Life Insurance Reviews

Desjardins Insurance Life Insurance Reviews

This page has been viewed by: Please wait... consumers
(10 reviews)
Desjardins Insurance
1 out of 5 stars:
Customer service:
Value for Money:
Share your own experience
Write a review

Stay away from Desjardins

by Grace Liu on Jul 29, 2021
1 out of 5 stars

I would give Desjardins negative 5 stars if there is one. Worst customer service ever. From agent to a manager, Desjardins doesn't care about its customers. My life insurance was with StateFarm, everything went very well until Desjardins took the business. The customer service is terrible. They don't know what they are talking about. They received complete payment instruction which they claimed they didn't receive. They lie. They ignore the customer and put me on hold for more than half-hour for nothing. I called them countless times for one easy task. They failed me at all times. The agent even asked me to cancel my insurance contract if I am not satisfied with their services. Very rude people. Please stay away from Desjardins Insurance!!!!

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo

No thank you!

by Timothy on Mar 17, 2021
1 out of 5 stars

Long story short. State Farm Customer for over 30 years. I had a 10-year term policy expiring and Desjardins urged me to apply for another policy before this one expired. I did. I was turned down for "medical reasons" (That was news to my doctor) and that they would not be offering me a new policy. Then I received an unsigned photocopy offer from them to continue my present policy for another 10 years at triple the previous rate. If you are a younger person reading this, find a good agent with a reliable company and put your business with them. Desjardins is not a company to grow old with.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo

Desjardins Financial Services

by Truth on Feb 26, 2021
1 out of 5 stars

If you want to die early and have your life on edge all the time. Financially, physically, mentally, verbally and spiritually abused then do not join them. They are the reason why I have complex ptsd. They terrorized my existence. Make sure you keep a record of what they say because they play with what they say. They will say that they will cover you and then change their mind. If you have disabilities they call you lazy and say other hurtful things. They have been months where I haven't gotten paid. Sometimes 1.5 months and 2 months would not get paid. They keep changing your caseworker on you on purpose whereby you have to repeat everything to them and resend everything. They want to continuously mentally bully you. I have had agents who tell me that I should quit my job and quit getting insurance with them.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo
Planning to get life insurance to protect your family, including children? Make sure that you get enough coverage. According to studies, it takes about $250,000 in total to raise a child to the age of 18 (and that doesn’t include any post-secondary education costs).

Avoid like the plague

by Jimbo636 on Dec 18, 2020
1 out of 5 stars

I have a life insurance policy with this company dating back to October 1991. I am now a retiree, living on a fixed income and finding it difficult to meet the monthly premium, which increases significantly each year. So I requested quotes on what the premiums would be if I reduced the coverage (from the current $50,000) to $25,000, $30,000 and $35,000. The quote for $25,000 coverage was only slightly lower than for my current $50,000 and the $30,000 and $35,000 coverage had premiums HIGHER than the current premium! My representative informed me 'the rate goes up because when the insurance amount goes down the cost of insurance per thousand goes up'. This, of course, makes no sense, since the premiums for LOWER coverage are HIGHER than currently. I am contacting the Life Insurance Ombudsman by way of one last effort but, though I want to leave something for my children, am inclined to just close this policy totally. AVOID!

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo

AWFUL STAY AWAY

by Frustratedgirl on Jan 21, 2020
1 out of 5 stars

Never have I had such terrible customer service especially when you are dealing with health issues. IF I COULD RATE THIS COMPANY AT 0 I WOULD! I decided to take life and disability insurance with my mortgage. Sent in all my paperwork and have proof. I pay for insurance for 1.5 years. I get sick and need to claim short term disability. They say they never received my information. I provide information. Then my complete medical file has to be sent. They deny my claim. Say my branch will refund the premiums. Branch says they need insurance decision to supply info 6 months later still trying for resolution!

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo

Life Insurance denied

by tara on Nov 7, 2019
1 out of 5 stars

About a year and a half ago my husband and I were advised that we were eligible for an increase in our life insurance on our house. The agent at the time advised us that we could get more coverage for a better rate. We went in and set up for each of us to have a medical questionnaire and for a nurse to come in and do a basic physical. The nurse they sent was, in my unprofessional opinion, was awful. She could not draw blood from my husband (she tried for at least 20 min.) and she tried several attempts to take my blood pressure and finally got it (my arm was sore afterwards). Fast forward a few weeks(not exactly sure how long it was) I get a letter saying that I have been denied and that I SHOULD CONTACT MY REPRESENTATIVE. Freaking out, I did and he was very unhelpful. He had no idea why I was denied (he told me he thought I was approved) and proceeded to hint that I may have "forgotten" or "left out" an outstanding issue. He suggested I contact my doctor to have a discussion with him and maybe he could tell me why as the agent was not able to get a reason due to confidentiality. So I did make a doctor's appointment (I got the letter late Friday afternoon so I had to wait till Monday morning to make an appointment) but it was 6 weeks after I had received my letter of denial. I called my agent back to let him know I did have a doctor's appointment in 6 weeks and he said the reason for me being denied would be sent to my doctor ad should be there in time for my appointment. There was nothing sent to my doctor and, as I thought, there was nothing in my medical records showing that I should have been denied. I have a clean bill of health and am not on any medications. My doctor was surprised I couldn't get more insurance. My husband and I immediately pulled our insurance out and went elsewhere and are very happy. You think that is where it ends but a few weeks ago I called my insurance office (I still have car insurance with them) to ask about when I should put my snow tires on. Long story short, there is a new life insurance rep (it seems they have a high turn over rate at my location) and we got talking about my life insurance denial. She "looked into it" and basically told me my doctor did receive the letter they sent in the mail (which I'm sure he didn't) and that my doctor LIED TO ME about not receiving this letter. She also suggested that I would have a hard time getting life insurance if I didn't allow them to look into the reason for my denial and proceeded to tell me that I should come in for a quote from them. I told her that I did already have life insurance with another company and that we are very happy where we are. The bottom line I will be pulling any other insurances I have with them as soon as I am able to. They have horrible customer service and they make it seem that they are the only ones that provide insurance to you.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo
Not sure if you can qualify for life insurance with existing health pre-conditions? Let us to help you with a no medical life insurance quote, meaning that you do not need to pass a medical exam to qualify for a life insurance policy.

They have screwed me over

by Verymadcustomer on Feb 28, 2019
1 out of 5 stars

I have given my full medical history and this company decided to deny my life insurance. On top of that, they refuse to tell me why they denied it. So now I am going to have troubles in the future trying to get life insurance anywhere else because I don’t even know why I got denied. I will be cancelling all my family members current life insurance and go somewhere else. Thanks a lot for screwing me over. NEVER go with this company, you will probably get screwed over.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo
Review topics

No customer service

by erjaic on Sep 20, 2018
1 out of 5 stars

Cancelled policy 2 years ago and they are still billing me! Trying to get ahold of a customer service rep is next to impossible.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo

They take too long!

by kukla_35 on Jul 14, 2017
1 out of 5 stars

They take way too long to underwrite their products. There are other insurers out there that give you less of a headache!

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo
Review topics

Thinking of getting a life insurance quote from an insurance agent? They work for one insurance company and can only sell the products of that company. That may not result in the best rate for you. Our insurance brokers compare life insurance quotes across 20+ Canadian insurers for you.

Misrepresenting

by Gus on Mar 29, 2015
1 out of 5 stars

Makes a false statement with the intent to deceive the prospective insured in order to knowingly obtain an unlawful gain. Unfair or deceptive acts/practices. Acting as agent of the client without the client acknowledge/Forge Clients Signature. They re-did the legal application behind customer's back and resign customers name without the customer acknowledge and submit the following false information to obtain unlawful financial gain: with no medical information to obtain a better insurable rate for the prospective policyholder as medical release form was signed and handed back. No saliva was taken upon the application as a basic procedure Acting as an agent when unlicensed or suspended: the agent was soliciting while his license was revoked by Financial Services Commission Of Ontario from May 2008 – Aug 7, 2014. Acting as an agent of Desjardin Insurance as the contract was terminated: the agent was misrepresenting Desjardins Insurance as his contract was terminated by Desjardins Insurance on May 2008 and having his colleague adding his name and signing legal application as an agent of the client false. A complaint has been file through Financial Services Commission Of Ontario.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo