Life Insurance Reviews

London Life Life Insurance Reviews

This page has been viewed by: Please wait... consumers
(35 reviews)
London Life
2.5 out of 5 stars:
Customer service:
Value for Money:
Share your own experience
Write a review

Dissatisfied with London Life

by Brian M on Nov 6, 2021
1 out of 5 stars

I have been paying into a life insurance policy for 54 years, now I get a notice I owe more money or my policy will cancel, just get a run around when I call no one gets back to me, have paid 30$ a month for 54 years now they say there is no money in the account, this month they stopped taking the 30$ dollars out of my bank and tell me I owe a lot more money to keep my insurance of 35000 seems like now at age 74 they want to dump me, does anyone know where I could go for help?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo

Unhelpful - Unsympathetic

by Cbeaner on Oct 21, 2021
1 out of 5 stars

Mom has dementia. I'm trying to sort this out. Life is already difficult enough. I have faxed the papers over and over again to add my name as POA to my mother's insurance. This has been ongoing for over four years now. Covid is not an excuse. Telling me that I need to ask my mom to read the agent's name on the bottom of the statement to me over the phone, as I live far away, does not work. Telling me to fax the paperwork, that I have already faxed and not heard back about, does not work. Very, very disappointing.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo

Such wastage

by chef on Feb 25, 2020
1 out of 5 stars

I am trying to call them for 3 days. I was on hold 30-42-46 min! I can't believe how they operate the company. My money is there its seems for them. I hope soon they close the company they don't deserve to run!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo
Did you know that if you are a 30-year old male, a term life insurance policy for 20 years with coverage of $200,000 will cost you around $19/month? Getting your term life insurance quote today will allow you to benefit from a great rate.

Poor Customer service

by Cknights on Oct 23, 2019
1 out of 5 stars

I have been a policy owner for over 30 years. I have contacted them numerous times as there is no head office in Sarnia. I have asked for a regional manager to get a hold of me and nothing is ever done. I want an advisor because there is apparently not one connected to my account as they took it off. I keep getting the same answer we will have somebody call you and months and months later nobody has called me nor do they let you speak to anybody when you call London. It’s nice to know after dealing with a company for over 30 years that you were treated this way. But at this point in my life cancelling the policy is not the answer however I will never recommend them again

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo

AVOID this comp Read impt info

by Federal employee on Sep 6, 2018
1 out of 5 stars

This company is incredibly difficult to get information out of regarding your policy. You will play the phone pass game over and over, with no one claiming to be able to get the most BASIC information to you. They are not able to readily tell you the most basic information about your policy and will make you wait as long as 2 weeks before they can get basic info to you. E.g. "what is the overall total amount I have paid into this life insurance plan?" This company has purposely kept my elderly parents in the complete dark about their policy. We went to see an advisor (Freedom 55 representative) who also admitted he was completely without information from London Life as they refuse to pass information on and make very purposeful obstacles so that people don't see what a shaft they are getting from the company. It's a corporate marketing ploy. Elderly people just give up and won't fight it, or fight to remove the obstacles for information. The letterhead my parents have received for 25 years looks like it is typed on an old-school key typewriter, and there are no phone numbers or websites on the page. I can't believe it. AVOID AVOID

1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo

BEWARE!!!

by Carol on Jul 20, 2018
1 out of 5 stars

After 30 years, discovered, due to ' inside rules', I OWE money on policy. NO CASH VALUE although bought WHOLE LIFE. Practices bordering on FRAUDULENT. Be careful, VERY CAREFUL. Keep money in your pocket.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo
Planning to get life insurance to protect your family, including children? Make sure that you get enough coverage. According to studies, it takes about $250,000 in total to raise a child to the age of 18 (and that doesn’t include any post-secondary education costs).

Terrible

by irene224 on Nov 8, 2017
1 out of 5 stars

I joined London Life back in 1999. A gentleman which is one of their agents hassled my husband at work almost every day to join London Life. He made phone calls to our house phone, left messages and came to our house twice a week. I was basically forced to buy these life insurance policies. Ever since then I pay $110 every month towards a very small amount of policy. When we spoke, we talked about one policy than when he actually mailed the paperwork, there was another policy, so I have two and not sure which one I am paying for. He sold a policy to my husband that we didn't understand anything on what we were getting into, we thought we signed up for a term policy which is what he said, now he states that my husband has to pay until the day he dies, doesn't matter what age. Not only do their agents lie, but they also hassle you and every time we get in contact with him, he yells at us or doesn't return our calls. The customer service is terrible, every time I call they all tell me a different story. I got a loan in 2007 and from 2007 to now, they charged me double interest on the money I owed. I borrowed $7000, and now I have to pay $13,000. In 2014, I gave them $3000 payment and NOBODY knows where it is. They do not keep records of payments and if I want records or have them look into the issue, I have to pay extra. So anyone considering this insurance company, please run as fast as you can and avoid it completely. It's a scam!

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo

Mutual funds

by gaspar on Nov 3, 2017
1 out of 5 stars

I purchased the segregated funds. London life allows you to borrow
100 000 to invest.
My major position was the canadian resources fund
which I bought at around $55
later on in the year that , I discovered that they had a
significant position of the stock: Sino forest...a chinese company ... which had fraudulently over stated their assets...charges were laid and I lost around 20% of the fund of Canadian Resources Fund because of a Chinese Company,
but that is just the beginning. The guarantee of the fund was told to me in wriiting that would guarantee the fund at maturity. I was told at 55 these guarantees will kick in (freedom 55 right) nope only if i die or at 105.!!
In other words the guarantee is worthless (this was a big selling point for me)
I submitted the document from the salesman that I received and they said he has since been fired, and the policy is stated on website.

anyway I can go on and on but after ten years in London life with their high MER and poor performance I am out 20K...
Do not buy into this company funds ...unless a tin cup on the corner is in your retirement future...
just look at performance of any fund and factor in the MER and look at what you will have made...more often than not 0
I am good at losing my own money I don t need self titled professionals to do it for me!!
if you call to ask them why a fund is not performing better (this year for example the TSE has gained over 20%)
they tell you that 'oh well these are long term investments , they do not directly reflect stock movements..
if the stock goes down in bad times , they say 'oh well the market if performing poorly...not a good time...but it will come around..
In any event freedom 55 is a admirable goal just don t expect to have it with London Life.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo

Never Returns Phone Calls

by Northerner on Apr 18, 2017
1.5 out of 5 stars

I got two letters from London Life, one saying there was $800 sitting in my account, the other saying I had to pay sixty dollars a month because there was no money in my account. It has been more than a week of phone calls and I still have not has an answer.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo
Review topics
Did you know that one in three Canadians, on average, will be disabled for more than three months before they turn 65? Get a disability insurance quote today to make sure your income is secure, even when you are temporary disabled.

Unethical business practices

by DJI on Feb 20, 2017
1 out of 5 stars

Absolutely astonishing this company is allowed a license to practice insurance. Anyone considering LL should look up the class action law suits against this company, and the reviews on here and understand that while you may have a friendly agent behind a desk selling you a policy - when it comes time to collect on a policy, you will find out that behind the scenes the company has no electronic records, horrific customer service and they will use unethical business practices to defraud you of your entitlements. My father had a policy there since the seventies. On his death we have been shocked at what they have done to his premiums and how they managed to sell loans and convince him it was managed through his policy but in the end charging him 300% interest on a loan over time. There is no paperwork or payment or premium schedules to back up anything and customer service refuse to provide information. They have treated us with callous indifference and rudeness as we inquire for further information. They have even told us we need to pay them more money to get information on his case. It's just been sickening. Avoid this company!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo