Car Insurance Reviews

Sonnet Auto Insurance Reviews

This page has been viewed by: Please wait... consumers
(149 reviews)
Sonnet
1.5 out of 5 stars:
Customer service:
Value for Money:
Claim experience:
Share your own experience
Write a review

No Customer service, no new customers!!!

by Mushthumb on May 24, 2024
1 out of 5 stars

Never seen such a unproffecional site or company in my life. Tried like 4 times to get a quote, the site is so cheap and unreliable. Tried to contact them, no customer service you can call, no option for new customers, asked the robot chat to speak to an agent. It keeps telling me to call during business hours. It's Friday 9am, and it still not redirecting me to an agent. I would never reccomend this to anybody. Worst insurance company ever!!!

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo

Claims take far too long to settle

by TM on Apr 25, 2024
1.3 out of 5 stars

My truck was stolen March 1st. It’s now April 25th and I still haven’t received any settlement. They’re saying it’s because the truck was found, which restarts the whole process. I gave them all the information regarding that on March 21st. April 12th no one picked up the truck or went to look at it. I still haven’t received any settlement from them. Even when calling the adjuster and leaving voicemails saying “please call me back” I get emails saying “sorry I missed your call”. Timelines they give are not accurate and you’re lucky to get the response of “I’ll keep you posted as soon as we can move forward”. I’ve had to take a loan to purchase another vehicle since their claim is taking so long, leaving me with interest I shouldn’t be dealing with.

Their rates are great. But if you have a claim, at least in my case, their rates reflect the service.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo

1st 2 years we’re okay

by Jim on Apr 4, 2024
2.3 out of 5 stars

I had both home and auto with sonnet. In 2023 home premiums jumps 35 percent. No claims on my part and no problems. I switched home to other and saved 40%.
In 2024 I traded cars. Sonnet initial quote somehow changed and the premium quoted for the new car changed upwards by 50%. Unable to get a reasonable answer so I cancelled and went with CAA. Same car same drivers but 33% less expensive.
Done with Sonnet

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo
Review topics

Did you know that on average Ontario drivers with good driving records pay $1,805/year in auto insurance? Is your insurance rate higher? Get a free car insurance quote and start saving today.

Cancelled for non-payment when I paid!!

by Lindsay Boardman on Mar 19, 2024
1.5 out of 5 stars

I had a car insurance policy with Sonnet for a few years. In 2023, my credit card was compromised and I forgot to change the card with Sonnet. I was notified via registered mail and immediately took corrective action. I had until June 24th to correct the card and pay back premium. All was done on June 4th. I was then also charged regular premium the following month. After which, Sonnet cancelled my policy without my knowledge! I reported the issue and they refuse to reinstate my policy unless I pay the premium for the time that I WAS NOT covered by their company. Additionally, they were supposed to reply 5 days ago with and escalation effort and I have heard nothing. In the meantime, this is negatively affecting my insurance profile as I have a cancellation for non-payment on my file and coverage gap when, in fact, I paid and they cancelled the policy for no reason.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo

Unbelievable

by Mp on Mar 19, 2024
1 out of 5 stars

Paid for 6 years always on time got cancelled because I moved to another province and they didn't update their database, they said I'm not licenced, I've had a license since 16, I'm now 61, what a scam, moved to another company and saved 50$ a month, no payments missed, no tickets, terrible customer service.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo

Sonnet Shift is a Scam

by Frustrated Insurance Customer on Feb 27, 2024
1 out of 5 stars

I’m insured with Sonnet Shift (they track your driving with their App).
They are advertising if you’re driving safely they will give you a discount on your Premium.
I’m a 50 years old man, I just use my vehicle to commute 16 km each way a day.
I drive no more than 10.000 km a year.
As soon as I started being tracked by the Sonnet App I completely changed the way I was driving to see if it was possible to get the maximum discount (they say max can be -35%).
In the my first 3 month I got an Overall Driving Score from the App of 83 on 100.
This means I will receive a discount on my Premium from the next 3 months of -19%.
It’s impossible to get a better score than this one.
To calculate your Overall Score they use these data:
1. Smooth Driving
2. Mobile Use
3. Speed
4. Fatigue
5. Time of the Day
6. Road Risk
Their algorithm is made in a way that doesn’t allow you to get better scores.
Smooth Driving - The only time I got a score over 80 on 100 was always related to small trips with heavy traffic bumper to bumper, the normal score was always around 70 to 75 on 100 when I was just commuting driving like a turtle always on the right lane only touching 50km/h or 60 km/h where it was possible and never going above the limit or your Speed Score will go down fast.
If you accelerate or break in a manner that from the App is deemed unsafe your Smooth Driving Score will go down fast, it doesn’t matter if you’re driving for 100 km one bad break and the score goes down.
Mobile Use is just a joke, I received on my phone a phone call and I didn’t reply, I got a low score even if I didn’t touch the phone and the App was reporting zero minutes conversation.
Another time I was using my car Bluetooth and I called my wife because I was in heavy traffic, the App didn’t care I was using a hand free device and thanks a super low rating on my mobile use, my Overall Score for the trip was something around 50 on 100.
My wife was listening music from Spotify through the car Bluetooth and she got a low score in Mobile Use even if she wasn’t even touching the phone at all.
Fatigue, Time of the Day and Road Risk are just based on statistics, there isn’t any way you can improve those scores.
Overall I do not recommend Sonnet Shift at all, It was appealing at the beginning but after the first 3 month I realized they don’t want you to get the famous -35% on your Premium and if you want to get at least -19% on your Premium like me you have to drive like you are more than 100 years old.
I hope this can help someone else to don’t get caught in their scams.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo
Review topics

If you have a good driving record in AB, you should pay around $110/month (women - $105/month and men - $113/month). Do you overpay? Get an Alberta car insurance quote to start saving.

Sonnet insurance customer services

by Hanaa on Feb 8, 2024
1 out of 5 stars

The specialist will put you on hold just after greeting you for a long time. He keep on repeating himself without understanding the whole issue. We end up cancelling in advance. I have never make any claim and the renewal was double. Please try to see with other provider.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo

Horrendous experience

by Samuel on Jan 28, 2024
1 out of 5 stars

I made a claim for my car a while ago and customer service would always give vague answers on the progress of the claim, or they just don't give you an answer. There must be a reason why getting a policy from them was so easy; it's because they will absolutely make you pay for that later on when you have to make a claim. They will make sure to make the experience as slow and frustrating as possible.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo

Tried to say you don't pay a month in advance.

by Simon Steckley on Jan 18, 2024
1 out of 5 stars

My policy was up for renewal and I decided to not continue with insurance after they tried to increase my car and home insurance by 20 percent each with no claims or incidents effecting my premium. Cancelled the renewal and looking online there was no payments left on the policy. Then with 4 days left in the term they decided to take one last full payment, even though I wasn't continuing with them.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo
Bad driving record? Your insurance rates can be double the standard insurance rate. Let us help you get the better auto insurance rate without breaking the bank.

Worst company ever

by Dino on Jan 12, 2024
1 out of 5 stars

My policy was up for renewal October 22. I received an email stating rate increase in September prior. I called sonnet on September 26th advising that I wouldn’t be renewing as increase in my policy had me shopping around. I received a better rate and insured my truck with a different company. My daughter’s car I reinsured with sonnet as it came in reasonable alone. On October 23, sonnet charged my credit card for the new policy I instructed not to initiate the month prior. When I called to rectify the situation, they recorded as if I canceled my policy on that day which was fraudulent as I instructed not to renew. Of the 715 dollars they took without permission, they refunded me 28. I was supposed to eat 687$ for one day of insurance when my vehicles were both insured elsewhere. I contacted the Better Business Bureau and reported my issue. Days later sonnet got in contact with me to resolve. I sent proof of insurance for my truck with slips for October 23 start date as well as their records of me paying first and last on my daughter’s car through them. Nothing refunded. Forcing me to dispute charges with my credit card provider. They refunded the illegitimate transaction after investigation within five days. Then I received an email from sonnet that they would be attempting to withdraw forcing me to cancel my credit card.
For sure I would say stay away.
To further my frustration. Sonnet reached out to rectify the situation requesting I contact them. Sonnet has not taken my calls and sent my fraudulent account to collections.
Recently emailed me with account renewal with chance to settle at the same time collection agency is trying to collect the old account. When I expressed concern about collection, they stopped taking my calls.
Worst customer relations ever.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo