Independent Auto Insurance Reviews

The Personal Insurance Auto Insurance Reviews

(143 reviews)
This page has been viewed by:
85,151
consumers
(1.6 out of 5 stars)
Customer Service:
Value for Money:
Claim Experience:
 

The Personal - always good

 
(4.5 out of 5 stars)
by Satisfied Sep 25, 2020
Courteous, clear, speedy claim processing and attentive to my needs. Friendly and patient customer service whenever I had to call.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Not happy with car insurance reviews for your insurance company? Get a quote across up to 20 Canadian car insurers and make sure that you do not pay too much.
 

Replacing a car

 
(1.5 out of 5 stars)
by Alvin Sep 15, 2020
I've been trying to get ahold of any advisor 3rd day now and I've been on hold for at least an hour per call. Today I made sure I called the hotline first thing in the morning. Finally, somebody called me and helped me out with my issues. Looking forward to talk to him again in the future.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Can't call them

 
(1.5 out of 5 stars)
by Frank Sep 14, 2020
Every time you call to make any type of change you are on hold for well over 2 hours. They don't have a callback option or online chat either so there's no other option. Don't bother.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
If you have a good driving record in AB, you should pay around $110/month (women - $105/month and men - $113/month). Do you overpay? Get an Alberta car insurance quote to start saving.
 

Worst customer service

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Bishal Sep 02, 2020
The worst customer service and they trying to rip off me by offering a very low amount to me. They even didn't let me keep my SUV as they know they can get a huge profit by selling my SUV in the market. Scam.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Terrible waiting time

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by seriously? Sep 01, 2020
I've been trying to call someone once a week for the past month and a half, but I have been unable to reach someone after waiting for about an hour each time. My frustration has peaked and spilled over. Never AGAIN!!!
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Bad driving record? Your insurance rates can be double the standard insurance rate. Let us help you get the better auto insurance rate without breaking the bank.
 

DONT GO WITH THE PERSONAL

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Adam Aug 24, 2020
Terrible company. Still online for 4.5 hours. Nobody responds. Sent an email, nobody acknowledges. AVOID IT!
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Hail Damage Claim

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by R.D. Aug 18, 2020
They don't deserve even 1 star. I recommend to change your insurance from the Personal before it is too late. They are not good with the communication, follow up with your claims, booking for repairs. If you have time to deal by yourself then stay with them because they will not do until you push them.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Did you know that on average Ontario drivers with good driving records pay $1,805/year in auto insurance? Is your insurance rate higher? Get a free car insurance quote and start saving today.
 

Call waiting time

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Kris Aug 14, 2020
I am writing this review while waiting for the call agent. It is 1 hour and 35 minutes now. No Answer. They think that I have a whole day for this.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Horrendous wait time

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Bakersman Aug 07, 2020
I was on hold for over 90 minutes to speak with an agent, with the goal of adding to my coverage. Over 90 minutes to give this company more of my money. Not only is the jingle the most unpleasant I think I've ever experienced, but their website promotion ad also runs every 60 seconds. Unfortunately, the website will not provide the info needed beyond seeing your current policy. I feel for the staff that are slowly being replaced by a non-useful website.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Not happy with car insurance reviews for your insurance company? Get a quote across up to 20 Canadian car insurers and make sure that you do not pay too much.
 

Bad experience!

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Disappointed! Aug 04, 2020
I am 72! I have had motorcycle coverage with them for about 10 years - no claims. Called to enquire if there are any discounts due to COVID 19 and the answer is no. And my monthly payments have been increasing for 3 months. I pay monthly for 12 months. I have ridden 350 km as of the date of the call this year. The representative was rude & hung up on me. I will never deal with this company again.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Run now, while you still can!

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Soon to be ex-customer Aug 04, 2020
This company is terrible. I would highly recommend you LOOK ELSEWHERE! They are completely inept and plain RUDE. While trying to get some answers about a claim filed over 6 months ago, I was put on an extraordinarily long hold, passed over to an agent who was unaware of the day of the week, put on another hold and then passed over to another agent who was eager to start that process all over again. They DO NOT respect their client's time and must be taught a lesson in business value! They also stumble over facts and misrepresent details and are very ill-informed thus wasting more time. Then, on top of all that, they hang up on me and now I am on hold for another 1.5 hours. As I said, overpriced, under-serviced with NO CLUE as to the value of customer's time! STAY AWAY!
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Bad driving record? Your insurance rates can be double the standard insurance rate. Let us help you get the better auto insurance rate without breaking the bank.
 

So Unreliable

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by waste of time Jul 29, 2020
I got a quote for my car from their website and indicated myself as a non-group general customer. On the quote clearly mentioned: " This quote doesn’t include savings you may be eligible for through your employer, professional association, union and/or credit union." Their customer service raised my quote $90 more because I was not part of any group or association and their management excuse was "on the below of the email, it mentioned the quote is not guaranteed." They are not reliable and their system is not accurate. They address their pricing on reasons are not valid and reasonable. Happy I didn't start with them. I am sure, later they will raise their price for other excises as well. Don't even try or waste your time.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Stay FAR away!!!

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by JMcK Jun 26, 2020
This company is TERRIBLE! My wife was SIDE SWIPED by another driver. She was in her lane, she was in control when another vehicle lost control. She then lied to her insurance company coming up with some out of this world story about would my wife apparently lost control in the completely opposite direction she was travelling and they were both at fault... I stole with an accident investigator and he said what she told her insurance company was a physical impossibility. I told this to the Personal and they basically told me to get over it. They are the WORST insurance company I have EVER dealt with in my 16 years of having insurance! Stay away, stay FAR AWAY from this company. They're happy to take your money and happy to do nothing to represent you at all!
1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?
If you have a good driving record in AB, you should pay around $110/month (women - $105/month and men - $113/month). Do you overpay? Get an Alberta car insurance quote to start saving.
 

Do not waste your time

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by FormerUnderwriter Apr 03, 2020
As someone who has worked in the insurance industry for more than 8 years, I hate being lied to by people who are supposed to be "experts." If you have a claim with this company, get ready for the run around of your life. I filed a claim back in January and only resolved it this week. I did everything that I was told to do, submitted all the documents and was told I would be contacted as soon as possible. Fast forward three weeks later and I had called and e-mailed for some sort of update. I told my advisor that I needed my car fixed by the middle of February because I had a new job in another province. I literally begged my advisor's help which was followed by silence. Meanwhile, my claim was denied weeks prior because they adjustor couldn't the damage, to the car, which did not make sense to me as I provided all the information they needed. I was even told that the adjustor physically went to the shop to see my car. I called the shop as soon as I found this out, only to be told that that was a lie. Long story short, I spent more than 10 hours on the phone speaking to multiple people, told that I had to pay for all the repairs and to submit the documents. It was a wonderful time borrowing money from family members and also being told that my job was given to someone else because I was going to be 2 weeks late. When my original advisor finally got back to me, I was told that they went on vacation. So glad their priorities were in check, and if you're curious, they had a wonderful time. They had no remorse for what they put me through that I hung up on them in disgust. They do not care about you at all. Remember, these people are so desensitized that you are nothing more than a voice on the other line. The best part is that you can not even escalate the call, you are stuck...
1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Beware!

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Jen Mar 26, 2020
We only claimed $385 for an ambulance and then when we are about to transfer to another company we discovered in the claim description that we've claimed $3,001! That's how greedy they are! Then when I spoke to the claim agent, he yelled at me on the telephone, what horrible customer service! You need to stay away from this insurance company at all costs!
1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Bad driving record? Your insurance rates can be double the standard insurance rate. Let us help you get the better auto insurance rate without breaking the bank.
 

Hit and Run Claim

 
(5.0 out of 5 stars)
by Dave Feb 28, 2020
I left my old insurance company in December 2019 for home and auto. Saved 30% combined on both insurance coverages. The old company tries to match and said I was a valued customer (30 years) but couldn't match. Great customer service to set up an account. I had a hit and run claim from a parking lot scrub on bumper 2 months after setting up a new account. Easy to contact the claims department and courteous and they sent out an adjuster to my home! I told them the body shop I wanted to use that I liked from past experience and they set it up and I got a cheque in the mail to pay the repair costs. I pay the deductible. They also called and walked me through how to set up my on-line account! So far service has been grand.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Warning

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Lea Jan 21, 2020
Like many other comments, I have had similar experiences with this company regarding filing a claim. To make a long story short, while on vacation out of province my vehicle was hit while parked. This company should hire me to work for them seeing as I had to do the majority of the work for my claim myself. Including when booking my return flight back after being hounded on short notice to pick my vehicle up from the garage. So after working nights and travelling provinces, I arrive at the approved repair garage to find out my car still requires repairs. I contacted the person who offered no solution or even any sense of accountability since they limit your choices for body shops. This is a warning to others if you have a new vehicle do not use this insurance company, they don't care for their customers (car members) they are only out to line their pockets off of the Canadian military. The only reason why they even have a star on this website won't let anyone rate them lower.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Did you know that on average Ontario drivers with good driving records pay $1,805/year in auto insurance? Is your insurance rate higher? Get a free car insurance quote and start saving today.
 

This Company Is Trash

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by beepbeep0909 Dec 16, 2019
Signing up with The Personal Insurance company is the biggest regret of my life. If you ever have a fraudulent claim submitted against you, do not expect this company to use common sense or help you fight the claim at all, even if it is well documented and completely obviously a fraud. My representative refused to help me at all, gave me scripted answers, refused to answer pertinent questions, refused to pass me onto a manager of any sort. Once the situation was finally escalated to someone higher, I asked that communication between us be documented via email so that I had a paper trail - that manager stated that they do not provide email communication and told me they would only speak to me over the phone. I'm facing a major increase in my premiums, but The Personal Insurance wants to operate via he-said-she-said. A quick Google search shows very low ratings and a recent lawsuit they lost. Honestly, go with a better company even if the rates are a little higher - at least your insurance (which affects quite a bit of your life) will be in competent hands and you can avoid this kind of nightmare.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

WISH THERE IS LESS THAN ONE

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Lalitha Dec 11, 2019
I had a claim which is in process for one year, still, don't get any response. Though I gave all my information and details, they call once in 2 months and they still leave a message saying that we need some information from you. The worst experience with this insurance. Waste of money and time on this.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Not happy with car insurance reviews for your insurance company? Get a quote across up to 20 Canadian car insurers and make sure that you do not pay too much.
 

Poor service

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Awful Dec 10, 2019
I have been with them for years for home and auto, always paid in full and no claims. I called for a quote to add another driver/vehicle. I was on/off hold for more than an hour and finally bluntly told my policy would be cancelled because the driver I was getting the quote on had a previous cancellation for non-payment with another company. I was stunned. What started out as me looking for a simple quote ended in someone with no empathetically telling me my policy was going to be cancelled because of something someone else did. Asked for a manager, was put on hold for another 20 minutes and told no one available. I refused to hang up without speaking to a manager and finally got someone who apologized and offered a solution. However, by then I was enraged. I promptly phoned Allstate and moved my home and auto AND saved $500. Good riddance!
1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

CUSTOMER

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by lost cumtomer Oct 29, 2019
I had a very bad experience with one call centre man. He had no respect and was very rude to me when I called to finalize a quote I got the previous day from one the center representative, who was very nice. This man is a bully, a very aggressive intimidator and mistreats others.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Did you know that on average Ontario drivers with good driving records pay $1,805/year in auto insurance? Is your insurance rate higher? Get a free car insurance quote and start saving today.
 

Unbelievable

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Terry W Oct 28, 2019
I was hit by another driver who was on his cell phone. Because I'm the only one that saw him and the way the cars were parked, my insurance went up. It went up 600 percent! That's right 600 percent. I cancelled right away. And pay 1/2 the price I was paying with them before the accident.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Careful - You'll Get Burned

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Braden Oct 11, 2019
Involved in a collision that I was not at-fault for that left my 6-month-old truck with $16,000 damage. Yup - that's a $16,000 line item on the Carfax for my truck which is going to completely screw my resale value when the time comes. They give zero craps about their customers...
1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?
If you have a good driving record in AB, you should pay around $110/month (women - $105/month and men - $113/month). Do you overpay? Get an Alberta car insurance quote to start saving.
 

Claims are a problem

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by drave Sep 11, 2019
Never had a claim of any kind. I was hit in a parking lot and put in a minor claim for $3000. The claims advisor with Desjardins assigned to my claim has never responded to any of my email inquiries or voice mails. WATCH OUT on Rental Car Coverage with this company. I have $1500 of coverage and my policy states "In return for the premium charged, we will reimburse you for the reasonable expenses of renting a similar substitute automobile." They will only authorize a regular rental car, not a luxury class car if that's what you drive. In my case, I am issuing a formal complaint regarding this. I need a rental car for 10 days. A luxury rental would cost $57/day for a total of $570 vs $40/day that they are authorizing. They simply will not honour their own policy wording and provide a "similar substitute" vehicle. They will lose 2 auto policies and one home policy over a difference of $170. Claim cheque issued was for the incorrect amount. They are claiming due to some kind of transposing error on entering the appraiser's estimate into their system(s). Terrible experience with this company when it counts - on a claim. Would NOT recommend them to anyone.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Frustrating Experience

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by cabisset Aug 25, 2019
Recently, I moved to a different "zone" that was apparently at a higher risk than what they were willing to insure. I figured that was what insurance was for... but I guess not. When I attempted to make the adjustment to update my address I was contacted by a representative who explained this to me. So despite I have been paying their company for 5 years, I was informed they would no longer insure me. I was also informed I had 10 days to get insurance before they would end my coverage. I was able to get coverage through a different agency for a significant amount less than what I had been paying. It has been 2 cycles now where they have billed me despite my coverage having been cancelled... by them. I contacted them the first time to get a letter indicating their mistake in case my bank required it. They sent this to me, which shows their mistake. Now I have to phone back a second time to correct their error, despite all of this being an issue that they created. Additionally, my payments continued to increase over time, despite I haven't been in any accidents. Needless to say, not overly impressed.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Bad driving record? Your insurance rates can be double the standard insurance rate. Let us help you get the better auto insurance rate without breaking the bank.
 

Horrible Experience

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by yycgarian Aug 15, 2019
We were in an accident that put us at 100% fault in a parking lot when it should have been a 50/50 - we were rear-ended when our car was not moving. We had an adjuster that was always on vacation, in a conference or out of office. We were passed around by several different people who knew nothing of our claim and had to read notes and have us constantly re-explain everything. When we tried to speak to our adjuster via email and by phone (left several messages) we were completely ignored. Some of the adjusters we spoke to were rude and unfriendly and we did not have a good experience with them either. Very unprofessional and highly dissatisfied with the service. Overall we would have rated them a negative if possible.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Good prices and good service

 
(5.0 out of 5 stars)
by Ex-Quebecer Aug 13, 2019
During the ten years that my car was insured with the Personal Insurance the premiums were always very competitive and stable. They even decreased slightly over that period despite one claim which was efficiently handled. After cancelling my insurance and emigrating to the UK, I subsequently found that I needed confirmation of my claims history to obtain coverage there. Since I was no longer even a potential customer, I anticipated problems. However, I emailed my request late one evening and was amazed to find the required confirmation in my in-box early the following morning. I would not hesitate to recommend The Personal Insurance to my friends.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Did you know that on average Ontario drivers with good driving records pay $1,805/year in auto insurance? Is your insurance rate higher? Get a free car insurance quote and start saving today.
 

I'd rate lower if I could

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Gemma Jul 19, 2019
We lost three vehicles due to flooding. Two were insured by The Personal, the third by another party. While the initial response was fairly good (as soon as the water dropped a local tow company came to fetch the vehicles), it's been downhill from there. The assessor took a week to see a car that had been *underwater* and decide it was a write-off but didn't assess the car that was parked up right next to it for another week because someone hadn't told him he had to both. We had full, for-new replacement insurance. It took another two weeks to get the settlement figure because they couldn't check a website to get a comparison cost correct. We finally get the settlement figure (which is the exact price on the website), and they forget to send the payment. Twice. They tell us that it's been sent to our bank as a direct deposit and will clear in three days. Only this was a lie and it was never sent to the bank. First we're told both cheques were couriered, then both mailed, then only one couriered - and that it had been signed for at "reception" so why didn't we have it (as though we'd lie about not having a cheque for $30k?) Turned out they had couriered one cheque to the wrong address, so we have to run around town trying to find who had it because they couldn't tell us. There was no "reception", it went to an old address that we had changed with them online, corrected over the phone when it didn't update, and then specified to them on three occasions was the wrong address. Luckily, we know the people who live there, and they were home for us to pick it up. They claim they mailed out the second one via Canada Post on a Sunday, but as of Friday, it's not arrived despite the mail having been delivered. They won't even confirm where they mailed it to, so that's fun. It also wasn't registered or tracked so I can't find out where it is. They lie to you constantly. They say anything to get you off the phone, with no respect to your time or the truth. Good luck if you want to speak to a manager to make a complaint about the constant lying because they will claim it takes 48 hours to reply and then never contact you. I won't shout at the call centre staff as it's really not their fault that their company is incompetent, but I've been lied by so many of them that it's hard to find anything positive to say about the experience. Actually one thing. They have agreed to pay us out, so that's nice. It would have been nicer if we had actually received the money as promised when promised. I'm starting to doubt the second cheque was ever sent in the first place. We are now without vehicles as the rental allowance has run out (technically it ends the moment you agree to accept the settlement figure, so in our case a week ago) NOT when they get around to paying you. So now we're out of pocket on top of everything else. Huh, turns out I don't have anything good to say about them after all. Avoid like the plague - we're recommending to our employers that they no longer work with this company.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Terrible Experience

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by SoulM Jul 16, 2019
A truck cut my vehicle off and while doing that he hit my car. Personal Insurance did nothing but making it more painful for me. First, they gave me a 50% at fault as they were too lazy to review the pictures and statements. Then I followed it up and said no way I will accept that. They eventually had me 0% at fault and now that I went to change my insurance to a new company there is a 50% at fault in the experience report which increases the price by 30%! I am fed up with Personal Insurance. The agent taking care of my claim was confrontational, brutal to deal with and just simply incompetent. I am trying Inova now and hope that it will be better.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?
If you have a good driving record in AB, you should pay around $110/month (women - $105/month and men - $113/month). Do you overpay? Get an Alberta car insurance quote to start saving.
 

Poor claim experience

 
(2.0 out of 5 stars)
by Guy Jun 12, 2019
I have been a customer of the Personal Insurance company for almost a decade now. I am a member of the Canadian Armed Forces (CAF), and this insurance company advertises itself to the CAF community that it takes extra care of the CAF members. I put in a claim for a car accident and after a week it was still radio silence from the claim adjuster. Every time I called the claim adjuster I got a voicemail that she would call back and she never does.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?