Independent Credit Cards Consumer Reviews

HomeTrust Secured VISA Consumer Reviews

(16 reviews)
This page has been viewed by:
8,373
consumers
(1.9 out of 5 stars)
Customer Service:
Value for Money:
Product Features:
 

Excellent card

 
(5.0 out of 5 stars)
by Chris Apr 12, 2019
I have used this credit card for over 12 months. No complaints at all as to service. The application process, by email and then confirmed by mail, straightforward and uncomplicated. 1% cash back on purchases credited to the account in January. No foreign transaction fees. Additional feature - free roadside assistance, although I haven't yet to make use of this, and can not vouch for its effectiveness. Online statements, clearly written with the ability to track expense categories. Travel notification requires a telephone call. I’d suggest that this be included as an online service.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Not sure what credit card to choose? Our credit card comparison analyzes hundreds rewards, no-fee, travel and other credit cards to help you to choose the best one.
 

Card blocked .No weekend help

 
(2.0 out of 5 stars)
by Gover Mar 16, 2019
Happened in the US and again now. The card has $134 debit on it and was rejected by A Walmart and Canadian Tire machine this evening. No help from the 800 number, they said: we transfer you to the credit department. All we got then was a recording that “We are only open Mon-Fri 09-17. This definitely is not a credit card for travel, only a backup card. Good, I also have an MC and AE card. I never had a card with such bad customer service
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Home trust preffered Visa card

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Joke Feb 18, 2019
I applied in September 2018. Received PIN at the end of October. The card never arrived. Called them in Jan 2019. They said they are going to send a new PIN and a new card. Received the PIN in 10 days. Three weeks later no card arrived. Called them again. They asked for permission to block the card that never arrived. Promised to send new PIN in 10 days and a new card. What a Joke...
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Searching for the best rewards credit card? We compare hundreds of Canadian credit cards helping you to maximize your rewards points.
 

Prepared to be ripped off

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Flee Jan 08, 2019
DO NOT CARRY A CREDIT BALANCE WITH HOME TRUST VISA! I had a refund of over C$3,000 resulting from a credit balance. Called them on 18.12.10, 18.12.08 and again today 19.01.08 and was told "a request has been made to head office", yet my balance is still C$3,000CR both on-line and phone-in. They are going to make yet another "request" again for me, but I have a feeling that I will have to keep phoning to ask them to "make a request" for the rest of my life. I could go to ATM to do cash advance - $500 each time 6 times. But that will trigger a "small interest charge" because of the "timing" thing!
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Card put on Hold

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Stranded Jan 08, 2019
I used the card to make reservations in the US and to purchase tickets. I paid the balance in full before the due date for $3700. I went to use the card after that and the transaction would not go through. When I called, they told me the card was on hold/suspended for 5 business days. I asked why and they said it was because I paid by check. I was not at my credit limit either. Trying to get hold of someone first gets directed to Florida. The business hours are weekdays. Office closed over Christmas holidays. Finally contacted someone and all I could get is "I'm sorry sir, there is nothing I can do, the head office makes that decision". If you are relying on this card, don't count on it because you can get stranded unless you have another card, which cost me the transaction fee. So to actually have their card cost me money. No one can help you unless "sorry sir, there is nothing I can do" is considered help. What a joke of a card. You need to ask, what is credit? Will be cancelling it after I pay the balance and get another card that gives cash back for US transactions, thanks but no thanks.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Not sure what credit card to choose? Our credit card comparison analyzes hundreds rewards, no-fee, travel and other credit cards to help you to choose the best one.
 

Incredibly slow

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Disappointed Nov 03, 2018
I, like other reviewers, am appalled by the incredibly slow response time. I applied for the card over 8 weeks ago and leave for my trip to California in 2 days... it’s the weekend now, so will definitely not even have a chance of receiving the card! Unbelievable!! Others' credit cards are 2-3 weeks from application to having a card. Had I known, I would not get the card before leaving for my trip, I would not have applied. Thanks for nothing Home Trust!
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

administrative nightmare

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Frequent Traveller Sep 20, 2018
I applied for a card in Feb 2018, I called multiple times to check on the status, no straight answer, told I should be receiving in weeks. Months later no card, follow up call in Sept 2018 - was told it would be faster to re-apply. Requested to speak to supervisors, no answer, after investigation told my application was declined! I have an excellent credit score of 800+. Was told to check with Equifax, possible error in my files... weeks later I receive my report, address correct, excellent score. Home preferred trust did 3 checks ...2 x in Feb and again in April 2018. The only discrepancy was an old address that was not accurate. After reading other reviews I wonder if I trust this company. I guess I do not have a lot of faith given my experience of how they manage customer calls and concerns.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Searching for the best rewards credit card? We compare hundreds of Canadian credit cards helping you to maximize your rewards points.
 

Worst Ever

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by scottj13 Sep 05, 2018
These folks have been a nightmare to deal with ever since I applied for the card. Wait time for receipt of a card was inordinate with no practical way to even determine if the card was in process or the application was still pending. Called a few months back to advise - I was leaving the country and would be using the card overseas. The operator had no idea what to do or why I would even call to tell them this. Yesterday my card was blocked due to a suspicion of fraud concerning 5 charges in total. Only one of which was for the amount incurred. Called the "customer service" fraud people and was told the only charge they were actually interested in was for the correct charge. After I told them this charge was valid, I was told the block on my account had been removed. I asked why they sent other charges with a specific request that I approve them all. The response was that this was Home Trust practice. Then later told they were actually interested in all the charges by a supervisor and advised to contact Home Trust customer service directly to address them. When asked why I needed to when the card was now unblocked. The supervisor reverted to the standard practice mantra and them only being interested in one charge. The supervisor also told me all charges I was sent were dominated in US currency. When I told her this was strange given I was using a Canadian credit card, she claimed she was unaware of this. Really?
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

horrible service

 
(2.0 out of 5 stars)
by alehar Jun 09, 2018
Customer service is terrible, incompetent, and unwilling to help. I had not thought that somebody can do worse than the big Canadian banks. I wanted to make a large purchase exceeding my credit limit and thus overpaid my Visa bill to charge my account with extra money to make that purchase. While the money shows up on my account, I still cannot make the payment because the size of a payment that I can process is limited by my credit limit. Other credit cards allow you to spend as much as you want as long as the balance on your card does not exceed the credit limit. Customer service was totally unhelpful and connected me on purpose and without my consent to a department that was closed at the time of my call.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Not sure what credit card to choose? Our credit card comparison analyzes hundreds rewards, no-fee, travel and other credit cards to help you to choose the best one.
 

Still waiting

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Vegas Girl May 20, 2018
What the heck, applied for this card 4 months ago, still nothing, forget about calling them, you will be on hold for an hour and then hang up, what a joke
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

3 months later...

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Cvh May 15, 2018
Is this company for real? I've been waiting 3 months for my credit card to arrive! Called a month ago and was on hold forever. I understand they have a backlog, but seriously...
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Searching for the best rewards credit card? We compare hundreds of Canadian credit cards helping you to maximize your rewards points.
 

Not worth the wait & privacy??

 
(1.5 out of 5 stars)
by Mikeywow Apr 19, 2018
These guys are so disorganized. I've been waiting 8 weeks for my card and have emailed them twice to check on the status. Today they email me saying they need more info?? They want my passport and house taxes plus a bank or credit card statement? Seriously? I've never been asked for any of this and my credit score is perfect. Unbelievable.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Worst company ever

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by kobbler Apr 12, 2018
Home Trust Preferred Visa Totally the worst company I have ever dealt with for a credit card. Sit on the phone for 40 minutes and then get no answer to the question or problem. Take 2 months to send a credit card and you don't know if you approved for the whole 2 months. When expedited, they had a problem making the plastic card and don't inform you that it is not going to arrive by Purolator as expected. Have spent over 5 hours on the phone and get absolutely no resolution. They are great at giving you the runaround. Will drop them as fast as can be, when any other card company in Canada offers a no-fee foreign exchange on foreign currency purchases.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Not sure what credit card to choose? Our credit card comparison analyzes hundreds rewards, no-fee, travel and other credit cards to help you to choose the best one.
 

Best c.c to rebuild ur credit

 
(5.0 out of 5 stars)
by clizd Aug 04, 2017
I made a mess of my credit back in '02-'03, and had been slowly paying things off and clearing things up. It wasn't until I got Home Trust's secured visa and put $500 on it, till I saw a big difference in my rating. I made small purchases and paid them off IN FULL every month, as soon as I got my bill. I upped my credit by adding $200 more to make it $700 and my credit score went up again. For 3 years, I always paid that card off in full every month and now I was able to finance a car, get a line of credit and my own little $700.00 unsecured credit card. If you're serious about fixing your credit, get this card and utilize the benefits of it for the sake of your credit!
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Don't do it!!!!

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Don't do it May 10, 2017
Ten years after I had my card I've been told a 681 .00 balance is owing! It showed up on my credit rating in 2017. I had my card in 2007 and they have my 1000.00 deposit. Go buy yourself a cheap car to rebuild your credit or even finance a piece of furniture. They guys will screw you with fees. I've been fighting with them for months and I can't get a response that justifies their 10 years later fees!!! Run run run!
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Searching for the best rewards credit card? We compare hundreds of Canadian credit cards helping you to maximize your rewards points.
 

N/A

 
(4.2 out of 5 stars)
by Douglass H. Feb 29, 2016
Fair rates. I didn't get any rewards program with my card. Application was straight forward and the card was sent to me fast
1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Let InsurEye to find the best credit card for you
Compare 100+ cards
Compare rewards, insurance and other offering
Understand how much you can save
HomeTrust Secured VISA
16 reviews
5 Darkstar
(2)
4 Darkstar
(1)
3 Star off
(0)
2 Darkstar
(3)
1 Darkstar
(10)
Most helpfull reviews