Group Benefits Reviews

Manulife Group Benefits Insurance Reviews

This page has been viewed by: Please wait... consumers
(65 reviews)
Manulife
1.3 out of 5 stars:
Customer service:
Value for Money:
Share your own experience
Write a review

Death benefits

by Hayl2128 on Jul 25, 2022
1 out of 5 stars

My mother had group insurance with Manulife with death benefits. She started off on temporary sick benefits and then placed on a long-term. Unfortunately, my mother ended up passing away and I as her beneficiary went to apply for the payout and they told me she incurred it while alive. How can someone use up their death benefits while still alive? They won’t give me any more information either as I’m not the policyholder! What does someone do in this case has anyone experienced something like this before?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo
Review topics

The Worst Insurance Company

by NoraF on Feb 18, 2022
1 out of 5 stars

I've had coverage through Manulife several times over the years through different companies I worked for as well as once for life insurance. Each time an employer had benefits through Manulife it was awful. They typically do not provide packages that offer eye care or things like a visit to the audiologist. The coverage is also often very low such as $200 coverage for glasses. Well, good glasses from an eye doctor have cost over $500 for the last ten years. Or $75 coverage for an eye exam. Well, eye exams now cost well over $100. We've had to call a few times about coverage and they always put you on hold for extended periods of time and then come back and let you know that there's nothing for your needs.
The life insurance experience was atrocious. The people on the phone couldn't understand English and one woman thought that I told her I had tumors! I don't. Then another person lied and said we would be 100% covered through them for death and disability. They sent a package that showed we were preapproved for 100% coverage. Then after we signed up with them they sent another package that showed the underwriters had refused us full coverage and we were paying full premiums for partial coverage. Our broker working with us was very upset. We ended up switching to another insurance company. However, Manulife continued to withdraw funds from our bank account for six months! When I figured out what was happening and called the woman on the other end refused to refund the funds claiming that it was our fault for not calling sooner. I assured her that we would be blocking them from taking any funds from our accounts in the future.
Both my husband and I currently have Manulife as our insurance provider and I hope to be filing a complaint with our Human Resources group about it shortly. They're awful and I really encourage anyone who has a choice to go elsewhere.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo

Robbing innocent people

by LisaDaisy on Feb 14, 2022
1 out of 5 stars

I was off with Short Term Disability with Manulife. They kept harassing me to go back to work. My Doctors and professionals went forward for me to have a long-term disability. I was not ready to go back to work. I have had two appeals as they denied me. I had my doctor, Psychiatrist and a therapy counsellor write for me to be off on LTD. Manulife's in-house Psychiatrist denied me without ever calling and talking to me. They denied it and made it sound false to three very highly recommended professionals. So they are forcing me to go back to work as I ended up on social assistant. On top of everything, I was still paying them $100 a month as I was told I had to, to keep the appeals open. This was a lie. I talked to several lawyers and they said if I'm going to get better there is nothing he can do. To sue I have to be off the rest of my life or it's not worth my time. The lawyer also stated that he has about 300 cases like mine and he's just one lawyer. I would have been better by now if I didn't have to struggle to keep my home not be homeless and concentrate on me and my health issues. Manulife will never get a dime off me again. On top of everything else their customer service is the worst I've ever seen, they really do treat you like your a criminal. The phone system hangs up on you while waiting. Please be cautious dealing with this criminal company.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo

Poor service

by Roger on Jan 14, 2022
1.5 out of 5 stars

Serious problems with Manulife. Repetitive website blackouts and no phone support. On hold for more than 3 hours to speak to a representative… I wonder how they can still be in business…

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo

Call center disaster

by Svetlana Mazurina on Jan 6, 2022
1 out of 5 stars

It is now 3 hours and 30 min I am waiting on the phone for the answer of the Manulife call service center. Unfortunately, I am going to give up and allow my claim to go unpaid. I am not sure if there is anyone working in their call service center at all. I still remember times (15 years ago) when it would take 5-10 min for Manulife to answer the phone. What happens to this company?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo
Review topics

Ineligible expenses

by Unhappycamper123 on Sep 29, 2021
1 out of 5 stars

I had a basic dental claim for cleaning and scaling and they found a way to mark some of the line items of the invoice as ineligible. I end up paying most of it out of pocket.
Absolute worst insurance I’ve ever had. My company cheaped out for sure.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo
Review topics

Do not buy

by Not Happy on Sep 26, 2021
1 out of 5 stars

Worst service ever! Recently switched to Manulife and they deny claims for no reason, impossible to contact on the phone.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo

LACK COMMUNICATION

by Irritated With Manulife on Jul 21, 2021
1 out of 5 stars

Manulife is our company's Group Plan - and for the most part, are pretty good at paying you for submitted claims, unless it is something for long-term treatment of an illness. They do not communicate with you, they rely on you looking up your statement via their website. You are not assigned a person you can directly contact. I do also have an outside company that is submitting paperwork on my behalf, and they as well do not have a direct person to speak with, and Manulife does not communicate with them either after submissions have been made.
I have an autoimmune disease, and Manulife somehow thinks it is okay to decide what is the best for my treatment, not my specialist.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo
Review topics

Bad representatives

by CouldBeBetter on Jun 4, 2021
1 out of 5 stars

Recently I submitted a prescription drug claim and didn't receive the statement for a whole month. I sent an email to query about it, and a representative replied saying that the prescription drug was not covered by my plan. It was blood sugar testing strips, and it was covered before. In the replied email, the representative wrote down a different DIN from the one on the receipt that I sent to them, which shows me the representative was careless and not customer-oriented. I know the testing strips' DIN is different from the store by store, so it is totally understandable that the auto-billing system cannot handle it properly, BUT the representative should have better knowledge regarding this, not just saying it's not covered.

I have experienced several group benefits companies, Manulife is the second-worst.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo
Review topics

Ripped off as usual

by Pj Dufresne on May 30, 2021
1 out of 5 stars

I paid into Manulife and haven't been able to use them for over a year because they were too stupid to change my birth year from 77 to 78. I got my HR department to contact them on several different occasions to the point that they were annoyed with me asking so much. I submitted a lot of receipts from this time and they weren't honored. I sent a chiropractor receipt and I get 15 bucks for that? Not cool. Thank you for taking advantage of me and ripping me off.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo
Review topics