Car Insurance Reviews

Economical Insurance Auto Insurance Reviews

This page has been viewed by: Please wait... consumers
(227 reviews)
Economical Insurance
1.4 out of 5 stars:
Customer service:
Value for Money:
Claim experience:
Share your own experience
Write a review

They would rather waste money than pay you for what your car is valued at.

by Never Again on Jun 11, 2024
1 out of 5 stars

After a no-fault accident, they offered a settlement based on a basic vehicle model, without the same features and not the trim package I had, even after I had sent them many listings for the exact vehicle written off in the collision. At least $2000 less than what I can replace my vehicle for. Then they don't reimburse for any work done to your car in the past 6 months even after asking and getting receipts. They nickel and dime you but are willing to spend more than $1200 to tow my car to an auction house where they will be lucky to get $300 scrap value for it. I wanted to keep my vehicle for parts. They flat out refused. After being a loyal customer of 23 years, I will never buy private insurance from them or recommend them as I have always in the past. They definitely don't uphold the definition of Economical when they make poor financial decisions and treat their customers poorly.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo

Horrible to deal with for a claim

by Never use economical insurance again on Jun 7, 2024
1 out of 5 stars

From my experience, they are by far the worst company to deal with for a claim. Setting up the claim was straight forward. They were too busy to take a look at the car and wanted it released into their own yard and threatened to charge us storage fees. Many phone calls to them with promises of callbacks, nothing returned. One of the guys who called was very rude on the phone.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo

Worst of the insurance companies

by Eyad Amin on May 29, 2024
1 out of 5 stars

One of the worst insurance companies. They usually take a long time to settle and settle unfairly. I have a claim on them right now and they are still stalling.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo
Bad driving record? Your insurance rates can be double the standard insurance rate. Let us help you get the better auto insurance rate without breaking the bank.

Worst Claim experience

by Sunny on Apr 23, 2024
1 out of 5 stars

They have the worst process and people working in claim department, specially adjusters. They never pick calls and reply your over emails. When you ask for justice, they will ask you to provide irrelevant documentation and then put your claim on without prejudice and then delay as much as possible.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo

This review is for both Home and Car Insurance

by Ken on Apr 3, 2024
1 out of 5 stars

Car Insurance - a year ago, I had someone hit my car. The adjuster contacted me and I had to do his job, take all the pictures and send them to him, no one ever looked at my vehicle. I told the adjuster I was not getting my vehicle repaired under insurance until the other person claimed fault for the accident. The adjuster kept trying to pressure me to take my vehicle in to be repaired. I finally had to call my broker to get them off my back. After 3 month it was finally settled. The quote from the body shop was $850.00 but someone sitting at a desk decided it should cost $1150.00 so they gouged another company out of $300.00. New cost for 2024 increase of 16%
Home Insurance - My renewal in Feb. 2024 the cost for the year increased 61.2% for no reason. There were no claims against my insurance. Water damage deductible increased from $500.00 to $2000.00
When I looked at my policy to cancel, I noticed my first payment started March 15 when my policy started Feb. 15. My original broker sold to Economical a few years ago, and I thought nothing changed because my payments came out each month. But somewhere along the way I got ripped off a months' payment for Home and Auto. I have never known any Insurance company to give you Insurance starting one month, but having to pay until the next month.
When I canceled my Home and Auto the papers were signed through DocuSign and the following month (March 15) they took out another payment, it was bad enough having to pay them Feb. 15 and having to pay a new company for the same period. When I contacted the broker, they said they did not receive the forms through email. After a week or so of emails when I said I had enough, and I was going to give all the email including the one returned with the signatures to my Lawyer, and they could deal with him. In the next hour the signed form shower up, they said it was misfiled. On March 15 they took another payment from my account, so the broker was still slow in getting the papers in. I had my bank cancel the transaction and the money put back in my account.
I would not recommend anyone doing business with this company and on your renewal papers check your monthly payment plan. It would have been a rating of 0 if I could have given it.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo

Did you know that on average Ontario drivers with good driving records pay $1,805/year in auto insurance? Is your insurance rate higher? Get a free car insurance quote and start saving today.

Worst Service Cannot Be Found

by mary on Nov 10, 2023
1 out of 5 stars

It is an insurance company from Hades and that is where it belongs. My car was stolen - they have offered the lowest possible price - they refuse to back up the price offer with documents - they provided a rental car for a short period of time - they are demanding I get an appraisal on the car I do not have. No appraiser can appraise a car that they cannot see. But this adjuster is telling me to get an appraisal. He rejected all the information provided by professional car people.

My only suggestion is to leave. Believe me you pay a very high price if you have to make a claim.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo

Car insurance

by Ahmet on Sep 19, 2023
1 out of 5 stars

This insurance company has made my life so difficult so stressful. I have been dealing with them for the past four months. I don’t have a car. They didn’t pay my money back yet and they are not even giving me a Rent-A-Car. If you don’t want your life to turn into a nightmare, You all stay better away from these people. And my broker, she is the rudest person ever I have seen in my life. She called me. Told me I am a liar, and she shut the phone on my face. She’s so rude. She won’t even answer your phone or emails only when she feels too. I am very very disappointed of this company. They don’t have appreciation to the customers or they don’t take care of you. They will contact you only when you don’t make your payments. Otherwise you have to wait for their mercy.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo

Worst customer service

by Aakash surendran on Sep 12, 2023
1 out of 5 stars

The worst customer service that I received in Canada. I had an auto claim and the claims advisor told me she would reach out to me after 15 minutes of our phone conversation. I haven't heard back anything from her even after leaving 5 voicemails and 3 emails. She never picks up the call when I try to reach her or call back. It's been already one month since I have been trying to get in touch with her. Never go to this insurance company ever.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo
Not happy with car insurance reviews for your insurance company? Get a quote across up to 20 Canadian car insurers and make sure that you do not pay too much.

Worst insurance company!!!

by Kait on Sep 11, 2023
1.3 out of 5 stars

My car was written off 2 months ago. I have yet to see my settlement and the representative I have been dealing with is very unhelpful, doesn't seem to know what's going on, and has such poor grammar and English skills I cannot understand half of her emails. When asking questions she ignores the ones she doesn't want to answer. Will never use them again even if they are the best price.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo