Group Benefits Reviews

Great-West Life Group Benefits Insurance Reviews

This page has been viewed by: Please wait... consumers
(52 reviews)
Great-West Life
1.2 out of 5 stars:
Customer service:
Value for Money:
Share your own experience
Write a review

Refusing to call us back

by Robin bevans on Apr 29, 2021
1 out of 5 stars

They approved benefits for my 5-year-old son that was diagnosed with type 1. And we just had to pay upfront $4000 they would refund us the 85% after we submitted the receipts. That’s what we did and now they won’t return any calls it’s been almost 2 years of leaving messages weekly with no response. I would hope that any company that is thinking of going with Great-West Life would reconsider doing so...

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo

Unethical Scammers

by Suhas P on Apr 10, 2020
1 out of 5 stars

I had a group plan via my employer with Great-West Life. I was diagnosed with Diabetes, Hypertension and was advised by the doctor that I was at High-risk to suffer a Stroke. But these scammers did not approve my claim even for one day to be off work and their excuse was, “many people suffer from it and they did not see a reason why I should be off work”. I had to quit my job to take care of my health. But the funny part is, I reluctantly applied for EI Sickness Benefits and was approved by them after showing the same Medical Certificate and Notes that I had provided to GWL. This clearly proves them to be unethical scammers and hope they get treated the same and worse thousand times over!

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo

A running joke

by Angryaboutgreatwestlife on Mar 4, 2020
1 out of 5 stars

My company uses them for our disability. I sent my forms in the day after my surgery. I have chased around and called multiple times and I'm not getting anywhere. They claim that they are waiting for information from an employer's side. And they have left messages. They won't return my calls and sound aggravated when you call to follow up and see if there is any new information... It is going to be 30 days since I filed in 5 more days... Luckily we are financially stable... I am horribly dissatisfied.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo

Incompetence everywhere

by iBarJar on Dec 18, 2019
1 out of 5 stars

This company only wants the premium. They do not want to do any service. They try their very best to frustrate customers. Calls take > 30 minutes to connect anyone. Emails take 4 days or more.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo

They are a Scam

by Tams on Dec 10, 2019
1 out of 5 stars

I've been insured with them through my work and have been paying into them for almost 2 years with no claims. I finally made a claim for orthopedic shoes and it has been a month since I sent them what they asked for - doctor's prescription and podiatrist's. They rejected my claim BY SENDING A LETTER THROUGH SNAIL MAIL!!! I can't even touch how bad an idea that is because it's slow and dated... ESPECIALLY WHEN THEY CAN CALL/EMAIL OR UPDATE MY FILE! I called to find out why, and I've had to wait on the phone for half an hour before a representative picks up and tells me the same things. They refuse to pay for my shoes because according to their system my condition requires orthotics, not ortho shoes. I asked them to cover my orthotic insoles and they said my plan doesn't cover those, only ortho shoes, but they won't pay for my shoes because my condition requires the insoles... I explained that my doctor told me to get both of them for my condition, but they are saying their system says otherwise and they don't cover insoles. Fast forward to a month and I've spoken to the supervisor twice and have only received the same runaround. This is literally the worst runaround in the history of runaround. It goes likes this: "Your doctor says you need these things but our system says you need only the insoles. We do not cover insoles for you but we do cover shoes for you. We can't give you shoes because according to our system you need insoles. We don't cover insoles for you." It is ridiculous! This is what I've had to hear for a month AFTER waiting on the phone for upwards of 20 minutes and up to a half-hour. Please! For the sake of your sanity, and your money, if your employer offers benefits through this company, don't waste your money because you can easily pay for your stuff without going through them if you choose to opt-out.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo

Worst Response Time

by RL on Nov 14, 2019
1 out of 5 stars

I sent them an email asking about one of my claims.

They responded back 20 days later with little to no information.

They do not care about their clients. Thankfully our workplace has switched to another provider.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo

Don’t ever use this company

by Overwhelmed on Nov 5, 2019
1 out of 5 stars

I feel like they scam people I’ve paid into this company for years through my work. I never had to use them until just recently. I had to have surgery and was going to be off work for 1 month to 6 weeks. All the papers were filled out by both myself and the surgeon. It has been a month and I have not seen any money from them... In fact, they are asking for all the forms to be filled out again by me and my surgeon. My surgeon has faxed them three times now..now no one is responding to my calls and messages that I have left. I had to pay my bills and rent with my credit card. I’m running out of money and I feel helpless. I’m not sure what to do anymore. This company needs to be Investigated.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo

Great Service from GWL

by tanya on Oct 27, 2019
5 out of 5 stars

I'm sorry to hear you are all having difficulties with this company. This company has been extremely supportive and the process has not been difficult at all. I thought leaving a comment on my positive experience would be beneficial so that people know they don't always provide bad service!

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo
Review topics

Terrible

by fafonso on Aug 27, 2019
1 out of 5 stars

They take months to approve something that you are entitled to receive. You have to be persistent otherwise they won't pay anything. My husband works with another insurance company and comparing with this one is away better, they are faster and they don't play games like great west. Really bad company!

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo

NIGHTMARE

by basarabas on Aug 21, 2019
1 out of 5 stars

I have been working with Great-West for my insurance coverage for nine years, alongside them is another insurance company for my husband. There is absolutely no comparison. Great-West should be embarrassed and disgusted by their “service” to clients. They have always been very slow to process claims and question everything on top of their slowness, however, in the last three months, they have become even worse with me. They have a claim that they have not processed since June 8! They have emailed me four times about it, asking for different information, as well as called the service provider about it July 30th and questioned them. What’s more, is that it doesn’t even show up on their online system as being received and under review! So I called last week and inquired about that claim and she said she could see it and everything looks fine so it should be processed in a few days. I said fine and I still want to speak to a manager. Still, no claim has been processed and no one has called me back! I have many other problems with this company but the list is too long to type here so I just put my recent problem. I caution any employer or individual thinking of going with this provider, you’ll regret it! I have talked to several other people at my work place and they have said the same thing - NIGHTMARE! Unless you want to be on a constant audit DO NOT go with this company! I wouldn’t give this company even one star if it were not mandatory for posting!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo