Credit Card Reviews

RBC VISA Infinite Avion Consumer Reviews

This page has been viewed by: Please wait... consumers
(44 reviews)
RBC VISA Infinite Avion
2.1 out of 5 stars:
Customer service:
Value for Money:
Product Features experience:
Share your own experience
Write a review

Horrific customer service.

by Gary on May 16, 2022
1 out of 5 stars

I switched to the RBC card because it had more flexibility in airlines and "no blackout dates" than my previous one.
However, as others pointed out, the RBC Rewards website is impossible to use to update travel. The chatbots are useless and once you try to do something with them, you get locked out. The "customer service" is non-existent. I never spent less than an hour on the phone with someone trying to make changes or get resolutions. They also seem to outsource a lot of the work offshore. I had agents whom I could not understand and they were basically useless in terms of help.
The final straw to dropping them was when I had a change a flight that had been changed twice before due to COVID. The original ticket cost me points and money, then I had to pay again to switch dates and again one last time. The last time was super weird and the agent had to calculate everything by hand. After everything was done, I had to pay an extra $43. I did, but somehow the charge (on my RBC card!) was denied by the bank. The ticket with Air Canada was in limbo. No one could change or fix it - but I didn't "actually" have a ticket. I easily spent 7 hours on the phone with various people at RBC, RBC Rewards and American Express travel (who seem to be operating the travel component behind the scenes). I even physically went to the airport to try and resolve the issue (which, according to the Air Canada website, I had to do) - but still, nothing worked. I was promised callbacks from RBC Rewards managers - but they literally never called back! It was insane! Worst. Customer. Service. Ever.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo

Not Worth It. Horrible Travel Insurance Service With Allianz. Be careful

by Nirav on May 13, 2022
1 out of 5 stars

I am using an RBC Avion card and I have bought full airline tickets with that card so my travel insurance is covered by Allianz insurance company. However, my travel was interrupted and cancelled my return tickets by the airline because of that, I suffered a 1-month salary loss and another financial burden on me because the airline gave me another flight after one month. And then I file a claim for my trip interrupted with Allianz company. They reject me on the ground that I knew that my travel can be interrupted before I booked my flight tickets, I was shocked at how come anyone knew that their flight will be cancelled. They are fake and do not buy any insurance with this company they never pass your claim despite you submitting your all documents. I have already re-appeal my claim and it won't be resolved I will also go to general insurance to make a complaint regarding this totally unprofessional rejection claim. The most frustrating situation is They put me on hold for 1 and half hours yet no one gives any response. They are like put you on hold for long hours so you can never call them back again. This practice should ban from Canada. Everyone can complain to the general insurance company so they can improve their customer service.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo

Poor representatives attitudes, very long wait times

by Gotta on May 11, 2022
1.5 out of 5 stars

The wait times are ridiculously long, customer rep attitudes are not great. Combine the two and it’s a poor experience. RBC, your ratings are consistently low and saying the same things.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo

Scotiabank® Gold American Express® Card

Scotiabank® Gold American Express® Card

Earn up to 40,000 bonus Scotia Rewards points in your first year (that's up to $400 towards travel). What else will you get:

 

  • Earn 5 Scotia Rewards points for every $1 you spend at eligible grocery stores, dining and entertainment
  • Earn 3 Scotia Rewards points for every $1 you spend at eligible gas stations, daily transit, and select streaming services
  • Earn 1 point for every $1 you spend on all other eligible everyday purchases
  • Complimentary Concierge Services 24/7
  • Comprehensive Travel Insurance coverage with 25 days of travel medical insurance for eligible persons under age 65

Get this card / Apply online

Customer Service are not knowledgeable

by Sueteves on Apr 8, 2022
1.5 out of 5 stars

I had no problem booking with Avion RBC rewards Visa but when there is a problem the customer service cannot resolve it… I had to be put on hold for almost 2 hours trying to find a solution. After holding for almost 2 hours nothing was resolved. I spoke to Karinee prior to my call to the customer service and she said that because PAL changed their route that my connecting domestic flight can be changed. When I called back I got another customer service gentleman who was not able to resolve the issue despite asking for a solution from his supervisor… What kind of supervisor does RBC reward travel have? As a supervisor, you should be able to find a solution especially when it is the airline that changed their flights. I had a sleepless night worrying about my flight. Today April 8 after waiting for an hour for someone to answer the call, I spoke to Mario from Toronto… was I ever so happy to find someone knowledgeable and helpful… you should make an example of his knowledge and he should train that supervisor… He made me feel relieved and will finalize my trip, especially since PAL downgraded me to the economy with my flight to Manila Toronto… Thank you, Mario!

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo

Merchandise claim issue

by Poochie on Apr 1, 2022
1 out of 5 stars

After waiting 25 minutes (I now think I was very fortunate only 20 minutes) I finally spoke to someone. I wanted to claim a reward using my points. I didn't have enough points and was going to pay the balance with my credit card. Well, there was no option on that site to do that. The RBC person also couldn't figure out what the issue was. After another 15 minutes on hold, she said all I can do is have someone call me back. When asked when can I expect a call... She said within 10 days. What a joke? Not my first issue with Avion. This is my SECOND only ever dealing with the points rewards program and let me tell you this situation was a very minor one compared to the one years ago. But that's a whole different matter with not enough time to explain it here.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo
Review topics

Nobody to answer your call

by Carole Deburggraeve on Feb 25, 2022
1 out of 5 stars

I obtained the card exclusively to be provided with travel health insurance. When I attempted to contact RBC to answer a few general questions, I was put on hold for over an hour. Exasperated, I finally gave up. I could not stand to hear “Your call is important to us” One more time!
RBC clearly only wants customers to go online. They do not wish to interact with clients directly. But not all my questions could be answered online. I will be cancelling this card when we return from our scheduled trip in April. Surely there are other products?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo
Review topics

Scotiabank® Gold American Express® Card

Scotiabank® Gold American Express® Card

Earn up to 40,000 bonus Scotia Rewards points in your first year (that's up to $400 towards travel). Earn 5 Scotia Rewards points for every $1 you spend at eligible grocery stores, dining and entertainment 

Get this card / Apply online

Avoid RBC Avion card at all costs

by Bruce on Jan 2, 2022
1 out of 5 stars

The biggest perk of the RBC Avion card is the travel 'perks'. However, if you need to interact with their team, you will be bitterly disappointed. Their online travel booking system is pre-historic and you are forced to call their "toll-free" number, which isn't toll-free if you are actually travelling. After spending hours on the phone with the high probability you will be disconnected, you will then get to talk to an agent who can't do anything other than what is on their screen. If the computer says no, then you will be stuck with having to change your plans to suit the RBC travel booking system. You have been warned!

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo
Review topics

RBC Visa customer service

by Bean on Dec 17, 2021
1 out of 5 stars

I have been dealing with fraud on my card for almost a year now. I have had multiple transactions (all the same) made on my card and I have called in multiple times to dispute the charges made... But every time they wouldn't have a clue what I was talking about! I decided I was sick of it and cancelled and closed my card back in the summer. It is December now and my card was not closed like they said they were going to do and those same transactions that keep showing up on my card (a card I do not have because I closed it) are on my card again! Customer Service keeps juggling me around and no one still has a damn clue what I am talking about. I have been on the phone put on hold multiple times for over an hour and am still holding!!

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo

THE WORSE CUSTOMER SERVICE.

by M.M on Nov 30, 2021
1 out of 5 stars

After putting me on hold for 6 hours my call was disconnected! They never called me back even they said they do. I called again and waited for another two hours until they hung up on me. I called again and again and they did the same. I believe they just don't like to bother. They are not here to help but just get your money.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo
Review topics

Scotia Momentum VISA Infinite Card

Scotia Momentum VISA Infinite Card

Earn 10% cash back on all purchases for the first 3 months (up to $2,000 in total purchases). Plus, no annual fee in the first year, including on supplementary cards. A welcome offer value of $350. What else will you get:

 

  • 4% on eligible recurring bill payments and grocery store purchases
  • 2% on eligible gas station and daily transit purchases
  • 1% cash back on all other eligible everyday purchases
  • Complimentary Concierge Services 24/7 Visa Infinite Dining Series Visa Infinite Music Series Wine Country Wonders Luxury Hotel Privileges
  • Comprehensive Travel Insurance & New Mobile Device Insurance coverage

Get this card / Apply online

One Star -Should be Zero.

by Acrimonious on Nov 9, 2021
1 out of 5 stars

RBC Travel has sucked the very life out of me. Book thousands of dollars of Flights to Hawaii. I was told I would receive a confirmation in my email within four hours. Could then pick my seats. We paid for Premium seats and their availability is limited. No email. Nothing all day. The following morning I get on the phone with an agent. (They are working from home by the way) Put on hold in the "Supervisor Queue". Remember, they are at home and there is no Supervisor there. So I have now been on hold for 2 hours. In the meantime, I have just noticed my Visa Card credited with the amount debited yesterday for the flights. What the hell is going on. I have made hotel reservations, car rentals and inter Island flight reservations. But it seems RBC hasn't even booked my Flights to get there yet. I am beyond acrimonious. RBC has been my bank for over 40 years. We are nothing to them. Insignificant annoyances. I'm done with them.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo
Review topics