Mortgage Reviews

RBC Fixed Mortgage Consumer Reviews

This page has been viewed by: Please wait... consumers
(47 reviews)
RBC Fixed Mortgage
3.9 out of 5 stars:
Customer service:
Value for Money:
Product Features experience:
Share your own experience
Write a review

Want the best mortgage?

  • Rates from 30+ lenders
  • Apply in minutes
  • Save up to $20,000 on average
  • Phone support available
  • Always free and transparent

Get the best rate now

Filter

Most helpfull reviews
Review author

Do not get mortgage from RBC

by TD on Jul 10, 2021
1 out of 5 stars

My new condo will be completed on June 23 but my 5-years fixed-rate mortgage expired June 22. The mortgage manager would not override the original rate so I have to pay more. I will take out all my dominion investment and RRSP close to 1 million dollars and will start with another company!

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo
Review topics

RBC has horrible service

by Jess Harnett on Mar 16, 2021
1 out of 5 stars

After looking to renew my mortgage and not getting anywhere with RBC, one simple email and I was already being looked after by a rep of another company. Got a lower rate and will pay off the home 2 years sooner.

I've now waited on hold two different times now with RBC. Both times on hold for over an hour trying to get some of my current RBC mortgage documents. The first document I requested was never sent out (wasted an hour and 30 min + on the phone).

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo

RBC provides poor advice

by SB on Jun 17, 2020
1 out of 5 stars

RBC does not follow through with the commitments that their staff make. Multiple follow-ups, 4 weeks later, told that the commitment made was not honoured and that I am on the hook for the bill. Ombudsman has been contacted, but I look to be out of luck due to RBC’s poor customer service, advice and information. The community manager tells you how to manage your money even though their team provides garbage advice and insinuates that you should have known better than to trust multiple RBC representative's advice. Will never do ANY business with RBC ever again as they do not care for the customer and they have no integrity, just looking to get your hard-earned money any way they can. Stay away!!!

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo
Review topics

The easiest way to get the best mortgage

Homewise Mortgage

 

  • We search the market for you, negotiating with over 30 banks and lenders to save you up to $20,000

  • Whether it is pre-approval, approval, refi or switch, apply in only 5 minutes.

  • We negotiate with many prime A lenders to get you the best rates and features in Canada.

  • We also negotiate with B and private lenders for self-employed, low credit or high debts to get tougher approvals too.

  • All our services are free of charge.

Find out more now

Labelling error on Mortgages

by Mortgage on Nov 18, 2018
1.5 out of 5 stars

RBC has made a labelling mistake on RBC clients mortgages. They have used their computer-generated calculations for bi-weekly payments when clients signed an agreement for Accelerated bi-weekly payments. Unfortunately, most clients did not check their amortization period when taking a new or renewal mortgage. For some, the error had been going on for 10 years and RBC have woken up just 2 months ago and send out a disclosure about their language/labelling and worded it out in such a way that clients have made an error. Advisors keep you on hold for close to 20 minutes while they check the issue of the mortage and then do not give you a satisfactory answer. Totally disappointed in the trust factor with RBC.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo
Review topics

I liked dealing with them!

by saltykov.alexe21i@gmail.com on Feb 14, 2017
5 out of 5 stars

I had previously my mortgage with Scotia and the service was just ok, nothing special. When it was time to renew my mortgage, I decided to move it to RBC since they agreed to match a better rate that I found somewhere else. The whole experience was very good - friendly and knowledgeable mortgage specialist from a Shaw and King branch (Toronto) guided me through the whole process. I got a great variable rate and was happy to see all my products in one RBC online banking account. It is much easier to manage all my finances if they are all with RBC. They were eager to get my business, worked for that and I have not regretted moving my mortgage away from Scotia. The same about my wife - she was initially with Scotiabank but also moved her mortgage to RBC.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo

N/A

by Jean C. on Feb 11, 2017
5 out of 5 stars

As a long-time customer of the bank it was very easy efficient and painless. In a busy life these are all very important.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo

Best mortgages with rates others won't show you.

Breezeful Mortgages

Work with 30+ lenders including the ones you know and trust such as TD Bank, Scotiabank, EQ Bank, Duca, and more.

 

  • Get approved anytime, anywhere
  • Flexible qualifications
  • Unbiased mortgage advice
  • Multiple mortgage options
  • 30+ lenders compared

Apply Now

N/A

by Deborah F. on Feb 11, 2017
5 out of 5 stars

Great employees that helped set up and explain everything i needed to know getting into my current mortgage. Had the most competitive rate and would match any offer I brought their way.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo

N/A

by Angela P. on Feb 11, 2017
2.5 out of 5 stars

We have been quite annoyed with them. Things they told us would work one way ended up working another. They also pester you on the phone constantly

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo

N/A

by Katie F. on Feb 11, 2017
4 out of 5 stars

All good, renewed with them twice and always been positive. Good payback options and extra payments when you have the cash and rates have always been good. Timing has worked for us with low mortgage rates when ours is up. They have never given us a reason to leave.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo

The easiest way to get the best mortgage

Homewise Mortgage

 

  • We search the market for you, negotiating with over 30 banks and lenders to save you up to $20,000

  • Whether it is pre-approval, approval, refi or switch, apply in only 5 minutes.

  • We negotiate with many prime A lenders to get you the best rates and features in Canada.

  • We also negotiate with B and private lenders for self-employed, low credit or high debts to get tougher approvals too.

  • All our services are free of charge.

Find out more now

N/A

by Ramiro G. on Feb 11, 2017
5 out of 5 stars

Renewal process made it very easy to keep my business with the Royal Bank as opposed to moving it elsewhere

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo