Group Benefits Reviews

Industrial Alliance Group Benefits Insurance Reviews

This page has been viewed by: Please wait... consumers
(10 reviews)
Industrial Alliance
1 out of 5 stars:
Customer service:
Value for Money:
Share your own experience
Write a review

STAY AWAY!

by Angry customer on Mar 24, 2021
1 out of 5 stars

If I could give them a zero I would. We had group benefits and every single claim I made was denied. They asked for receipts, so I provided receipts. Then they denied them again asking for proof of payment. That was submitted. We are at the end of March and I am still fighting with them over health claims that have not been paid out for 2020. They literally made a mess of everything. Not to mention we had a health care spending account as well and nothing was paid out... because they are claiming it didn’t carry over until 2021. All claims were made in 2020 when the HSA was active.... it’s not my problem that you didn’t process a single claim before the end of the year! Never in a million years would I recommend this company. Stay away

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo

Awful

by unimpressed on Mar 11, 2021
1 out of 5 stars

Submitted a claim. Followed up several times and had multiple people promise to call me back with updates. Never received a call. After 6 weeks got an email that my claim was denied and not covered. What a waste of time calling and trying to get my claim paid. Awful customer service and coverage honestly.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo

Making Claims

by Christina. A on Jun 26, 2019
1 out of 5 stars

I guess you get what you pay for ... The company I work switched about a year ago to save money, Al is the absolute worst. I pretty much have to call in after I make a claim to follow up. The website doesn't allow you to submit drug claims, I had to go through the message portal. 3 claims in, over 1k out of pocket and no response after 8 days I called - they still hadn't reviewed my claims nor was it in the system. Customer service responded with I should see payment within 5 business days .. SHOULD ... that is something as a paying customer I don't want to hear, I want certainty. Al, if you read these boards I suggest that you make your website more user friendly, listen to your customers, in the portal show claim process and have claims entered in a timely manner - Customers shouldn't have to waste their time following up, being put on hold and be out of pocket for long periods of time because Al is incompetent at doing their job.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo

Short Term Disability

by Not Happy on Apr 6, 2019
1 out of 5 stars

My employer uses Industrial Alliance, not a problem at first, Dental work carried out, receiving payments back straight away without delay. But in December I was at work and thought I was having a heart attack, I am pretty healthy overall so experiencing something like this scared the hell out of me. After a 6hr hospital visit, I was given the all clear, following day at work, same symptoms, shortness of breath, light-headed, and again couldn't continue. So after a doctors visit and more tests, we still could not get to the bottom of it, so after being off work for two weeks, and then another my employer sent off all documentation to our insurance provider being Industrial Alliance to get the process moving while still determining what was causing the issues that I was experiencing. So after 3 months of being off work, with medical notes going back and forth, and results of tests carried out, they were still not forthcoming with any good news for me, like they always wanted more. So after 3 and a half months, and them knowing I had a scope coming up and awaiting further blood tests, they denied my claim, without the results of the scope and the further blood tests. I have been diagnosed with Hypothyroidism, which explained all of the symptoms I had been experiencing, Industrial Alliance refused my claim even before the results came back, This is totally wrong, and I hope anyone thinking about using their services should think again. Passing judgment without the facts, non-communications after waiting months, Paying into an insurance company that is not there for their clients especially after what I have gone through really shows what they are like. They are not doctors, and should not be allowed to deny anyone what is rightfully theirs. The end result, not worth appealing their decision as they said I have the right to do as it will only be another 3 to 4 months of waiting for their so-called outcome. I am feeling better and looking forward to returning to work on Monday, and I will be sure to spread the word around work about this company and my experience with them.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo

Worst insurance provider

by IA is horrible on Mar 30, 2019
1 out of 5 stars

I have Industrial Alliance through my job, so I have no choice. I sent in a claim in February and still have not received my money. Just a heads up that for travel insurance, it is processed through a completely different company which is not advertised anywhere, everything was a hassle. You have to mail all documents into this place with no confirmation of receipt. 3 weeks it apparently took to receive. They wrote me a letter (in French, I am English speaking) to advise I was missing items even though the person on the phone said everything looked fine. I’ve resent items which they asked for, which seemed unnecessary (just seems like they’re stalling). No info on when to expect this to be finished. You CANNOT get through to customer service on the phone. You will be on hold for hours. You write a message on the mail option and it takes Weeks for a response. Unacceptable. If you have a choice, don’t use them. I think my org. may change as well.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo

WORST experience ever!

by tozhan on Mar 15, 2019
1 out of 5 stars

I have a comprehensive benefit plan from my employer, the plan provider is Industrial Alliance (Short for IA thereafter). The customer service was the worst one I ever experienced! Every time I make a legitimate claim, the company will give me a hard time. They either hold for claim forever or do not respond at all! Their phone call is never able to get through. You have to send a message in your IA accounts and it takes weeks to get a response, AND a general response basically says NOTHING to answer your questions! DO NOT GO WITH THIS INSURANCE COMPANY!

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo

STAY AWAY FROM THIS INSURER

by kastewart on Nov 22, 2018
1 out of 5 stars

STAY AWAY!!! We have group insurance with IA. This is the worst insurance company yet in my almost 20 years with Lanark County. They will screw you at every opportunity. They will pull 100% valid claims at random for review and delay the payments to keep your money in their bank account. They will delay payment of valid dental claims that you have already received a pre-determination for coverage. You will need to set aside at least an hour if you try to call them. If their lines are busy, they will hang up on you. If you inquire about the length of time to pay a valid claim, they will only respond to your inquiry after the claim has been paid.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo

The worst insurance company

by Unhappy on Jun 23, 2018
1 out of 5 stars

This is the worst insurance company ever! My place of employment has just switched companies and we are now stuck with IA. Unfortunately, my health took a turn for the worst. While my family Doctor is telling me that I need to be put short-term disability, IA is refusing to pay. Apparently, they know more about my health than my Doctor that I've had for years. Hard to believe when the person that has declined my claim has no medical background whatsoever. This has cost me a ton getting all the information they needed to not pay out after. They say your claim will be decided on in 5 to 8 business days, but don't count on it. If you end up having to talk to somebody, you can have a nap waiting to get off of hold.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo
Review topics

Poor customer service

by Jessie Hopper on Jan 4, 2018
1 out of 5 stars

Industrial Alliance managed my pension and group life insurance for 15 years. When I changed employers, so did my group life insurance policy with IA. One day I received a bill for unpaid premiums and my file was being sent to collections. IA Customer Service would not close my file. Very unprofessional, unhelpful, high rates and bad customer service. I would not recommend this provider to friends or family. Beware!

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo

Refused wage replacement

by Mary Loetkeman on Feb 9, 2017
1 out of 5 stars

I had wage replacement insurance through work . I received a neck injury resulting in surgery and permanent nerve damage.
When I filed my claim , I was immediately denied .
The company I worked for wrote letters on my behalf. The girl who was in charge of my case was rude , told me to not call her back but to call another person , which I did but no response.
Five years later , still waiting.Have a lawyer but industrial is pushing it as long as it's possible. Have qualified and receive CPP . Others I have worked with have had problems as well . Would steer clear and go somewhere else if you have the option.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo