Car Insurance Reviews

Economical Insurance Auto Insurance Reviews

This page has been viewed by: Please wait... consumers
(227 reviews)
Economical Insurance
1.4 out of 5 stars:
Customer service:
Value for Money:
Claim experience:
Share your own experience
Write a review

They would rather waste money than pay you for what your car is valued at.

by Never Again on Jun 11, 2024
1 out of 5 stars

After a no-fault accident, they offered a settlement based on a basic vehicle model, without the same features and not the trim package I had, even after I had sent them many listings for the exact vehicle written off in the collision. At least $2000 less than what I can replace my vehicle for. Then they don't reimburse for any work done to your car in the past 6 months even after asking and getting receipts. They nickel and dime you but are willing to spend more than $1200 to tow my car to an auction house where they will be lucky to get $300 scrap value for it. I wanted to keep my vehicle for parts. They flat out refused. After being a loyal customer of 23 years, I will never buy private insurance from them or recommend them as I have always in the past. They definitely don't uphold the definition of Economical when they make poor financial decisions and treat their customers poorly.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo

Worst of the insurance companies

by Eyad Amin on May 29, 2024
1 out of 5 stars

One of the worst insurance companies. They usually take a long time to settle and settle unfairly. I have a claim on them right now and they are still stalling.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo

This review is for both Home and Car Insurance

by Ken on Apr 3, 2024
1 out of 5 stars

Car Insurance - a year ago, I had someone hit my car. The adjuster contacted me and I had to do his job, take all the pictures and send them to him, no one ever looked at my vehicle. I told the adjuster I was not getting my vehicle repaired under insurance until the other person claimed fault for the accident. The adjuster kept trying to pressure me to take my vehicle in to be repaired. I finally had to call my broker to get them off my back. After 3 month it was finally settled. The quote from the body shop was $850.00 but someone sitting at a desk decided it should cost $1150.00 so they gouged another company out of $300.00. New cost for 2024 increase of 16%
Home Insurance - My renewal in Feb. 2024 the cost for the year increased 61.2% for no reason. There were no claims against my insurance. Water damage deductible increased from $500.00 to $2000.00
When I looked at my policy to cancel, I noticed my first payment started March 15 when my policy started Feb. 15. My original broker sold to Economical a few years ago, and I thought nothing changed because my payments came out each month. But somewhere along the way I got ripped off a months' payment for Home and Auto. I have never known any Insurance company to give you Insurance starting one month, but having to pay until the next month.
When I canceled my Home and Auto the papers were signed through DocuSign and the following month (March 15) they took out another payment, it was bad enough having to pay them Feb. 15 and having to pay a new company for the same period. When I contacted the broker, they said they did not receive the forms through email. After a week or so of emails when I said I had enough, and I was going to give all the email including the one returned with the signatures to my Lawyer, and they could deal with him. In the next hour the signed form shower up, they said it was misfiled. On March 15 they took another payment from my account, so the broker was still slow in getting the papers in. I had my bank cancel the transaction and the money put back in my account.
I would not recommend anyone doing business with this company and on your renewal papers check your monthly payment plan. It would have been a rating of 0 if I could have given it.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo

If you have a good driving record in AB, you should pay around $110/month (women - $105/month and men - $113/month). Do you overpay? Get an Alberta car insurance quote to start saving.

Worst Service Cannot Be Found

by mary on Nov 10, 2023
1 out of 5 stars

It is an insurance company from Hades and that is where it belongs. My car was stolen - they have offered the lowest possible price - they refuse to back up the price offer with documents - they provided a rental car for a short period of time - they are demanding I get an appraisal on the car I do not have. No appraiser can appraise a car that they cannot see. But this adjuster is telling me to get an appraisal. He rejected all the information provided by professional car people.

My only suggestion is to leave. Believe me you pay a very high price if you have to make a claim.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo

Ignorant

by Brian. on Sep 13, 2023
1 out of 5 stars

On April 14th I severely damaged my motorcycle and called Economical to advise them however I also told them I was going after MOT as it happened on a 400 series highway as I had hit a huge pothole.
Shortly after, while I was away out of town representatives of the insurance company had my bike removed by a tow truck from my buddy’s motorcycle shop without my permission. I was told that they could not reach me after numerous attempts while the tow truck was there and they became very argumentative with him… They released the bike as they were afraid of retribution…..note the pattern of bullying!! Upon my return, they would not tell me initially where it was. I still had the ownership in my possession.
The adjuster then decided to continue to bully me. First by treating my call as a claim. Then he asked me if there was anyone in the “ back seat?” and furthermore told me it was all my fault as “ the roads don’t move”… Obviously having never heard of expansion joints or frost heaving.
Shortly after the incident a highway patrol officer pulled over in his SUV and after telling me he was a motorcycle patrol officer as well, told me he too hit the huge hole and his whole SUV shuttered. He then proceeded to survey my bike’s damage and then looked at me and stated quite calmly…” How did you ever manage to not drop the bike?… You should be dead or in a wheelchair”… 55 years of riding many a different motorcycle…do you think maybe skill?
As I had mentioned the bike was severely damaged but by no means not repairable. I was never given the opportunity to discuss the possibility of re-acquiring it. Instead, the adjuster first sent me a third-party evaluation of the damage and it wasn’t even the same bike, it was some bike in Quebec with twice the mileage and not an ABS/FA model. These two representatives, ignorant people proceeded to bully me and as they had literally stolen my bike I found myself in a non-negotiable position.
One of them then offered an insulting settlement based on a third-party report and I was very clear that whoever was providing the evaluation had no idea what they were talking about…. 1) wrong year of a similar bike 2) wrong mileage 3) even to go so far as to prove their ignorance by claiming it was not the top of the line ABS/FA model… which I attempted to correct them but ran into more bullying. I even sent them a picture of the bike without the luggage bags attached but with the racks showing very clearly and told her” I prefer to ride my bike naked, a common term in the motorcycle industry and I got back a retort “Do not talk to “my” employees like that”…. Obviously showing off her insecurities and ignorance all in the same sentence. The adjuster then told me that I was welcome to seek other similar bikes as mine but I wasn’t permitted to use Marketplace or Kijiji…. do you think he was being guided….it was obvious he was out of his league. How insulting/ ignorant is that? … so I used other websites and provided them with proof that the bike was worth much more by sending him/her the ad links. Get this!… No more value discussion from either one… Two days later I was told that I now had to hire, at my cost, an independent motorcycle appraiser and once I had the appraisal an arbitrator would make the final, binding decision. Realized at this time I still did not know where my bike was and I still had the registration in my possession.
I have never been so poorly treated in all my 70 years. Economical/Definity is a terribly run company with absolutely the rudest, untrained persons on the front line….
The CEO should be tarred and feathered…

I have all the correspondence between adjusters, my broker and my wife in print… It’s no wonder that there is a huge disclaimer at the bottom of every email… pathetic humans.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo

Auto Claim

by Hamed on Jul 24, 2023
1 out of 5 stars

If it had less than one star, I would have picked it up!!!
Economical Insurance claim is horrible!!
They pay you out for a total loss at least 30% lower than a market, claim team reply your emails every other 3 days for an urgent situation!! They don’t accept any of your expenses on your car claim whereas they have the same items in their acceptable expenses template!!! No phone call will be answered!!
No message calls will be returned!!!
They just want you to pay you at all!
If you have an auto claim with Economical Insurance, then good luck!

2 of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo
Review topics
Bad driving record? Your insurance rates can be double the standard insurance rate. Let us help you get the better auto insurance rate without breaking the bank.

Do not use this Insured company

by du huynh on Jul 14, 2022
1 out of 5 stars

My truck and dual axles trailers got totalled, and they offered my trailer for 300 ( three hundred ), what's a rip-off company. The adjuster is working hard for their $$$, and I would not deal with them again.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo
Review topics

A painful claim experience

by Ming Gao on Jan 7, 2022
1 out of 5 stars

The experience of making a vehicle claim with Economical insurance company this time is really unforgettable for me, and I hope that I will never have any association with this company again.
I am a UBER driver. There was a traffic accident in November 2021. After nearly 2 months of processing, I received compensation today and the claim is over. My car was hit and scrapped, but the insurance company bought out my car at a price of nearly 1,000 lower than the market price. If there is any objection, I can continue to appeal, but I am worried that I will be caught in protracted-time consumption and have to agree to their bid. My feeling is that I was hit twice, once by another driver and once by an Economical Insurance.
The communication with this insurance company during this period is really maddening. Basically, you can’t find your adjuster and their manager. They don’t reply to your emails, don’t reply to your calls. Don’t reply to the customers’ emails and the phones seems to be the rules and regulations of this insurance company.
In such an unequal situation, you are left with only a long time to wait and being anxiety, which is a particularly painful experience. I sincerely hope that the fewer people who experience it, the better.
In Canada, I have never met a company that doesn't care about the customer's feelings like this. Later, I realized that it is UBER company chose this insurance company, and UBER drivers have no right to choose which insurance company to insure, so the Economical Insurance Company can ignore the feelings of individual UBER drivers without losing money.
In short, cherish your life and wallet, please stay away from ECONOMICAL Insurance Company.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo

Client for Years

by Frustrated Client on Oct 22, 2021
1 out of 5 stars

Our experience was horrible. We have been a customer for around 10 years. The first time we needed to make a claim was when our truck was stolen and a total loss. We provided Economical all the information the requested and even went as far as providing them local prices on replacing the vehicle, same year, same make, same model. Economical provided their Market Driven Validation Report in which they didn't even compare the same vehicle we lost. The price they appraised the vehicle was 1/2 the price of what it would actually cost to replace it. Even our broker got involved as they also couldn't believe how the claim was being handled.
Economical may have saved a few thousands of dollars on the claim, but they have lost 10s of thousands of dollars with our future business. Congratulations Economical on your shortsightedness.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo
Review topics

Did you know that on average Ontario drivers with good driving records pay $1,805/year in auto insurance? Is your insurance rate higher? Get a free car insurance quote and start saving today.

AVOID AT ALL COSTS

by SOL Client on Sep 9, 2020
1 out of 5 stars

It took 5 weeks after our accident to get an answer on what they were doing with our car. They offered us no rental, and when they did, it was through a substandard company that failed to mention it was closed on weekends, so our week-long rental, factored in with the holiday, was only for a few days. Apparently, for five weeks they can't get an adjuster and then an appraiser to give an amount on what is now a total loss, but they expect us to buy a new car in 3 days, without having even finalized their offer to us?! This company is absolutely the worst. The woman who was our claims representative allegedly has an MBA, and this is what she chose to do with her life, screw people over and with a smile? Please, save yourself the grief and go elsewhere. If you have a policy with them, don't renew. It is not worth the grief because when you do need them, they literally strand you.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo