Car Insurance Reviews

Economical Insurance Auto Insurance Reviews

This page has been viewed by: Please wait... consumers
(227 reviews)
Economical Insurance
1.4 out of 5 stars:
Customer service:
Value for Money:
Claim experience:
Share your own experience
Write a review

They would rather waste money than pay you for what your car is valued at.

by Never Again on Jun 11, 2024
1 out of 5 stars

After a no-fault accident, they offered a settlement based on a basic vehicle model, without the same features and not the trim package I had, even after I had sent them many listings for the exact vehicle written off in the collision. At least $2000 less than what I can replace my vehicle for. Then they don't reimburse for any work done to your car in the past 6 months even after asking and getting receipts. They nickel and dime you but are willing to spend more than $1200 to tow my car to an auction house where they will be lucky to get $300 scrap value for it. I wanted to keep my vehicle for parts. They flat out refused. After being a loyal customer of 23 years, I will never buy private insurance from them or recommend them as I have always in the past. They definitely don't uphold the definition of Economical when they make poor financial decisions and treat their customers poorly.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo

Horrible to deal with for a claim

by Never use economical insurance again on Jun 7, 2024
1 out of 5 stars

From my experience, they are by far the worst company to deal with for a claim. Setting up the claim was straight forward. They were too busy to take a look at the car and wanted it released into their own yard and threatened to charge us storage fees. Many phone calls to them with promises of callbacks, nothing returned. One of the guys who called was very rude on the phone.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo

Worst of the insurance companies

by Eyad Amin on May 29, 2024
1 out of 5 stars

One of the worst insurance companies. They usually take a long time to settle and settle unfairly. I have a claim on them right now and they are still stalling.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo

Did you know that on average Ontario drivers with good driving records pay $1,805/year in auto insurance? Is your insurance rate higher? Get a free car insurance quote and start saving today.

Profiteering on deceased plan memeber

by Brandenl on May 27, 2024
1 out of 5 stars

Brown & Brown insurance brokers and Economical insurance was insuring my father and myself at the time of his passing. Since he passed away I contacted them to remove him from the insurance policy and presumably reduce the cost of the premium. I provided a copy of the death certificate so that they are well aware of the situation.

I’ve asked the company to either reduce the cost of the premium or credit/refund the account for the overages being charged but Brown & Brown and Economical is holding out for documents produced by a lengthy backlogged court system to remove him from the policy and as such profiteering on the death of my father to collect a few more months of income. I have been told there will be no such credit or refund for the time passed since his death. They will simply charge me the full amount for myself and deceased father until the Ontario courts appoints an executor.

This process has taken approximately 30 days to get an answer from the company.

I highly recommend you do not conduct business with this company in any manner. When you are dealing with insurance they should be there when you need them and communicate quickly and clearly. This company offers none of these traits.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo

Worst Claim experience

by Sunny on Apr 23, 2024
1 out of 5 stars

They have the worst process and people working in claim department, specially adjusters. They never pick calls and reply your over emails. When you ask for justice, they will ask you to provide irrelevant documentation and then put your claim on without prejudice and then delay as much as possible.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo

Put in trouble where is no chance to survive

by YULIIA TRETIAK on Apr 17, 2024
1 out of 5 stars

I booked insurance with Scoop, all was going okay.
After 1 year, they change my payments to pay for 2 months in advance.
I was paying last transaction 27 February.
Once a sudden, I'm receiving email that my insurance canceled due to non-payment.
I was not sleeping 2 nights to call broker to call economical.
They firstly could not see my transaction.
Then they ignore at all.
2 days in advance, they let me know that I can't drive anymore.
My family from Ukraine came, and I can't help them, I can't help myself, I can't drive to work, I'm in the middle of nowhere.
While my city is bombarded in Ukraine, I'm bombarded here with horrible attitude and 0 help.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo
Bad driving record? Your insurance rates can be double the standard insurance rate. Let us help you get the better auto insurance rate without breaking the bank.

This review is for both Home and Car Insurance

by Ken on Apr 3, 2024
1 out of 5 stars

Car Insurance - a year ago, I had someone hit my car. The adjuster contacted me and I had to do his job, take all the pictures and send them to him, no one ever looked at my vehicle. I told the adjuster I was not getting my vehicle repaired under insurance until the other person claimed fault for the accident. The adjuster kept trying to pressure me to take my vehicle in to be repaired. I finally had to call my broker to get them off my back. After 3 month it was finally settled. The quote from the body shop was $850.00 but someone sitting at a desk decided it should cost $1150.00 so they gouged another company out of $300.00. New cost for 2024 increase of 16%
Home Insurance - My renewal in Feb. 2024 the cost for the year increased 61.2% for no reason. There were no claims against my insurance. Water damage deductible increased from $500.00 to $2000.00
When I looked at my policy to cancel, I noticed my first payment started March 15 when my policy started Feb. 15. My original broker sold to Economical a few years ago, and I thought nothing changed because my payments came out each month. But somewhere along the way I got ripped off a months' payment for Home and Auto. I have never known any Insurance company to give you Insurance starting one month, but having to pay until the next month.
When I canceled my Home and Auto the papers were signed through DocuSign and the following month (March 15) they took out another payment, it was bad enough having to pay them Feb. 15 and having to pay a new company for the same period. When I contacted the broker, they said they did not receive the forms through email. After a week or so of emails when I said I had enough, and I was going to give all the email including the one returned with the signatures to my Lawyer, and they could deal with him. In the next hour the signed form shower up, they said it was misfiled. On March 15 they took another payment from my account, so the broker was still slow in getting the papers in. I had my bank cancel the transaction and the money put back in my account.
I would not recommend anyone doing business with this company and on your renewal papers check your monthly payment plan. It would have been a rating of 0 if I could have given it.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo

A very positive experience in the circumstances

by JS on Mar 20, 2024
5 out of 5 stars

Reading the reviews here, I was not sure choosing Economical (Definity) had been a good idea until I needed to file a claim last month because of an unfortunate fender bender where we needed to have our car repaired.
From the first call to place a claim to the discussion with the adjuster to having our car repaired through a reputable body shop, everything went very smooth.
Every agents I spoke to were helpful and polite and customer oriented, specially an adjuster who was caring for our claim.
I truly wonder why all those bad reviews, but it does not reflect my experience.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo

Price gouging

by Had enough on Mar 9, 2024
1 out of 5 stars

This is one of the worst companies I have ever dealt with. Every year they up your insurance and your content insurance $40 each. I have never had a clam in 3 years. Do not go to this company I’m leaving them as I’ve had enough of the price gouging greedy company.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo
Not happy with car insurance reviews for your insurance company? Get a quote across up to 20 Canadian car insurers and make sure that you do not pay too much.

0 Stars for Economical

by Sarah Khatau on Feb 27, 2024
1 out of 5 stars

Had the worst experience with them after filing a claim (not at fault)
They made me call the body shop and wouldn't deal with them directly.
They wouldn't answer emails, calls for weeks on end.
Failed to tell us my car was fixed 2 weeks after the fact.
Absolute garbage company, switched right after this experience.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo