Life Insurance Reviews

SSQ Insurance Life Insurance Reviews

This page has been viewed by: Please wait... consumers
(12 reviews)
SSQ Insurance
2.3 out of 5 stars:
Customer service:
Value for Money:
Share your own experience
Write a review

Incompetence. Do not care.

by Helens on Feb 9, 2022
1 out of 5 stars

Terrible company. Have caused me nothing but stress! I had a massage on 10 January with an RMT who has his own clinic. They say they do not recognize him. I have supplied a receipt from him, proof of transfer and he has emailed them twice with his credentials. Each time I speak with them I have to go back to the beginning because they don’t know what I’m talking about. I’m going to report them to the insurance ombudsman for their total lack of competence.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo
Review topics

Best insurance company

by Sam on Jun 2, 2021
5 out of 5 stars

Every insurance company has negative and positive reviews, but SSQ it's the best company I have been deal with ever. Great customer service and very helpful.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo

Trust me

by Unhappy on May 14, 2021
1 out of 5 stars

Here is my story: I contacted the company a few days after my father’s passing to inquire whether his insurance policy would allow me to temporarily drive his car within another province. After being on hold for 30 minutes, the representative advises that she enacted “avenant 28”, an insurance clause in Quebec which essentially means that I will no longer be covered under my father’s insurance policy regardless of the province in which the vehicle is being driven. Where my intent was simply to confirm that I was being compliant, by asking those very questions I was deemed to be too “high risk”. As a result, I am now unable to even drive to the store to run errands for my newly widowed mother.
One thing is for sure: Do not believe for one second that SSQ cares about its clients.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo
Review topics
Not sure if you can qualify for life insurance with existing health pre-conditions? Let us to help you with a no medical life insurance quote, meaning that you do not need to pass a medical exam to qualify for a life insurance policy.

Disconnections are the norm

by Brenda Quinlan on Mar 26, 2021
1 out of 5 stars

4 weeks for a quote for the existing policyholder. The antiquated misogynistic practice of forcing women to identify as married or not ( Mrs only option) in a complaint form!!!
Disconnected so many times and no callback. Service is reprehensible when they are looking for new business, can't even imagine the horror if you need to make a claim.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo

Great company to deal with

by Ontario-Man on Dec 5, 2020
5 out of 5 stars

My dad took a policy 30 years back with SSQ. He passed away last year. During the claim process, I found that it is very easy to process the claim. The customer service was amazing to deal with. I would recommend this company to all. I myself have a UL with them with great growth so far.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo

The best Company I have found

by Madhab D on Dec 2, 2020
5 out of 5 stars

SSQ has the cheapest cost of Insurance for UL. And they have some extra free benefits in their term Insurance. Non of the companies are better than SSQ. I have my UL and my families UL with SSQ.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo
Review topics
Did you know that one in three Canadians, on average, will be disabled for more than three months before they turn 65? Get a disability insurance quote today to make sure your income is secure, even when you are temporary disabled.

Are negative stars an option?

by Kirsten on Aug 18, 2020
1 out of 5 stars

I saw another review that stated that it seems like customer service is instructed to stall for as long as possible - in my experiences with SSQ I would not credit malice where incompetence is clearly a factor. Complaints staff are poorly trained, give overwhelmingly conflicting information regarding documents that are needed (to the point that they directly speak against the wording of official documentation given out by the company), and there's no accountability. They are loath to follow up with actual written instruction, and I've only been able to catch them in lies by consulting my own notes that I've started writing after every horrible interaction with them. Avoid! I am lucky that I've got enough time, energy and spite (mostly) to call them out on their bull and get my due, but for those who are poorer health and don't have the luxury of time or desperate need for vengeance, I suggest you stay away.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo

Great customer service!

by Jason on Aug 6, 2020
5 out of 5 stars

I bought insurance with them last year and I have had a couple of changes to my policy so far. So far, I have no trouble in dealing with their customer service. It's weird because most insurance companies out there are difficult to deal with based on my experience. This is the first time I wrote a review for an insurance company because it's my first time that I am very satisfied with the insurance company's customer service.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo

Avoid SSQ

by DEM on Sep 10, 2019
1 out of 5 stars

The company was very nice in the beginning, but I never actually received a copy of my insurance policy! I continued paying them for close to three years (as life got busy-my bad), but when I finally did call them to try to figure out why I had not received a policy and what my policy covered exactly- they told me they had no record of me! After arguing with them back and forth for over 24 hours (speaking to at least 5 different people), and eventually showing them proof that they had been taking money from my account for three years, then suddenly were able to find me in their system.
When I asked for a copy of my policy, they said I had to pay $50.00. The customer service was awful, and no one could ever give me a straight forward answer. After looking into other policy's I now know their costs are much much higher, and for much less coverage.
Do not trust them, I am just thankful I smartened up and looked into this when I did!

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo

Thinking of getting a life insurance quote from an insurance agent? They work for one insurance company and can only sell the products of that company. That may not result in the best rate for you. Our insurance brokers compare life insurance quotes across 20+ Canadian insurers for you.

very bad experience!

by shulonghe@gmail.com on Feb 1, 2019
1 out of 5 stars

I wanted to cancel my life insurance with them in 2017. They tried to force me to renew my insurance policy with them! After I refused, the got a collecting company to send premium money collecting letter to me. Then I found they put bed personal credit record on me. I am going to take legal action on them.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo
Review topics