Credit Card Reviews

HomeTrust Secured VISA Consumer Reviews

This page has been viewed by: Please wait... consumers
(37 reviews)
HomeTrust Secured Visa
1.9 out of 5 stars:
Customer service:
Value for Money:
Product Features experience:
Share your own experience
Write a review

Where is my PIN

by Maki0987 on Jun 23, 2021
2 out of 5 stars

I applied and got approved fast and got the card within 10 days of posting the deposit but I never got the PIN. When I called them they said it was never processed and had no further explanation or apology. They said I had to wait for 7 to 10 days more to get a PIN but asked me to activate the card which I cannot use without the PIN. I called again after a week and no PIN and they said I would now have to wait 10 to 14 days for a PIN even though the place that prints these is close to where I live and so they blame it on Canada Post but not on their initial mistake. Why would someone process the credit card but not the PIN? I have to agree with other comments where customer service talks over you and won't let you get in a word. Won't use them again but need them now to fix my credit.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo

Home Trust Visa

by Stephanie on Jun 5, 2021
5 out of 5 stars

I've had this card for two years. It's my go-to for international travel. Never had any problems so far. I called customer service once to ask for a credit increase since they gave me a ridiculous low start. Customer service was friendly, knowledgeable and fast to get through. They did a soft check so no hit to my score and they doubled the limit.
This card is worth it if you travel.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo
Review topics

6 months and counting

by Dogfish on May 27, 2021
2.5 out of 5 stars

Applied in 2020, about a month later was approved and requested to send the damage deposit. I sent it in immediately. After a month later I phoned in, took an hour for the person to find if I even had an account, requested an elevation to get information and told me they would call back. A few weeks later with no callback, I phoned again, same thing, no information, told me they would get back to me and never did. Start calling weekly for updates, always told I would get a call back in 3 days but never do. After about another month they tell me to reapply to speed it up because their "new system is faster". I do but see no results. Finally, get fed up and try to cancel the damage deposit order via the bank to walk away, they had just deposited 2 weeks prior.

The only good/unfortunate thing about Home Trust is the CS reps are really very lovely people. I wish they were jerks so I could yell at them about this terrible company.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo

Scotiabank® Gold American Express® Card

Scotiabank® Gold American Express® Card

Earn up to 40,000 bonus Scotia Rewards points in your first year (that's up to $400 towards travel). Earn 5 Scotia Rewards points for every $1 you spend at eligible grocery stores, dining and entertainment 

Get this card / Apply online

Horrible

by Ian on May 3, 2021
1 out of 5 stars

7 months to issue card, wrong issue to the credit bureau, they cancelled the same day, then reissued the next day, that dropped my credit rating 17 points. Used about a month, then locked my account because the check was stale-dated, Mar 30, told send $1,000 deposit through my bank and would process as a deposit, April 5 account still locked, was told I might still have to send them another $1,000 check even though they have the $1,000 I already sent through the bank because it might not process it as a deposit, said would call me back in two business days, never got call back.
Couldn't log in may 3, was told it's still locked and they would try to process the $1,000 they still have of mine as a deposit, and they will call me back in two business days. Now I have a useless card, they have $1,000 of my money, I can't log in to see my balance, and if I cancel, my credit will take a hit. Also, if they mail your bill, you probably won't get it until after the due date.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo

Stongly Advise

by Keyboard Hero on Apr 19, 2021
2.3 out of 5 stars

Great rates, especially since they don't charge the % transaction fee when abroad, unlike the standard 2.5% from regular credit cards. However, their customer service is horrid. They don't know which problem goes to which department. Their third-party fraud monitoring is outsourced. The card was easily hacked online. If I have any further issues with this card, I will investigate a different product.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo

Takes a long time to get card

by Joanne on Mar 23, 2021
2.5 out of 5 stars

I applied in November 2020 & I understand that with COVID they had a backlog, but after doing a credit check on March 04, 2021. I would think that the application would be processed by now but have called several times & the representatives have escalated my inquiry on the card several times & to date, no one has called or emailed me any information. At this point, I am almost ready to put a stop payment on the secured funds & cancel my application.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo

Scotia Momentum VISA Infinite Card

Scotia Momentum VISA Infinite Card

Earn 10% cash back on all purchases for the first 3 months (up to $2,000 in total purchases). Plus, no annual fee in the first year, including on supplementary cards. A welcome offer value of $350. What else will you get:

 

  • 4% on eligible recurring bill payments and grocery store purchases
  • 2% on eligible gas station and daily transit purchases
  • 1% cash back on all other eligible everyday purchases
  • Complimentary Concierge Services 24/7 Visa Infinite Dining Series Visa Infinite Music Series Wine Country Wonders Luxury Hotel Privileges
  • Comprehensive Travel Insurance & New Mobile Device Insurance coverage

Get this card / Apply online

Terrible customer service

by Unhappy customer on Mar 21, 2021
1 out of 5 stars

Aside from the fact you can’t use tap with this card, or do any online banking. Their customer service is terrible. Will not listen - at all, despite multiple requests to do so “ please listen to me” and they talk right over you. They said “ you have to call home trust customer service “ I said “Please give me the number” about six times before actually getting the number even though I had called home trust visa customer service. Unbelievable. Not worth it! Get a prepaid visa instead. (By the way , we had a credit on our account and it was not due to maxed out cc). Stay away!

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo

Charged 4% forex fee

by Apat Naey on Feb 17, 2021
1 out of 5 stars

I tried HomeTrust because they advertise no foreign transaction fees but when I tried buying something on ebay and checked the exchange rate on VISA (usa.visa.com), the actual charge was 4% higher than the VISA advertised rate.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo
Review topics

Home Trust Visa ripoff

by Home Trust Company Garbage on Sep 26, 2020
1 out of 5 stars

I applied for the card in July and sent all required documents and deposit, waited over 10 weeks, still no reply, ended up cancelling my check, costing me money. Total garbage company and would avoid at all costs.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo
Review topics

Scotia Momentum Visa Infinite Card

Scotia Momentum Visa Infinite Card

Earn 10% cash back on all purchases for the first 3 months (up to $2,000 in total purchases). Plus, no annual fee in the first year, including on supplementary cards. A welcome offer value of $350. 

Get this card / Apply online

Never apply for their CC

by TinsleysMom on Aug 20, 2020
1 out of 5 stars

I am in the process of trying to repair my credit so a financial planner told me to get a Secured CC First and gave me 3 names to choose from. I didn't do any research and filled out their application online in mid-July. Within a day they had sent me the instructions about where and how much to send and how to label the money order. Nowhere on the site or in the email did they mention the turnaround time. I went to the post office and sent it off the next day. I waited a month and had heard nothing. Not even that they had received anything or the funds. I called the 1800 number and after waiting like half-hour finally spoke to someone. She informed me that as of August 10th, the department that processes the applications to move forward was working on files from May still. She said it was due to COVID but now from the other reviews I'm reading I learn it's been an issue for years. What a disgrace. I'll be calling first thing and be demanding they cancel my request and return my money order.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo
Review topics