Independent Life Insurance Reviews

Desjardins Insurance Life Insurance Reviews

(24 reviews)
This page has been viewed by:
17,001
consumers
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
Customer Service:
Value for Money:
 

AWFUL STAY AWAY

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Frustratedgirl Jan 21, 2020
Never have I had such terrible customer service especially when you are dealing with health issues. IF I COULD RATE THIS COMPANY AT 0 I WOULD! I decided to take life and disability insurance with my mortgage. Sent in all my paperwork and have proof. I pay for insurance for 1.5 years. I get sick and need to claim short term disability. They say they never received my information. I provide information. Then my complete medical file has to be sent. They deny my claim. Say my branch will refund the premiums. Branch says they need insurance decision to supply info 6 months later still trying for resolution!
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Did you know that one in three Canadians, on average, will be disabled for more than three months before they turn 65? Get a disability insurance quote today to make sure your income is secure, even when you are temporary disabled.
 

Life Insurance denied

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by tara Nov 07, 2019
About a year and a half ago my husband and I were advised that we were eligible for an increase in our life insurance on our house. The agent at the time advised us that we could get more coverage for a better rate. We went in and set up for each of us to have a medical questionnaire and for a nurse to come in and do a basic physical. The nurse they sent was, in my unprofessional opinion, was awful. She could not draw blood from my husband (she tried for at least 20 min.) and she tried several attempts to take my blood pressure and finally got it (my arm was sore afterwards). Fast forward a few weeks(not exactly sure how long it was) I get a letter saying that I have been denied and that I SHOULD CONTACT MY REPRESENTATIVE. Freaking out, I did and he was very unhelpful. He had no idea why I was denied (he told me he thought I was approved) and proceeded to hint that I may have "forgotten" or "left out" an outstanding issue. He suggested I contact my doctor to have a discussion with him and maybe he could tell me why as the agent was not able to get a reason due to confidentiality. So I did make a doctor's appointment (I got the letter late Friday afternoon so I had to wait till Monday morning to make an appointment) but it was 6 weeks after I had received my letter of denial. I called my agent back to let him know I did have a doctor's appointment in 6 weeks and he said the reason for me being denied would be sent to my doctor ad should be there in time for my appointment. There was nothing sent to my doctor and, as I thought, there was nothing in my medical records showing that I should have been denied. I have a clean bill of health and am not on any medications. My doctor was surprised I couldn't get more insurance. My husband and I immediately pulled our insurance out and went elsewhere and are very happy. You think that is where it ends but a few weeks ago I called my insurance office (I still have car insurance with them) to ask about when I should put my snow tires on. Long story short, there is a new life insurance rep (it seems they have a high turn over rate at my location) and we got talking about my life insurance denial. She "looked into it" and basically told me my doctor did receive the letter they sent in the mail (which I'm sure he didn't) and that my doctor LIED TO ME about not receiving this letter. She also suggested that I would have a hard time getting life insurance if I didn't allow them to look into the reason for my denial and proceeded to tell me that I should come in for a quote from them. I told her that I did already have life insurance with another company and that we are very happy where we are. The bottom line I will be pulling any other insurances I have with them as soon as I am able to. They have horrible customer service and they make it seem that they are the only ones that provide insurance to you.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Website is from the '80's!

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by JustWantToKnow Oct 24, 2019
Weak search and display design. Hard to get/find info. They don't want the customer knowing how much they have left to spend on their health care! Just plain dishonest. Typical - no integrity!
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thinking of getting a life insurance quote from an insurance agent? They work for one insurance company and can only sell the products of that company. That may not result in the best rate for you. Our insurance brokers compare life insurance quotes across 20+ Canadian insurers for you.
 

Denial by design

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Waiting for payment Sep 25, 2019
Just follow these easy steps to claim your $200.00 towards $400 orthopedics: From your physician/healthcare professional: 1. Original recommendation/referral from the physician or authorized healthcare professionals, including the diagnosis that determined that the foot orthotics or orthopedic shoes were necessary. The orthotics or shoes must be prescribed before you buy them, and the recommendation/referral must be recent for the expenses to be eligible. From the supplier: 2. Original receipt with the provider’s name and address, date the provider received the foot orthotics or orthopedic shoes, patient’s name and cost breakdown. 3. The date you picked up your orthotics or orthopedic shoes. 4. Confirmation that the orthotics or orthopedic shoes have been paid for in full. 5. Copies of the biomedical exam results and gait analysis results, both dated and signed by the healthcare professional. Note: The examination must be performed by a healthcare professional who is a member in good standing of a provincial or Canadian professional association recognized by Desjardins Insurance. The examination must be within the scope of the professional’s abilities and recognized field, and it must have been performed by the specialist identified on the receipt. 6. Complete description of the process used to create the foot orthotics or orthopedic shoes, including the casting technique and the raw material used. Only techniques using a three-dimensional (3-D) image or unique 3-D cast impression of the feet using a raw material are eligible. 7. A copy of the manufacturing lab’s invoice with: patient’s name, qualifications/credentials, including name, address and telephone number of the laboratory, date the provider placed the order and the date it was delivered to the provider, type of orthotics for footwear modification claims, a receipt detailing the cost of the modifications is required, along with the documents listed above. Once you've done all this just fax it all to them and wait for them to decide if they are going to pay it or request further documentation to support your claim. My employer used to use Great West and it was great. EVERYBODY I talk to at work HATES Desjardins.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Very poor management

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Chris Jul 15, 2019
I had been waiting for about 2 months without pay on somebody to make a decision on my file, every time I call customer service is very kind but can never solve the issue or they tell me that someone will call me with a decision in x business days. Always extending the deadline.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Did you know that mortgage insurance is the same as life insurance but more expensive and offers less protection? By cancelling it and getting life insurance , you would typically save around 30%-40% for the same coverage.
 

Beware!

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by C.K. May 21, 2019
They take your money no problem but don't want to pay out. They will look for ANY excuse. It doesn't even matter if your doctor fights for you. They don't care if you can't work or pay your bills. Good luck to anyone who deals with this company. Or maybe it's all insurance companies I don't know. It's just disgusting.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

CSR

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by PISSED OFF Apr 01, 2019
This is the worst insurance on this planet. It takes at least almost an hour to get a hold of the CSR. Also, the CSRs are very rude and not ready to help.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Did you know that if you are a 30-year old male, a term life insurance policy for 20 years with coverage of $200,000 will cost you around $19/month? Getting your term life insurance quote today will allow you to benefit from a great rate.
 

They have screwed me over

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Verymadcustomer Feb 28, 2019
I have given my full medical history and this company decided to deny my life insurance. On top of that, they refuse to tell me why they denied it. So now I am going to have troubles in the future trying to get life insurance anywhere else because I don’t even know why I got denied. I will be cancelling all my family members current life insurance and go somewhere else. Thanks a lot for screwing me over. NEVER go with this company, you will probably get screwed over.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Group health care

 
(2.0 out of 5 stars)
by Ferris Jan 23, 2019
The issue first started when they did not fully reimburse my 90 mins massage. I had to call in and explain this was a 90 min massage and not a 60. They reimbursed me after I called in. A Typical Chiropractor bill for me is between $145-170/session. There are multiple treatments per session. - Adjustment - Acupuncture - Gastron - Laser - Shockwave. They say you are only allowed to receive a maximum $70/session even though the claim I made is $145-$170. How does this make any sense?? You claim $145 and they give you only $70?? I even spoke to the people at my chiropractor office and they said that does not make sense. If I have a limit of $500, then I should be able to use all that up. I will be inquiring about a different health care provider.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Did you know that if you are a 35-year old female, a term life insurance policy for 10 years with coverage of $500,000 will cost you around $15-$20/month? Getting your life insurance quote today will allow you to lock-in a great rate.
 

No customer service

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by erjaic Sep 20, 2018
Cancelled policy 2 years ago and they are still billing me! Trying to get ahold of a customer service rep is next to impossible.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Worst insurance agency

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Jess Sep 07, 2018
Waited 4 months just to get our policy after doing our questionnaire which is ridiculous. Tried giving them the benefit of the doubt and they are still messing up hardcore. Submitted a claim a month and a half ago and still haven’t gotten reimbursed. This company is a joke.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Not sure if you can qualify for life insurance with existing health pre-conditions? Let us to help you with a no medical life insurance quote , meaning that you do not need to pass a medical exam to qualify for a life insurance policy.
 

Nonsense

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Kallas Dec 11, 2017
Getting a claim from this place is a nightmare. Whenever u call them, they tell you that you need to wait another 5 days. Now it’s almost a month and still nothing has been processed. They keep telling me to wait 5 more business days Rate 0/10
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

They take too long!

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by kukla_35 Jul 14, 2017
They take way too long to underwrite their products. There are other insurers out there that give you less of a headache!
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Did you know there is a 35% chance of developing a critical illness before you are 65 and 65%-70% chance before you turn 81? That means getting a critical illness insurance quote is no less important than getting life insurance. Your choice.
 

IfShould be zero stars!

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Sg May 11, 2017
Unbelievable! I have been on LTD since a head injury 4 years ago. I attempted to return to work three times, and prior to the last time I was placed on permanent partial disability. Unfortunately I have been unable to return to my work for a 4th time. I notified Desjardin 2 days after seeing my specialist and faxed her note. Two months later, they have refused to pay me and are not responding to repeated phone calls and emails, which is causing undue financial distress and the stress is exacerbating my symptoms. The only course of action is now legal! Don't deal with this insurance company!
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Not good for anything

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Fetus alive Apr 03, 2017
At first, they deny my disability claim and requested more documents to approve my claim but payment is taking forever. It's been about two weeks since I was approved, still no pay. They treat me like a rag. They have no regards for you whether you are in pains or trying to keep a fetus inside of you. I want them to know that we live in a society that revolves, what goes around comes around!!
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Planning to get life insurance to protect your family, including children? Make sure that you get enough coverage. According to studies, it takes about $250,000 in total to raise a child to the age of 18 (and that doesn’t include any post-secondary education costs).
 

Inadequate Customer Service

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by dragonistic45 Dec 17, 2016
A few days ago, I tried to make an insurance claim through my group insurance plan (it is given to me via my workplace) therefore, as per instruction, I need to open a web account. However, when I tried to use my log in information, I found it wasn't working. I double and triple-checked all of my information, used my old passwords, and even tried to use the forgot you User ID Feature. However, none of these worked. So, when I finally decided to call them, I found that they only had their phone services open for Mon. to Fri. , and even then only from 9AM to 5PM they have their only customer service times directly on work hours, which seems like they are running away. What this company needs isn't a customer service line done by people, what they need is a customer service done via email to retrieve your forgotten passwords or information. Their customer service needs better hours like evenings, and weekends for better management and customers can make their claims,
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

completely arrogant

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by hammer1 Oct 11, 2016
never pay out set their own rules asked for notes notes not good enogh then targeted my family no one picks up the phone one contact has an answering machine permantently. Thy treat you like scum they think you're trying to scam them but in reality the opposite is true. Why everyone is scared of them I do not know just try to wear you down so you don't even bother claiming and they have your money. I challenged the director at my company to survey their satisfaction with the plan but even he is scared the fix is in. The only way they operate is that they already have your money if they would send you a bill every month like Rogers, Bell etc.. I would have stopped paying months ago. The engage intotally unethical an dillegal behaviour in terms of claims supporting documents etc.. they just try to wear you down. How does a company constantly lose documents you send them It is a full time job to file, follow up and get paid from a claim. COMPLETE DISREGARD FOR THE CUSTOMER TREATS YOU LIKE GARBAGE. They actually denied massage therapy to my 6 year old son who had a prescription from his doctor CLASSY. Keep hidig Desjardins sooner or later you'll ghet caught. I'LL SEE YOUR IN COURT WHERE YOU DO NOT MAKE THE RULES
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Did you know that mortgage insurance is the same as life insurance but more expensive and offers less protection? By cancelling it and getting life insurance , you would typically save around 30%-40% for the same coverage.
 

Don't call us, we'll call you

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by davemtw May 27, 2016
It has been almost 4 weeks that I submitted my claim for an injury I had 5 weeks ago and when I call them to know what is going on, they basically tell me that they have no way of knowing where my file is because they don't have access to the system and give me an time estimate that changes every time I call. On top of that, I submitted some additional forms 1 week after I made the claim upon their request and when I call their customer service line they cannot tell me if they received the forms or not. What they told me is that it takes 5 days for the information to get to desjardins and then there is the normal treatment time of "whenever". That has been told to me by many representatives. All I have for proof that the documents where sent is an email confirmation. Very inhumane treatment... this is my health and not a dishwasher I am buying.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Weasels

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Rick Apr 20, 2016
My company group plan ( 1000+ members ) has been with them for 10+ years. We are switching out of them because they are a nightmare to deal with. I personally just had a terrible experience with them as they will use any weasley method available to not pay their bills. Rick
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Not sure if you can qualify for life insurance with existing health pre-conditions? Let us to help you with a no medical life insurance quote , meaning that you do not need to pass a medical exam to qualify for a life insurance policy.
 

Discriminatory policy

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Steve Mar 18, 2016
This company has a discriminatory policy against people with mental health issues. The company declined my application for extended coverage because the representative of the company suggested that I must cede my medication for mental illness and risk my health and life if I want them to reconsider my application.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Worst Customer Experience Ever

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by cjh2 May 11, 2015
Got an individual disability for my girlfriend in September, but now she has a group plan. I called to ask for a cancellation form, and they directed me to every department possible. Group, to Quebec, then to Toronto, they don't make any forms available just to make you run around. I would recommend anyone to use any insurance company besides them, I've never had to run around like they made me run around to cancel a small disability individual insurance. Because of this, I will ask my parents to cancel their group one as well, because if it takes them this long to send a form it'll probably take double to finish a claim.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Did you know there is a 35% chance of developing a critical illness before you are 65 and 65%-70% chance before you turn 81? That means getting a critical illness insurance quote is no less important than getting life insurance. Your choice.
 

Misrepresenting

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Gus Mar 29, 2015
Makes a false statement with the intent to deceive the prospective insured in order to knowingly obtain an unlawful gain. Unfair or deceptive acts/practices. Acting as agent of the client without the client acknowledge/Forge Clients Signature. They re-did the legal application behind customer's back and resign customers name without the customer acknowledge and submit the following false information to obtain unlawful financial gain: with no medical information to obtain a better insurable rate for the prospective policyholder as medical release form was signed and handed back. No saliva was taken upon the application as a basic procedure Acting as an agent when unlicensed or suspended: the agent was soliciting while his license was revoked by Financial Services Commission Of Ontario from May 2008 – Aug 7, 2014. Acting as an agent of Desjardin Insurance as the contract was terminated: the agent was misrepresenting Desjardins Insurance as his contract was terminated by Desjardins Insurance on May 2008 and having his colleague adding his name and signing legal application as an agent of the client false. A complaint has been file through Financial Services Commission Of Ontario.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Huge Mistake

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by desjardinsucks Nov 09, 2014
The company I am employed by recently switched from another insurance company to Desjardins Insurance. Big mistake. In less than a year of the switch, many employees including myself have had to jump through hoops in regards to coverage. They will not pay what they say they cover unless you go far out of your way to request a reimbursement check. Most recently, they have cancelled covering a surgery I had and denied my disability claim because they say it was not filed in time. The hospital only fills out the forms to send to the insurance company after the surgery, and only after the surgery. Desjardins cancelled and refused coverage a week before I had to go for the surgery itself. These people are scum. Avoid using them at all costs.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Did you know that if you are a 30-year old male, a term life insurance policy for 20 years with coverage of $200,000 will cost you around $19/month? Getting your term life insurance quote today will allow you to benefit from a great rate.
 

Sacred Trust

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by bilium Oct 25, 2014
When I give a company access to my bank account I expect them to respect that trust. My automatic payments were increased 5-fold without notification. I tracked down the agent who I like, but suffered through a less than satisfactory explanation. I will never trust this company taking money direct monthly - ever. I cancelled all policies and am waiting for the refund
1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?