Independent Life Insurance Reviews

Empire Life Life Insurance Reviews

(12 reviews)
This page has been viewed by:
21,887
consumers
(1.3 out of 5 stars)
Customer Service:
Value for Money:
 

Empire Life: Opt out!

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Opt Out Sep 30, 2020
My company switched our group benefits plan to Empire Life Insurance this month. I don't know what level of service reductions they made, but under the previous insurer, I had 100% coverage for diagnostic dental x-rays which they paid for my son without questions asked. With Empire Life, my claim for diagnostic dental x-rays was denied. I am very lucky to have a working wife with a much better group benefits plan, but the coordination of benefits with Empire Life is so bad that my wife's insurance company told me that it is in my benefit to opt out of my company's Empire Life benefits plan so that I can actually get my claims processed AND paid - and not to waste my time having to submit claims that will end up getting denied any way.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Planning to get life insurance to protect your family, including children? Make sure that you get enough coverage. According to studies, it takes about $250,000 in total to raise a child to the age of 18 (and that doesn’t include any post-secondary education costs).
 

More like a scammer company

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Vancouverite Jul 17, 2020
Claim monitoring device and sent in all required documents, still got the claim declined. When I tried to contact the customer services, I got a list of documents required which were everything I have sent to them (all originals). I guess I will be looking for another employer who offers Extended Health NOT with EMPIRE LIFE.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Child Dental Coverage Declined

 
(2.0 out of 5 stars)
by Shannon Dec 20, 2019
My husband has company benefits with Empire. I submitted a claim after my son's first dental appointment that came back denied. I called to learn about why it was denied, and they do not pay for dental appointments for children under two. Children are supposed to start going to the dentist by one year old and go every six months just like adults. I called back my son's dentist to pay out of pocket and told them what the Empire told me. The dental office had never heard of an insurance company that doesn't pay for children's dental appointments before the age of two. I am back to work now, so thankfully I am with another insurance company and I know the next appointment will be covered. I gave them a two as the lady I talked to was very pleasant. She is a mother who agrees that this policy is stupid.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Did you know there is a 35% chance of developing a critical illness before you are 65 and 65%-70% chance before you turn 81? That means getting a critical illness insurance quote is no less important than getting life insurance. Your choice.
 

Trash insurance company

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Donny31 Dec 16, 2019
These guys are total frauds and should be shut down. Try everything possible to get out of paying out any claims. They also just decide not to cover certain accreditations of medical professionals without any good reason. Terrible customer service and horrible wait times yet they expect you to send them personal details about your medical records immediately or threaten to close your file without reimbursement.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

empire life insurance company

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by FKH Feb 13, 2019
This Company is a complete joke and their employees too. They lie right to your face. The customer service basically laughs at you and gives you a snotty attitude. They talk to you like you're stupid when they are the stupid ones. They take forever giving your benefits back and make up all these lies on how they didn't receive the paperwork or wait weeks to tell you they need something else, so your claim takes even longer. Empire life is a JOKE and your business needs to be burned to the ground with all your shady employees with it. Never dealing with this useless company again.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thinking of getting a life insurance quote from an insurance agent? They work for one insurance company and can only sell the products of that company. That may not result in the best rate for you. Our insurance brokers compare life insurance quotes across 20+ Canadian insurers for you.
 

STAY FAR AWAY!

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by UselessCompany Jan 29, 2019
This Company is a complete joke and their employees too. They lie right to your face. The customer service basically laughs at you and give you a snotty attitude. They talk to you like you're stupid when they are the stupid ones. They take forever giving your benefits back and make up all these lies on how they didn't receive the paperwork or wait weeks to tell you they need something else, so your claim takes even longer. Empire life is a JOKE and your business needs to be burned to the ground with all your shady employees with it. Never dealing with this useless company again.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Worst benefits company ever

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by vigearshifter Dec 12, 2017
I have had nothing but problems with this company since my company switched to Empire Life in March 2017. They claim they don't receive paperwork, don't respond to your multiple requests when something is sent, deny paying even though the dentist has sent the information twice now (mailed and faxed). Very bad customer service attitude! Expect a doctor's referral even if you have been going to the physiotherapist/massage person for years. WORST COMPANY I HAVE EVER DEALT WITH!!!!!
1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Did you know that if you are a 30-year old male, a term life insurance policy for 20 years with coverage of $200,000 will cost you around $19/month? Getting your term life insurance quote today will allow you to benefit from a great rate.
 

Long term disability

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Frustrated Apr 20, 2017
This company is all about taking your money but giving nothing in return. No wonder they sit on millions of money - never paid out for ltd, took them months to review a claim. Have 5 specialists with the same diagnosis and their reason for denial diagnosis hasn't changed. Really. Has a lifetime injury which prevents him from working and they say he's denied ltd. so don't pay thousands of dollar to this company they will keep it and give you nothing in return.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

The coverage is very limited

 
(2.0 out of 5 stars)
by Mr T Feb 15, 2017
Their coverage is mediocre, you have to make sure your provider is registered with the right credentials. Even if you find them on their search box in Empire Life website, it doesn't mean they're registered. It's means someone logged the provider info in their system, but Empire Life doesn't clear the information even if it's wrong. Therefore the only way to find your provider registry, is to go to the official website (i.e. RMT, for massage), and search a list of providers there. Many times I found myself paying a lot more on the service I used. Empire Life normally refund a percentage, ranging from 40% to 70%. You just have to pray for the reviewer not to tag you enough excuses not to reimburse you the amount (it's never 100%, always below 70%. Quite Random sometimes). Customer service is not great too. They reply after a couple of days via email, but never answer your questions properly. Pretty awful to be honest.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Did you know that if you are a 35-year old female, a term life insurance policy for 10 years with coverage of $500,000 will cost you around $15-$20/month? Getting your life insurance quote today will allow you to lock-in a great rate.
 

Poor customer service

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Romeo May 17, 2016
very poor customer service Nobody picks up your call They keep calling you for their product and once you buy it, no follow-ups, no updates...nothing
1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

The worst company

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Alex Dec 31, 2014
I have been client of this company for almost two years. Claimed coverage for medicine, dental treatment for many times. didn't get any coverage. They are big cheaters, always lying ,never get real information. I will highly not recommend this company.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Not sure if you can qualify for life insurance with existing health pre-conditions? Let us to help you with a no medical life insurance quote , meaning that you do not need to pass a medical exam to qualify for a life insurance policy.
 

N/A

 
(3.0 out of 5 stars)
by Anonymous Apr 11, 2012
Questions regarding coverage are not always answered correctly. My life insurer always cover my health insurance. For what I am paying, I feel some what nervous if there was a serious issue.
2 of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Want to save on life insurance?
20+ insurers compared
Get an free, instant quote
Best life insurance rates
Empire Life Life Insurance
12 reviews
5 Star off
(0)
4 Star off
(0)
3 Darkstar
(1)
2 Darkstar
(2)
1 Darkstar
(9)
Most helpfull reviews