Independent Life Insurance Reviews

Desjardins Insurance Life Insurance Reviews

(14 reviews)
This page has been viewed by:
11,274
consumers
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
Customer Service:
Value for Money:
 

No customer service

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by erjaic Sep 20, 2018
Cancelled policy 2 years ago and they are still billing me! Trying to get ahold of a customer service rep is next to impossible.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Not sure if you can qualify for life insurance with existing health pre-conditions? Let us to help you with a no medical life insurance quote , meaning that you do not need to pass a medical exam to qualify for a life insurance policy.
 

Worst insurance agency

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Jess Sep 07, 2018
Waited 4 months just to get our policy after doing our questionnaire which is ridiculous. Tried giving them the benefit of the doubt and they are still messing up hardcore. Submitted a claim a month and a half ago and still haven’t gotten reimbursed. This company is a joke.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Nonsense

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Kallas Dec 11, 2017
Getting a claim from this place is a nightmare. Whenever u call them, they tell you that you need to wait another 5 days. Now it’s almost a month and still nothing has been processed. They keep telling me to wait 5 more business days Rate 0/10
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thinking of getting a life insurance quote from an insurance agent? They work for one insurance company and can only sell the products of that company. That may not result in the best rate for you. Our insurance brokers compare life insurance quotes across 20+ Canadian insurers for you.
 

They take too long!

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by kukla_35 Jul 14, 2017
They take way too long to underwrite their products. There are other insurers out there that give you less of a headache!
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

IfShould be zero stars!

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Sg May 11, 2017
Unbelievable! I have been on LTD since a head injury 4 years ago. I attempted to return to work three times, and prior to the last time I was placed on permanent partial disability. Unfortunately I have been unable to return to my work for a 4th time. I notified Desjardin 2 days after seeing my specialist and faxed her note. Two months later, they have refused to pay me and are not responding to repeated phone calls and emails, which is causing undue financial distress and the stress is exacerbating my symptoms. The only course of action is now legal! Don't deal with this insurance company!
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Did you know that if you are a 30-year old male, a term life insurance policy for 20 years with coverage of $200,000 will cost you around $19/month? Getting your term life insurance quote today will allow you to benefit from a great rate.
 

Not good for anything

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Fetus alive Apr 03, 2017
At first, they deny my disability claim and requested more documents to approve my claim but payment is taking forever. It's been about two weeks since I was approved, still no pay. They treat me like a rag. They have no regards for you whether you are in pains or trying to keep a fetus inside of you. I want them to know that we live in a society that revolves, what goes around comes around!!
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Inadequate Customer Service

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by dragonistic45 Dec 17, 2016
A few days ago, I tried to make an insurance claim through my group insurance plan (it is given to me via my workplace) therefore, as per instruction, I need to open a web account. However, when I tried to use my log in information, I found it wasn't working. I double and triple-checked all of my information, used my old passwords, and even tried to use the forgot you User ID Feature. However, none of these worked. So, when I finally decided to call them, I found that they only had their phone services open for Mon. to Fri. , and even then only from 9AM to 5PM they have their only customer service times directly on work hours, which seems like they are running away. What this company needs isn't a customer service line done by people, what they need is a customer service done via email to retrieve your forgotten passwords or information. Their customer service needs better hours like evenings, and weekends for better management and customers can make their claims,
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Did you know that if you are a 35-year old female, a term life insurance policy for 10 years with coverage of $500,000 will cost you around $15-$20/month? Getting your life insurance quote today will allow you to lock-in a great rate.
 

completely arrogant

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by hammer1 Oct 11, 2016
never pay out set their own rules asked for notes notes not good enogh then targeted my family no one picks up the phone one contact has an answering machine permantently. Thy treat you like scum they think you're trying to scam them but in reality the opposite is true. Why everyone is scared of them I do not know just try to wear you down so you don't even bother claiming and they have your money. I challenged the director at my company to survey their satisfaction with the plan but even he is scared the fix is in. The only way they operate is that they already have your money if they would send you a bill every month like Rogers, Bell etc.. I would have stopped paying months ago. The engage intotally unethical an dillegal behaviour in terms of claims supporting documents etc.. they just try to wear you down. How does a company constantly lose documents you send them It is a full time job to file, follow up and get paid from a claim. COMPLETE DISREGARD FOR THE CUSTOMER TREATS YOU LIKE GARBAGE. They actually denied massage therapy to my 6 year old son who had a prescription from his doctor CLASSY. Keep hidig Desjardins sooner or later you'll ghet caught. I'LL SEE YOUR IN COURT WHERE YOU DO NOT MAKE THE RULES
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Don't call us, we'll call you

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by davemtw May 27, 2016
It has been almost 4 weeks that I submitted my claim for an injury I had 5 weeks ago and when I call them to know what is going on, they basically tell me that they have no way of knowing where my file is because they don't have access to the system and give me an time estimate that changes every time I call. On top of that, I submitted some additional forms 1 week after I made the claim upon their request and when I call their customer service line they cannot tell me if they received the forms or not. What they told me is that it takes 5 days for the information to get to desjardins and then there is the normal treatment time of "whenever". That has been told to me by many representatives. All I have for proof that the documents where sent is an email confirmation. Very inhumane treatment... this is my health and not a dishwasher I am buying.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Did you know that mortgage insurance is the same as life insurance but more expensive and offers less protection? By cancelling it and getting life insurance , you would typically save around 30%-40% for the same coverage.
 

Weasels

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Rick Apr 20, 2016
My company group plan ( 1000+ members ) has been with them for 10+ years. We are switching out of them because they are a nightmare to deal with. I personally just had a terrible experience with them as they will use any weasley method available to not pay their bills. Rick
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Discriminatory policy

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Steve Mar 18, 2016
This company has a discriminatory policy against people with mental health issues. The company declined my application for extended coverage because the representative of the company suggested that I must cede my medication for mental illness and risk my health and life if I want them to reconsider my application.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Planning to get life insurance to protect your family, including children? Make sure that you get enough coverage. According to studies, it takes about $250,000 in total to raise a child to the age of 18 (and that doesn’t include any post-secondary education costs).
 

Worst Customer Experience Ever

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by cjh2 May 11, 2015
Got an individual disability for my girlfriend in September, but now she has a group plan. I called to ask for a cancellation form, and they directed me to every department possible. Group, to Quebec, then to Toronto, they don't make any forms available just to make you run around. I would recommend anyone to use any insurance company besides them, I've never had to run around like they made me run around to cancel a small disability individual insurance. Because of this, I will ask my parents to cancel their group one as well, because if it takes them this long to send a form it'll probably take double to finish a claim.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Huge Mistake

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by desjardinsucks Nov 09, 2014
The company I am employed by recently switched from another insurance company to Desjardins Insurance. Big mistake. In less than a year of the switch, many employees including myself have had to jump through hoops in regards to coverage. They will not pay what they say they cover unless you go far out of your way to request a reimbursement check. Most recently, they have cancelled covering a surgery I had and denied my disability claim because they say it was not filed in time. The hospital only fills out the forms to send to the insurance company after the surgery, and only after the surgery. Desjardins cancelled and refused coverage a week before I had to go for the surgery itself. These people are scum. Avoid using them at all costs.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Did you know there is a 35% chance of developing a critical illness before you are 65 and 65%-70% chance before you turn 81? That means getting a critical illness insurance quote is no less important than getting life insurance. Your choice.
 

Sacred Trust

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by bilium Oct 25, 2014
When I give a company access to my bank account I expect them to respect that trust. My automatic payments were increased 5-fold without notification. I tracked down the agent who I like, but suffered through a less than satisfactory explanation. I will never trust this company taking money direct monthly - ever. I cancelled all policies and am waiting for the refund
1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?