Independent Life Insurance Reviews

Great-West Life Life Insurance Reviews

(122 reviews)
This page has been viewed by:
89,858
consumers
(1.4 out of 5 stars)
Customer Service:
Value for Money:
 

Enrollment - Health & Dental

 
(2.0 out of 5 stars)
by moiraarh Sep 06, 2018
I clicked on Life Insurance...because there isn't a drop-down option for Health & Dental. I had coverage with GWL with my previous employer. I accepted a buyout package and was eligible to enroll with GWL under the similar plan. I really had no issues with GWL when I was with group plan under the employer. However, when I signed up with GWL last week....it has been a "gong show" ever since. After signing up and being accepted...I was emailed copious documents and my policy # on August 30 - with noted commencement date for benefits starting September 1. There was no indication with paperwork when I would receive our drug cards. As I wanted to fill a prescription at Shoppers Drug Mart, I called GWL to find out if they could give me my client ID...and other info that Shoppers had requested. Well - GWL had no record of my policy # - it doesn't exist! Oh, for frig sake!! So, after several phone transfers to different departments passing the hot potato...approximately 45 minutes - still not resolved. I became apoplectic on the phone. How ironic that I had interviews for an executive assistant position with top big wigs at the London, Ontario office....and they spoke so eloquently on how customer service is "paramount" to their business...huh!
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Did you know that one in three Canadians, on average, will be disabled for more than three months before they turn 65? Get a disability insurance quote today to make sure your income is secure, even when you are temporary disabled.
 

Great-West Life experiences

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Great-West Life experience Sep 05, 2018
This provider is tracking each health-related submitted claim three years backdated and calling and intimidating our health providers, questioning services, billable time and dates. Great-West Life is a parody and if we don’t check for reimbursement upon submitting a claim, they just find loopholes to not pay or to state that there are customary fee restrictions. Nonsense and not much else. Unfortunately, we are ill enough to require “covered” services and they are evil enough to keep questioning each service we have sought and requested reimbursement for. I guess that because we won’t back down and leave Great-West Life to forget reimbursing us for legit expenses, their tactic is to bully our health professionals and question the service we have been provided with.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Great West Life Sucks

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Tesh Aug 22, 2018
The insurance company sucks so much. They make it so difficult for you to get money back for a claim. It's like they don't want you to get paid. You have to jump through so many hoops including talking to so many people (if you can get ahold of them), mailing forms/receipts and waiting many days.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Did you know there is a 35% chance of developing a critical illness before you are 65 and 65%-70% chance before you turn 81? That means getting a critical illness insurance quote is no less important than getting life insurance. Your choice.
 

Great

 
(5.0 out of 5 stars)
by KLA Aug 21, 2018
I have never had an issue with GWL - always reimburses within a few days maybe a week with online claims. Paper claims do take longer but understandable. My pharmacy has even commented on how great the coverage is etc. My children have some significant medical needs and have always gotten what they need. I was surprised to see all the negative reviews, overall they have been fantastic, sure sometimes I wait for an email for a few days or have to be on hold for a bit but I understand I am not the only one that needs assistance.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Horrible experience

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by ainslieja Aug 21, 2018
They sent me a letter in the mail saying they need additional information for my claim. There was no address and they didn't indicate how I was to provide the information. I then called them and they said they would send me an email with the information. It's been 5 days yet no email!!! How does this company stay in business?
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Did you know that if you are a 35-year old female, a term life insurance policy for 10 years with coverage of $500,000 will cost you around $15-$20/month? Getting your life insurance quote today will allow you to lock-in a great rate.
 

Simply Reptilian blood sucker

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Abandoned Aug 20, 2018
My experience was horrible with GWL. The case manager was ignorant, rude, illogical, unfair, deceptive. Despite my medical MRI with severe neural stenosis, they reject my case with deceptive, barbaric, sub-standard and uncivilized policy. Shame on my employer, the worst authorities to work for. I regret paying 20 years to this reptilian, greedy, inhuman company. We live under dictatorship and chaos. No wonder why we have a chronic shortage of skilled workers :( Our history is full of abusive policies which puts Canada down in the eyes of "well-developed" countries. The medical system is doomed to crash and if nothing else, suffering will do the job to wake us up.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Hustlers

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by JC Jul 23, 2018
Will find any loophole to deny you, sham of a company and despicable people.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Did you know that mortgage insurance is the same as life insurance but more expensive and offers less protection? By cancelling it and getting life insurance , you would typically save around 30%-40% for the same coverage.
 

Avoid at all costs

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by joshua1 Jul 10, 2018
My school uses them and god are they awful. I had an eye exam and was told they would cover the cost of my frames, but that I had to pay upfront and they would reimburse me. I waited a month with no mention of this from them at all. I created an account on their painfully slow and worthless website only to find all the reimbursements were pending, due to a lack of a known address. They never even attempted to contact me for this information. The website was god awful so as I spent ages trying to navigate properly to set this information and at the same time, called them in case it failed to do so. After a long while, I had finally submitted my address to them, both online and through on-phone support. I was told I would get my reimbursement in a couple weeks. A couple weeks later, a letter from them showed up at my place asking me for my address... Imagine my disbelief when they sent the letter to my address, asking for my address. These guys are just around to steal your money unless you waste your time trying to keep them honest.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Site "Temporarily" Unavailable

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Unimpressed Jun 27, 2018
I have this insurance company with my employer and good grief does it ever suck. I had Greenshield with my last employer. For the last few years, Greenshield billed the pharmacy directly without making the employer pay extra. If having to submit your receipts for drugs is not annoying enough, you have to do it by mail. What a craptacular company. Their website works, apart from GroupNet. Every time you go to their website, you get the following message. I have been trying since Friday night and still see the same message. Need I say more. Site Temporarily Unavailable. We are sorry this site is only available. We are working to restore service as quickly as possible. We apologize for the inconvenience and thank you for your patience. Return to Great-West Life website: Click here to return to the Great-West home page. This is the worst insurance company in all of Canada! I cannot believe I have to send prescription receipts again through Canada Post to get reimbursed (80%). They mail you the cheque and explanation entirely in French on top of that, no English anywhere. If you don't parler Francais, you will not understand most of it. The form I submitted was in English as were the receipts for meds prescribed by a doctor in Ontario. I have no idea what the letter says and short sentences in Eng are long in Fr. I would have to type it in Google translate, as they do not use email. I know this is a bilingual country, but do they seriously expect everyone to know French. Moreover, they don't even cover the prescription strength (a strength not available OTC), generic allergy medication, the same one Greenshield covered. Maybe that is why their explanation of my benefits for the receipts was in French? So unimpressed.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Did you know that if you are a 30-year old male, a term life insurance policy for 20 years with coverage of $200,000 will cost you around $19/month? Getting your term life insurance quote today will allow you to benefit from a great rate.
 

Thieves

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by laxreball Jun 14, 2018
The worst company I have ever dealt with. They take your money, but try to make a claim. Lying cheating thieves!!!
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Horrible customer service

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by jmc27 May 23, 2018
I am a completely healthy young woman - yet somehow it took them over 8 months to approve my benefits application. They lost my application several times, then sent me in the wrong direction several more. Absolutely horrendous customer service. Once I finally did get approved, they sent all my information and my drug and travel assistance card- but when I called to set up my online GroupNet, they said they have no record of me having benefits through them. Thoroughly disappointed!
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Not sure if you can qualify for life insurance with existing health pre-conditions? Let us to help you with a no medical life insurance quote , meaning that you do not need to pass a medical exam to qualify for a life insurance policy.
 

what is the point

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by frustratedemployee Apr 27, 2018
I have health insurance through work (AHS), applied for short-term disability and got denied. Have all the documentation from physician and specialist but yet I was denied. Why are we even paying premiums? Those adjusters don't even have medical backgrounds yet they decide how an insurance is judged!
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

the worst insurance company

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Butter Apr 12, 2018
Unfortunately, my husband has a group plan with this company. They provide the worst customer services, the hotline often gets disconnected. They refused claims even though we provided all the documentation they requested. I'm just hoping their company will choose another insurance company with better credibility, I can’t wait for this nightmare to end soon.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Planning to get life insurance to protect your family, including children? Make sure that you get enough coverage. According to studies, it takes about $250,000 in total to raise a child to the age of 18 (and that doesn’t include any post-secondary education costs).
 

Worst experience I ever had!

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Peter G. Apr 11, 2018
They will do anything to deny even a 100 % pay for a basic dental claim (filling) and they will make up a reason to do it. When I called and asked them why they paid 60% and I have to pay 40%, the customer service actually HANG UP on me and never returned my call. Worse experience I ever had! EVER!!!
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Wish it could be zero stars

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by unhappy Apr 04, 2018
I have GWL health and dental coverage through my workplace. My husband has a different insurance company. Previously with coordination of benefits, we wouldn't pay much more than about $50 for any dental claims because GWL would cover whatever my husband didn't quite cover. Ever since the new 2018 dental fee guide has come out, they no longer cover anything more than the fee *guide* outlines. This guide is woefully lower than reasonable dental costs. Now GWL has left us paying upwards of 1/3 of dental costs. This is ridiculous. When I call to ask why their policy has changed, they just say it's because of the fee guide and plead ignorance. What a horrible company. If I could switch, I would.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thinking of getting a life insurance quote from an insurance agent? They work for one insurance company and can only sell the products of that company. That may not result in the best rate for you. Our insurance brokers compare life insurance quotes across 20+ Canadian insurers for you.
 

uncooperative

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by beaniebow Feb 07, 2018
They wouldn't give me a copy of my claim to file with another insurance company. Over a two month period, I called every other week and they never had a record for my request for a copy of the claim. Thus I was not able to make my claim and lost over $700.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Travel Insurance

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Bamboozled Jan 31, 2018
I recently was really sick on a trip to Cuba, I am from Canada. My workplace has "travel assistance" coverage through Great West Life. I read through their benefit booklet before I left and felt assured that they would have the resources to help in an emergency. This is a quote from our benefits booklet. "This program provides medical assistance through a worldwide communications network that operates 24Hours a day. The Network Locates medical services and obtains Great West Life's approval of covered services, when required as a result of a medical emergency" They talk a good game, sounds pretty sophisticated, and sounds like they have resources to help. Unfortunately, I was violently ill in Cuba. We are all given an emergency travel assistance card, so I tried calling the number on the card. It didn't work. And they had a special number just for when you are in Cuba. There was also some fine print that mentioned you may need to dial "00" instead of 1 if you are in another country. I tried this, this also didn't work. So then I tried dialling "00" plus "1". And it worked! I got through. Now I will certainly get some help....not so. They had absolutely no medical assistance for me at all. I had to go and find my own...in Cuba....while violently ill. The customer service rep was like a cold robot. They didn't seem interested at all in providing help. I'm asking for help and all the guy wants is my address, my phone number and postal code. Another thing is, you need to call the number they give you first or they may not pay your claim. They then give improper instructions for dialling outside the country. So your claim can be denied. Highly unethical company, to the point of straight-up fraudulent in my opinion. We need stronger laws in Canada for this type of behaviour.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Did you know that one in three Canadians, on average, will be disabled for more than three months before they turn 65? Get a disability insurance quote today to make sure your income is secure, even when you are temporary disabled.
 

They avoid payments

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by dqpham_gh Jan 12, 2018
I'm under company insurance, the insurance covers for orthotics appliances. I went to the doctor to check and buy the orthotics appliances but when I claimed on the insurance policy, they've replied the doctor is not covered by the plan. And also they refuse to pay back for orthotics appliances. This company is a fraud just trying to steal money from people. Please look for a different insurance company to save yourself.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Denied STD

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Unsatified customer Jan 07, 2018
They will do anything they can not to pay you. This company is a fraud. They will use any excuse to delay the process and ask for clinical notes and once you provide everything they ask they will still find a reason to deny your claim
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Did you know that mortgage insurance is the same as life insurance but more expensive and offers less protection? By cancelling it and getting life insurance , you would typically save around 30%-40% for the same coverage.
 

Unethical and dishonest

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Captain Crunch Dec 28, 2017
The case manager of my short term disability stopped my benefits claim by changing my original injury claim of a dislocated shoulder to a strain/sprained shoulder muscle. Then the case manager took what a consulting physician said in a report and twisted it, omitting other medical facts of my file, facts that would keep me in the system. The manager only used those utterances to justify her argument. Basically lied to cut me off. Right now I'm in the second appeal stage, appealing to the very people that are causing me the problems. This is borderline criminal behaviour. And I'm still off work.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Never had problems with them

 
(5.0 out of 5 stars)
by Alex D. Plourde Dec 18, 2017
I have been with them for almost 9 years and they always took care of me preciously...Never had problem with payments and they always made sure I was really O.K before going back to work.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Planning to get life insurance to protect your family, including children? Make sure that you get enough coverage. According to studies, it takes about $250,000 in total to raise a child to the age of 18 (and that doesn’t include any post-secondary education costs).
 

The worst insurance company!

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Unhappy customer Dec 03, 2017
They will do everything to decline your claim. The worst company in Canada! Maybe they survive only because it is the cheapest company for employer group plan. But if you have a choice, never deal with them!
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Impossible to Cancel

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by CJ40 Dec 02, 2017
Have been trying for months to cancel my critical illness and disability insurance policies. Originally spoke with a rep in July, who was unable to help me and told me to phone another line. They only take calls M-F 8-4:30(I also work the same hours). So it was weeks before I was able to actually speak with anyone. I spoke with multiple reps in July, who told me different things, left a message to a supervisor, mailed in a letter in August, emailed their client services in October. No one has ever reached out to me, then Dec. 1st rolls around and I get billed again! I'm glad I never had to process a claim with them, but at this rate, I'll probably be stuck with them until I retire. What a joke, this company is a total scam.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Not sure if you can qualify for life insurance with existing health pre-conditions? Let us to help you with a no medical life insurance quote , meaning that you do not need to pass a medical exam to qualify for a life insurance policy.
 

Intentionally Difficult

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by David Nov 30, 2017
This company makes filing a claim intentionally difficult, often stalling claims indefinitely without requesting further information, just so they don't have to pay out. I was switched to GWL by my employer and I've been shocked by how terrible this company is in comparison to my previous insurance provider. Keeping claims difficult and frustrating appears to be this company's cost-saving strategy.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Worst customer service ever

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Sick depressed guy Nov 29, 2017
I started getting dizzy and sick spells at work, so went to hospital! The first diagnosis was vertigo, so they put me off for 2 weeks until I could see my family physician! His first diagnosis was vertigo and he referred me to ear Dr and sent me for tests and put me off for a month until my next appt! All this being sent to my work and Great-West Life! Dr appts blood tests, ear specialist - ear tests, CT scan etc. Went on for next several months with everything being sent to Great-West Life and they kept making excuses why they couldn't approve my claim! It wasn't until my CT scan came back with a spot showing up that they decided to review my claim which was 12 weeks from the time I started feeling ill! They had 3 Drs' letters telling them I was sick but yet they said they had to send to their in-house Dr who denied the claim! I had to appeal 2 times and finally it went to upper management for review and they approved my short term after 13 weeks! I was so far behind on my bills and my house had gone to mortgage holders' lawyers to foreclose on my house! To total amount owing to save my house because I missed some payments due to Great-West Life giving me the runaround was 8500 dollars and needed to be paid in full! 3200 for mortgage and 5300 thrown out the window for lawyers' fees! Not to mention my credit ruined also! Totally ridiculous. People pay into this insurance company for security just in case something happens that they are unable to work but yet when the person needs help, they do everything they can not to pay! I'm still ill and had an MRI and something has shown up, so need to go back for more head scans yet Great-West Life is saying I have to wait for all the results for them to even consider my claim! It's been another 12 weeks with no money and now bills are slipping again and I had to ask the Dr to write a note saying I can work when I'm still very ill! I can only make it to work for a few hours on some days and have to go home to lay down and some days I can't even function to drive there! I'm not sure how other group insurance companies are but if your employer is using Great-West Life, they should change companies for their employees' sake! I'm wondering how many lawsuits they have had to deal with over the years because as soon as I find out there is something seriously wrong with me, if there is, I will def be going to a lawyer for the hardship they have caused me! I wish there was a zero or - rating for this terrible company because it's def the worst company I've ever dealt with!
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Did you know that if you are a 30-year old male, a term life insurance policy for 20 years with coverage of $200,000 will cost you around $19/month? Getting your term life insurance quote today will allow you to benefit from a great rate.
 

Horrible experience

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Pz Nov 18, 2017
Do not trust the good life that they lay out in front of you. As soon as you are on long-term disability, they can and will make your life even more miserable by coercing you to do all their programs and by-policy nonsenses designed to get you out of their coverage. True corporation greed with no respect and compassion. Do not trust them. I have learned it the hard way. Better to save money in the bank than to give them.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Employee Benefits Cancelled

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Former Employee Aug 24, 2017
I was an employee at GWL. As soon as they learned my wife required surgery, I was terminated. We lost all benefits. Pathetic.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Did you know there is a 35% chance of developing a critical illness before you are 65 and 65%-70% chance before you turn 81? That means getting a critical illness insurance quote is no less important than getting life insurance. Your choice.
 

House of fools and stress!

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Injustice Aug 23, 2017
After paying decades of contribution to GWL, I was short term disabled. They requested documents from the doctor, then they needed signed documents from the doctor, then they needed the notes of the doctor. I waited for the payment to be told that I was not more than 60% disabled! On what ground?! They just don't want to pay... I have a good doctor and my condition is real. I am going to bring them to justice these thieves and make an example out of them...
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

GWL - manipulative crooks

 
(1.5 out of 5 stars)
by Just Me Aug 07, 2017
I was put on disability by my Dr. Over the course of the first two years, I was made to jump through numerous hoops, have numerous forms filled out by my Dr. (which I had to pay for), had to meet with GWL's third party assessment group (weekly), who push you to return to work, and so forth. I was incredibly ill, couldn't drive and could barely hold an intelligent conversation due to chronic pain reducing my cognitive ability. I found I had to be VERY careful what I said on the phone ... VERY. Now, finally, all had been well with them (3 years later). I will never be able to return to work. THEN: They encouraged me to apply for CPPD, which I did, and was granted (no issues). I have received a 17 month retroactive backpay from CPPD. GWL says I have to pay this back to them as it is an overpayment and will cover payments made by GWL. This is INCORRECT in my case. I hold a premium policy which states: if the monthly CPPD payment in combination with the monthly GWL payment does not exceed what my monthly salary would have been, then no deduction will be taken for overpayment. Therefore, the 17 month retroactive payment is NOT an overpayment and I should not have to pay a penny - when broken out into the 17 months and summed with the monthly payments made by GWL - the monthly amount(s) NEVER exceed what my monthly salary was. So, no overpayment made. I will seek legal counsel if needed, but the GWL representative is this cold, disconnected, robot like person who has the personality of a rock. I don't feel listened to. And I would advise that all conversation be followed up with an email for tracking purposes! I had been told, numerous years ago, that insurance companies will say No, No, No, No ... to hopefully get you to just stop asking. Eventually, they will pay, in most cases. But, you have to wait, while you are ill and not working for sometime, in many cases. Which then forces people to go back to work! So disgusting ... all about THEIR own bottom line .. and never really about You and all the money you paid to be taken care of if something medical should occur in your life. Ugh!
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Did you know that if you are a 35-year old female, a term life insurance policy for 10 years with coverage of $500,000 will cost you around $15-$20/month? Getting your life insurance quote today will allow you to lock-in a great rate.
 

Not worth the money.

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Dallas Jul 18, 2017
I was forced to buy into group insurance. What they don't tell you is that it is a tiered system, meaning the high level management personnel receive extraordinary benefits on the backs of the mid-level employees. As middle management I was hit the hardest, my premiums were very high because of my salary, but I did not receive the top level of benefits and the already over paid upper management did. It still bothers me and when I left the company, I had paid more than 13 years of life insurance premiums that I was told had "no cash value". In a private plan, those premiums are often paid back to you, but I received nothing and was immediately without coverage the day I left the company. It is even incredible hard to get a clear answer what your benefits actually cover.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?