Car Insurance Reviews

SGI Auto Insurance Reviews

This page has been viewed by: Please wait... consumers
(68 reviews)
SGI
1.6 out of 5 stars:
Customer service:
Value for Money:
Claim experience:
Share your own experience
Write a review

SGI Employee Phone Calls

by Jay on Jun 10, 2022
2 out of 5 stars

The customer service I have experienced while making this claim has been very cold and short. I understand if the employees don’t enjoy their job, but there needs to be a change in how these phone calls are conducted. For example, I was not greeted with a kind tone, and at the end of the conversation, I did not receive a goodbye. A simple hello how are you doing today, and goodbye and thank you would be so wonderful to hear as opposed to no farewell. This has been my experience with three employees on the phone, all of which they have called me.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo
Review topics

No Mistakes Allowed - Absolutely Ruthless Company

by Laurel on May 6, 2022
1 out of 5 stars

I’ve had my auto insurance with SGI for 3-4 years now, and I’ve paid my premiums monthly on time with no issues. My payment for last month, unfortunately, bounced so my broker reached out to me stating that SGI is now threatening to cancel my insurance unless I pay my FULL YEARS premium to them within two weeks. My monthly payment that bounced was $100 - now they’ve threatened that since one payment bounced, I owe them the rest of the entire years premiums of over $900 in two weeks or I’ll be cancelled. I have no problem paying what I owe for my monthly installments maybe even a fee is understandable but to demand almost $1,000 from a loyal customer for one meesly missed payment is horrendous. You got to have some type of understanding with your customers. That’s not a good way to do business at all. I work in the Commercial Insurance Industry and we allow people to make up their missed payments before taking action like this. Absolutely ridiculous.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo
Review topics

Very poor car insurance

by Hopefully on Mar 23, 2022
1 out of 5 stars

They don't work with you. My policy was renewed on March 24, 2022. They wanted me to pay for renewal. I did pay for a half before the due date and they call and it didn’t fit in the payment it has to be what they want. So, now I move on from SGI. I do not recommend this company!

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo
Review topics

Did you know that on average Ontario drivers with good driving records pay $1,805/year in auto insurance? Is your insurance rate higher? Get a free car insurance quote and start saving today.

What a joke

by Jess on Mar 3, 2022
1 out of 5 stars

Seriously SGI? Your adjusters are vague, slow, and completely out to serve themselves. Even when the person isn’t at fault.
This whole process needs a revamp and more training of your entire staff.
I wish we had the option to go somewhere else because SGI would have been boycotted years ago.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo
Review topics

Insurance complain

by Meet on Aug 10, 2021
1 out of 5 stars

Very corrupted insurance company... Disgusting customer service... Rude adjusters are full of harassment. Still need to be suffered if you have been hit by another vehicle or person.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo
Review topics

Scamming company

by Phucc on Aug 7, 2021
1 out of 5 stars

They were totally concluded my claim only through a phone call. I just tell them that my damaged clothes were about $40. They denied my $100 bill and return $40.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo
Review topics
Not happy with car insurance reviews for your insurance company? Get a quote across up to 20 Canadian car insurers and make sure that you do not pay too much.

Horrible

by Capita on Jun 23, 2021
1 out of 5 stars

I have never dealt with a more unfair company in my life. Couldn't get a hold of them. And they will suspend your driver's license without telling you. Even paid for plates and they didn't tell me it was suspended!

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo
Review topics

Frauds

by Manu on May 8, 2021
1 out of 5 stars

My car was hit by someone at night while parked on street. SGI took paint analysis after 3 months and denied my claim as they were saying it comes from a barricade paint sample, but I want to tell them that paint on a barricade is the same as paint on a small trailer. Please give chance to literate people in government sectors so they know how to talk with costumers. Moreover, when I ask that can I have a paint analysis they said no. You should proceed with the court if u need that. They already took 4 months to denied my claim. Adjuster Gord H the rudest person I ever saw!

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo

Incompetent Staff

by Thu on May 3, 2021
1 out of 5 stars

I was dealing with Mitchell (estimator) and Rusnak (adjustor). Both Mitchell and Rusnak denied to fix my bumper's new damage caused in the latest collision. Their answer was simply a "no". Rusnak was quite close to yelling when I kept asking her what to do with the new damage. She also had her wrong phone number on her email signature. Both of these staff of SGI are incompetent in dealing with customers. They were not able to give me a satisfactory answer in a diplomatic manner. SGI will need to step up with customer service.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo
Review topics

If you have a good driving record in AB, you should pay around $110/month (women - $105/month and men - $113/month). Do you overpay? Get an Alberta car insurance quote to start saving.

SGI complaint

by RWC on May 2, 2021
1 out of 5 stars

SGI wrote off my truck over a month ago. The adjuster that was appointed to my claim, advised me twice (once via email, and once over the phone), that she was...."here to work for me". They offered $47,500, which I found really low for someone that was...
"here to work for me". I fought with them myself and got them up to $50,000. They then said that was their last offer and if I don't accept it, I would have to go to arbitration. So I paid $400 for an arbitrator and I was awarded $52,500. $5,000 more than what SGI's 1st offer was. Imagine if they stole $5,000 from every vehicle, property, injury claim they handle. That would be millions of dollars a year they are stealing from the public. If anyone is going through a claim, please consider an arbitrator, as the cost isn't that much to get what you deserve.

So remember, your adjuster is there........" to work for you".

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo
Review topics