Car Insurance Reviews

The Personal Insurance Auto Insurance Reviews

This page has been viewed by: Please wait... consumers
(186 reviews)
The Personal Insurance
1.6 out of 5 stars:
Customer service:
Value for Money:
Claim experience:
Share your own experience
Write a review

Extremely bad company

by Fab on Feb 16, 2024
1 out of 5 stars

I’ve been with The Personal for over 10 years. Initially everything was really well and prices were unbeatable. In the last few years, prices have skyrocketed (I know this is the case for most insurance companies), however, their service has declined exponentially. I put in a claim and they took well over a month to assist me (was almost impossible to get a hold of their staff and management is nowhere to be found). I realized why they are much cheaper… They don’t actually assist their clients. They also sent me to their approved shop which tried (twice) to get me to proceed with work without being cleared by the claims advisor. Although they may be cheaper, I highly recommend staying away from this company as the process is stressful and they are not willing to assist honest people.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo

Worst possible customer support - run away from this company

by Steve Shein on Feb 13, 2024
1 out of 5 stars

I was hit from behind on the highway while stopped, my truck is probably totaled, but I have not had any response as to what my compensation will be. The other driver that hit me took full responsibility. It has been over 100 days with no resolution in sight. The first advisor was a complete waste of oxygen, would not answer the phone or reply to emails. After 5 weeks of her stupidity with no results, I got assigned another advisor who seemed to be more responsive at first, but he too is now earning the one-star rating, giving a date for resolution and when that date comes giving another date 2 weeks out. I will be pulling all of my vehicles from The Personal once this claim is settled, assuming it is during my lifetime.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo

Don't deal with The Personal Insurance

by Kunal Chandra on Nov 9, 2023
1.3 out of 5 stars

Don't deal with The Personal Insurance unless you want to get harassed and threatened by the claims advisors. Had an accident back in February 2023 and ultimately, the insurance company deemed it has driver fault whom hit my vehicle in a roundabout. It took almost five months to get my vehicle repaired and then the harassing phone calls came at home and as well as on my cell phone. At one point the claims advisor threatened me to have me in handcuffs, charged for failing to pay "The Personal Insurance Company for an extra $400", criminal charges against me in front to the repair shop, cancel my drivers licence and repossess my vehicle until I pay the extra deductible until was paid in full amount. Glad that I cancelled my insurance with The Personal and don't deal with them anymore.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo

Did you know that on average Ontario drivers with good driving records pay $1,805/year in auto insurance? Is your insurance rate higher? Get a free car insurance quote and start saving today.

They are just cheaters and scammers

by Anonymous on Nov 1, 2023
1 out of 5 stars

I had very bad experience with The Personal. I was on emergency medical trip and they requested some documents which I was not able to respond to in limited timeframe. They terminated my insurance and they just did it through letter which I received upon my arrival back to Toronto. They somehow assured me that new application would work and I provided all documents on the same day. The underwriting team cancelled citing the purchase is more than 60 days which didn’t and failed to provide insurance and kept me waiting this long. Pathetic company, it’s my first car and had bad experience with them

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo

WORST COMPANY SAVE YOUR MONEY AND SANITY

by Anonymous on Oct 17, 2023
1 out of 5 stars

Don't usually leave reviews, but this time I had to. Absolutely no regard for people's time or money, worst claim I have ever had no exaggeration. Paying for my services for 5 vehicles/units monthly, have contacted several times for last 3 weeks to receive copies. Still haven't received, don't waste your time. Worst insurance company and that's saying something considering there are several.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo

Absolute Worst Company

by Frequentreviewer on Oct 5, 2023
1 out of 5 stars

Car was hit by lightning and this company was a nightmare; in fact, worst company to ever had the unfortunate experience of dealing with. Sent adjustor out, in middle of claim was suddenly assigned another adjustor who wouldn't come out, had to chase down this company, finally could take car in, then at time to pay, the Personal said I probably did the damage myself (on my new car?!) - auto repair manager said he'd never dealt with any insurance company this bad.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo
Not happy with car insurance reviews for your insurance company? Get a quote across up to 20 Canadian car insurers and make sure that you do not pay too much.

Claims

by Raimond Vintuks on Sep 26, 2023
1.5 out of 5 stars

They are very good at taking your money but customer service is horrible. It's been 7 weeks and we still don't have the claims cheque. There are mistakes one after the other have resulted in this ridiculous delay. When the claims department is contacted the representative says there is nothing they can do about it, like direct deposit the claim amount. Would not recommend them.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo

Very Disappointing.

by Old Red on Sep 20, 2023
2 out of 5 stars

I made a small claim on my house insurance after the recent ice storm (spring 2023) for damage to the shed. Processing was fast and on-line. Just recently got the renewal policy for the house insurance and the premium has gone up $550 plus taxes. They will not entertain any changes to the premiums unless I increase the deductible to $1,000 (for everything) which reduces the annual premium by $88. BTW: I have two cars; trailer and two houses with The Personal. That will change. I am onto comparison shopping. Have been with The Personal for over thirty years. So much for that.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo
Bad driving record? Your insurance rates can be double the standard insurance rate. Let us help you get the better auto insurance rate without breaking the bank.