Car Insurance Reviews

SGI Auto Insurance Reviews

This page has been viewed by: Please wait... consumers
(64 reviews)
SGI
1.6 out of 5 stars:
Customer service:
Value for Money:
Claim experience:
Share your own experience
Write a review

Insurance complain

by Meet on Aug 10, 2021
1 out of 5 stars

Very corrupted insurance company... Disgusting customer service... Rude adjusters are full of harassment. Still need to be suffered if you have been hit by another vehicle or person.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo
Review topics

Scamming company

by Phucc on Aug 7, 2021
1 out of 5 stars

They were totally concluded my claim only through a phone call. I just tell them that my damaged clothes were about $40. They denied my $100 bill and return $40.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo
Review topics

Horrible

by Capita on Jun 23, 2021
1 out of 5 stars

I have never dealt with a more unfair company in my life. Couldn't get a hold of them. And they will suspend your driver's license without telling you. Even paid for plates and they didn't tell me it was suspended!

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo
Review topics

Did you know that on average Ontario drivers with good driving records pay $1,805/year in auto insurance? Is your insurance rate higher? Get a free car insurance quote and start saving today.

Frauds

by Manu on May 8, 2021
1 out of 5 stars

My car was hit by someone at night while parked on street. SGI took paint analysis after 3 months and denied my claim as they were saying it comes from a barricade paint sample, but I want to tell them that paint on a barricade is the same as paint on a small trailer. Please give chance to literate people in government sectors so they know how to talk with costumers. Moreover, when I ask that can I have a paint analysis they said no. You should proceed with the court if u need that. They already took 4 months to denied my claim. Adjuster Gord H the rudest person I ever saw!

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo

Incompetent Staff

by Thu on May 3, 2021
1 out of 5 stars

I was dealing with Mitchell (estimator) and Rusnak (adjustor). Both Mitchell and Rusnak denied to fix my bumper's new damage caused in the latest collision. Their answer was simply a "no". Rusnak was quite close to yelling when I kept asking her what to do with the new damage. She also had her wrong phone number on her email signature. Both of these staff of SGI are incompetent in dealing with customers. They were not able to give me a satisfactory answer in a diplomatic manner. SGI will need to step up with customer service.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo
Review topics

SGI complaint

by RWC on May 2, 2021
1 out of 5 stars

SGI wrote off my truck over a month ago. The adjuster that was appointed to my claim, advised me twice (once via email, and once over the phone), that she was...."here to work for me". They offered $47,500, which I found really low for someone that was...
"here to work for me". I fought with them myself and got them up to $50,000. They then said that was their last offer and if I don't accept it, I would have to go to arbitration. So I paid $400 for an arbitrator and I was awarded $52,500. $5,000 more than what SGI's 1st offer was. Imagine if they stole $5,000 from every vehicle, property, injury claim they handle. That would be millions of dollars a year they are stealing from the public. If anyone is going through a claim, please consider an arbitrator, as the cost isn't that much to get what you deserve.

So remember, your adjuster is there........" to work for you".

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo
Review topics

If you have a good driving record in AB, you should pay around $110/month (women - $105/month and men - $113/month). Do you overpay? Get an Alberta car insurance quote to start saving.

SGI STEALS MONEY

by Steve on Apr 26, 2021
1 out of 5 stars

I had a deer strike in Alberta they took the truck to a garage in Alberta and fixed everything that had to do with the deer strike and when I got back to Saskatchewan SGI told me that a lot of what they fixed wasn’t covered. What I have was the best insurance package money can buy but the guy on the phone basically told me I was a liar... I had to pay thousands in repairs. SGI are very dishonest I wish Saskatchewan would allow private insurance companies to operate. One of the highest insurance rates in Canada. Ridiculous feels like we are living in a dictatorship. Maybe time to move back to Alberta and save some headaches.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo

Worst company

by Alanna on Mar 30, 2021
1 out of 5 stars

I have car insurance with SGI. They take payments out on random days with no notice. If I don’t have the money in there, they then charge me return payment fees and pick another random day to take out a payment. I’m not sure how they are allowed to just decide a random date when we have a contract. It’s impossible to talk to anyone. I was changed to this company by my last insurance company, which was also owned by the same people with no notice. They also raised my insurance price when I have no claims. It’s about $50 more a month than any other company I’ve gotten quotes from. Stay far far away from SGI.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo

Terrible

by Very Dissatisfied on Feb 22, 2021
1 out of 5 stars

Very rude adjuster, total rip-off - compared to vehicles with 100 000 more km and adjusted $300. Made a terrible experience worse and the rude attitude and delivery of info just added insult to injury.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo
Not happy with car insurance reviews for your insurance company? Get a quote across up to 20 Canadian car insurers and make sure that you do not pay too much.

Some bumps but overall great

by 123 on Dec 8, 2020
3.7 out of 5 stars

There were mistakes with my claim and the timing was a bit lengthy, HOWEVER, once we voiced our concerns, I found the staff to be incredibly genuine, kind and approachable. They sorted the concerns and completed the process with efficiency, respect and kindness. We were very impressed at how quickly they fixed things and grateful for their actions to make it right.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo