Independent Life Insurance Reviews

La Capitale Life Insurance Reviews

(8 reviews)
This page has been viewed by:
8,442
consumers
(2.1 out of 5 stars)
Customer Service:
Value for Money:
 

Worst insurance ever

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Unsatisfiied customer Dec 30, 2019
Since I have turned 45, I have had nothing but issues with them wanting to cancel my insurance, ie misplacing my cheques at their office, to the point that I sent them by registered mail requiring a signature. They have actually cancelled my policy 2 times leaving me with not travel insurance while I was away, then reinstating it. They took approx. $10,000 in return of premium money from me and have now sent me a notice about cancelling my policy because the computer picked up my middle name on the policy and it doesn't match the payer name without my middle name... I called the customer service number listed on my statement but it is in French and was told to call a different number Monday if I want to speak to English representatives. Nothing but issues with this company!
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Not sure if you can qualify for life insurance with existing health pre-conditions? Let us to help you with a no medical life insurance quote , meaning that you do not need to pass a medical exam to qualify for a life insurance policy.
 

Disability claims

 
(5.0 out of 5 stars)
by Jack Nov 25, 2019
I have made three separate disability claims with La Capitale. Each claim was handled quickly with a minimum of paperwork. The payment was paid according to what my doctor said and I am very pleased with the service.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Avoid at all costs

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Disgusted May 30, 2019
Please be aware they will attempt to do whatever they can to get out of supporting you during your disability claim. They delay payments constantly even when doctors say you cannot safely work. Their case managers are there to serve the company and not the customers. Don’t expect to have phone calls answered. Leave an email or voicemail and you’d better be home to accept a phone call or expect to play phone tag. They try to make you feel guilty for needed help financially and have no concern for your wellbeing or the wellbeing of your family. Disgusting that they can’t be held accountable the same way they hold customers accountable.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Did you know that if you are a 30-year old male, a term life insurance policy for 20 years with coverage of $200,000 will cost you around $19/month? Getting your term life insurance quote today will allow you to benefit from a great rate.
 

Worst customer service

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Mart Mar 19, 2019
You can’t imagine how bad La Capitale’s customer service can be until you experience it. 45+ minutes waiting time whenever and whatever for you are calling. Sending an email is like sending something straight to a black hole. I never experienced the worst service from any business, all industries combined.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Mandatory health insurance

 
(1.5 out of 5 stars)
by nina Oct 05, 2018
Sending letters. They lost my file from 3 years ago. Did not send the info to the health ministry. Withdrawing $$$ from my paycheck though I proved them I am with RBC. Lack of professionalism. They occupied all education system in Quebec. You as an employee have no choice to choose other company. They are monopolist. And on the top of it, most of their products don't cover important health treatments. You have more losses than benefits having this company. Never have a problem with Desjardins or RBC.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Did you know that if you are a 35-year old female, a term life insurance policy for 10 years with coverage of $500,000 will cost you around $15-$20/month? Getting your life insurance quote today will allow you to lock-in a great rate.
 

Disability insurance

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Lacapi Aug 15, 2017
They give you the run around and find every excuse not to pay. Beware and pay attention to the other posts. Get ready to sell everything you have because they won't pay
2 of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

r Life insurance or Disability

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by louis Feb 15, 2017
They have no customer service and they do not pay out when it comes to disability. They find every excuse to prolong your payment and you could never speak to the person who handles your file, they claim you leave a message or send an email and someone within 24hours will call you back. (and you better be free when they do because they do not try again and you start the whole thing again.) They are great in giving you the run around and not paying out. Get ready to put everytring you own for sale because they will not pay out your claim when it comes to Life or Disabilty. I am telling you this because we are living this nightmare with them, So I hope we could save a few!!!
2 of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Planning to get life insurance to protect your family, including children? Make sure that you get enough coverage. According to studies, it takes about $250,000 in total to raise a child to the age of 18 (and that doesn’t include any post-secondary education costs).
 

Great Value!

 
(5.0 out of 5 stars)
by tarussell Jul 30, 2016
Great Insurance Company and has extra benefits included in their policy like Accelerated Death Benefit and Total Loss of Autonomy Benefit.
0 of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Want to save on life insurance?
20+ insurers compared
Get an free, instant quote
Best life insurance rates
La Capitale Life Insurance
8 reviews
5 Darkstar
(2)
4 Star off
(0)
3 Star off
(0)
2 Darkstar
(1)
1 Darkstar
(5)
Most helpfull reviews