Independent Life Insurance Reviews

Primerica Life Insurance Company Life Insurance Reviews

(21 reviews)
This page has been viewed by:
78,528
consumers
(2.5 out of 5 stars)
Customer Service:
Value for Money:
 

Horrible

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by HVitela Oct 18, 2019
When I first signed up with Primerica, they told me my policy was for 30 years. A 30-year term life insurance policy is also the contract I signed. However, 20 years later, they are telling me that my term life insurance policy has ended. The copy I was given says 30 years, yet they are telling me someone in the office entered the policy as 20 years, and even though I have proof as to how long the policy should be, they are unwilling to honor their original word. So now, 20 years later, instead of 30 years, I am without a term life insurance policy. And if I wish to renew it then my rates are increasing by almost 50%! This is absurd and ridiculous. This is how Primerica treats their clients. This is the kind of service that others can expect to receive.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Did you know that one in three Canadians, on average, will be disabled for more than three months before they turn 65? Get a disability insurance quote today to make sure your income is secure, even when you are temporary disabled.
 

Great & Effective

 
(5.0 out of 5 stars)
by Nic R Oct 11, 2019
I was able to compare prices with 5 different companies and this was better. The real value was their comprehensive, and complementary plan to help me figure out a lot of things in a financial needs analysis, that I have not been explained - in simple terms - before by many banks and institutions.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Extremely satisfied customers!

 
(5.0 out of 5 stars)
by Happyandfree Aug 20, 2019
We have had Primerica life insurance for over 25 years. We just renewed at very reasonable rates for our ages. Our Primerica representative helped us to find more saving as I guess rates have gone down recently with new product lines. We had a free Increasing Benefit Rider that gave us a 50% increase in the face amount without having to prove that we were still healthy. We also have a free Terminal Illness Benefit rider that pays 40% of the death benefit in advance if either of us comes down with anything nasty health-wise...to cover better treatment or living expenses in case you couldn’t work for months before death. It’s the greatest, and any time that I have gotten a quote somewhere else, the other company couldn't give the same benefits or if they could, it was way more costly for a similar term length! We were also educated by Primerica that with term insurance you need to be saving money for the future because after your kids are moved out and your mortgage is paid, you need cash to live on during retirement. Why would we need any insurance then? We will be self-insured with a pile of money, no mortgage and no more kids to raise. We love good financial planning!
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Not sure if you can qualify for life insurance with existing health pre-conditions? Let us to help you with a no medical life insurance quote , meaning that you do not need to pass a medical exam to qualify for a life insurance policy.
 

They saved me from loosing 6k$

 
(5.0 out of 5 stars)
by Frank May 01, 2019
I had SunLife insurance for 35 years with 6000$ in cash value accumulated, the Primerica agent told me I was about to lose all my savings (6k$) and go from 42$ to more than 200$ per month. I called SunLife to find out it was all true! So, I switched to Primerica and I saved a lot!
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Raised my premium 400 percent

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Egunder Sep 26, 2018
Faithfully paid my premium for over 30 years. Then they have the gall to raise my rates 400 percent. Not good business practice. Thanks for nothing. Would be nice to get some money back other than an overpayment of $41.33. That's a joke. Don't waste your time with this company.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thinking of getting a life insurance quote from an insurance agent? They work for one insurance company and can only sell the products of that company. That may not result in the best rate for you. Our insurance brokers compare life insurance quotes across 20+ Canadian insurers for you.
 

Run away as fast as you can.

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Elizabeth Sep 18, 2018
If I could give this company negative stars, I would. Too bad it's not an option. It's a sham, sham, sham. Since the late 1980's, my husband and I have faithfully paid our premium. In 2008, when my husband turned 56, understandably, there was a premium increase, but not horrible. It was modest and very manageable. We anticipated another premium increase in 10 years, but ... now that he has turned the RIPE OLD AGE OF 66, the premium QUINTUPLED. Yes, you read that right. Our premium is now FIVE TIMES MORE than it was. And, this company couldn't give a rat's a** about how we feel. Their nonchalance is astounding. So, for over 20 years we have paid our premiums and never ONCE did they have to chase after a payment. It was never late and we thought we had confidence that this was a company we could be with for yet another 10 years. Now, this has absolutely NOTHING to do with our health. Both of us are very healthy, as a matter of fact, my husband still works FULL TIME! We have set his retirement date for May 1 of 2019. But, maybe he'll keep working, too. I would never, ever recommend this horrible company to ANYONE. Run as fast as you can from ANYONE who mentions the name "Primerica". It's a horrible, horrible company and I feel for all of you who have left honest reviews about how you were deceived. Also, make sure when you cancel to also let your bank know not to let them take one more cent from you. Make sure you stop auto-debit so Primerica can't steal one more payment from you.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

I do not recommend to others

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by temno Jun 21, 2018
I applied for term life insurance. For some reason, I was declined. They supposed to send me a written letter and a refund of my money but they never did it. I called them many times to ask them why they still keep saying that they will resend it to me. They verified my address but I never received it. I waited 3 months already. I asked them if they can email the letter which explains about their declining my application and they are issuing my refund but they said they can't do it. It is really frustrating to get your money back after they charge you. I am also considering my husband's insurance with them because I can't trust the company anymore.
1 of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Did you know there is a 35% chance of developing a critical illness before you are 65 and 65%-70% chance before you turn 81? That means getting a critical illness insurance quote is no less important than getting life insurance. Your choice.
 

Homemakers need NOT apply!

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by HEIDI P Jun 12, 2018
Discriminates against Homemakers! Apparently, Homemakers are not worthy of life insurance according to Primerica. No income - no insurance.
1 of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Horrible!!

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Jay May 02, 2018
If I could give Primerica zero stars, I would. When I called customer service to cancel my membership, a guy told me he cancelled it. After a couple of months, I noticed that Primerica was still charging my bank account. I called again and a woman hung up on me after I told her I’d like to cancel my membership. I called again and I was transferred to someone else, then put on hold multiple times. Finally, I spoke to a woman who has said she cancelled my membership. I cannot get a refund for a service I was not using nor can they tell me why another man told me he cancelled my membership when he really didn’t. This is all a scam to get your money. They’re sneaky enough to make you feel comfortable enough to believe them. Their agents are horrible.
1 of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Did you know that mortgage insurance is the same as life insurance but more expensive and offers less protection? By cancelling it and getting life insurance , you would typically save around 30%-40% for the same coverage.
 

Bad practices

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Theeriksen Jul 18, 2017
A representative of this company has been forcing my parents to make me get an insurance and is doing it without my discretion. Would rate 0/5. I am of legal age and she should respect her client's request not to keep on bugging him.
1 of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Not Reliable

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Frustrated Apr 28, 2017
Frustrated My name is Joeann Green cancelled policy 3 months still waiting on refund check
1 of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Planning to get life insurance to protect your family, including children? Make sure that you get enough coverage. According to studies, it takes about $250,000 in total to raise a child to the age of 18 (and that doesn’t include any post-secondary education costs).
 

Son with Down Syndrome

 
(5.0 out of 5 stars)
by Barbaraathome Jan 30, 2017
We were able to get a good policy for my son at reasonable rates but what I liked best was the free Critical sickness of 40% in case he was to get sick. We can use that money to get him alternative treatment if it is available or to be able to do the things that we can't afford to do in his last days. Thank you, Primerica for that peace of mind.
4 of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

4 reasons not Primerica

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Reasons May 12, 2016
(1) Primerica employs a one size fits all philosophy. Term insurance may often be the best solution but what if insurance is needed a lifetime? Examples: disabled child, to offset taxes, funeral expenses for life. (2) Primerica is more expensive than the traditional life insurers such as Sun Life Financial. (3) Primerica's term policies are never convertible to permanent insurance, whereas traditional insurers allow this. (4) Primerica is the only company that allows advisors to work part-time.
1 of 8 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Did you know that if you are a 35-year old female, a term life insurance policy for 10 years with coverage of $500,000 will cost you around $15-$20/month? Getting your life insurance quote today will allow you to lock-in a great rate.
 

Over-priced products

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by toolbelt Apr 02, 2016
I compared pricing online and Primerica was charging my wife and I 63% more than equally rated insurers. Won't deal with them ever again.
1 of 8 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Only one kind of insurance

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by No choice Nov 16, 2015
Primerica only sells term life insurance. What if I want permanent insurance - where the insurance never expires and the premium never increases? I want a choice! Therefore I will buy insurance through a "real" life insurance company.
2 of 8 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Did you know that if you are a 30-year old male, a term life insurance policy for 20 years with coverage of $200,000 will cost you around $19/month? Getting your term life insurance quote today will allow you to benefit from a great rate.
 

Unprofessional agents

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Cindy Oct 29, 2015
I have dealt with two different Primerica agents on two different occasions and both were unethical and unprofessional. Neither one of them is educated or works full time for Primerica. Why would I buy my life insurance from someone who doesn't know much about insurance and only works in insurance a couple of hours a week because they have a full time job elsewhere?
1 of 10 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Educational Approach - Great

 
(5.0 out of 5 stars)
by Happy&Informed Aug 12, 2014
I've been a client of Primerica for years, no fancy confusing presentation , no push salesperson - education on all my options even the ones they don't offer (and why) just the fact based on numbers. Just what I wanted to make an informed decision. I gladly tell everyone to enlist Primerica to help you
10 of 12 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Did you know that one in three Canadians, on average, will be disabled for more than three months before they turn 65? Get a disability insurance quote today to make sure your income is secure, even when you are temporary disabled.
 

ge

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by G Jul 09, 2013
I bought this when i was young, now when gor for a renewal they are asking about a whole month income. frustrated with the way they dealing the customer.
1 of 9 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

N/A

 
(5.0 out of 5 stars)
by apostolos Jun 23, 2012
To get this insurance was easy to do and the price was the best.
11 of 12 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Planning to get life insurance to protect your family, including children? Make sure that you get enough coverage. According to studies, it takes about $250,000 in total to raise a child to the age of 18 (and that doesn’t include any post-secondary education costs).
 

reasonable rates

 
(5.0 out of 5 stars)
by mattk May 30, 2012
Good insurance company to be with and reasonable rates
11 of 12 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

N/A

 
(4.0 out of 5 stars)
by gregg Apr 19, 2012
I have great respect for the fact that they do not try to scam you with phoney life insurance "products" (eg: "whole" life) but focus and encourage simply protection, ie: term life. I have been able to get a substantial amount of protection for my wife and myself at relatively low cost because of this as opposed to a "whole" life policy that I used to have several years ago.
13 of 14 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Not sure if you can qualify for life insurance with existing health pre-conditions? Let us to help you with a no medical life insurance quote , meaning that you do not need to pass a medical exam to qualify for a life insurance policy.