Independent Life Insurance Reviews

Industrial Alliance Life Insurance Reviews

(34 reviews)
This page has been viewed by:
28,153
consumers
(1.2 out of 5 stars)
Customer Service:
Value for Money:
 

Sleezy

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by J.Abel Jan 06, 2020
Lies to their customers. Be sure to get everything in writing or they will tell you something different when you go to collect reimbursement from them
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Did you know that if you are a 35-year old female, a term life insurance policy for 10 years with coverage of $500,000 will cost you around $15-$20/month? Getting your life insurance quote today will allow you to lock-in a great rate.
 

Paperless

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by AN Dec 05, 2019
This company is full of it. If you are a client, go to My Client Space. The first thing you will see is their new post "Say goodbye to paper forms!" I have been sending claims online for about 4 years now. I am yet to have a claim that went through directly without them denying it first to request paper forms and receipts. And I am talking about ALL kinds of claims. (Health, dental, feet, glasses, physio...) This is sad.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Nurse lied on report

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by IA Nov 19, 2019
I had a life insurance plan with IA. At the plan inception, I was a smoker, so I needed a nurse visit. A nurse came and weighed me, took my blood pressure and left. A year after not smoking, I needed a review of my policy to now is a non-smoker. I honestly answered the questionnaire my mortgage broker gave me, as I did with him a year before - being VERY CLEAR about my cannabis consumption. Weeks later IA cancels my policy - it turns out, the original nurse lied on his report, stating that I had NEVER consumed alcohol, Cannabis, etc... and IA was blaming the LIE on ME! No return of any interest earned on the money they took from me, and I lose a year of catching up on a new policy with a different company. I would never use IA again!
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Did you know that mortgage insurance is the same as life insurance but more expensive and offers less protection? By cancelling it and getting life insurance , you would typically save around 30%-40% for the same coverage.
 

Scam

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Hamed Oct 02, 2019
This company is a fraud. After a year of playing around with our death claim and not responding they deny the claim with no valid reason. Of course, we are suing. Don't trust this fraud!
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Worst company ever

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by KarinaT Sep 26, 2019
Their booklet says one thing and they lie to you on the phone and via email and say things are not covered constantly. Most drugs are not covered, no labs are covered among so many other things! They will only pay back what is “customary” to their standards which is absolute garbage. Getting the coverage you need to send emails call and lose hours in your day. If you get a job and they are the benefits provider get another job! You will be paying them every month for no coverage! Run run run
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Not sure if you can qualify for life insurance with existing health pre-conditions? Let us to help you with a no medical life insurance quote , meaning that you do not need to pass a medical exam to qualify for a life insurance policy.
 

terrible company to deal with

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Jeff Sep 11, 2019
I submitted two claims and they never paid them out, I called them and they said they received my claims after the account was cancelled.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

What service?

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by no service Aug 28, 2019
I've been off work for 6weeks. I wasn't contacted till 30days after I went off. I was told they couldn't process my claim until I signed a release. They told me they would send a form for me to sign. Had to call them for 5 days. I signed it and was told they had 5 days to make a decision and it's been 8 business days since. I called to find out what was going on and my worker was off on vacation. Then I was contacted by another worker who absolutely lost her mind on me. I mean scream not yell SCREAM at me after I asked her why I hadn't been given a decision after 5days and that my file was not forwarded to another worker since the worker I was given was on Vacation. I've never in my life been treated with so much disrespect for asking why? I would never go with this company I thought the blue cross was bad but this company takes the cake. I was even refused her managers name.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Did you know there is a 35% chance of developing a critical illness before you are 65 and 65%-70% chance before you turn 81? That means getting a critical illness insurance quote is no less important than getting life insurance. Your choice.
 

Robbery

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Steve Aug 28, 2019
Not sure how these companies can legally operate. When reading through the fine print of these vehicle life insurance policies. They basically consider falling off a bicycle as a child as a preexisting condition and will deny your claim in the unfortunate event someone should pass away, which in my case, someone did. After fighting with them for several months trying to get the claim covered, it was denied, twice, when reviewed by 2 of the doctors who dealt with my fathers case, the company then go through his medical file with a fine-tooth comb and highlight "feeling tired" as being related to his cause of death and ultimately a pre-existing condition. Imagine a grieving wife having to deal with these companies all in the name of trying to claim a policy he was signed up for when purchasing a vehicle. I truly hope the employees who sign these rejection letters lose sleep every night and eventually step down to a career they can be proud of. So if you're thinking of getting life insurance through IA financial, I urge you to make sure you have never fallen down and scraped your knee! Shame on you all.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Making Claims

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Christina A Jun 26, 2019
I guess you get what you pay for ... The company I work switched about a year ago to save money, Al is the absolute worst. I pretty much have to call in after I make a claim to follow up. The website doesn't allow you to submit drug claims, I had to go through the message portal. 3 claims in, over 1k out of pocket and no response after 8 days I called - they still hadn't reviewed my claims nor was it in the system. Customer service responded with I should see payment within 5 business days .. SHOULD ... that is something as a paying customer I don't want to hear, I want certainty. Al, if you read these boards I suggest that you make your website more user friendly, listen to your customers, in the portal show claim process and have claims entered in a timely manner - Customers shouldn't have to waste their time following up, being put on hold and be out of pocket for long periods of time because Al is incompetent at doing their job.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Did you know that one in three Canadians, on average, will be disabled for more than three months before they turn 65? Get a disability insurance quote today to make sure your income is secure, even when you are temporary disabled.
 

Deeply Troubling

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by John C Apr 16, 2019
Thank God for this review board. I recently purchased a new vehicle at Coastal Ford Burnaby and was upsold on life/disability insurance through IA Insurance. After going home and reading the fine print of the AI contract, I was very troubled, I decided to dig further and came across their customer reviews. I was downright disgusted! I had to return to the dealership. Three times to finally get this crap canceled as I only had a 20-day window to do so. The cost of this insurance would have been $10,500, for what? To get the run-around and every claim denied as I've read through other people experiences... AI you are truly horrible, disgusting people to treat your hard-working clients this way...
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Worse and worse

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by lara Apr 11, 2019
They opened a policy against my will. The worst company and service. One day I called Industrial Alliance for a submission, needed information to compare prices. Then, they sent by mail a contract without my interest. I did not sign the contract, they still charged me 60$ and sent my file to the recovery agency. Now I have a bad history.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thinking of getting a life insurance quote from an insurance agent? They work for one insurance company and can only sell the products of that company. That may not result in the best rate for you. Our insurance brokers compare life insurance quotes across 20+ Canadian insurers for you.
 

Short Term Disability

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Darren J Apr 06, 2019
My employer uses Industrial Alliance, not a problem at first, Dental work carried out, receiving payments back straight away without delay. But in December I was at work and thought I was having a heart attack, I am pretty healthy overall so experiencing something like this scared the hell out of me. After a 6hr hospital visit, I was given the all clear, following day at work, same symptoms, shortness of breath, light-headed, and again couldn't continue. So after a doctors visit and more tests, we still could not get to the bottom of it, so after being off work for two weeks, and then another my employer sent off all documentation to our insurance provider being Industrial Alliance to get the process moving while still determining what was causing the issues that I was experiencing. So after 3 months of being off work, with medical notes going back and forth, and results of tests carried out, they were still not forthcoming with any good news for me, like they always wanted more. So after 3 and a half months, and them knowing I had a scope coming up and awaiting further blood tests, they denied my claim, without the results of the scope and the further blood tests. I have been diagnosed with Hypothyroidism, which explained all of the symptoms I had been experiencing, Industrial Alliance refused my claim even before the results came back, This is totally wrong, and I hope anyone thinking about using their services should think again. Passing judgment without the facts, non-communications after waiting months, Paying into an insurance company that is not there for their clients especially after what I have gone through really shows what they are like. They are not doctors, and should not be allowed to deny anyone what is rightfully theirs. The end result, not worth appealing their decision as they said I have the right to do as it will only be another 3 to 4 months of waiting for their so-called outcome. I am feeling better and looking forward to returning to work on Monday, and I will be sure to spread the word around work about this company and my experience with them.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

The bad reviews were right!

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Gabrielle C Apr 04, 2019
I did not have time to subscribe that I was already having a bad experience! I had a conversation with an agent to take info about all the insurances. I ask him to send me all the documents by email so I can read them and take a decision. 2 days later, with no info in my email, the agent told me in my voicemail that I had 2 choices: take an appointment to sign or sign electronically. Euhhhh hein? No thanks!
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Did you know that if you are a 30-year old male, a term life insurance policy for 20 years with coverage of $200,000 will cost you around $19/month? Getting your term life insurance quote today will allow you to benefit from a great rate.
 

Worst insurance provider

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by IA is horrible Mar 30, 2019
I have Industrial Alliance through my job, so I have no choice. I sent in a claim in February and still have not received my money. Just a heads up that for travel insurance, it is processed through a completely different company which is not advertised anywhere, everything was a hassle. You have to mail all documents into this place with no confirmation of receipt. 3 weeks it apparently took to receive. They wrote me a letter (in French, I am English speaking) to advise I was missing items even though the person on the phone said everything looked fine. I’ve resent items which they asked for, which seemed unnecessary (just seems like they’re stalling). No info on when to expect this to be finished. You CANNOT get through to customer service on the phone. You will be on hold for hours. You write a message on the mail option and it takes Weeks for a response. Unacceptable. If you have a choice, don’t use them. I think my org. may change as well.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

WORST experience ever!

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by tozhan Mar 15, 2019
I have a comprehensive benefit plan from my employer, the plan provider is Industrial Alliance (Short for IA thereafter). The customer service was the worst one I ever experienced! Every time I make a legitimate claim, the company will give me a hard time. They either hold for claim forever or do not respond at all! Their phone call is never able to get through. You have to send a message in your IA accounts and it takes weeks to get a response, AND a general response basically says NOTHING to answer your questions! DO NOT GO WITH THIS INSURANCE COMPANY!
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Planning to get life insurance to protect your family, including children? Make sure that you get enough coverage. According to studies, it takes about $250,000 in total to raise a child to the age of 18 (and that doesn’t include any post-secondary education costs).
 

Worst insurance company ever

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Viloch Feb 08, 2019
Worst insurance company ever. Will not process your claim despite having coverage for it, Won't pick up the phone, will not reply to your email. very much Frustrated & disappointed. This company is a crook.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Nothing but delays

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Tom Dec 21, 2018
This company has consistently missed callbacks. Delayed or not made decisions regarding my claim. I am told to wait 15 business days for appropriate and simple decisions. This lapses into months in real time. There does not appear to be any customer service orientation. I have received assurances from supervisors that there would be no interruption in my income transitioning from short to long-term disability. I don't trust this company. Too much stonewalling.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Not sure if you can qualify for life insurance with existing health pre-conditions? Let us to help you with a no medical life insurance quote , meaning that you do not need to pass a medical exam to qualify for a life insurance policy.
 

STAY AWAY FROM THIS INSURER

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by kastewart Nov 22, 2018
STAY AWAY!!! We have group insurance with IA. This is the worst insurance company yet in my almost 20 years with Lanark County. They will screw you at every opportunity. They will pull 100% valid claims at random for review and delay the payments to keep your money in their bank account. They will delay payment of valid dental claims that you have already received a pre-determination for coverage. You will need to set aside at least an hour if you try to call them. If their lines are busy, they will hang up on you. If you inquire about the length of time to pay a valid claim, they will only respond to your inquiry after the claim has been paid.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

The worst insurance company

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Unhappy Jun 23, 2018
This is the worst insurance company ever! My place of employment has just switched companies and we are now stuck with IA. Unfortunately, my health took a turn for the worst. While my family Doctor is telling me that I need to be put short-term disability, IA is refusing to pay. Apparently, they know more about my health than my Doctor that I've had for years. Hard to believe when the person that has declined my claim has no medical background whatsoever. This has cost me a ton getting all the information they needed to not pay out after. They say your claim will be decided on in 5 to 8 business days, but don't count on it. If you end up having to talk to somebody, you can have a nap waiting to get off of hold.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Did you know that mortgage insurance is the same as life insurance but more expensive and offers less protection? By cancelling it and getting life insurance , you would typically save around 30%-40% for the same coverage.
 

iA does not want to pay you

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by julieazalee Jun 14, 2018
Unfortunately, I’m having claims issues again with my medical supplies (took 3.5 months to resolve last year!). Here is where the troubles began….They lost one of my claims, took a few weeks to realize because they are so slow. I re-sent it. Then they asked me to send my latest ADP cheque stub (another delay), which I sent. So now they have a few claims, in excess of my government $487.50 grant. I called them asking why I didn’t get any money back from the last claim? Well…. Apparently, the total did not register as exceeding my ADP yet, so they had to resubmit all my claims again. I call back a few days later.... still no word, agent tells me my claim is being reviewed again. That is all she could tell me.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Crooks!

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by emjay May 17, 2018
I submitted a claim for drug benefits. After a month of stalls, they told me they had never received my claim and that I would have to resubmit. I know they are lying because they processed a much smaller claim I submitted in the same envelope. I got copies made of my receipts and resubmitted. Now I can't check on my claim because they have blocked my access to their website. I'm over 70. I believe they want seniors to close out their accounts because seniors are not as profitable as younger members. If you are a senior experiencing the same treatment, please post here. We might want to get together and sue for breach of contract.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Did you know that if you are a 35-year old female, a term life insurance policy for 10 years with coverage of $500,000 will cost you around $15-$20/month? Getting your life insurance quote today will allow you to lock-in a great rate.
 

almost a scam!

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Calgary888 Mar 25, 2018
They don't do what they tell you when you call the customer service and will mail you a warning to terminate the policy right away with a bunch of questions. If you're in your 50's, they will make any inquiries and process for you a hell because they want to get rid of you after paying them for years! In the end, your money for your dependents would just get sucked up by this leach business. Stay away!
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Very bad customer service.

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Selby Feb 23, 2018
I'm a client on the investment side. I called several times and they keep on passing me to another staff. Finally, a staff in Alberta took my call and the staff did not help and was rude and unprofessional. I told him that I will tell the manager about his attitude and he said: "Go on, I do not care if you tell the manager...". He sounds like he is so close to the manager that he will not get reprimanded. Finally, I took out my investments there! Well, I was not alone, frustrated co-workers of mine also took out their money because of the poor client service.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Did you know that one in three Canadians, on average, will be disabled for more than three months before they turn 65? Get a disability insurance quote today to make sure your income is secure, even when you are temporary disabled.
 

Poor customer service

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Ripped off Randy Jan 04, 2018
Industrial Alliance managed my pension and group life insurance for 15 years. When I changed employers, so did my group life insurance policy with IA. One day I received a bill for unpaid premiums and my file was being sent to collections. IA Customer Service would not close my file. Very unprofessional, unhelpful, high rates and bad customer service. I would not recommend this provider to friends or family. Beware!
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

assurance vie longue durée

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Civi Oct 13, 2017
Je suis sur l'invalidité depuis environ 3 ans et j'ai tellement de problèmes à avoir mes chèques que ce n'est même pas drôle. Donc, si vous pensez prendre une assurance invalidité, surtout pas avec l'industriel alliance, aucune compassion pour les gens qui sont malades.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Did you know there is a 35% chance of developing a critical illness before you are 65 and 65%-70% chance before you turn 81? That means getting a critical illness insurance quote is no less important than getting life insurance. Your choice.
 

Mauvais service et produit

 
(2.0 out of 5 stars)
by DC Sep 12, 2017
J'ai récamment eu a changer de compagnie d'assurance vie. Durant 5 ans, ma femme et moi avions pris une police chez Industrielle Alliance. Le conseiller, lors de la vente, était courtois. Après la vente, il appelait tous les 1-2 mois pour revoir notre dossier et nous proposer d'autres services (placements et autres). Un peu harcelant, mais je peux vivre avec. Dernièrement, un ami a moi deviens lui aussi courtier d'assurance et sa femme travaille comme courtier d'investissement. J'ai donc demandé une soumission d'assurances et un plan d'investissement qui s'est avéré très intéressant, plan auquel j'ai souscris. Aussitôt que mon courtier IA a appris la nouvelle, appel sur appel, sur appel... À toutes les conversations, son ton devenais agressif et très inapproprié envers ma femme, au point ou j'ai dut m'en mêler pour qu'il arrête de traiter ma femme d'infidèle et d'irrespectueuse de son travail (et je reprend ses thermes...). Je ne reviendrai plus chez IA pour aucun produit. Je l'ai appris à la dure, je ne referai plus la même erreur, et je ne recommenderai plus cet assureur.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Insurance cancelled

 
(1.5 out of 5 stars)
by Pauline May 17, 2017
My husband took out a Life Insurance 24 years ago, never missed a payment in 24 years. Just got a letter saying 'Unfortunately your current premium level is not sufficient to keep your policy in force. We paid $38.33 for 24 years and now in order for me to keep my policy they want $82.37 a month, more than double. We are just getting a senior pension and cannot afford this so we loose it all. Thank IA for nothing.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Did you know that if you are a 30-year old male, a term life insurance policy for 20 years with coverage of $200,000 will cost you around $19/month? Getting your term life insurance quote today will allow you to benefit from a great rate.
 

Cheap customer service

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by unsatisfied May 03, 2017
Once I talked to their customer service I decided to pull all my plans out. Customer Service is the front line of a company and 5 min into my conversation with their service rep. who had terrible service manner and no idea how to answer my questions it made me realize this company will let me hanging off the cliff when it is time for a claim.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Intrusive Medical Check

 
(2.0 out of 5 stars)
by New Mum Mar 08, 2017
The medical took us (2 adults) about half a day. I felt that many questions were very personal, and some of them didn't seem justified. The contracted nurse admitted that Industrial Alliance's medical application was the longest and most complicated medical she had seen. While our broker was acting like it was a sure thing, my husband's application was "postponed".
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thinking of getting a life insurance quote from an insurance agent? They work for one insurance company and can only sell the products of that company. That may not result in the best rate for you. Our insurance brokers compare life insurance quotes across 20+ Canadian insurers for you.
 

Refused wage replacement

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Mary L. Feb 09, 2017
I had wage replacement insurance through work . I received a neck injury resulting in surgery and permanent nerve damage. When I filed my claim , I was immediately denied . The company I worked for wrote letters on my behalf. The girl who was in charge of my case was rude , told me to not call her back but to call another person , which I did but no response. Five years later , still waiting.Have a lawyer but industrial is pushing it as long as it's possible. Have qualified and receive CPP . Others I have worked with have had problems as well . Would steer clear and go somewhere else if you have the option.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?