes an attached document that is REQUIRED to be sent. GWL is so reluctant on giving out money but so easy to take your monthly LTD payments by you and your coworkers. They don't care about your financial situation or even remotely show compassion towards your disability. They treat you like criminals. With 20-20 Hindsight, I would strongly discourage any company from joining GWL's poor service. Scroll up, Scroll down. The same thing I wrote has been mentioned over a hundred times and nothing has changed.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Did you know that one in three Canadians, on average, will be disabled for more than three months before they turn 65? Get a disability insurance quote today to make sure your income is secure, even when you are temporary disabled.
 

Health and Dental Nightmare

 
(1.5 out of 5 stars)
by Robin PS Dec 18, 2018
Unfortunately, I have negative things to share about my experiences with GWL. Not only have they made me jump through hoops for both dental and medical coverage, they have not honoured a predetermination as they say they need “more information” which is clearly a stalling tactic. My doctor has appealed meds coverage twice, I’ve appealed twice and they only come back with “we just don’t cover that med.” Not even a generic. I hate to say but I am going to try and opt out of this coverage because it’s horrible. Very very disappointed and extremely dissatisfied.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Policy not honoured

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Blubaru Dec 17, 2018
This is about "Drug Insurance", which is not available in the Product type. The Ontario Pension Board's Ontario Public Service Pension Plan drug coverage is supposed to be 90% but Great-West Life Assurance has applied a $1,000/year limit on a specific drug. The information available from the Ontario Pension Board and from the Great-West Life Assurance's GroupNet websites state that the drug coverage is 90% without any exception. Great-West Life will not provide the insurance policy, only a sketchy self-excusing letter explaining the limit using Health Canada and other excuses to deny payment for copayment coverage for a drug I have been taking for at least 13 years at the same dosage. My doctor submitted a form requested by Great-West Life Assurance in which the reason for prescribing and the dosage was stated, which Great-West Life Assurance rejected. Great-West Life Assurance is dishonest. Ultimately, this will probably be settled in small claims court. It isn't just about the small amount of money involved, it is the principle that the information presented by the Ontario Pension Board and Great-West Life Assurance state specific coverage, which is not being honoured and, if there is an exception, that information is not provided, and the supposed exception to 90% coverage is for a different condition for the prescribed drug. The Ontario Treasury Board Secretariat is a party to the insurance policy agreement and will be named as a party in a small claims court lawsuit. If this is resolved in small claims court, it will cost Great-West Life Assurance and the taxpayer of Ontario a lot more money than the outstanding unreimbursed amount.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thinking of getting a life insurance quote from an insurance agent? They work for one insurance company and can only sell the products of that company. That may not result in the best rate for you. Our insurance brokers compare life insurance quotes across 20+ Canadian insurers for you.
 

Very very bad - Service

 
(1.5 out of 5 stars)
by Plan holder Dec 14, 2018
Give me a break! They put you on hold for hours and hours...they dropped my call 3 times in 1 hour...was on the phone for several hours to get one claim question answered. They do not reply to emails. It's a gimmick!!!
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Worst Service

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Oilbomb Dec 13, 2018
Absolutely pathetic Customer Service. They should be ashamed. Stay far away. Three months waiting for a claim. They say they will call you back and never do. They never let you speak to managers. They say a manager will call you back in two days and it never happens. They say they took care of everything yet when you call the dental office, they say they haven't heard from them in weeks. STAY FAR AWAY.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Did you know that if you are a 30-year old male, a term life insurance policy for 20 years with coverage of $200,000 will cost you around $19/month? Getting your term life insurance quote today will allow you to benefit from a great rate.
 

DO NOT GET BENEFITS WITH THEM!

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Ram16 Dec 08, 2018
Don’t advise anyone to get benefits through this company! They do anything in their power to not pay you any money. When you have more than enough doctor letting stating you can’t go back to work and Great-West Life doesn’t think that’s good enough 'cause apparently, they are doctors, not an insurance company!! It’s a joke
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

The worst

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Alice Dec 06, 2018
Great-West Life does not care if you are ill. My experience with them has been horrible. There is no credibility nor transparency. Their customer service is absolutely horrid.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Planning to get life insurance to protect your family, including children? Make sure that you get enough coverage. According to studies, it takes about $250,000 in total to raise a child to the age of 18 (and that doesn’t include any post-secondary education costs).
 

TERRIBLE COMPANY!!

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by NOT EVEN Dec 04, 2018
Always a busy tone when calling customer service. Could not speak to anyone for over a month now, not even their switchboard could reach them, yet switchboard would say that they're experiencing high call volume, so then why isn't that message on their recording when calling in to make customers know what the heck is happening instead of a damn busy tone!!! This is all nonsense!!! 1.4 RATING FROM 133 REVIEWS!!! My husband claims are all selected for audit even though I've been submitting his claims via online, sent proof of the receipts, yet they would email countless times asking for proof, ARE YOUR EMPLOYEE INCOMPETENT??? CAN'T THEY OPEN RECENT ATTACHMENTS??!!! SO FRUSTRATED!!! LOOK at your rating, your service is crap and surprisingly there has been no significant changes even with the constant negative reviews. SHAME!!!
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

fraud

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Ben Nov 29, 2018
If you have a choice, stay away from this company. They will do anything to not pay your claims. i.e. multiple short-term disability claims of my colleagues have been delayed in payment for months after their disability period. Cancer medication claims have been ignored over and over again. One of my colleague's husband passed away more than 6 months ago and there are still no payments. You can imagine the financial stress this creates. For myself, basically, every claim in the region of 100 $ + (over one hundred) is "randomly" selected for audit half the time then ignored after successful completion of the audit. The customer support line phone always has a busy tone. You simply cannot reach them. The online written requests get no answer. If you escalate to your company administrator, they will make statements that they tried to call you three times to clarify. They will state that you as a customer ignored them and therefore they do not pay. I can go on and on with these stories... Overall, this is a full-on fraud company.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Did you know that if you are a 30-year old male, a term life insurance policy for 20 years with coverage of $200,000 will cost you around $19/month? Getting your term life insurance quote today will allow you to benefit from a great rate.
 

Denied on shaky grounds

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Beware of GWL Nov 21, 2018
If there was less than one star - that's how I would rate. Be careful if your work goes through these guys. They do not care if you are ill, they don't care if you can no longer afford treatment or medication. They misuse facts, they will misinterpret doctors and specialists reports - their main goal is to save the company money. My life has been ruined by these guys - I am about to lose my home, my whole life. And now I cannot afford my medication - so what's the use? Next step: lawyer and media. Too many people at work they have done this to.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

HORRIBLE

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Anonymous Nov 20, 2018
This is my first time writing a review but I feel it is necessary because of the horrible customer service and awful benefits provided by GWL. They require paper copies submitted for any expense claim over $400 and even if you provide everything they ask for, they require to jump through even more hoops and waste your time driving around the city trying to get doctors' notes to substantiate your claim. The phone number they provide is ALWAYS busy, so you can never get ahold of them. Typical insurance company that tries to get away with not reimbursing you for the expenses that your insurance is supposed to cover. I have had benefits with 3 other insurance companies and this one is by far the worst.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Did you know that if you are a 35-year old female, a term life insurance policy for 10 years with coverage of $500,000 will cost you around $15-$20/month? Getting your life insurance quote today will allow you to lock-in a great rate.
 

*Be aware!

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Livelovelaugh Nov 17, 2018
My experience with GWL was horrific right from day one. I wish I knew then what I know now. First of all, if they tell you something, it may or may not be the truth. Don’t trust them one bit. Keep your guard up. Protect yourself by printing out all your emails and record ALL phone conversations with them. Thankfully, I had a medical provider that gave me great advice at the start of my claim to journal and record everything as she was super frustrated and concerned how I was being treated right from the very beginning. It was not just concerns about one staff member, it was multiple and also multiple levels of management involved. GWL has admitted that my concerns are serious and have had negative consequences. I was told that after an investigation in June 2018 involving the director and regional manager that I would be provided the results of the investigation including what GWL has done to address the situation, any recommendations GWL has put forward and executed on, anything GWL has done to put in place such as policies and procedures to ensure this experience isn’t experienced by others, and answers to my questions. I did involve the ombudsman numerous times with no results. I found out the ombudsmen are paid by GWL. Despite my proof in the form of recordings, documentation and witnesses, they have yet provided me with any documentation that demonstrates they have taken this seriously by demonstrating to me that they did what they said they would do. It has been 5 months and still nothing.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

LTD Benfits Stop Payment

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Still Fed Up. Nov 12, 2018
I've been off of work on short/long term disability with GWL since Oct. 2012. It has been a challenge at best. I'll be utilizing their ombudsman for the 4th time. They have stopped payment without explanation yet again. There is no credibility nor transparency. Global News here I come. I hope everyone speaks up.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Did you know there is a 35% chance of developing a critical illness before you are 65 and 65%-70% chance before you turn 81? That means getting a critical illness insurance quote is no less important than getting life insurance. Your choice.
 

Threatening to cut me off !

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Whatajoke Nov 03, 2018
I’ve been on WSIB for 18 months. GWL is my Ltd carrier. I am being paid 100% WSIB, and GWL has not paid me one cent, however, they are threatening to cut my Ltd off even though they aren’t paying it if I don’t apply for CPP. I’ve called 4 times and have left messages but no one returns your calls. WSIB even wrote them a letter saying basically “ buzz off “, she’s on our payroll. I have spoken with a lawyer and they agreed that GWL should not be insisting I apply as they don’t pay me. This so-called worker of mine also calls at night or in the middle of the day on weekends. What a bunch of jokers. Never ever use this company.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Get what you pay for

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Ellie Oct 31, 2018
The story is the same at all insurance companies. You get what you pay for; know what you bought. Read both employee and customer reviews; both parallel each other. Had to request supervisor assistance. Caseworker never returned emails or calls. I have a new caseworker. Hope things pick up and I get the help and care I need to get better so I can do what I love, my job.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thinking of getting a life insurance quote from an insurance agent? They work for one insurance company and can only sell the products of that company. That may not result in the best rate for you. Our insurance brokers compare life insurance quotes across 20+ Canadian insurers for you.
 

Horrible company

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by San Oct 30, 2018
Great-West-Life is a horrible company. They denied my application for LTD benefits despite the fact that my doctors supported my claim. I’m suffering from extreme anxiety, and stress at work on top of that chronic pain from work-related injuries and yet they told me there’s no reason for me to go on disability and I should go back to work. Hope this company will shut down. They really try their best not to pay you from what I can see. Of course, their workers do their best to deny you. That’s their bread and butter. Their workers’ mission is to take advantage of somebody’s misfortune. Who cares if you are suffering. All they care for is taking money from you. They are not there when you need them. Like so many people say here, they are lying thieves!
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

LTD Claim

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Very Disappointed Client Oct 19, 2018
Applied for LTD end of August, gave all the information they required, of course, they required more information from the Doctor, Doctor submitted it. After a couple months of no income, what do you think happened with my claim - you guessed it...denied. I spoke with my Doctor after receiving the denial letter, he was shocked. He told me that I am unfit to work at my current job or any other job at this time. So now what??? Thank you Great-West Life, I am so glad I paid into LTD only to be denied. Will never deal with this company again.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Did you know that mortgage insurance is the same as life insurance but more expensive and offers less protection? By cancelling it and getting life insurance , you would typically save around 30%-40% for the same coverage.
 

Useless Customer Service

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Stephanie Oct 15, 2018
GWL review: Absolute garbage customer service. I asked them questions and they continued to ignore me, giving me standard responses that would result in me throwing all my money away if that were not the correct choice of action. I clarified my questions point by point so that even a child would understand that I had more than one question and wasn't looking for a "Thank you for contacting us. Have a nice day!". And yet they still gave me the same standard response, this time shutting my customer service tag down completely as if they answered even one of my questions at all. I tried submitting an official complaint and even that was ignored. I didn't even get a reply from them at all. You'd get better service talking to a wall. At least you'd be able to lean on it for support.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Disability Claim

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Cancer2018 Oct 15, 2018
LTD claim has not been processed after 1 month of submission. Very inefficient. No concern
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Did you know that one in three Canadians, on average, will be disabled for more than three months before they turn 65? Get a disability insurance quote today to make sure your income is secure, even when you are temporary disabled.
 

Enrollment - Health & Dental

 
(2.0 out of 5 stars)
by moiraarh Sep 06, 2018
I clicked on Life Insurance...because there isn't a drop-down option for Health & Dental. I had coverage with GWL with my previous employer. I accepted a buyout package and was eligible to enroll with GWL under the similar plan. I really had no issues with GWL when I was with group plan under the employer. However, when I signed up with GWL last week....it has been a "gong show" ever since. After signing up and being accepted...I was emailed copious documents and my policy # on August 30 - with noted commencement date for benefits starting September 1. There was no indication with paperwork when I would receive our drug cards. As I wanted to fill a prescription at Shoppers Drug Mart, I called GWL to find out if they could give me my client ID...and other info that Shoppers had requested. Well - GWL had no record of my policy # - it doesn't exist! Oh, for frig sake!! So, after several phone transfers to different departments passing the hot potato...approximately 45 minutes - still not resolved. I became apoplectic on the phone. How ironic that I had interviews for an executive assistant position with top big wigs at the London, Ontario office....and they spoke so eloquently on how customer service is "paramount" to their business...huh!
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Great-West Life experiences

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Great-West Life experience Sep 05, 2018
This provider is tracking each health-related submitted claim three years backdated and calling and intimidating our health providers, questioning services, billable time and dates. Great-West Life is a parody and if we don’t check for reimbursement upon submitting a claim, they just find loopholes to not pay or to state that there are customary fee restrictions. Nonsense and not much else. Unfortunately, we are ill enough to require “covered” services and they are evil enough to keep questioning each service we have sought and requested reimbursement for. I guess that because we won’t back down and leave Great-West Life to forget reimbursing us for legit expenses, their tactic is to bully our health professionals and question the service we have been provided with.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Not sure if you can qualify for life insurance with existing health pre-conditions? Let us to help you with a no medical life insurance quote , meaning that you do not need to pass a medical exam to qualify for a life insurance policy.
 

Great West Life Sucks

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Tesh Aug 22, 2018
The insurance company sucks so much. They make it so difficult for you to get money back for a claim. It's like they don't want you to get paid. You have to jump through so many hoops including talking to so many people (if you can get ahold of them), mailing forms/receipts and waiting many days.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?