Independent Auto Insurance Reviews

SGI Auto Insurance Reviews

(53 reviews)
This page has been viewed by:
45,784
consumers
(1.6 out of 5 stars)
Customer Service:
Value for Money:
Claim Experience:
 

SGI is a Scam

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by SGI Canada IS the WORST May 18, 2020
SGI is the worst insurance company I have ever had after being insured for 30 years with several other companies. After filing a claim I found out my coverage was insufficient and I was not protected adequately + the payment for my stolen vehicle will be greatly reduced where I will have to pay tons of money to replace it. The horrible company selling joke policies. Bye-bye SGI Canada forever!
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Bad driving record? Your insurance rates can be double the standard insurance rate. Let us help you get the better auto insurance rate without breaking the bank.
 

Unprofessional and rude

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by SGI is a joke Mar 24, 2020
Every single person I have met that works for SGI are extremely unprofessional, rude and corrupt. Even going so far as to give their own family members and friends automatic passes on driving and written tests in my area (between Rosetown and Kindersley Sask) and being extremely rude, temperamental, intrusive and even vulgar at times. Over the phone, they’re even worse. You will be, interrupted, degraded, talked down to and treated like a child in 2nd grade. This company needs to be shutdown or better yet sued into bankruptcy. I seriously recommend anyone working for SGI to take a good long look in the mirror and think about their life choices and morals.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Preys on the Elderly

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Toronto Resident Mar 15, 2020
My elderly parents were victims of a phoney hit & run on a day when they had never left their house. SGI did not attempt to fully investigate the situation and filed a 100% at-fault decision within 5 business days. When follow-up attempts were made, they were unresponsive. Terrible company with terrible ethics. Beware and stay away.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Not happy with car insurance reviews for your insurance company? Get a quote across up to 20 Canadian car insurers and make sure that you do not pay too much.
 

Terrible Company

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by no name Jan 23, 2020
Just when I thought things couldn’t get worse, SGI made them worse. We had an unfortunate incident with a piece of our insured property getting damaged. SGI begrudgingly paid for the damages, but, they are now threatening to sue the individual supposedly “at fault” for causing the damage.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Sgi unfair

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Billy J Nov 21, 2019
So, my neighbor decided to make a claim against me for something I did not do. In the end SGI found me guilty and I had to pay for something i did not do. I even got a paint match which came back negative and I was still at fault...
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Did you know that on average Ontario drivers with good driving records pay $1,805/year in auto insurance? Is your insurance rate higher? Get a free car insurance quote and start saving today.
 

Still trying to get rental

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Viktor Jul 02, 2019
I Have a 2019 Lexus Nx300 f2 sport which was smoking in the garage for about 5 hours when my garage caught on fire... Ontario province... They didn't give me the rental same day, it was on 22nd of June, and on Monday when I reached their office because they were closed on weekends, the adjuster answer kinda surprised me when I said that I need a rental, she told me that I have 2 cars... Unprofessional at all... I pay insurance for both... After they ended up giving me rental on Monday when I called after hours and I returned it on Wednesday because we were going on vacation... Now I am trying to get a rental from 10 am and my adjuster seems to be ignoring me... Wish I can put - 100stars... Will switch my cars insurance after solving claim for sure... Been calling about 20 different numbers. Don't know what to do. My time worth more... Good thing my wife is a lawyer... Recording every call now...
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

SGI - Westland Insurance

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Metaller99 Apr 05, 2019
Got an online quote from SGI. Phoned Westland Insurance in Calgary who told me SGI did not offer monthly payment plan. Phoned SGI and they said yes, they do and that I should have been given the plan. Stay far far away from Westland Insurance brokers, and stay even further away from SGI Canada. I was insured through a broker with SGI a few years back and blew the engine in my truck leaving me with my other vehicle to drive. I faxed them and cancelled my insurance on the truck because I couldn't drive it. Westland refused to rebate me for 9 months of insurance for the cancellation. I got a hold of SGI and was finally paid my rebate after 10 months from the time of the cancellation. SGI is the worst insurance company I have ever dealt with. Please for your sake stay away from them.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
If you have a good driving record in AB, you should pay around $110/month (women - $105/month and men - $113/month). Do you overpay? Get an Alberta car insurance quote to start saving.
 

Rude staff everywhere

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Worst Nov 14, 2018
Took my vehicle without even informing where they gonna keep it. Got pictures from SGI with snow all filled in the vehicle as it was lying in a compound for a long weekend (it's a joke as if they would have told me prior that they gonna keep my vehicle in open, I would have dragged it to the garage). Adjuster initially appointed went on for 3 weeks vacation since my claim was filled. No communication at all (till you call in and ask). Their estimators cant value anything
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Worst company ever

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by ginat Oct 19, 2018
Worst company I ever dealt with in my life. I had 3 vehicles insured. In July, I asked to have one removed. August came, still not removed, September came, still not removed. Broker started ignoring my emails. Had to finally call a manager to get it taken care of. Got an email stating my new payment would be $235, coming out of my acc on Oct 5th, then a letter in the mail a week later saying $144 would come out Oct 21st. Assuming they refunded me for their mistake of not removing the vehicle since July. Payment tried to come out Oct 5th from an account I no longer use, so it went back NSF. Had no clue til following week, I got a cancellation letter. Called and lost my temper on them, asked for a manager. Conveniently, they're all in a meeting!!! Not willing to own up to their own mistakes, so I ended up having to pay off my policy in full and they will no longer do monthly payment at all because they screwed up sending me wrong information. None of this would have happened if they would have removed the vehicle in July like they were supposed to. Bunch of crooks. Needless to say, once my policy is done in 2 months, I'll be done with their crap!!!
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Did you know that on average Ontario drivers with good driving records pay $1,805/year in auto insurance? Is your insurance rate higher? Get a free car insurance quote and start saving today.
 

Rates increase 4x in 4 weeks

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Patrick Jun 26, 2018
Received an auto insurance quote for just over $200 a month and was accepted by both parties. Received the temporary permit through email. After 5 days, the rates went to over $800 a month. SGI stated it had an MTO (Ministry Transport Ontario) report of an accident. SGI would not provide a copy of the MTO report after multiple requests, so we went to the police and found out that there was no MTO report. We then tried to cancel the policy, which SGI denied, as SGI then said that there was a conflict with the non-existent report and their policies, so SGI cancelled the policy. This all took place within 4 weeks. SGI still continued to take the $800 a month, on top of the original $200 initial for the policy, yes, that was over $1000 for 4 weeks of insurance! We have yet to receive anything in the mail about the policy. SGI now refuse to contact us, and no longer answer any text, emails or phone calls.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Horrible adjuster and Scammers

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by AACarandang Jun 14, 2018
I was hit by a deer. I was denied for coverage even though I got an active Auto Pak on top of my regular auto insurance to cover any wild wide collision and rental car coverage. The out-of-province adjuster avoided me and refused to phone me back for any updates. I was told to have any car fixed at my own expense. Beware for out-of-province trips.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Bad driving record? Your insurance rates can be double the standard insurance rate. Let us help you get the better auto insurance rate without breaking the bank.
 

Read this !!!!!

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Boomerpup123 May 07, 2018
If you have ever had your vehicle impounded and you could not afford to pick it up and they said it went to auction as a salvage with no keys which was a total lie, we need to talk. My vehicle didn't even make it to the auction and sold to the towing company for 350.00. The vehicle, if at the auction, would have sold for between 4 and 5000.00. But now I have to pay 1226.00 before I get my drivers licence back and the towing company has my car and is trying to sell it for 1500.00. Complete fraud.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

SGI

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Apr 02, 2018
I got into a hit&run accident on a highway, the company tried to blame me for the case! After I got into an accident especially when I'm not at fault, I was waiting for SGI adjuster to help me, but instead, she tried everything to question me like I'm the one hit&ran away. Doesn't matter if my car is covered or not, this is a useless insurance, whoever buys their insurance one day you're gonna get deceived by them.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Not happy with car insurance reviews for your insurance company? Get a quote across up to 20 Canadian car insurers and make sure that you do not pay too much.
 

Horrible Cuatomer Service

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Lululuigi Mar 13, 2018
I talked to one of their customer service representatives and honestly, the experience was absolutely terrible. They were so judgemental and one even laughed at me while I was making my claim. I am sorry, but when someone is in distress and talking about an accident, that is not the way to speak to them. And the person I spoke to acted like she knew exactly what happened and wouldn't even listen to me. And when I requested to draw a diagram for them they refused my request because they said that I was lying. If they weren't a requirement by the government, they would have no customers because they are the worst insurance company in existence.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

SGI insurance

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Yvette G Feb 27, 2018
SGI insurance is the worst insurance on the planet. They won’t pay out for any type of injury even when you have full coverage. They have a hard time even when paying for the damage done to your car. You have to fight with them when you are in an accident that is the other driver's fault. Take my advice and don’t get any type of insurance with SGI. Get a real insurance policy from a real insurance company
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Did you know that on average Ontario drivers with good driving records pay $1,805/year in auto insurance? Is your insurance rate higher? Get a free car insurance quote and start saving today.
 

White collar theives is all r

 
(1.5 out of 5 stars)
by Booker Jan 31, 2018
Always denied claims that were legit. They took the word of a car theif over Me. A paying customer...i ain't a theif. And totally lost that car.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Unprofessional / Disorganized

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Goldie Dec 09, 2017
No returned calls, fluctuating premiums and a double bank withdrawal. My policy was switched to SGI by their parent company and I was informed that my rates would be lower due to my clean driving record. I was initially told, after calling to inquire what my premium was, that they were backlogged due to changes within their office and waited well over a month for any paperwork from them. My broker advised that I needed to ensure 2.5 payments be available in my account 'just in case'. These payments he advised were only ballpark amounts as SGI hadn't processed my policy yet. 2 months after supposedly being insured by them, I finally received my policy in the mail - 2 different versions and premiums that were mailed out by them on the same day. In the 3rd month, they withdrew 3 payments and my rate increased for the 2nd time in 3 months. I called to cancel my policy today and will monitor my bank account for theft of future premiums.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
If you have a good driving record in AB, you should pay around $110/month (women - $105/month and men - $113/month). Do you overpay? Get an Alberta car insurance quote to start saving.
 

The worst insurance company

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by The worst company Sep 30, 2017
About a year ago someone that was insured by SGI hit my brand new car! It was approx $6800 damage, my insurance company paid for the repairs and also paid for my rental for 8 weeks. My rental was up and that’s when my rental company contacted SGI to see if they would pay for a 7-day rental for me, not a problem they sent all the paperwork approving that they were going to pay it! The company still has not paid for it, now the rental company is coming after me to pay for it! This happens to be the worst insurance company to deal with! When you send paperwork approving to pay for something do it! This is not fair to me or my credit now because I can’t afford to pay their insurance claims!
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Stolen Truck - written off

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by LDB Sep 06, 2017
My ex-wife and I jointly owned a 2003 Ford F250 4x4 diesel with about 167,000km that got stolen from outside the mechanic's shop at the end of July 2017. It was recovered August 2. The damage consisted of a punched-in key hole on the passenger side door, and the cover/lock on the ignition had been removed. We were a bit surprised when SGI almost immediately told us it was being written off. We figured the truck was worth at least $12,000, maybe up to $15,000 with the recent engine rebuild. Our SGI adjuster, Chelsea Leonew, gave us an initial offer of $6355 on August 10. We told her that was unacceptable and it was worth twice that amount. We submitted the recent bill for an engine rebuild (about $5800), but that only increased SGI's offer to $7660. We submitted ads for similar trucks from Kijiji for SK, AB, and MB, but SGI didn't budge. We hired an independent appraiser and went to arbitration. That cost us about $350, but we ended up settling for $11,500, which we thought was fair. Why did we have to spend $350 and a month in negotiation to arrive at a fair settlement? I had used the VMR Canada online calculator early in the process to see if we were off-base in thinking it was worth at least $12,000. The VMR Canada result confirmed we were being reasonable. However, I noticed that if you failed to check off the "HD Diesel V8" box, the value was pretty close to what SGI initially offered. I've got a gut feeling that someone at SGI made a keying error on the initial valuation. I've got no issue with someone making a mistake. It happens all the time. However, I've got plenty of issue with someone failing to recognize a mistake or trying to cover it up. We ended up with a final settlement that was 81% higher than the initial offer. Something was definitely wrong with the initial offers from SGI, beyond the expected low-ball. Why didn't someone at SGI go back and take a look at their calculations instead of wasting time and money going to arbitration? Something really stinks at SGI when it comes to write-offs. I still don't think the vehicle should have been written off in the first place. As well, when the final settlement after arbitration is 81% higher than SGI's initial offer, and 50% higher than SGI's final offer, shouldn't SGI have to reimburse the cost of arbitration? It was pretty clear that one side wasn't coming to the table with clean hands.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Bad driving record? Your insurance rates can be double the standard insurance rate. Let us help you get the better auto insurance rate without breaking the bank.
 

Poor service and rip off!

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by SGINoMore Aug 02, 2017
If I could put a no star, I would! Not even worthy of a single star. We had to pay for a Certified Extract License and we even told them we need it that day for a passport, we waited till 4 pm. They told us they will email it to us but we haven't received a single email from them the whole day. We had to pay the rush fee for the passport. I phoned them the off day to ask if they could just lessen the amount we paid on our registration or refund us 'coz it's really unfair for us that we had to pay a service that we didn't even get. They just told me they will just send it again. What for? We don't even need it anymore! We had to pay $110 for a rush fee already, you should change your policy for refunds! You're just ripping off people. Very poor and useless services as well!
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

only out for your money

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by hannah c. Aug 01, 2017
Received zero communication through SGI for the duration of our policy. Our premium was high for no reason ($200 per month for 2 females >30 w/ no claims). We were provided with a payment schedule for our policy, showing the last date a payment would be taken. We never received a renewal notice, however, they continued taking monthly payments after the 'final' payment, yet before our policy had expired. This company comes off as a bunch of crooks. Glad we never had to make a claim. Avoid.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Not happy with car insurance reviews for your insurance company? Get a quote across up to 20 Canadian car insurers and make sure that you do not pay too much.
 

Adjuster Not Helpful

 
(2.0 out of 5 stars)
by Charlotte S. Jul 25, 2017
My auto adjuster was good in giving me necessary documents I needed for my car (tires were stolen and sgi was able to cover some of it after my deductible). However, she was reluctant to answer any questions I had. I do not have a lot of knowledge on these things or what SGI helps with and if each dealership differs. My boyfriend came into an SGI centre in asking about the papers and quote SGI gave me concerning replacing my stolen tires (I was out of province). They told him either way he will need me to give him official authnrorization to deal with this so they themselves said I need to call my adjuster (Debbie) in regards to it. So I did, and she was short tempered with me saying she has nothing to do with this, just send the bill (even though I was TOLD to call her) and wondered why I was asking her a question she cannot answer. She also claimed my boyfriend went into this SGI location with his own quote for the tires, when in reality he went in with the documents and quote she herself had provided to me. I think this customer service is poor for this reason. I really wish for SGI to hire better adjusters with good service skills and patience.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

'I couldn't breathe': Sask. man narrowly escapes after vehicle catches fire

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by CBC News Jul 19, 2017
CBC NEWSBarry Chalifoux says he's lucky to be alive after what seemed like a slight car malfunction turned into a terrifying ordeal.

On July 10, Chalifoux started on his regular weekly work commute from Loon Lake, Sask., to English River First Nation — a journey roughly 305 kilometres to the northeast — when he noticed that something was off around Beauval, Sask., close to halfway through his trip.

"I was getting closer to Beauval when I saw smoke coming in. I saw smoke from the hood and also I could smell it coming into the vehicle," he said.

CBC NEWS Barry Chalifoux suffered nerve damage to his leg from a third-degree burn. (Barry Chalifoux)

Seconds later, the front of his 2015 Ford Edge — a car that he had owned for less than a year — was engulfed in flames leaving him unable to use his power brakes because the electrical components had stopped working. No electrical meant his doors and windows were also inoperable.

"I pulled into the side of the road to try to slow myself down and when the vehicle came to a stop, I tried getting out of the vehicle but [that] wasn't working either."

Unable to unlock the doors or roll down the windows, Chalifoux was trapped inside of his car while it quickly filled up with black smoke... Read more at cbc.ca
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
If you have a good driving record in AB, you should pay around $110/month (women - $105/month and men - $113/month). Do you overpay? Get an Alberta car insurance quote to start saving.
 

Hit a Deer

 
(5.0 out of 5 stars)
by Hi Deer Jul 18, 2017
I have nothing than good things to say about SGI, right after we hit a deer I immediately called and they were very helpful getting me a rental car as fast as they could since I was a long way from home. I had to go see a chiropractic for some minor injuries - so helpful with the steps I needed to take. It took a total of 2 weeks to find out and sign all the paper work needed to get the insurance $ for my car. I am now on the hunt for a new car. Thanks SGI for such great service.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Do Not Use SGI

 
(1.5 out of 5 stars)
by Remember me Jun 15, 2017
I was driving outside of the province not for the purpose of work or school, but had moved to Calgary in 2013. I didn't realize there's some unknown, unmentioned clause in SGI rules that is the registered owner must immediately (as in the second of) using the vehicle to leave the province make an address change and receive a Saskatchewan license with an Alberta address? Since I didn't do that I was denied my claim. They will try anything they can to get out of paying. And everyone who has a claim denied isn't ineligible, it's a horrible company
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Did you know that on average Ontario drivers with good driving records pay $1,805/year in auto insurance? Is your insurance rate higher? Get a free car insurance quote and start saving today.
 

SGI raises car insurance rates for some light vehicles...

 
(3.0 out of 5 stars)
by CBC News May 21, 2017
CBC NEWS Saskatchewan Government Insurance (SGI) has upped auto insurance rates for light vehicles effective May 21.

The rates have been increased to match the Canadian Loss Experience Automobile Rating (CLEAR) damage rate group table.

SGI's 2017 rate changes The CLEAR table, which uses insurance claims data, helps insurers assess how likely it is that a specific vehicle will be involved in a claim and what that claim will likely cost.

This includes claims caused by collisions, weather events, theft and other circumstances.

"These adjustments are revenue-neutral, they will not generate any extra money for SGI," Minister Responsible for SGI Joe Hargrave said in a statement. "We know that currently, owners of certain makes and models of vehicles are paying more than their actual costs, and others are paying too little. Read more at cbc.ca
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

SGI the ultimate Scammers

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Stopthemonopoly Apr 21, 2017
I had an accident at less than 20 kmh fender bender with a mint condition 300 limited edition with 120000 kms only. It has been 5 weeks SGI hasn't even looked at it yet. They said it was approved for getting fixed, then 5 weeks later they want to look at it again and say the damage is over 13000 dollars... for a bumper and some paint. This is a scam and unbelievable. They hold the monopoly and know it. I have now lost my job and soon my home during this time as no city services go anywhere near my old work. And since we at week 5 and not even started the fix, looks like gonna lose everything anyway. Thanks, SGI
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Bad driving record? Your insurance rates can be double the standard insurance rate. Let us help you get the better auto insurance rate without breaking the bank.
 

Prices are cruel to the poor

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Mohamad Apr 15, 2017
They charge you if you get a ticket. So speeding? -2 safety points and $100 on top of the ticket itself? Happens again? $200-300-400 and so on up to a thousand. The reset period is THREE WHOLE YEARS WITHOUT A SINGLE TICKET FOR ANYTHING AT ALL. So SGI wants to put people in permanent debt or doesn't want people to drive at all. On top of $100+ cost of insurance, these safety points pile up because it's impossible not to get a single ticket in three years if you drive frequently. If you see the pattern; you'll be driving to work; TO PAY OFF SGI SO YOU CAN KEEP DRIVING. Corrupt and messed up
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Knowledgeable in nothing

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Province monopoly problem Mar 14, 2017
Tried to register a private vehicle purchased at auction, brought paid receipt in, the staff at SGI Swift Current never even looked at the invoice as the teller asked 3 questions that were directly stated on the invoice (1 is it paid for? How did you pay? Where is it?) then promptly told me that they can't help me and to bring the original invoice ( which I had brought in). They didn't look at the invoice, told me it needed a signature of the owner (me or the bank that repossessed it? No clarification). They just had no intention of doing work, the phone/fax number of the auction company was clearly written on the invoice if they needed confirmation. What a joke this company is, the staff has no clue, the managers less and they couldn't train a dog to sit. If my tax money went to that Nigerian prince who keeps emailing instead of SGI pensions, it would probably get more for your dollar, with just as much satisfaction. Tell me again how my heart should bleed over your unpaid ten days off.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
If you have a good driving record in AB, you should pay around $110/month (women - $105/month and men - $113/month). Do you overpay? Get an Alberta car insurance quote to start saving.
 

Stolen to be recovered

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Jonny52386 Feb 08, 2017
SGI sask was the worst ever to deal with. I fought hard with SGI as originally they said if the car wasn't found, I wasn't covered. Why to pay for insurance then? My car that had been stolen, luckily week later was recovered, where SGI again claimed that I'd be responsible as there was damage to the car. I talked to my lawyer and as soon as mentioned that, they said we will cover it but you are liable for the deductible. I was so angry with SGI... I agreed on that...
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Want to save on auto insurance?
10+ Insurers compared
Get a free, instant quote
Customize your policy
SGI Auto Insurance
53 reviews
5 Darkstar
(3)
4 Darkstar
(4)
3 Darkstar
(2)
2 Darkstar
(6)
1 Darkstar
(38)
Most helpfull reviews